DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions Applic ant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1 and 4-9 in the reply filed on January 28, 2026 is acknowledged. The tr aversal is on the ground that Applicant submits that the present claims share a common technical feature which is novel in view of the prior art. Applicant argues that Baric WO2015/143335 is directed to a chimeric corona virus spike protein comprising different regions of coronavirus S protein. However, Baric never teaches or suggests a chimeric coronavirus protein comprising the claimed regions or amino acid sequences. The exemplary protein of Baric includes: a) a first region comprising amino acids 1-325 of a first coronavirus, b) a second region comprising amino acids 322-500 of a second coronavirus, c) a third region comprising amino acids 488-824 of the first coronavirus, and d) a fourth region comprising amino acids 842-1241 of a third coronavirus. Applicant argues that he claimed invention, on the contrary, comprises a backbone consisting of a first coronavirus, with modifications of: a) a first region comprising amino acid residues 16-305 of a second coronavirus; and/or b) a second region comprising amino acid residues 330-521 of a third coronavirus. Applicant argues that QHD43415 recites an amino acid sequence identical to SEQ ID NO:1 of the claimed invention. SEQ ID NO:1 merely serves as a reference sequence for the claimed chimeric coronavirus S protein. QHD43415 contains no teaching or suggestion that this sequence be modified in any manner. Applicant requests that the Restriction Requirement be withdrawn Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but were not found persuasive. Baric WO2015/143335 is a priority document to Baric et al. (US Patent 9,884,895) cited in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 below. The present claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baric et al. (US Patent 9,884,895) in view of Joyce et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2023/0285539). The present claims lack unity because they are obvious over Baric et al. (US Patent 9,884,895) in view of Joyce et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2023/0285539) as discussed below. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Claims 19-26, 28 and 33-36 are withdrawn because they are drawn to non-elected invention. Claims 1 and 4-9 are under examination in this Office action. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 26, 2023 and June 13, 202 3 has been considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.— The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claim s 1 and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph , as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention. Claims are drawn to A chimeric coronavirus S protein, comprising a coronavirus S protein backbone from a first coronavirus that comprises the following amino acid substitutions wherein the numbering is based on the reference amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:1:a) a first region comprising amino acid residues 16-305 comprising a coronavirus S protein N-terminal domain (NTD) from a second coronavirus that is different from the first coronavirus; and/or b) a second region comprising amino acid residues 330-521 comprising a coronavirus S protein receptor binding domain (RBD) of a third coronavirus that is different from the first coronavirus and/or second coronavirus. Present SEQ ID NO: 1 is derived from one particular strain of the coronavirus, QHD43415. The present claims require a chimeric coronavirus S protein wherein first, second and third coronavirus, are from different viruses. The claims are rejected because it is not clear what the differences between the three coronaviruses are? I f the numbering of the amino acid residues for all three component s of the present chimera is done in reference to only one coronavirus strain comprising present SEQ ID NO: 1 , then how are the three coronaviruses different? The skilled artisan would consider that each different coronavirus strain would contain a variation in the amino acid sequence. Thus, three different coronaviruses cannot comprise an identical spike protein. As result the claimed fusion protein would not result in a chimera, as required by the present claims. The claims thus read on three coronavirus regions , each derived from the same coronavirus strain. Since the claims recite an open claim language the clams read on one coronavirus particle comprising amino acid residues 16-305 comprising a coronavirus S protein N-terminal domain (NTD) b) a second region comprising amino acid residues 330-521 comprising a coronavirus S protein receptor binding domain (RBD) and a third coronavirus . Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the present claims read on three different viral particles, which belong to the same coronavirus strain comprising present SEQ ID NO: 1. Applicant is required to clarify the differences between the three different coronaviruses. Correction and/or clarification is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . Claims 1, 4-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baric et al. (US Patent 9,884,895) in view of Joyce et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2023/0285539) . Regarding present claim 1. Baric et al. teach a chimeric coronavirus spike protein comprising, in orientation from amino to carboxy terminus: a) a first region comprising a portion of a coronavirus spike protein ectodomain that precedes a coronavirus spike protein receptor binding domain (RBD) as located in a nonchimeric coronavirus spike protein, of a first coronavirus; b) a second region comprising a coronavirus spike protein receptor binding domain (RBD) of a second coronavirus that is different from said first coronavirus; c) a third region comprising a portion of a coronavirus spike protein S1 domain as located in a nonchimeric coronavirus spike protein immediately downstream of the RBD, contiguous with a portion of a coronavirus spike protein S2 domain as located immediately upstream of a fusion protein domain in a nonchimeric coronavirus spike protein, wherein said third region is of said first coronavirus; and d) a fourth region comprising a portion of a coronavirus spike protein from the start of the fusion protein domain through the carboxy terminal end as located in a nonchimeric coronavirus spike protein of a third coronavirus that is different from said first coronavirus and said second coronavirus (see column 2, claims 1-20, Figure 14) . Baric et al. teach a chimera containing epitopes from the N terminus of the S protein (see Figure 14 and figure description). FIG. 14. Design of a Chimeric Spike based CoV Vaccine. Panel A. Phylogenetic tree showing Coronaviruses in subgroup 2b. The circles represent three viruses from which specific regions of S proteins are combined to form the chimeric spike. Panel B. Western blots showing that serum raised to the Chimera S or SARS- CoV Urbani S recognize the Chimeric Spike due to overlapping epitopes. Panel C. Design of the Chimeric Spike antigen utilizing portions of SARS-COV, BtCoV HKU3 and BtCoV 279 Spike. The Chimera S contains the following epitopes from N terminus : a portion of ectodomain from BtCoV HKU3; a portion of Receptor Binding Domain (RBD) from SARS- CoV ; a region from S1/S2 from BtCoV HKU3; followed by a region containing S2/Tm from the BtCoV 279 Spike. Regarding present claim s 4 and 5 . Baric et al. teach coronavirus S protein derived from subgroup 2b coronavirus (see Regarding present claim 6. Baric et al. teach chimeric coronavirus spike protein of this invention include Bat SARS CoV (GenBank Accession No. FJ211859 ), SARS CoV (GenBank Accession No. FJ211860 ), BtSARS.HKU3.1 (GenBank Accession No. DQ022305 ), BtSARS.HKU3.2 (GenBank Accession No. DQ084199), BtSARS.HKU3.3 (GenBank Accession No. DQ084200), BtSARS.Rm1 (GenBank Accession No. DQ412043), BtCoV.279.2005 (GenBank Accession No. DQ648857), BtSARS.Rf1 (GenBank Accession No. DQ412042), BtCoV.273.2005 (GenBank Accession No. DQ648856), BtSARS.Rp3 (GenBank Accession No. DQ071615), SARS CoV.A022 (GenBank Accession No. AY686863), SARSCoV.CUHK-W1 (GenBank Accession No. AY278554), SARSCoV.GDO1 (GenBank Accession No. AY278489), SARSCoV.HC.SZ.61.03 (GenBank Accession No. AY515512), SARSCoV.SZ16 (GenBank Accession No. AY304488), SARSCoV.Urbani (GenBank Accession No. AY278741), SARSCoV.civet010 (GenBank Accession No. AY572035), and SARSCoV.MA.15 (GenBank Accession No. DQ497008), Rs SHC014 (GenBank® Accession No. KC881005), Rs3367 (GenBank® Accession No. KC881006), WiV1 S (GenBank® Accession No. KC881007) as well as any other subgroup 2b coronavirus now known (e.g., as can be found in the GenBank® Database) or later identified, and any combination thereof. Regarding present claim 7. The chimeric subgroup 2b coronavirus spike protein of claim 3, wherein said first subgroup 2b coronavirus is Bat SARS CoV-HKU3 (GenBank Accession No. FJ211859), said second subgroup 2b coronavirus is SARSCoV.Urbani (GenBank Accession No. AY278741.1 ), and said third subgroup 2b coronavirus is BtCoV 279.2005 (DQ648857) (see claim 4 in Baric) . Baric et al. do not expressly teach present SEQ ID NO: 1 or the first region comprising amino acid residues 16-305 comprising a coronavirus S protein N-terminal domain (NTD) , a second coronavirus that is different from the first coronavirus; and/or b) a second region comprising amino acid residues 330-521 comprising a coronavirus S protein receptor binding domain (RBD) of a third coronavirus that is different from the first coronavirus and/or second coronavirus. It would have been prima facie obvious to provide a chimeric coronavirus S protein comprising amino acid residues 16-305 comprising a coronavirus S protein N-terminal domain (NTD), a second coronavirus that is different from the first coronavirus; and/or b) a second region comprising amino acid residues 330-521 comprising a coronavirus S protein receptor binding domain (RBD) of a third coronavirus that is different from the first coronavirus and/or second coronavirus , because Baric et al., teach chimeric coronavirus S protein comprising the same components of the S protein from different coronavirus strains comprising a) a first region comprising amino acids 1-325 of a first coronavirus, b) a second region comprising amino acids 322-500 of a second coronavirus, c) a third region comprising amino acids 488-824 of the first coronavirus, and d) a fourth region comprising amino acids 842-1241 of a third coronavirus. The numbering of amino acid residues 16-305 comprising a coronavirus S protein N-terminal domain (NTD) , a second coronavirus that is different from the first coronavirus; and/or b) a second region comprising amino acid residues 330-521 comprising a coronavirus S protein receptor binding domain (RBD) , recited in the present claims merely refers to the different sections of the spike protein comprising NTD and RBD, which are expressly discloses in Baric. Regarding present claim s 1 and 9. Joyce et al. teaches a sequence identical with present SEQ ID NO: 1, (see SEQ ID NO: 18 in Joyce and the sequence alignment below) and a sequence having 96% similarity with present SEQ ID NO: 4 (see SEQ ID NO: 18) . Present SEQ ID NO: 1 and SEQ ID NO: 18 in Joyce et al. Query Match 100.0 %; Score 6722; Length 1273; Best Local Similarity 100.0%; Matches 1273; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0; Qy 1 MFVFLVLLPLVSSQCVNLTTRTQLPPAYTNSFTRGVYYPDKVFRSSVLHSTQDLFLPFFS 60 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 1 MFVFLVLLPLVSSQCVNLTTRTQLPPAYTNSFTRGVYYPDKVFRSSVLHSTQDLFLPFFS 60 Qy 61 NVTWFHAIHVSGTNGTKRFDNPVLPFNDGVYFASTEKSNIIRGWIFGTTLDSKTQSLLIV 120 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 61 NVTWFHAIHVSGTNGTKRFDNPVLPFNDGVYFASTEKSNIIRGWIFGTTLDSKTQSLLIV 120 Qy 121 NNATNVVIKVCEFQFCNDPFLGVYYHKNNKSWMESEFRVYSSANNCTFEYVSQPFLMDLE 180 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 121 NNATNVVIKVCEFQFCNDPFLGVYYHKNNKSWMESEFRVYSSANNCTFEYVSQPFLMDLE 180 Qy 181 GKQGNFKNLREFVFKNIDGYFKIYSKHTPINLVRDLPQGFSALEPLVDLPIGINITRFQT 240 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 181 GKQGNFKNLREFVFKNIDGYFKIYSKHTPINLVRDLPQGFSALEPLVDLPIGINITRFQT 240 Qy 241 LLALHRSYLTPGDSSSGWTAGAAAYYVGYLQPRTFLLKYNENGTITDAVDCALDPLSETK 300 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 241 LLALHRSYLTPGDSSSGWTAGAAAYYVGYLQPRTFLLKYNENGTITDAVDCALDPLSETK 300 Qy 301 CTLKSFTVEKGIYQTSNFRVQPTESIVRFPNITNLCPFGEVFNATRFASVYAWNRKRISN 360 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 301 CTLKSFTVEKGIYQTSNFRVQPTESIVRFPNITNLCPFGEVFNATRFASVYAWNRKRISN 360 Qy 361 CVADYSVLYNSASFSTFKCYGVSPTKLNDLCFTNVYADSFVIRGDEVRQIAPGQTGKIAD 420 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 361 CVADYSVLYNSASFSTFKCYGVSPTKLNDLCFTNVYADSFVIRGDEVRQIAPGQTGKIAD 420 Qy 421 YNYKLPDDFTGCVIAWNSNNLDSKVGGNYNYLYRLFRKSNLKPFERDISTEIYQAGSTPC 480 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 421 YNYKLPDDFTGCVIAWNSNNLDSKVGGNYNYLYRLFRKSNLKPFERDISTEIYQAGSTPC 480 Qy 481 NGVEGFNCYFPLQSYGFQPTNGVGYQPYRVVVLSFELLHAPATVCGPKKSTNLVKNKCVN 540 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 481 NGVEGFNCYFPLQSYGFQPTNGVGYQPYRVVVLSFELLHAPATVCGPKKSTNLVKNKCVN 540 Qy 541 FNFNGLTGTGVLTESNKKFLPFQQFGRDIADTTDAVRDPQTLEILDITPCSFGGVSVITP 600 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 541 FNFNGLTGTGVLTESNKKFLPFQQFGRDIADTTDAVRDPQTLEILDITPCSFGGVSVITP 600 Qy 601 GTNTSNQVAVLYQDVNCTEVPVAIHADQLTPTWRVYSTGSNVFQTRAGCLIGAEHVNNSY 660 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 601 GTNTSNQVAVLYQDVNCTEVPVAIHADQLTPTWRVYSTGSNVFQTRAGCLIGAEHVNNSY 660 Qy 661 ECDIPIGAGICASYQTQTNSPRRARSVASQSIIAYTMSLGAENSVAYSNNSIAIPTNFTI 720 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 661 ECDIPIGAGICASYQTQTNSPRRARSVASQSIIAYTMSLGAENSVAYSNNSIAIPTNFTI 720 Qy 721 SVTTEILPVSMTKTSVDCTMYICGDSTECSNLLLQYGSFCTQLNRALTGIAVEQDKNTQE 780 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 721 SVTTEILPVSMTKTSVDCTMYICGDSTECSNLLLQYGSFCTQLNRALTGIAVEQDKNTQE 780 Qy 781 VFAQVKQIYKTPPIKDFGGFNFSQILPDPSKPSKRSFIEDLLFNKVTLADAGFIKQYGDC 840 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 781 VFAQVKQIYKTPPIKDFGGFNFSQILPDPSKPSKRSFIEDLLFNKVTLADAGFIKQYGDC 840 Qy 841 LGDIAARDLICAQKFNGLTVLPPLLTDEMIAQYTSALLAGTITSGWTFGAGAALQIPFAM 900 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 841 LGDIAARDLICAQKFNGLTVLPPLLTDEMIAQYTSALLAGTITSGWTFGAGAALQIPFAM 900 Qy 901 QMAYRFNGIGVTQNVLYENQKLIANQFNSAIGKIQDSLSSTASALGKLQDVVNQNAQALN 960 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 901 QMAYRFNGIGVTQNVLYENQKLIANQFNSAIGKIQDSLSSTASALGKLQDVVNQNAQALN 960 Qy 961 TLVKQLSSNFGAISSVLNDILSRLDKVEAEVQIDRLITGRLQSLQTYVTQQLIRAAEIRA 1020 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 961 TLVKQLSSNFGAISSVLNDILSRLDKVEAEVQIDRLITGRLQSLQTYVTQQLIRAAEIRA 1020 Qy 1021 SANLAATKMSECVLGQSKRVDFCGKGYHLMSFPQSAPHGVVFLHVTYVPAQEKNFTTAPA 1080 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 1021 SANLAATKMSECVLGQSKRVDFCGKGYHLMSFPQSAPHGVVFLHVTYVPAQEKNFTTAPA 1080 Qy 1081 ICHDGKAHFPREGVFVSNGTHWFVTQRNFYEPQIITTDNTFVSGNCDVVIGIVNNTVYDP 1140 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 1081 ICHDGKAHFPREGVFVSNGTHWFVTQRNFYEPQIITTDNTFVSGNCDVVIGIVNNTVYDP 1140 Qy 1141 LQPELDSFKEELDKYFKNHTSPDVDLGDISGINASVVNIQKEIDRLNEVAKNLNESLIDL 1200 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 1141 LQPELDSFKEELDKYFKNHTSPDVDLGDISGINASVVNIQKEIDRLNEVAKNLNESLIDL 1200 Qy 1201 QELGKYEQYIKWPWYIWLGFIAGLIAIVMVTIMLCCMTSCCSCLKGCCSCGSCCKFDEDD 1260 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 1201 QELGKYEQYIKWPWYIWLGFIAGLIAIVMVTIMLCCMTSCCSCLKGCCSCGSCCKFDEDD 1260 Qy 1261 SEPVLKGVKLHYT 1273 ||||||||||||| Db 1261 SEPVLKGVKLHYT 1273 Present SEQ ID NO: 4 and SEQ ID NO: 18 in Joyce et al. Query Match 95.8 %; Score 6452.5; Length 1273; Best Local Similarity 96.0%; Matches 1222; Conservative 15; Mismatches 35; Indels 1; Gaps 1; Qy 1 MFVFLVLLPLVSSQCVNLTTRTQLPPAYTNSFTRGVYYPDKVFRSSVLHSTQDLFLPFFS 60 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 1 MFVFLVLLPLVSSQCVNLTTRTQLPPAYTNSFTRGVYYPDKVFRSSVLHSTQDLFLPFFS 60 Qy 61 NVTWFHAIHVSGTNGTKRFDNPVLPFNDGVYFASTEKSNIIRGWIFGTTLDSKTQSLLIV 120 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 61 NVTWFHAIHVSGTNGTKRFDNPVLPFNDGVYFASTEKSNIIRGWIFGTTLDSKTQSLLIV 120 Qy 121 NNATNVVIKVCEFQFCNDPFLGVYYHKNNKSWMESEFRVYSSANNCTFEYVSQPFLMDLE 180 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 121 NNATNVVIKVCEFQFCNDPFLGVYYHKNNKSWMESEFRVYSSANNCTFEYVSQPFLMDLE 180 Qy 181 GKQGNFKNLREFVFKNIDGYFKIYSKHTPINLVRDLPQGFSALEPLVDLPIGINITRFQT 240 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 181 GKQGNFKNLREFVFKNIDGYFKIYSKHTPINLVRDLPQGFSALEPLVDLPIGINITRFQT 240 Qy 241 LLALHRSYLTPGDSSSGWTAGAAAYYVGYLQPRTFLLKYNENGTITDAVDCALDPLSETK 300 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 241 LLALHRSYLTPGDSSSGWTAGAAAYYVGYLQPRTFLLKYNENGTITDAVDCALDPLSETK 300 Qy 301 CTLKSFTVEKGIYQTSNFRVQPTESIVRFPNITNLCPFGEVFNATKFPSVYAWERKKISN 360 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:| ||||| ||:||| Db 301 CTLKSFTVEKGIYQTSNFRVQPTESIVRFPNITNLCPFGEVFNATRFASVYAWNRKRISN 360 Qy 361 CVADYSVLYNSTFFSTFKCYGVSATKLNDLCFSNVYADSFVVKGDDVRQIAPGQTGVIAD 420 ||||||||||| |||||||||| ||||||||:||||||||::||:|||||||||| ||| Db 361 CVADYSVLYNSASFSTFKCYGVSPTKLNDLCFTNVYADSFVIRGDEVRQIAPGQTGKIAD 420 Qy 421 YNYKLPDDFMGCVLAWNTRNIDATSTGNYNYKYRYLRHGKLRPFERDISNVPFSPDGKPC 480 ||||||||| |||:|||: |:|: ||||| || | |:||||||| : || Db 421 YNYKLPDDFTGCVIAWNSNNLDSKVGGNYNYLYRLFRKSNLKPFERDISTEIYQAGSTPC 480 Qy 481 T-PPALNCYWPLNDYGFYTTTGIGYQPYRVVVLSFELLNAPATVCGPKKSTNLVKNKCVN 539 |||:|| ||| | |:|||||||||||||||:||||||||||||||||||||| Db 481 NGVEGFNCYFPLQSYGFQPTNGVGYQPYRVVVLSFELLHAPATVCGPKKSTNLVKNKCVN 540 Qy 540 FNFNGLTGTGVLTESNKKFLPFQQFGRDIADTTDAVRDPQTLEILDITPCSFGGVSVITP 599 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 541 FNFNGLTGTGVLTESNKKFLPFQQFGRDIADTTDAVRDPQTLEILDITPCSFGGVSVITP 600 Qy 600 GTNTSNQVAVLYQDVNCTEVPVAIHADQLTPTWRVYSTGSNVFQTRAGCLIGAEHVNNSY 659 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 601 GTNTSNQVAVLYQDVNCTEVPVAIHADQLTPTWRVYSTGSNVFQTRAGCLIGAEHVNNSY 660 Qy 660 ECDIPIGAGICASYQTQTNSPRRARSVASQSIIAYTMSLGAENSVAYSNNSIAIPTNFTI 719 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 661 ECDIPIGAGICASYQTQTNSPRRARSVASQSIIAYTMSLGAENSVAYSNNSIAIPTNFTI 720 Qy 720 SVTTEILPVSMTKTSVDCTMYICGDSTECSNLLLQYGSFCTQLNRALTGIAVEQDKNTQE 779 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 721 SVTTEILPVSMTKTSVDCTMYICGDSTECSNLLLQYGSFCTQLNRALTGIAVEQDKNTQE 780 Qy 780 VFAQVKQIYKTPPIKDFGGFNFSQILPDPSKPSKRSFIEDLLFNKVTLADAGFIKQYGDC 839 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 781 VFAQVKQIYKTPPIKDFGGFNFSQILPDPSKPSKRSFIEDLLFNKVTLADAGFIKQYGDC 840 Qy 840 LGDIAARDLICAQKFNGLTVLPPLLTDEMIAQYTSALLAGTITSGWTFGAGAALQIPFAM 899 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 841 LGDIAARDLICAQKFNGLTVLPPLLTDEMIAQYTSALLAGTITSGWTFGAGAALQIPFAM 900 Qy 900 QMAYRFNGIGVTQNVLYENQKLIANQFNSAIGKIQDSLSSTASALGKLQDVVNQNAQALN 959 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 901 QMAYRFNGIGVTQNVLYENQKLIANQFNSAIGKIQDSLSSTASALGKLQDVVNQNAQALN 960 Qy 960 TLVKQLSSNFGAISSVLNDILSRLDKVEAEVQIDRLITGRLQSLQTYVTQQLIRAAEIRA 1019 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 961 TLVKQLSSNFGAISSVLNDILSRLDKVEAEVQIDRLITGRLQSLQTYVTQQLIRAAEIRA 1020 Qy 1020 SANLAATKMSECVLGQSKRVDFCGKGYHLMSFPQSAPHGVVFLHVTYVPAQEKNFTTAPA 1079 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 1021 SANLAATKMSECVLGQSKRVDFCGKGYHLMSFPQSAPHGVVFLHVTYVPAQEKNFTTAPA 1080 Qy 1080 ICHDGKAHFPREGVFVSNGTHWFVTQRNFYEPQIITTDNTFVSGNCDVVIGIVNNTVYDP 1139 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 1081 ICHDGKAHFPREGVFVSNGTHWFVTQRNFYEPQIITTDNTFVSGNCDVVIGIVNNTVYDP 1140 Qy 1140 LQPELDSFKEELDKYFKNHTSPDVDLGDISGINASVVNIQKEIDRLNEVAKNLNESLIDL 1199 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 1141 LQPELDSFKEELDKYFKNHTSPDVDLGDISGINASVVNIQKEIDRLNEVAKNLNESLIDL 1200 Qy 1200 QELGKYEQYIKWPWYIWLGFIAGLIAIVMVTIMLCCMTSCCSCLKGCCSCGSCCKFDEDD 1259 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 1201 QELGKYEQYIKWPWYIWLGFIAGLIAIVMVTIMLCCMTSCCSCLKGCCSCGSCCKFDEDD 1260 Qy 1260 SEPVLKGVKLHYT 1272 ||||||||||||| Db 1261 SEPVLKGVKLHYT 1273 It would have been prima facie obvious to provide a chimeric coronavirus S protein comprising SEQ ID NO: 1 and 95.8 % of present SEQ ID NO: 4 as a reference sequence because the coronavirus strain comprising present SEQ ID NO: 1 has been known at the time of the present invention. Thus, the present claims would have been obvious at the time of the present invention. Double Patenting The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg , 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman , 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi , 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum , 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel , 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington , 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with the examined application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. See MPEP § 717.02 for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP §§ 706.02(l)(1) - 706.02(l)(3) for applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b). The USPTO Internet website contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The filing date of the application in which the form is filed determines what form (e.g., PTO/SB/25, PTO/SB/26, PTO/AIA/25, or PTO/AIA/26) should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp. Claim s 1 and 4- 7 and 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 9,884,895 in view of Joyce et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2023/0285539) and Gillim -Ross et al. (US Patent 7,129,042). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present Claims are drawn to A chimeric coronavirus S protein, comprising a coronavirus S protein backbone from a first coronavirus that comprises the following amino acid substitutions wherein the numbering is based on the reference amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:1:a) a first region comprising amino acid residues 16-305 comprising a coronavirus S protein N-terminal domain (NTD) from a second coronavirus that is different from the first coronavirus; and/or b) a second region comprising amino acid residues 330-521 comprising a coronavirus S protein receptor binding domain (RBD) of a third coronavirus that is different from the first coronavirus and/or second coronavirus. The claims of the U.S. Patent No.9,884,895 are drawn to A chimeric coronavirus spike protein comprising, in orientation from amino to carboxy terminus: a) a first region comprising a portion of a coronavirus spike protein ectodomain that precedes a coronavirus spike protein receptor binding domain (RBD) as located in a nonchimeric coronavirus spike protein, of a first coronavirus; b) a second region comprising a coronavirus spike protein receptor binding domain (RBD) of a second coronavirus that is different from said first coronavirus; c) a third region comprising a portion of a coronavirus spike protein S1 domain as located in a nonchimeric coronavirus spike protein immediately downstream of the RBD, contiguous with a portion of a coronavirus spike protein S2 domain as located immediately upstream of a fusion protein domain in a nonchimeric coronavirus spike protein, wherein said third region is of said first coronavirus; and d) a fourth region comprising a portion of a coronavirus spike protein from the start of the fusion protein domain through the carboxy terminal end as located in a nonchimeric coronavirus spike protein of a third coronavirus that is different from said first coronavirus and said second coronavirus. The present claims are obvious over the claims of U.S. Patent No.9,884,895 , in view of Joyce et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2023/0285539) and Gillim -Ross et al. (US Patent 7,129,042) because U.S. Patent No.9,884,895 teaches a chimeric coronavirus sprike protein comprising all components required by the present chimera. It would have been prima facie obvious to provide a chimeric coronavirus S protein comprising amino acid residues 16-305 comprising a coronavirus S protein N-terminal domain (NTD), a second coronavirus that is different from the first coronavirus; and/or b) a second region comprising amino acid residues 330-521 comprising a coronavirus S protein receptor binding domain (RBD) of a third coronavirus that is different from the first coronavirus and/or second coronavirus , because Baric et al., teach chimeric coronavirus S protein comprising the same components of the S protein from different coronavirus strains comprising a) a first region comprising amino acids 1-325 of a first coronavirus, b) a second region comprising amino acids 322-500 of a second coronavirus, c) a third region comprising amino acids 488-824 of the first coronavirus, and d) a fourth region comprising amino acids 842-1241 of a third coronavirus. The numbering of amino acid residues 16-305 comprising a coronavirus S protein N-terminal domain (NTD) , a second coronavirus that is different from the first coronavirus; and/or b) a second region comprising amino acid residues 330-521 comprising a coronavirus S protein receptor binding domain (RBD) , recited in the present claims merely refers to the different sections of the spike protein comprising NTD and RBD, which are expressly discloses in Baric. Joyce et al. teaches a sequence identical with present SEQ ID NO: 1, (see SEQ ID NO: 18 in Joyce and the sequence alignment below) and a sequence having 96% similarity with present SEQ ID NO: 4 (see SEQ ID NO: 18). Gillim -Ross et al. (US Patent 7,129,042) teaches a coronavirus S protein 95.9% identical with present SEQ ID NO: 3 (see SEQ ID NO: 21 in Gillim -Ross and sequence alignment below). Pertinent references Gillim -Ross et al. (US Patent 7,129,042) teaches a coronavirus S protein 95.9% identical with present SEQ ID NO: 3 (see SEQ ID NO: 21 in Gillim -Ross and sequence alignment below). Preset SEQ ID NO: 3 and SEQ ID NO: 21 in Gillim -Ross) Query Match 95.9 %; Score 6351.5; Length 1255; Best Local Similarity 95.9%; Matches 1205; Conservative 15; Mismatches 35; Indels 1; Gaps 1; Qy 1 MFIFLLFLTLTSGSDLDRCTTFDDVQAPNYTQHTSSMRGVYYPDEIFRSDTLYLTQDLFL 60 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 1 MFIFLLFLTLTSGSDLDRCTTFDDVQAPNYTQHTSSMRGVYYPDEIFRSDTLYLTQDLFL 60 Qy 61 PFYSNVTGFHTINHTFGNPVIPFKDGIYFAATEKSNVVRGWVFGSTMNNKSQSVIIINNS 120 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 61 PFYSNVTGFHTINHTFGNPVIPFKDGIYFAATEKSNVVRGWVFGSTMNNKSQSVIIINNS 120 Qy 121 TNVVIRACNFELCDNPFFAVSKPMGTQTHTMIFDNAFNCTFEYISDAFSLDVSEKSGNFK 180 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 121 TNVVIRACNFELCDNPFFAVSKPMGTQTHTMIFDNAFNCTFEYISDAFSLDVSEKSGNFK 180 Qy 181 HLREFVFKNKDGFLYVYKGYQPIDVVRDLPSGFNTLKPIFKLPLGINITNFRAILTAFSP 240 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 181 HLREFVFKNKDGFLYVYKGYQPIDVVRDLPSGFNTLKPIFKLPLGINITNFRAILTAFSP 240 Qy 241 AQDIWGTSAAAYFVGYLKPTTFMLKYDENGTITDAVDCSQNPLAELKCSVKSFEIDKGIY 300 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 241 AQDIWGTSAAAYFVGYLKPTTFMLKYDENGTITDAVDCSQNPLAELKCSVKSFEIDKGIY 300 Qy 301 QTSNFRVVPSGDVVRFPNITNLCPFGEVFNATRFASVYAWNRKRISNCVADYSVLYNSAS 360 ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:| ||||| ||:|||||||||||||| Db 301 QTSNFRVVPSGDVVRFPNITNLCPFGEVFNATKFPSVYAWERKKISNCVADYSVLYNSTF 360 Qy 361 FSTFKCYGVSPTKLNDLCFTNVYADSFVIRGDEVRQIAPGQTGKIADYNYKLPDDFTGCV 420 |||||||||| ||||||||:||||||||::||:|||||||||| |||||||||||| ||| Db 361 FSTFKCYGVSATKLNDLCFSNVYADSFVVKGDDVRQIAPGQTGVIADYNYKLPDDFMGCV 420 Qy 421 IAWNSNNLDSKVGGNYNYLYRLFRKSNLKPFERDISTEIYQAGSTPCNGVEGFNCYFPLQ 480 :|||: |:|: ||||| || | |:||||||| : || |||:|| Db 421 LAWNTRNIDATSTGNYNYKYRYLRHGKLRPFERDISNVPFSPDGKPCT-PPALNCYWPLN 479 Qy 481 SYGFQPTNGVGYQPYRVVVLSFELLHAPATVCGPKLSTDLIKNQCVNFNFNGLTGTGVLT 540 ||| | |:|||||||||||||||:|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 480 DYGFYTTTGIGYQPYRVVVLSFELLNAPATVCGPKLSTDLIKNQCVNFNFNGLTGTGVLT 539 Qy 541 PSSKRFQPFQQFGRDVSDFTDSVRDPKTSEILDISPCSFGGVSVITPGTNASSEVAVLYQ 600 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 540 PSSKRFQPFQQFGRDVSDFTDSVRDPKTSEILDISPCSFGGVSVITPGTNASSEVAVLYQ 599 Qy 601 DVNCTDVSTAIHADQLTPAWRIYSTGNNVFQTQAGCLIGAEHVDTSYECDIPIGAGICAS 660 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 600 DVNCTDVSTAIHADQLTPAWRIYSTGNNVFQTQAGCLIGAEHVDTSYECDIPIGAGICAS 659 Qy 661 YHTVSLLRSTSQKSIVAYTMSLGADSSIAYSNNTIAIPTNFSISITTEVMPVSMAKTSVD 720 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 660 YHTVSLLRSTSQKSIVAYTMSLGADSSIAYSNNTIAIPTNFSISITTEVMPVSMAKTSVD 719 Qy 721 CNMYICGDSTECANLLLQYGSFCTQLNRALSGIAAEQDRNTREVFAQVKQMYKTPTLKYF 780 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 720 CNMYICGDSTECANLLLQYGSFCTQLNRALSGIAAEQDRNTREVFAQVKQMYKTPTLKYF 779 Qy 781 GGFNFSQILPDPLKPTKRSFIEDLLFNKVTLADAGFMKQYGECLGDINARDLICAQKFNG 840 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 780 GGFNFSQILPDPLKPTKRSFIEDLLFNKVTLADAGFMKQYGECLGDINARDLICAQKFNG 839 Qy 841 LTVLPPLLTDDMIAAYTAALVSGTATAGWTFGAGAALQIPFAMQMAYRFNGIGVTQNVLY 900 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 840 LTVLPPLLTDDMIAAYTAALVSGTATAGWTFGAGAALQIPFAMQMAYRFNGIGVTQNVLY 899 Qy 901 ENQKQIANQFNKAISQIQESLTTTSTALGKLQDVVNQNAQALNTLVKQLSSNFGAISSVL 960 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 900 ENQKQIANQFNKAISQIQESLTTTSTALGKLQDVVNQNAQALNTLVKQLSSNFGAISSVL 959 Qy 961 NDILSRLDKVEAEVQIDRLITGRLQSLQTYVTQQLIRAAEIRASANLAATKMSECVLGQS 1020 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 960 NDILSRLDKVEAEVQIDRLITGRLQSLQTYVTQQLIRAAEIRASANLAATKMSECVLGQS 1019 Qy 1021 KRVDFCGKGYHLMSFPQAAPHGVVFLHVTYVPSQERNFTTAPAICHEGKAYFPREGVFVF 1080 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 1020 KRVDFCGKGYHLMSFPQAAPHGVVFLHVTYVPSQERNFTTAPAICHEGKAYFPREGVFVF 1079 Qy 1081 NGTSWFITQRNFFSPQIITTDNTFVSGNCDVVIGIINNTVYDPLQPELDSFKEELDKYFK 1140 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 1080 NGTSWFITQRNFFSPQIITTDNTFVSGNCDVVIGIINNTVYDPLQPELDSFKEELDKYFK 1139 Qy 1141 NHTSPDVDLGDISGINASVVNIQKEIDRLNEVAKNLNESLIDLQELGKYEQYIKWPWYVW 1200 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 1140 NHTSPDVDLGDISGINASVVNIQKEIDRLNEVAKNLNESLIDLQELGKYEQYIKWPWYVW 1199 Qy 1201 LGFIAGLIAIVMVTILLCCMTSCCSCLKGACSCGSCCKFDEDDSEPVLKGVKLHYT 1256 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| Db 1200 LGFIAGLIAIVMVTILLCCMTSCCSCLKGACSCGSCCKFDEDDSEPVLKGVKLHYT 1255 Contact Information Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT AGNIESZKA BOESEN whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-8035 . The examiner can normally be reached on FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT 8:30 - 5:00 PM . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Thomas Visone can be reached on 571-270-0684. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /AGNIESZKA BOESEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1648