DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2 – 8 and 13 – 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
for consistency, Claims 2 – 8 and 13 – 17 should be amended to recite “The aqueous dispersion” and “the aqueous dispersion” in each instance;
a process should set forth one or more active, positive steps. Consequently, Claim 7 should be amended to recite, for example, “A process for producing the aqueous dispersion as claimed in claim 1, comprising mixing an aqueous dispersion containing at least one polyurethane with at least one fresh sol”; and
Claim 17 should be amended to recite “diamino sulfonic acids, .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 set forth “the” compound employed as component c). However, Claim 4 sets forth “c) at least one chain extender”. It is then unclear to which of the at least one chain extender(s) “the” compound in Claim 5 refers. For the purposes of further examination, Claim 5 will be interpreted as setting forth the at least one chain extender employed as component (c).
It is unclear to which of the previously recited compounds “their” refers in Claim 17. For the purposes of examination, “their” will be interpreted as referring to all of the previously recited species of acids.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 11 set forth a process for producing an adhesive laminated with the adhesive composition as claimed in claim 9. Claim 11 does then include all limitations of Claim 9 on which it depends, as Claim 9 is directed to an adhesive laminate containing the adhesive composition rather than an adhesive composition itself.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 5 and 7 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2005/0131109 to Arndt et al. (hereinafter Arndt).
Regarding Claim 1. Arndt teaches an aqueous dispersion [0017] containing:
at least one polyurethane [0018];
at least one silicon dioxide dispersion [0019]. The silicon dioxide dispersion may specifically be a silica sol [0076]. Arndt describes silica sols as colloidal solutions of silicon dioxide in water [0077], i.e. aqueous solutions of silicon dioxide/silica. The instant specification defines “fresh sol” as meaning an aqueous solution of silica (see [0081] of the PG-PUB of the instant application). The silica sol in Arndt is therefore reasonably considered to correspond to a fresh sol as defined by applicant; and
optionally further additives [0074].
In preferred embodiments of Arndt, the at least one polyurethane is anionically hydrophilized [0061].
Regarding Claim 2. Arndt teaches the aqueous dispersion of Claim 1 in which the at least one polyurethane may correspond to DISPERCOLL® U53 (Table 1). Table 1 of the instant specification describes DISPERCOLL® U53 as a semicrystalline polyurethane.
Regarding Claim 3. Arndt teaches the aqueous dispersion of Claim 1 contains
55 to 99 weight percent of the at least one polyurethane;
1 to 45 weight percent of the silica sol dispersion/fresh sol [0090]; and
0.2 to 0.6 weight percent of a wetting agent [0092], i.e. a further additive.
As all other ingredients are indicated to be optional [0092], the sum of the aforementioned ingredients will total 100% by weight of the dispersion in embodiments in which other ingredients are not included.
Regarding Claims 4, 5, and 17. Arndt teaches the aqueous dispersion of Claim 1 wherein the at least one polyurethane may be formed from:
a polymeric polyol [0020] – [0022], which may be a polyester polyol. The polymeric polyol preferably has a functionality of 2 to 3 [0034], i.e. it is preferably at least difunctional;
polyisocyanates [0021]; and
a component (A4) [0025]. Component (A4) may be a mono- or dihydroxycarboxylic acid [0052]. Such compounds are set forth as chain extenders bearing at least on anionically hydrophilizing group in instant Claim 17.
Regarding Claim 7. Arndt teaches a process for producing the aqueous dispersion of Claim 1 comprising mixing an aqueous polyurethane dispersion with the silicon dioxide dispersion/fresh sol and auxiliary substances/additives ([0062] and [0098]).
Regarding Claim 8. Arndt teaches an adhesive composition containing the aqueous dispersion of Claim 1 [0101].
Regarding Claims 9 and 11. Arndt teaches gluing together substrates with the adhesive composition of Claim 8 [0101], corresponding to the preparation of an adhesive laminate containing two substrates bonded with said adhesive composition.
Regarding Claim 10. Arndt teaches the adhesive laminate of Claim 9 wherein at least one substrate may be wood [0101].
Regarding Claim 12. Arndt teaches the process of Claim 11 wherein the adhesive composition may be applied by rolling [0099].
Regarding Claim 13. Arndt teaches a process for bonding substrates, such as wood, to each other by applying the aqueous dispersion of Claim 1 [0101].
Regarding Claim 14. Arndt teaches a process for preparing the aqueous dispersion of Claim 1 [0098].
Arndt does not expressly characterize this process as achieving a thickening effect in an aqueous polyurethane dispersion. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, Arndt teaches a process employing all of the claimed steps and processing conditions, as well as the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. process which achieves a thickening effect in an aqueous polyurethane dispersion, would implicitly be achieved by a process employing all of the claimed steps and processing conditions, as well as the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts. See In Re Spada, 911, F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties using only the claimed process employing the claimed steps, processing conditions, and ingredients in the claimed amounts.
Regarding Claim 15. Arndt teaches the aqueous dispersion of Claim 1 in which the at least one polyurethane may correspond to DISPERCOLL® U53 (Table 1). As DISPERCOLL® U53 is one of the same polyurethanes used in the inventive examples in the instant specification, it would be reasonably expected that this polyurethane has a glass transition temperature in the claimed range of -65°C to 10°C.
Regarding Claim 16. Arndt teaches the aqueous dispersion of Claim 1 wherein the at least one difunctional polyester polyol has a molecular weight of preferably 600 to 2,500 g/mol [0034].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2005/0131109 to Arndt et al. (hereinafter Arndt), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of US 3,468,813 to Mindick et al. (hereinafter Mindick).
Regarding Claim 6. Arndt teaches the aqueous dispersion of Claim 1 but does not expressly teach the pH of the fresh sol. However, Mindick teaches the concept of providing acidic silica sols with pHs of 2.5 to 4.0 as modifiers for plastics (Column 1, Lines 31 – 39; and Column 5, Lines 21 – 22). Arndt and Mindick are analogous art as they are from the same field of endeavor, namely silica sol compositions. Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the acidic silica sol with a pH in the range of 2.5 to 4.0 as taught by Mindick as the the silica sol in the aqueous dispersion of Arndt. The motivation would have been that Mindick teaches many advantages associated with the disclosed silica sols, including increased production efficiency and reduced silica loss associated with their manufacture and increased hardness and strength when used as binders (Column 2, Lines 55 – 57).
Notice of References Cited (PTO-892)
The art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references also pertain to polyurethane dispersions in which silica sols are provided.
Correspondence
/MELISSA A RIOJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764