DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 03/09/2026 has/have been considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended claims 1, 4, and 9 to address typographical errors.
Regarding the rejection of claim 4 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention, applicant asserts “the K-value in battery technology, as developed in the patented adaptive charging methods of Dr. Rachid Yazami (inventor of the lithium-graphite anode and of the present invention), is a dynamic control parameter used in non-linear voltammetry (NLV) charging protocols to safely optimize ultra-fast charging speeds and monitor battery health,” citing Yazami et. al (WO 2019111226 A) published on 09/13/2019. The publication Yazami et. al (WO 2019111226 A) provides the necessary basis for computing the K-value and is not referenced by the applicant in the specification or information disclosure statements of the present invention. Claims 4-5 claim the use of the K-value, thereby making this quantity essential to the claimed invention and necessitating a written description to enable on of ordinary skill in the art to replicate the method. The subject matter of “K-value” is not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art to replicate the coefficient with reasonable expectation of success, presenting an enablement issue.
Applicant arguments regarding Ding et al (US 20050099162 A1) and Aker et al (US 20030102845 A1) are persuasive, the rejections of claims 1 -3, 8 and 10-11 under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Ding modified by Aker and further supported by Huang are withdrawn. The rejections of claims 4-7 under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Ding modified by Aker and further in view of Lim et al (US 20190195956 A1) and the rejection of claim 9 under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Dink modified by Aker and further in view of Stukenberg et al (US 20140340231 A1) are subsequently withdrawn.
Applicant argues Lim and Stukenberg do not remedy the deficiencies of Ding modified by Aker.
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/03/2026, with respect to Ding as modified by Aker have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection(s) has/have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection are presented herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-3 and 6 of U.S. Patent App. 18250606 and claims(s) 1 and 3 of U.S. Patent App. 18250697. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are obvious variants of one another.
App 18250475
App 18250606
a method for increasing a discharge capacity (Q_disch) of a battery cell having a rated capacity and provided with charge/discharge terminals to which a charging voltage can be applied with a flowing charging current, the method comprising:
(claim 1) a method for fast-charging a battery cell provided with charge/discharge terminals to which a charging voltage can be applied with a flowing pulse-like charging current, the method comprising the steps of:
- implementing a plurality of charge cycles to the battery cell, each of the charge cycles comprising the steps of
- applying a plurality of constant voltage stages V_j, where V_(j+1)> V_j, j=1,2...,k,each voltage stage comprising intermittent n_j voltage plateaus,
(claim 1)- applying to terminals of the battery cell a plurality of constant voltage stages Vj, where Vj+1> Vj, with j=1, 2..., k, each voltage stage comprising intermittent nj voltage plateaus,
- between two successive voltage plateaus within a voltage stage, letting the charging current going to rest (I=0A) for a rest period R^f, 1≤p≤n_j,
(claim 1) between two successive voltage plateaus within a voltage stage, letting the charging current go to zero for a rest period R_j^p, with 1≤p≤n_j,
(claim 6) claim 1, further comprising the steps of: between two successive current rest times R_j^(p-1) and R_j^p within a voltage stage Vj, and a pending voltage plateau, detecting the flowing pulse-like charging current dropping from an initial value I_(j,p)^ini to a final value I_(j,p)^fin where 1≤p≤n_j,
- ending the pending voltage plateau, so that the flowing pulse-like current drops to zero for a rest time Rf, with the voltage departing from V_j,
(claim 6) ending the pending voltage plateau, so that the flowing pulse-like charging current drops to zero for a rest time
R
j
p
, with the voltage departing from Vj,
- after the rest time
R
j
p
has elapsed, applying back the voltage to Vj.
(claim 6) after the rest time
R
j
p
has elapsed, applying back the voltage to Vj.
- initiating a transition from a voltage stage V_j to the following stage V_(j+1) when I_(j,p)^fin, p=n_j) reaches a threshold value I_(j,nj)^Thr,
(claim 2) wherein a transition from a voltage stage Vj to the following stage Vj+1 is initiated when
I
j
,
p
f
i
n
, p=nj reaches a threshold value
I
j
,
n
j
t
h
r
- calculating the following stage V_(j+1)=V_j+ ΔV(j) with ΔV(j) relating to the current change ΔI(j)=V_j+ΔV(j) and function of the following parameters i, V, Δi/Δt,T, SoC (State of Charge), SOH (State of Health),
(claim 3) further comprising a step for calculating the following stage
V
j
+
1
as being eqiual to
V
j
+
Δ
V
(
j
)
, with ΔV(j) relating to the current change
Δ
I
j
=
I
j
,
p
i
n
i
-
I
j
,
p
f
i
n
,
p
=
n
j
-monitoring the temperature of the battery cell under a predetermined limit temperature, and
-proceeding the charge cycles until the discharge capacity reaches a predetermined target capacity greater than the rated capacity.
(claim 1) and the fast-charging method proceeding until any one of the following conditions is reached: a pre-set charge capacity or state of charge is reached, the battery cell temperature exceeds a pre-set limit value
T
l
i
m
, or the battery cell voltage exceeds a pre-set limit value
V
l
i
m
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
The Wands factors are probative of the essential inquiry in determining whether one must engage in more than a reasonable amount of experimentation. The determination that "undue experimentation" would have been needed to make and use the claimed invention is not a single, simple factual determination. Rather, it is a conclusion reached by weighing all the above noted factual considerations. In re Wands, 858 F.2d at 737, 8 USPQ2d at 1404. These factual considerations are discussed more fully in MPEP § 2164.08 (scope or breadth of the claims), § 2164.05(a) (nature of the invention and state of the prior art), § 2164.05(b) (level of one of ordinary skill), § 2164.03 (level of predictability in the art and amount of direction provided by the inventor), § 2164.02 (the existence of working examples) and § 2164.06 (quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure)
Claims 5 and 6 are directed towards K-values as it relates to a change in C-rate between voltage plateaus. The specification does not disclose how K-value is calculated or determined, the specification simply implements the coefficient beginning in ¶0065 which discloses “The method of the present disclosure can further comprise an initial step for determining a K-value and a charge step from inputs including charging instructions for C-rate, voltage, and charge time, and a step for detecting a Cshift threshold, leading to a step for determining a shift voltage, by applying a non-linear voltage equation and using K-value and ΔC-rate” which does not further the understanding for the metes and bounds of the K-value. This leads to an enablement issue since the specification, by not disclosing how K-value is determined or calculated, does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to make or use the invention without undue experimentation. The inventive concepts “comprising an initial step for determining a K-value and a charge step from inputs including charging instructions for C-rate, voltage and charge time” as claimed in claim 4 and “detecting a Cshift threshold, leading to a step for determining a shift voltage, by applying a non-linear voltage equation and using K-value and ΔC-rate” as claimed in claim 5, would require extensive experimentation to discover the equation that enables the change in voltage to be determined. The specification does not disclose the metes and bounds of the K-value, as claimed. The specification therefore does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to practice the invention without undue experimentation.
Claim 7 is dependent upon claim 6.
Claims 1 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "calculating a relative variation (ΔQ/Q) of the discharge capacity from the collected data", wherein the variable Q is not defined prior to its introduction. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 further recites the limitation “and
Δ
V
Δ
t
function of the following parameters i, V,
Δ
i
Δ
t
,T, SoC (State of Charge), SOH (State of Health)”, which is missing a conjunction of either “and” or “or” in the list. For the purpose of examination this limitation is being interpreted as “and
Δ
V
Δ
t
function of the following parameters i, V,
Δ
i
Δ
t
,T, SoC (State of Charge), or SOH (State of Health)”.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "calculating a relative variation (ΔQ/Q) of the discharge capacity from the collected data", wherein the variable Q is not defined prior to its introduction. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 11 and 12 are dependent upon claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8, and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al (US 20150077058 A1) modified by Eriksson et al (US 20180050598 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jung teaches a method for increasing a discharge capacity (
Q
d
i
s
c
h
) of a battery cell having a rated capacity and provided with charge/discharge terminals to which a charging voltage can be applied with a flowing charging current, the method comprising: (FIG 3)
- implementing a plurality of charge cycles to the battery cell, each of the charge cycles comprising the steps of: (FIG 3 depicts a method of charging a battery wherein the final step reads “return”, functionally restarting the process resulting in a plurality of charge cycles)
- applying a plurality of constant voltage stages
V
j
, where
V
j
+
1
>
V
j
, j=1, 2..., k, each voltage stage comprising intermittent nj voltage plateaus, (FIGs 1A and 1B disclose a multi-stage constant current constant voltage charging method)
- between two successive voltage plateaus within a voltage stage, letting the charging current going to rest (I=0 A) for a rest period
R
j
p
,
1
≤
p
≤
n
j
, (¶0041 “[FIG 1A] (S10) first constant current constant voltage charging, (S20) first idling and (S30) second constant current constant voltage charging”)
- between two successive current rest times
R
j
p
-
1
and
R
j
p
within a voltage stage
V
j
, and a pending voltage plateau, detecting the flowing pulse-like current dropping from an initial value
I
j
,
p
i
n
i
reaches a final value
I
j
,
p
f
i
n
where
1
≤
p
≤
n
j
, (¶0083 “[FIG 3] controller 166 of the battery pack determines whether or not the sensed charge current of the battery cell 110 reaches a first reference current (S16)”)
- ending the pending voltage plateau, so that the flowing pulse-like current drops to zero for a rest time
R
j
p
, with the voltage departing from
V
j
, (Jung FIG 1B depicts the current dropping to 0 during the idle period)
- after the rest time
R
j
p
is elapsed, applying back the voltage to
V
j
, (please see below for further detail)
- initiating a transition from a voltage stage
V
j
, to the following stage
V
j
+
1
, when
P
=
n
j
reaches a threshold value
I
j
,
n
j
t
h
r
, (¶0083 “[FIG 3] controller 166 of the battery pack determines whether or not the sensed charge current of the battery cell 110 reaches a first reference current (S16)”)
- calculating the following stage
V
j
+
1
=
V
j
+
Δ
V
(
j
)
with
Δ
V
(
j
)
relating to the current change
Δ
I
j
=
I
j
,
p
i
n
i
-
I
j
,
p
f
i
n
,
p
=
j
(Jung FIG 1B depicts the constant current-constant voltage routine where each current phase increases the voltage to the value of the following constant voltage phase, FIG 3 steps S33 and S53)
[and
Δ
V
Δ
t
function of the following parameters i, V,
Δ
i
Δ
t
,T, SoC (State of Charge), SOH (State of Health),]
- monitoring the temperature of the battery cell under a predetermined limit temperature, (¶0096 “controller 166 of the battery pack transmits basic information about the battery cell 110, that is, the information about current, charge capacity, temperature, and so on, to the controller 210 of the external electric device 200, the controller 210 of the external electric device 200 may determine the target voltage and/or current, the idle period, etc. of the battery cell 110 based on the basic information about the battery cell 110”)
and - proceeding the charge cycles until the discharge capacity reaches a predetermined target capacity greater than the rated capacity. (FIG 3 depicts a method of charging a battery wherein the final step reads “return”, functionally restarting the process resulting in a plurality of charge cycles, ¶0051 “idle period may also be prolonged according to the increase in the voltage (capacity) of the battery cell”)
Jung does not explicitly disclose the limitation “after the rest time
R
j
p
is elapsed, applying back the voltage to
V
j
”; however, FIG 1B illustrates how the idle period stabilizes the voltage of the battery cell. Particularly Jung ¶0048 discloses “A.sub.n is a value obtained by subtracting a stabilized battery cell voltage v.sub.n,0 from a battery cell voltage V.sub.n of an initial stage of the idle period (t)”, where the idle period inherently allows the voltage to stabilize. The present disclosure uses a comparable rest period, wherein the voltage would necessarily stabilize. Thereby as shown by Jung FIG 1B after the idle period has elapsed the stabilized voltage is reapplied to the battery.
Jung does not teach and
Δ
V
Δ
t
function of the following parameters i, V,
Δ
i
Δ
t
,T, SoC (State of Charge), SOH (State of Health)
Eriksson teaches and
Δ
V
Δ
t
function of the following parameters [i,] V,
Δ
i
Δ
t
, [T, SoC (State of Charge), SOH (State of Health),] (¶0056 “desired rate of change for the output voltage ΔV/Δt can be derived from the open circuit voltage over the poles of the connected battery”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the method as taught by Jung wherein Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the method as taught by Jung wherein the fast-charging method proceeding until any one of the following conditions is reached: a pre-set charge capacity or state of charge is reached, the battery cell temperature exceeds a pre-set limit value T_lim, or the battery cell voltage exceeds a pre-set limit value V_lim as taught by Eriksson. Yang discloses a constant-current constant voltage charging method which ends when a battery parameter has been met, it would be obvious to use the ending condition as taught by Eriksson wherein a predetermined level of charge has been reached to terminate the charging method of Yang. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve user experience by minimizing the charging time needed and improving the run-time of a given device.as taught by Eriksson. Yang discloses a constant-current constant voltage charging method which ends when a battery parameter has been met, it would be obvious to use the ending condition as taught by Eriksson wherein a predetermined level of charge has been reached to terminate the charging method of Yang. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve user experience by minimizing the charging time needed and improving the run-time of a given device.
Regarding claim 2, Jung modified by Eriksson teaches the method of claim 1. Jung modified by Eriksson further teaches wherein the calculating step implements the upper voltage limit, and/or the step time, and/or voltage step ΔV and/or ΔI/Δt for the voltage step transition. (Eriksson ¶0066 “404: Calculating a voltage difference (ΔV.sub.12) between said first voltage and said second voltage.”)
Regarding claim 3, Jung modified by Eriksson teaches the method of claim 2. Jung modified by Eriksson further teaches wherein the charge cycles are proceeded until any one of the following conditions is reached: - a pre-set charge capacity or state of charge (SOC) is reached, (Jung FIG 1B shows a capacity vs. time graph which levels out to 100% capacity before stopping charging)
[- the cell temperature exceeds a pre-set limit value
T
l
i
m
,]
[or - the cell voltage has exceeded a pre-set limit value
V
l
i
m
.]
Regarding claim 6, Jung modified by Eriksson teaches the method of claim 1. Jung modified by Eriksson further teaches further comprising applying the method to a combination of battery cells arranged in series and/or in parallel. (Jung ¶0065 “one battery cell 110 is exemplified in the illustrated embodiment, a plurality of battery cells may be coupled to each other in series or in parallel”)
Regarding claim 8, Jung modified by Eriksson teaches the method of claim 1. Jung modified by Eriksson further teaches further comprising collecting battery cell data related to the rated capacity for the battery cell. (Jung ¶0072 “storage unit 164 may store data of the charged capacity relative to voltage of the battery cell 110, a normal charge voltage range, a normal discharge voltage range”)
Regarding claim 10, Jung modified by Eriksson teaches the method of claim 1. Jung modified by Eriksson further teaches a system for increasing a discharge capacity (
Q
d
i
s
c
h
) of a battery cell having a rated capacity and provided with charge/discharge terminals to which a charging voltage can be applied with a flowing charging current, the system comprising an electronic converter connected to a power source and designed for applying a charging voltage to the terminals of the battery cell, (Jung ¶0064 “FIG. 2, the battery charging system 100 according to embodiments of the present invention includes a battery cell 110, a charge switch 120, a discharge switch 130, a temperature sensor 140, a current sensor 150 and a micro processor unit (MPU) 160”)
the electronic converter being controlled by a charging controller designed to process battery cell flowing current and cell voltage measurement data and charging instruction data, (Jung ¶0064 “FIG. 2, the battery charging system 100 according to embodiments of the present invention includes… a micro processor unit (MPU) 160”)
wherein the charging controller is further configured to control the electronic converter so as to perform a plurality of charge cycles, each charge cycle comprising steps for:
- applying to terminals of the battery cell a plurality of constant voltage stages
V
j
, where
V
j
+
1
>
V
j
, j=1, 2..., k, each voltage stage comprising intermittent nj voltage plateaus, (Jung FIGs 1A and 1B disclose a multi-stage constant current constant voltage charging method)
and - between two successive voltage plateaus within a voltage stage, letting the charging current go to rest (I=0 A) for a rest period
R
j
p
,
1
≤
p
≤
n
j
, (Jung ¶0041 “[FIG 1A] (S10) first constant current constant voltage charging, (S20) first idling and (S30) second constant current constant voltage charging”)
- until the discharge capacity reaches a predetermined target capacity greater than the rated capacity. (Jung ¶0051 “idle period may also be prolonged according to the increase in the voltage (capacity) of the battery cell”, Eriksson ¶0057 “sixth step 307 it is determined if the connected battery has reached a predetermined level of charge. If it is determined that the level of charge has reached the predetermined level of charge, the inventive method ends in a seventh step 308”)
Regarding claim 11, Jung modified by Eriksson teaches the system of claim 10. Jung modified by Eriksson further teaches wherein the charge cycles are performed until either one of the following conditions is reached: - the cell temperature exceeds a pre-set limit value Tm, (Jung¶0096 “controller 166 of the battery pack transmits basic information about the battery cell 110, that is, the information about current, charge capacity, temperature, and so on, to the controller 210 of the external electric device 200, the controller 210 of the external electric device 200 may determine the target voltage and/or current, the idle period, etc. of the battery cell 110 based on the basic information about the battery cell 110”)
or - the cell voltage has exceeded a pre-set limit value Vim. (Eriksson (¶0057 “sixth step 307 it is determined if the connected battery has reached a predetermined level of charge. If it is determined that the level of charge has reached the predetermined level of charge, the inventive method ends in a seventh step 308”))
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung modified by Eriksson and further in view of Nishida et al (US 20070222420 A1)
Regarding claim 4, Jung modified by Eriksson teaches the method of claim 1. Jung modified by Eriksson further teaches further comprising [an initial step for determining a K-value] and a charge charging step for charging the battery cell, the charging step being controlled from inputs including charging instructions for [C-rate,] voltage and charge time. (Jung ¶0081 “information about the battery cell 110 (that is, information about the charge voltage (Vset) and/or the charge current (Iset) is updated to then retransmit the updated information to the controller 210 of the external electric device to allow the controller 210 of the external electric device to control the charger 220, thereby charging the battery cell 110 with a first constant voltage (S14)”, Jung ¶0047 “FIG. 1C, the voltage stabilizing time (.tau.) of the battery cell may be defined as a time taken to make a change in the value A ”)
Jung as modified by Eriksson does not teach an initial step for determining a K-value, [the charging step being controlled from inputs including charging instructions for] C-rate.
Eriksson further teaches [an initial step for determining a K-value,] [the charging step being controlled from inputs including charging instructions for] C-rate. (¶0048 “the 5 h rate may be used for an initial charging current I.sub.start=C/5 in a fast charging profile”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the fast-charging method as taught by Jung modified by Eriksson wherein a charge step from inputs including charging instructions for C-rate as further taught by Eriksson. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to more accurately estimate charging time during fast-charging thereby enhancing user experience.
Jung modified by Eriksson does not teach an initial step for determining a K-value.
Nishida teaches an initial step for determining a K-value. (¶0012 “constant-voltage charge, the current when charge complete is detected is small, and since the voltage drop across the resistor R1 is low, an input offset voltage of the operational amplifier A1 detecting the generated voltage is not negligible”, ¶0057 “NMOS transistor 36 turns ON, the resistor 35 serves as a load to the control transistor 24 of the constant-voltage circuit 4”)
Jung modified by Eriksson discloses a constant current – constant voltage fast-charging scheme which implements rest periods between constant current-constant voltage phases, increasing the constant voltage applied during each phase. Nishida discloses a charging circuit which uses a constant current – constant voltage fast-charging scheme which implements rest periods between each constant current – constant voltage stage, using a load resistor to measure a change in voltage. As detailed above, the present disclosure does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to replicate the metes and bounds of the K-value. Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the fast-charging method as taught by Jung modified by Eriksson wherein an initial step for determining a K-value as taught by Nishida. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to minimize heat generation during fast-charging to improve battery life and operational safety.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung modified by Eriksson and Nishida and further in view of Maluf et al (US 20150219722 A1)
Regarding claim 5, Jung modified by Eriksson and Nishida teaches the method of claim 4. Jung modified by Eriksson and Nishida teaches further teaches further comprising [a step for detecting a Cshift threshold,]
leading to a step for determining a shift voltage, by applying a non- linear voltage equation (Eriksson ¶0053 “[FIG 3] resulting output voltage over the minus pole 106 and the plus pole 105 is then measured in a fourth step 305”)
[and using K-value and ΔC-rate.]
Jung modified by Eriksson does not teach further comprising a step for detecting a Cshift threshold, and using K-value and ΔC-rate.
Nishida teaches further comprising [a step for detecting a Cshift threshold,] and using K-value and [ΔC-rate]. (¶0012 “constant-voltage charge, the current when charge complete is detected is small, and since the voltage drop across the resistor R1 is low, an input offset voltage of the operational amplifier A1 detecting the generated voltage is not negligible”, ¶0057 “NMOS transistor 36 turns ON, the resistor 35 serves as a load to the control transistor 24 of the constant-voltage circuit 4”)
Jung modified by Eriksson discloses a constant current – constant voltage fast-charging scheme which implements rest periods between constant current-constant voltage phases, increasing the constant voltage applied during each phase. Nishida discloses a charging circuit which uses a constant current – constant voltage fast-charging scheme which implements rest periods between each constant current – constant voltage stage, using a load resistor to measure a change in voltage. As detailed above, the present disclosure does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to replicate the metes and bounds of the variable coefficient K_n. Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the fast-charging method as taught by Jung modified by Eriksson to use a K-value as taught by Nishida. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to minimize heat generation during fast-charging to improve battery life and operational safety.
Jung as modified by Eriksson and Nishida does not teach further comprising a step for detecting a Cshift threshold, and using ΔC-rate.
Maluf teaches further comprising a step for detecting a Cshift threshold, and using ΔC-rate. (¶0064 “battery/cell so that the change in terminal voltage in response to subsequent charging is within a predetermined range and/or below a predetermined value may impact the net effective charge rate… net effective charge rate may be adjusted and/or controlled by way of adjusting and/or controlling one or more characteristics of the charge or charging signal during a given charging period including, for example, the amplitude of the current charge or charging signal, the shape of the charge or charging signal”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the fast-charging method as taught by Jung modified by Eriksson and Nishida to further comprise a step for detecting a Cshift threshold, and using ΔC-rate as taught by Maluf. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to more accurately estimate charging time during fast-charging thereby enhancing user experience.
Claim(s) 7 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung modified by Eriksson and further in view of Lim et al (US 20100264879 A1)
Regarding claim 7, Jung modified by Eriksson teaches the method of claim 6. Jung modified by Eriksson does not teach implemented to charge a plurality of battery cells connected in series, wherein the method provides intrinsic balancing between the battery cells.
Lim teaches implemented to charge a plurality of battery cells connected in series, wherein the method provides intrinsic balancing between the battery cells. (¶0027 “charge circuitry of battery charger 24 (charge circuitry is shown in example configurations in FIGS. 2 and 3) is configured to provide different amounts of electrical energy (e.g., different number of charging pulses of electrical energy) to different ones of the rechargeable cells 28 to provide substantially balanced charging of the rechargeable cells 28 during a common charging cycle of the battery 22”)
Jung modified by Eriksson discloses a constant current – constant voltage fast-charging scheme which implements rest periods between constant current-constant voltage phases, increasing the constant voltage applied during each phase. Lim discloses a constant current – constant voltage charging scheme which balances the state of charge across a plurality of batteries. Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the fast-charging method as taught by Jung modified by Eriksson wherein the method comprises intrinsic balancing between the battery cells as taught by Lim. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve battery performance and extend battery lifespan by minimizing the damage due to unbalanced states of charge across multiple batteries.
Regarding claim 12, Jung modified by Eriksson teaches the system of claim 10. Jung modified by Eriksson further teaches wherein the system is configured to charge a plurality of battery cells connected in series, (Jung ¶0065 “one battery cell 110 is exemplified in the illustrated embodiment, a plurality of battery cells may be coupled to each other in series or in parallel”)
[and wherein the charging controller is further configured to provide intrinsic balancing between the battery cells of the plurality.]
Jung modified by Eriksson does not teach and wherein the charging controller is further configured to provide intrinsic balancing between the battery cells of the plurality.
Lim teaches and wherein the charging controller is further configured to provide intrinsic balancing between the battery cells of the plurality.(¶0027 “charge circuitry of battery charger 24 (charge circuitry is shown in example configurations in FIGS. 2 and 3) is configured to provide different amounts of electrical energy (e.g., different number of charging pulses of electrical energy) to different ones of the rechargeable cells 28 to provide substantially balanced charging of the rechargeable cells 28 during a common charging cycle of the battery 22”)
Jung modified by Eriksson discloses a constant current – constant voltage fast-charging scheme which implements rest periods between constant current-constant voltage phases, increasing the constant voltage applied during each phase. Lim discloses a constant current – constant voltage charging scheme which balances the state of charge across a plurality of batteries. Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the fast-charging method as taught by Jung modified by Eriksson wherein the method comprises intrinsic balancing between the battery cells as taught by Lim. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve battery performance and extend battery lifespan by minimizing the damage due to unbalanced states of charge across multiple batteries.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung modified by Eriksson and further in view of Stukenberg et al (US 20140340231 A1)
Regarding claim 9, Jung modified by Eriksson teaches the method of claim 8. Jung modified by Eriksson does not teach wherein collecting battery cell data includes reading a QR code on the battery cell.
Stukenberg teaches wherein collecting battery cell data includes reading a QR code on the battery cell. (¶0029 “Tablet device 104 may include software that is capable of optical character recognition, Quick Response (QR) code or two-dimensional barcode recognition or any other suitable recognition software that is capable of obtaining battery-related information”)
Jung modified by Eriksson discloses a constant current – constant voltage method of charging a battery with rest periods between each subsequent constant current – constant voltage phase which monitors the internal parameters of a battery cell. Stukenberg presents a method of monitoring the internal parameters of the battery cell. Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the method as taught by Eriksson wherein collecting battery cell data includes reading a QR code on the battery cell as taught by Stukenberg. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to collect data for each specific battery cell over multiple charging cycles to improve battery performance and reliability over a plurality of charging cycles.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities. Particularly in the in-line Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 4-5 and claim 10 are objected to due to two different uses of the symbol k. Claims 4-5 use the variable K in terms of K-value, and claim 10 uses the index k in terms of
V
j
,
j
=
1,2
,
…
,
k
. Examiner suggests changing the index k to a different symbol of the alphabet.
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence.
Asakura et al (US 20010022518 A1) discloses a capacity estimation method which applies a constant current – constant voltage charging method with rest periods between voltage plateaus.
Conclusion
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859