DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 9/16/2025 is acknowledged. Applicants further election of the species implant, DMEM, microparticle between 1 micron and 5 mm in diameter, and polymeric matrix carrier is acknowledged.
Claims 12-16, 20-23, 26, 30 and 34 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/16/2025.
INFORMATION DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
2. Information Disclosure Statements filed 12/3/2023 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites wax-like substance and absent a clear definition of what constitutes wax “like” substance the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Singh et al. "Controlled release of glucose through modified chitosan membranes".
Singh et al. "Controlled release of glucose through modified
chitosan membranes" (hereinafter Singh et al. ) disclose a nutritional support material
for supplementing tissue survival comprising a slow-elution carrier controlling nutrient
release and a nutrient cocktail that comprises glucose and wherein the slow-elution
carrier specifically has a release half-life of between 30 minutes and 14 days (greater
than 0 minutes to at least 700 minutes(11.67 hours)) (title, abstract page 1, page 108,
page 110, Fig 2). Singh et al. disclose hydrogels are good candidates for the use in medical implants (introduction). The carrier is chitosan (polymeric material) (introduction).
5. Claims 31 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. “Randomized controlled clinical trial of 2 types of hydroxyapatite-coated implants on moderate periodontitis patients”.
Kim et al. “Randomized controlled clinical trial of 2 types of hydroxyapatite-coated implants on moderate periodontitis patients” (hereinafter Kim et al.) disclose hydroxyapatite (e.g., nutritional support) coated implants. With regards to the limitations “a composition for increasing healing at the site of a tissue injury, disease or wound”, these limitations are regarded as intended use of the composition and are given little patentable weight. Tthe claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al. "Controlled release of glucose through modified chitosan membranes"” in view of Freeland et al. (US 20230287334).
Singh et al. has been discussed supra and does not disclose media powder. Freeland et al. (US 20230287334) (hereinafter Freeland et al.) disclose complete media powder which offers all the necessary nutrients and chemicals for maintaining an environment for cell growth without and steps other than dissolution by the user (para 0033). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary kill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to include media powder in the compositions of Singh et al. One would have been motivated to do so because it taught to provide the necessary nutrients for cell growth.
7. Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al. "Controlled release of glucose through modified chitosan membranes"” in view of Ott et al. (US 20220233454).
Singh et al. has been discussed supra and does not disclose microparticles between 1 micron and 5 mm in diameter.
Ott et al. (US 20220233454) (hereinafter Ott et al.) disclose microparticles for localized delivery and sustained release of therapeutic cells and/or tissues at a site of implantation (para 0004).
Ott et al. disclose hydrogel microspheres or microparticles have an average (mean) maximum cross-section surface-to-surface dimension (i.e., in the case of a spherical or ellipsoidal microsphere, its diameter) of greater than 30 µm, and in some case greater than 300 µm. In one or more embodiments, the resulting hydrogel microspheres or microparticles have an average (mean) maximum surface-to-surface dimension of less than about 5 mm. Preferably, the resulting hydrogel microspheres or microparticles have an average (mean) maximum surface-to-surface dimension of less than about 2 mm, more preferably from about 30 µm to about 2 mm, even more preferably ranging from about 50 µm to about 1.5 mm, more preferably from about 150 µm to about 1.5 mm, even more preferably from about 300 µm to about 1.4 mm. In some cases, smaller microparticles ranging from about 30 µm to about 750 µm or 500 µm in size can be formed (para 0066). Ott et al. disclose the hydrogel microparticles allow the cells to be maintained in the localized region of implantation for a longer period of time compared to other carriers or unencapsulated cells, and provide a temporary, but sustainable, release of the cells and/or their signaling molecules, proteins, etc. to the region to improve the therapeutic effect of the implanted cells. It will be appreciated that cell loading will depend upon the size of the cells used and the size of each microparticle (para 0049).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to optimize the size of the microparticles. One would have been motivated to do in order to obtain the desired cell loading because cell loading depends on the size of the microcapsules.
8. Claims 1, 11 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al. "Controlled release of glucose through modified chitosan membranes"” in view of Nuti et al. (US 20140206022).
Singh et al. has been discussed supra and does not disclose the nutrient cocktail comprises DMEM.
Nuti et al. (US 20140206022) (hereinafter Nuti et al.) disclose nutrient mediums that can support cell viability, cell metabolism, cell growth, cell differentiation or any combination thereof include those such as DMEM (para 0045). Nuti et al. also disclose the nutrient media further includes antibiotics. One of ordinary skill in the art would readily appreciate that the addition of antibiotics would suppress growth of undesirable microorganisms.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to further include DMEM in Singh et al. One would have been motivated to do so because it is a known nutrient medium that supports cell viability.
CORRESPONDENCE
/DANAH AL-AWADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615