DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 2, after “for the drying” insert “of step e)” to place the claim in better form.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 15, the limitation “the drying apparatus includes at least two treatment zones” renders the claim indefinite since “the drying apparatus” is inconsistent with claim 11 which recites “at least one drying apparatus.” It is unclear if the process requires a single drying apparatus as recited by claim 15, or can include multiple apparatuses as stated by claim 11. It is further unclear if the limitation should be interpreted to mean at least two treatment zones within a single drying apparatus, or two drying apparatuses each with one treatment zone.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ariswalla et al. (US 2015/0374005 A1) in view of Bouzari et al. (US 2018/0317520 A1) and Sherlock et al. (US 2018/0230179 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ariswalla et al. teaches comminuting insects to form a pulp or puree, splitting the pulp or puree into a fat fraction, a solids-containing fraction, and “larvae water” i.e., aqueous fraction (example 1 paragraphs 43 and 45), combining the aqueous fraction and the solids-containing fraction, reducing the size of the mixture, and spray drying the size reduced mixture to obtain a dried protein meal (example 2 paragraph 47; claims 1-2 and 6). While example 1 is cited to teach the details of recited steps “a)” and “b),” the rejection itself is based on the embodiment of example 2 which recites “example 1 is repeated except that the larvae water and solids-containing fraction were combined.”
It is noted that Applicant’s specification discloses “comminution” can be performed by a cutter or in a press, where the “cutter” is “a machine for comminution which is operated continuously and is equipped with a cutting device” (paragraphs 21-22). The micro-cutter mill of Ariswalla et al. reads on the disclosed machine (paragraphs 19 and 24-25). Further, the “further reduced in size” of example 2 includes dosing the aqueous and solids fractions into the micro-cutter mill and mixing (paragraph 24). Thus, the mixing is construed to be done with “a mixer” and the size-reduced mixture of example 2 is construed to form a “homogenous compound” within the cutter mill prior to said spray drying.
Ariswalla et al. does not teach reducing the water content of the aqueous fraction with a filter or a membrane filter.
However, the reference teaches the combined protein fraction is further separated by decanting into larvae water (containing protein) and a solid-containing fraction, then spray drying the larvae water to obtain protein material (paragraph 45). Likewise, the embodiment of example 2 also spray dries to obtain a protein meal (paragraph 47).
Bouzari et al. teaches an insect product made from larva or pupa (paragraph 55), where the product is prepared by grinding insects with water to form a slurry, subjecting the slurry to microfiltration to retain lipids and insoluble sediment while passing protein as a permeate, subjecting the permeate to ultrafiltration to retain (concentrate) proteins and peptides while allowing water and small solutes such as ash to pass, and drying the concentrated protein to yield a protein isolate (paragraphs 182-184). Bouzari et al. further teaches “drying” the product using any known method including both membrane filtration and spray-drying, ultrafiltration to concentrate protein “supplants some portion of drying procedure” (paragraph 152), and the filtration methods can be “used as a pre-drying concentration step” (paragraph 157).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of Ariswalla et al. to reduce the water content of the aqueous fraction with ultrafiltration since the reference already suggests further purification of the larvae water (protein fraction) before spray drying, since the prior art recognizes concentrating protein fractions using membrane filtration as a “pre-drying” step, and to further purify the protein by removing “small solutes” and “ash” as taught by Bouzari et al.
Ariswalla et al. does not teach portions of the dried protein meal are fed back to the mixer of step d).
Sherlock et al. teaches a method of purifying proteins (abstract) comprising drying a soluble protein product to form a dry protein concentrate (paragraph 120), where back-mixing is a known process in which the soluble protein product is mixed with a volume of dry protein concentrate prior to drying, where back-mixing allows for total moisture content to be controlled to within the specifications of a dryer mechanism, thereby reducing operational costs e.g., wear and tear (paragraph 123).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of Ariswalla et al. to back-mix a portion of the dried protein meal back into the mixer of step c) since the prior art acknowledges the process for controlling water content of a protein solution before drying, and in order to similarly minimize wear and tear, thereby reducing operational costs.
Regarding claim 5, Ariswalla et al. teaches the comminuting is performed by a cutter mill as stated above.
Regarding claim 6, Ariswalla et al. teaches the pulp is separated into the fat fraction and combined protein fraction using a decanter (paragraph 43), and the combined protein fraction is further separated into the aqueous fraction and solids-containing fraction by the decanter (paragraph 45), where decanters are art-recognized physical separators that include 3-phase separation (paragraphs 21-22).
Regarding claim 7, the size reduction performed in example 2 of Ariswalla et al. is performed by a cutter mill as explained for claim 1, where the cutter mill uses a “relatively small sieve mesh, for example 1mm”. The milling process would have necessarily included “comminuting clumps of the homogenous compound in step d) or in step e)” to obtain size-reduced particles that pass through said sieve mesh for subsequent drying.
Regarding claim 11, the homogenous compound in example 2 of Ariswalla et al. is spray dried, necessarily requiring a “drying apparatus”, and including a device (micro-cutter mill with sieve mesh) that comminutes clumps of the homogenous compound as explained for claims 1 and 7. Since the drying apparatus receives the compound that has been size reduced by the cutter mill, the drying apparatus is construed to include the cutter mill.
Regarding claim 13, Ariswalla et al. teaches spray drying as stated for claim 1. The reference further teaches that drying can be performed by other methods such as drum drying or disc drying (paragraph 24), which are known to be types of “rotary” driers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of Ariswalla et al. to use a rotary dryer as a matter of choice from known drying methods, since there is no evidence of criticality or unexpected results associated with the claimed feature, and as a substitution of art recognized equivalents suitable for the purpose of drying protein material.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ariswalla et al. in view of Bouzari et al. and Sherlock et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Laurent et al. (US 2019/0335788 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Ariswalla et al. does not teach the dried protein meal is ground after step e).
Laurent et al. teaches a method for treating insects by separation and obtaining a powder for food (abstract), comprising separating the insect into fat, aqueous, and solids fractions (paragraph 104) then concentrating the aqueous fraction to increase dry matter thereof (paragraph 106), where the aqueous fraction comprises soluble proteins (paragraph 114). Laurent et al. further teaches mixing the concentrated aqueous fraction and solid fraction (paragraphs 121-122), homogenizing (paragraph 123), drying (paragraphs 126-127), and grinding the dried mixture to form a powder having a desired particle size e.g., 0.1-1.5 mm, to form an “insect meal” (paragraphs 135-141).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of Ariswalla et al. to further grind the dried protein material since the reference already suggests further processing the obtained streams (paragraph 41), since the prior art recognizes such a process for dried insect protein material, and in order to obtain a desired particle size for specific applications and/or desired characteristics such as texture, consistency, and flowability.
Claims 8, 10, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ariswalla et al. in view of Bouzari et al. and Sherlock et al. as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Dossey (US 2015/0132433 A1).
Regarding claim 8, the limitation “by means of at least one conveying device” is given its broadest reasonable interpretation to encompass any suitable art-recognized conveying device.
Ariswalla et al. does not teach the homogenous compound is fed to a drying apparatus for said drying during and/or after step d) by means of at least one conveying device which is a standalone device or part of the mixer.
Dossey teaches a method of producing a dried insect product (abstract), where heated insect slurry is recirculated through a colloid mill and then conveyed to a spray dryer by a known conveying device such as a pump (paragraph 76). The conveying and drying would have necessarily occurred after forming the homogenous compound in step c). The pump would have necessarily been fluidly connected to the mill, and therefore is construed to be “part of the mixer”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of Ariswalla et al. to convey the homogenous compound to the drying apparatus during and/or after mixing by a pump that is part of the mill since such a means is well-known in the art for conveying liquid food products, since there is no evidence of criticality or unexpected results associated with the claimed feature, and therefore to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results of transporting the homogenous compound of Ariswalla et al. to a desired part of the process.
Regarding claims 10, 14 and 19, Ariswalla et al. teaches air drying (paragraph 24), but does not teach the temperature of the drying air being less than or equal to 200oC (claim 14) and between 110-160oC (claim 19), and the dried protein meal is cooled after drying step d) (claim 10).
Dossey further teaches the dryer having a mixing nozzle, where the slurry is heated by mixing with inlet air having a temperature of about 170oC, and the outlet air temperature ranging from 76.1-86.6oC, to obtain a final moisture level of 7.23% (paragraphs 76-77). Since the air temperature decreases toward the outlet, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected the air temperature to, at the very least, pass through the claimed range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of Ariswalla et al. to use drying air at the claimed temperature ranges since the prior art recognizes such temperatures for drying insect products, since there is no evidence of criticality or unexpected results associated with the claimed feature, and since the claimed values would have been used during the course of routine experimentation and optimization procedures due to factors such as degree/rate of drying, final moisture level, and minimization of protein denaturization by limiting air temperature.
Since the spray drying of modified Ariswalla et al. heats the homogenous compound to above ambient temperature, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected some degree of cooling to occur after drying e.g., while the dried material is stored and/or conveyed to further processing and packaging.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ariswalla et al. in view of Bouzari et al. and Sherlock et al. as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Paul (US 2022/0369670 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Ariswalla et al. does not teach the drying apparatus comprises a fluidized bed dryer. However, the reference does not particularly limit the drying method/device used, and indicates “other methods are also possible” (paragraph 24).
Paul teaches a method for converting insects into nutrient streams (abstract), where the protein fraction and solid-containing fraction are dried by “relatively mild heating conditions” such that the “aqueous protein fraction will have retained their functionality”, where such drying means include fluidized bed drying (paragraph 81). Further, drying the protein fraction and solid containing fraction together is preferably by fluidized bed drying (paragraph 71).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of Ariswalla et al. to use a fluidized bed drying apparatus since the reference does not particularly limit the drying method/device, since the prior art recognizes that separated insect streams can be dried using a fluidized bed, where such a drying method is recognized to use mild heating conditions to retain protein functionality, and therefore to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results and/or as a substitution of art recognized equivalents suitable for the purpose of drying foods prepared from insect material, see MPEP 2143 I.(A) and 2144.06 II.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ariswalla et al. in view of Bouzari et al. and Sherlock et al. as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Paul and Scott (US 4,419,834 A).
Regarding claim 15, the limitation “treatment zone” is interpreted in view of Applicant’s specification to encompass an area within a single drying apparatus 11 (figure 3; paragraph 61), where multiple “treatment zones” correspond to different areas within the drying apparatus (e.g., zones 21, 23 and 25) having different processing parameters (e.g., air streams 22, 24 and 26).
Ariswalla et al. does not teach the drying apparatus includes at least two treatment zones.
The combination of Ariswalla et al. with Paul applied to claim 12 renders obvious a fluidized bed dryer. The same combination is applied to claim 15 and would have been obvious for the same reasons.
Scott teaches a fluidized bed apparatus for treating particulate matter (abstract), including food (column 1 lines 11-13), where the apparatus comprises longitudinal conveyor 32 having upper run 34 and lower run 36 (figure 1; column 3 lines 14-17), where the conveyor extends through drying compartments 26, 28 and 30 (column 3 lines 21-22), where the temperature and velocity of the drying air in each compartment can be separately regulated e.g., the adapting the temperature and velocity of the air in the initial fluidizing compartment to counteract higher moisture content of the material dried in said zone (column 3 lines 4-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of Ariswalla et al. to include multiple treatment zones in the fluidized bed dryer since the prior art recognizes such features for drying food particulates, in order to facilitate drying by controlling air temperature and velocity of individual compartments based on the moisture content and/or drying phase, and to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results drying food particulates.
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ariswalla et al. in view of Bouzari et al., Sherlock et al. and Paul as applied to claims 1 and 11-12 above, and further in view of Ter Haar et al. (US 2014/0030382 A1), hereon referred to as “Ter”.
Regarding claims 16-18, the combination applied to claim 12 does not teach the fluidized bed dryer comprises a shaking fluidized bed dryer having a frequency of movement as recited by the respective claims.
Ter teaches a method of forming a food product by coating (abstract), where coating is performed on a vibrating conveyor, the vibration causing fluidization of the food (paragraph 35). The frequency of vibration can be e.g., about 1 to about 5 Hz (paragraph 46), where vibration frequency can be varied based on desired process properties (paragraph 34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of Ariswalla et al. to shake the fluidized bed dryer at the claimed frequency ranges since the prior art recognizes the values are sufficient for fluidization of a food material to be treated, to facilitate surface area exposure of the meal during drying, since there is no evidence of criticality or unexpected results associated with the claimed ranges, and since the values would have been used during the course of routine experimentation and optimization procedures due to factors such as fluidization and flow characteristics of the protein material during drying.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-8 and 10-19 (particularly claim 1) are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 (particularly claims 1 and 6) of U.S. Patent No. 10,537,118 B2 in view of Bouzari et al. and Sherlock et al.
The ‘118 patent teaches the features of steps a)-b) and d)-e), but does not teach reducing the water content of the aqueous fraction with a membrane filter and a portion of the dried protein meal is fed to the mixer.
Bouzari et al. teaches an insect product made from larva or pupa (paragraph 55), where the product is prepared by grinding insects with water to form a slurry, subjecting the slurry to microfiltration to retain lipids and insoluble sediment while passing protein as a permeate, subjecting the permeate to ultrafiltration to retain (concentrate) proteins and peptides while allowing water and small solutes such as ash to pass, and drying the concentrated protein to yield a protein isolate (paragraphs 182-184). Bouzari et al. further teaches “drying” the product using any known method including both membrane filtration and spray-drying, ultrafiltration to concentrate protein “supplants some portion of drying procedure” (paragraph 152), and the filtration methods can be “used as a pre-drying concentration step” (paragraph 157).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of the ‘118 patent to reduce the water content of the aqueous fraction with a membrane filter after splitting since the prior art recognizes concentrating protein fractions using membrane filtration prior to spray drying, and to further purify the protein by removing “small solutes” and “ash” as taught by Bouzari et al.
Sherlock et al. teaches a method of purifying proteins (abstract) comprising drying a soluble protein product to form a dry protein concentrate (paragraph 120), where back-mixing is a known process in which the soluble protein product is mixed with a volume of dry protein concentrate prior to drying, where back-mixing allows for total moisture content to be controlled to within the specifications of a dryer mechanism, thereby reducing operational costs e.g., wear and tear (paragraph 123).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of ‘118 patent to back-mix a portion of the dried protein meal back into the mixer of step c) since the prior art acknowledges the process for controlling water content of a protein solution before drying, and in order to similarly minimize wear and tear, thereby reducing operational costs.
Response to Arguments
Upon further consideration, claim 15 is rendered indefinite by the limitation “the drying apparatus includes at least two treatment zones.” While the disclosure of a single drying apparatus with multiple treatment zones 21, 23 and 25 (figure 3; page 13 lines 1-9) is acknowledged, the claim language should be amended to clarify the discrepancy between “at least one drying apparatus” in claim 11 and “the drying apparatus” in claim 15.
The amendment to claim 1 necessitated new grounds of rejection. Laurent is no longer relied upon for said claim. The reference is replaced with Bouzari et al. which teaches concentrating protein from an insect process stream using membrane filters to remove water.
Applicant's arguments filed 6/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Sherlock is directed to purifying aquatic, vegetative, algal species rather than insect larvae, pupae, and worms, which require different processing methods, and does not teach steps a-e as recited by claim 1.
This is not persuasive since Ariswalla already teaches purifying insect larvae (examples 1 and 2) and Bouzari et al. teaches membrane filters as stated for claim 1. Sherlock is not relied on to teach the argued features. Rather, Sherlock is relied on to show that back-mixing is known to facilitate control over total moisture content with respect to the specifications of the dryer, thereby reducing operational costs as stated for claim 1.
Applicant argues Sherlock specifically discusses a number of processes specific to extraction of oxalic acid from aquatic species which requires high energy inputs and/or a number of chemical processes. By contrast, the claimed methods are directed to requiring low energy inputs and the avoidance of chemical extractive processes, and one of ordinary skill would not have selected the specific "back-mixing" to the detriment of the other potential steps taught by Sherlock.
This is not persuasive since the reference is directed to processing and purifying proteins suitable for consumption from an alternative protein source (paragraphs 3 and 6) and therefore within Applicant's field of endeavor. Likewise, the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem with which inventor was concerned since the method produces a consumable protein product in a manner requiring decreased water and/or energy costs (paragraph 4).
Further, the features upon which Applicant relies (i.e., low energy inputs and avoidance of chemical extractive processes) are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Regardless, the combination of Ariswalla and Laurent teaches comminuting, splitting, reducing water content, and drying as explained for claim 1, which appears to be the same "low energy input" and "avoidance of chemical extractive processes" as argued. Likewise, Sherlock still teaches back-mixing as claimed is known for controlling moisture content and reduces operational costs for the same type of protein concentration/isolation process, and therefore motivates one of ordinary skill to include back-mixing into the process of Ariswalla for the same advantage.
MPEP 2123 I.-II. state "The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain." In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983)" and "Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971)."
Applicant argues Sherlock is not directed to insect larvae, pupae, and worms, and requires high energy inputs and/or a number of chemical processes. By contrast, the claimed methods are directed to requiring low energy inputs and the avoidance of chemical extractive processes. One of ordinary skill would not have modified to select the specific “back-mixing” to the detriment of the other potential steps taught by Sherlock.
This is not persuasive since the reference is directed to processing and purifying proteins suitable for consumption from an alternative protein source (paragraphs 3 and 6) and therefore within Applicant’s field of endeavor. Likewise, the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem with which inventor was concerned since the method produces a consumable protein product in a manner requiring decreased water and/or energy costs (paragraph 4). Further, the features upon which Applicant relies (i.e., low energy inputs and avoidance of chemical extractive processes) are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Regardless, Sherlock still teaches back-mixing as claimed is known for controlling moisture content and reduces operational costs for the same type of protein concentration/isolation process, and therefore motivates one of ordinary skill to include back-mixing into the process of Ariswalla.
Applicant argues against the combination applied to claims 8, 10, 12 and 14-19 and their respective references, stating the combinations do not cure the deficiencies of the combination applied to claim 1.
The arguments are not persuasive for the same reasons stated above, where the respective references teach advantages for the claimed features. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the process of Ariswalla accordingly for the reasons stated in the previous Office Action.
Applicant argues claim 1 of the '118 patent relates to utilizing heat and/or specific temperatures for processing, and there is no suggestion or motivation to arrive at the subject matter of amended claim 1 in view of claim 1 of the patent, Laurent, and Sherlock.
This is not persuasive since claim 1 of the instant application recites the transitional phrase "comprising", which is open to non-recited limitations. The instant claim does not exclude using heat and/or specific temperatures, and therefore the double patenting rejection still applies.
Conclusion
/BRYAN KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 1792