DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Invention I and Species C in the reply filed on January 6, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that, in accordance with the amendment to claim 1, Inventions I and II currently have the same or corresponding technical features, relating to a single general inventive concept. This is found persuasive. The restriction requirement has been withdrawn.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “210” has been used to designate both a “third barrier” and a “first supporting part”, and reference character “220” has been used to designate both a “first supporting part” and a “second supporting part”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are also objected to because reference character “2013” in Fig. 15 is presumed to be intended as “2103”, a third pad layer. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-9, 16-18, 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al. of Fuzhou BOE Optoelectronics Technology Co., Ltd. (CN 112764256), translation provided herewith, hereinafter “Xu”.
Regarding claim 1, Xu discloses a display panel (Figs. 1-8) having a display area (110) and a peripheral area (120) surrounding the display area (Fig. 1), the peripheral area comprising a plurality of side peripheral areas (L1, L2, A2) and a plurality of corner peripheral areas (A1), and two adjacent side peripheral areas (L1, L2, A2) being connected to a corner peripheral area (A1) therebetween (Figs. 1-2), wherein
the display panel comprises:
a first barrier structure (121-123) disposed in the peripheral area (120) and at least partially surrounding the display area (110), the first barrier structure is configured to prevent a crack in the peripheral area from extending to the display area (paras. [n0043, n0048]), wherein
the first barrier structure (121-123) comprises:
a first portion (122, 123), located in a side peripheral area (A2) and comprising M first barriers (122, 123) extending along the side peripheral area (Figs. 1-3), M being greater than or equal to 2 (M ≥ 2) (Fig. 3); and
a second portion (121), located in a corner peripheral area (A1) and comprising N second barriers (121) extending along the corner peripheral area (Figs. 1, 2, 5, 6), N being greater than or equal to 1 (N ≥ 1) (Figs. 5-6);
wherein M is greater than N (M > N) (Figs. 4-6); a first dimension (e.g., b, Fig. 4) of the first portion (122) is greater than a second dimension (e.g., P, Fig. 6) of the second portion (121) (paras. [n0049, n0053]), the first dimension is a dimension (b) of the first portion in a direction perpendicular to an extending direction (i.e., horizontal direction in Figs. 3-4) of the first portion, and the second dimension is a dimension (P) of the second portion in a direction perpendicular to an extending direction (i.e., arc direction of 121) of the second portion (Figs. 2-6); and
a second barrier structure (150, 160), disposed between the first barrier structure (121-123) and the display area (110) and surrounding the display area (Figs. 1-3), the second barrier structure being configured to prevent a material (paras. [n0064-n0065]) in the display area from overflowing (Fig. 1), wherein
a third dimension (i.e., width) of a portion, located in the side peripheral area (L1, L2), of the second barrier structure (160) is greater than a fourth dimension (i.e., width) of a portion, located in the corner peripheral area (A1), of the second barrier structure (150) (Figs. 2-3); and
the third dimension is a dimension (width) of the portion, located in the side peripheral area, of the second barrier structure in a direction perpendicular to an extending direction (i.e., horizontal direction in L1, vertical direction in L2, Figs. 1-2) of the portion, and the fourth dimension is a dimension (width) of the portion, located in the corner peripheral area, of the second barrier structure in a direction perpendicular to an extending direction (i.e., arc direction in A1, Fig. 2) of the portion (Figs. 2-3).
Regarding the limitations of “the first barrier structure is configured to prevent a crack in the peripheral area from extending to the display area,” and “the second barrier structure is configured to prevent a material in the display area from overflowing,” it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. See MPEP 2114, Subsections I and II.
Regarding claim 2, Xu discloses wherein at least one of the N second barriers (121) is connected to at least two of the M first barriers (122, 123) (Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 4, Xu discloses wherein M is equal to 5 (M = 5) (e.g., one set of 122+123, Fig. 4), and N is equal to 2 (N = 2) (Fig. 6); and
in a direction away from the display area (110), an outermost first barrier (122) is connected to an outermost second barrier (121), and remaining M−1 first barriers are connected to remaining N−1 second barriers (Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 5, Xu discloses wherein the M first barriers (122, 123) are spaced an equal distance apart (Figs. 3-4); and/or
N is greater than or equal to 2 (N ≥ 2), and the N second barriers (121) are spaced an equal distance apart (Figs. 5-6); and/or
widths of the M first barriers (122, 123) are substantially equal (Figs. 3-4); and/or
N is greater than or equal to 2 (N ≥ 2), and widths of the N second barriers (121) are substantially equal (Figs. 5-6).
Regarding claim 7, Xu discloses wherein the peripheral area (120) further comprises a plurality of transition peripheral areas (A2) (Figs. 1-2);
a side peripheral area (L1, L2) and a corner peripheral area (A1) that are adjacent are connected through a transition peripheral area (A2) therebetween (Fig. 2); and a junction of the transition peripheral area (A2) and the corner peripheral area (A1) forms an inward concave shape (e.g., at connection of 150 and 160, Fig. 2), and the inward concave shape is sunken towards a direction proximate to the display area (110) (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Xu discloses wherein a width of the transition peripheral area (A2) decreases from an end, connected to the side peripheral area (L1, L2), of the transition peripheral area to an end, connected to the corner peripheral area (A1), of the transition peripheral area (e.g., A2 does not extend all the way to the corners, thus a width decreases; Fig. 2); and
at least one second barrier of the N second barriers (121) is connected to at least two first barriers of the M first barriers (122, 123), and junctions of the at least two first barriers and the at least one second barrier are located in the transition peripheral area (A2) (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Xu discloses further comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 1; para. [n0041]);
a first insulating stacked layer (121-123) disposed on the substrate, wherein a surface of the first insulating stacked layer away from the substrate is provided with a plurality of grooves therein (Figs. 2-6; paras. [n0043, n0048]), and the plurality of grooves are located in the peripheral area (120), and at least partially surround the display area (110) (Fig. 1); and in a direction away from the display area, the plurality of grooves are sequentially arranged at intervals (Figs. 2-6; paras. [n0048, n0051]), wherein
portions, located between two adjacent grooves, of the first insulating stacked layer form a first barrier (122, 123) and a second barrier (121) (Figs. 2-6).
Regarding claim 16, Xu discloses a display panel (Figs. 1-8) having a display area (110) and a peripheral area (120) surrounding the display area (Fig. 1), the peripheral area comprising a plurality of side peripheral areas (L1, L2) and a plurality of corner peripheral areas (A1), and two adjacent side peripheral areas (L1, L2) being connected to a corner peripheral area (A1) therebetween (Figs. 1-2), wherein
the display panel comprises: a second barrier structure (150, 160) surrounding the display area (110), and the second barrier structure is configured to prevent a material (paras. [n0064-n0065]) in the display area from overflowing (Fig. 1), wherein
a third dimension (i.e., width) of a portion, located in a side peripheral area (L1, L2), of the second barrier structure (160), is greater than a fourth dimension (i.e., width) of a portion, located in a corner peripheral area (A1), of the second barrier structure (150) (Figs. 2-3), wherein
the third dimension is a dimension (width) of the portion, located in the side peripheral area, of the second barrier structure in a direction perpendicular to an extending direction (i.e., horizontal direction in L1, vertical direction in L2, Figs. 1-2) of the portion, and the fourth dimension is a dimension (width) of the portion, located in the corner peripheral area, of the second barrier structure in a direction perpendicular to an extending direction (i.e., arc direction in A1, Fig. 2) of the portion (Figs. 2-3).
Regarding the limitation of “the second barrier structure is configured to prevent a material in the display area from overflowing,” it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. See MPEP 2114, Subsections I and II.
Regarding claim 17, Xu discloses wherein the second barrier structure (150, 160) comprises at least one third barrier (150, 160), the at least one third barrier surrounds the display area (110) (Figs. 1-3), wherein
in a case that the second barrier structure comprises one third barrier (150, 160), a width of a portion (160), located in the side peripheral area (L1, L2), of the third barrier is greater than a width of a portion (150), located in the corner peripheral area (A1), of the third barrier (Figs. 2-3); and
in a case that the second barrier structure comprises at least two third barriers (150, 160), the at least two third barriers are sequentially arranged at intervals in a direction away from the display area (110) (Figs. 2-3); in the side peripheral area, a distance between two adjacent third barriers is a first distance; in the corner peripheral area, a distance between the two adjacent third barriers is a second distance; and the first distance is greater than the second distance; and/or a width of a portion (160), located in the side peripheral area (L1, L2), of a third barrier is greater than a width of a portion (150), located in the corner peripheral area (A1), of the third barrier (Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 18, Xu discloses wherein the third barrier (150, 160) comprises:
a first barrier section (160) extending along the side peripheral area (L1, L2);
a second barrier section (150) extending along the corner peripheral area (A1); and
a third barrier section (e.g., connection of 160 to 150) connected between the first barrier section and the second barrier section, wherein a width of the third barrier section decreases from an end, connected to the first barrier section (160), of the third barrier section to an end, connected to the second barrier section (150), of the third barrier section (Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claims 27 and 28, Xu discloses a display apparatus (para. [n0001]), comprising the display panel according to claims 1 and 16, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 11, 19-21, 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. of Fuzhou BOE Optoelectronics Technology Co., Ltd. (CN 112764256), as applied to claims 9 and 17 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2017/0069873), of record in IDS.
Regarding claim 10, Xu fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first insulating stacked layer comprises a buffer layer, a first gate insulating layer, a second gate insulating layer, an interlayer dielectric layer, and a passivation layer that are sequentially arranged in a direction perpendicular to the substrate and away from the substrate, wherein the grooves penetrate through at least one, relatively away from the substrate, of the buffer layer, the first gate insulating layer, the second gate insulating layer, the interlayer dielectric layer and the passivation layer.
However, Kim discloses a display panel (Figs. 1-8), wherein the first insulating stacked layer comprises a buffer layer (120), a first gate insulating layer (140), a second gate insulating layer (160), an interlayer dielectric layer (181), and a passivation layer (182) that are sequentially arranged in a direction perpendicular to the substrate (110) and away from the substrate (Figs. 1-8), wherein
the grooves (A, Figs. 5-8) penetrate through at least one, relatively away from the substrate, of the buffer layer, the first gate insulating layer, the second gate insulating layer, the interlayer dielectric layer and the passivation layer (Figs. 5-8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the first insulating stacked layer comprises a buffer layer, a first gate insulating layer, a second gate insulating layer, an interlayer dielectric layer, and a passivation layer that are sequentially arranged in a direction perpendicular to the substrate and away from the substrate, wherein the grooves penetrate through at least one, relatively away from the substrate, of the buffer layer, the first gate insulating layer, the second gate insulating layer, the interlayer dielectric layer and the passivation layer, as in Kim, into the display panel of Xu to prevent outside impurities from penetrating the display area (Kim, para. [0080]).
Regarding claim 11, Xu fails to explicitly disclose a filling part, filling the grooves and covering the first barriers and the second barriers; or further comprising: a filling part, filling the grooves and covering the first barriers and the second barriers; and a planarization layer, disposed on a side of the first insulating stacked layer away from the substrate, wherein the filling part and the planarization layer are made of a same material and are disposed in a same layer; or further comprising: an encapsulation layer, disposed on a side of the first insulating stacked layer away from the substrate and comprising a first inorganic encapsulation layer, an organic encapsulation layer and a second inorganic encapsulation layer that are sequentially arranged in a direction perpendicular to the substrate and away from the substrate, wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer and the second inorganic encapsulation layer cover the first barrier structure, and an orthographic projection of the organic encapsulation layer on the substrate and an orthographic projection of the first barrier structure on the substrate have a distance therebetween.
However, Kim discloses further comprising: a filling part (e.g., 310, 320, and/or 330), filling the grooves and covering the first barriers and the second barriers (193a, Figs. 5-6; 191a, Fig. 7; or 150a, Fig. 8) (Figs. 5-8); or
further comprising: a filling part, filling the grooves and covering the first barriers and the second barriers; and a planarization layer, disposed on a side of the first insulating stacked layer away from the substrate, wherein the filling part and the planarization layer are made of a same material and are disposed in a same layer; or further comprising: an encapsulation layer, disposed on a side of the first insulating stacked layer away from the substrate and comprising a first inorganic encapsulation layer, an organic encapsulation layer and a second inorganic encapsulation layer that are sequentially arranged in a direction perpendicular to the substrate and away from the substrate, wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer and the second inorganic encapsulation layer cover the first barrier structure, and an orthographic projection of the organic encapsulation layer on the substrate and an orthographic projection of the first barrier structure on the substrate have a distance therebetween.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate further comprising: a filling part, filling the grooves and covering the first barriers and the second barriers; or further comprising: a filling part, filling the grooves and covering the first barriers and the second barriers; and a planarization layer, disposed on a side of the first insulating stacked layer away from the substrate, wherein the filling part and the planarization layer are made of a same material and are disposed in a same layer; or further comprising: an encapsulation layer, disposed on a side of the first insulating stacked layer away from the substrate and comprising a first inorganic encapsulation layer, an organic encapsulation layer and a second inorganic encapsulation layer that are sequentially arranged in a direction perpendicular to the substrate and away from the substrate, wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer and the second inorganic encapsulation layer cover the first barrier structure, and an orthographic projection of the organic encapsulation layer on the substrate and an orthographic projection of the first barrier structure on the substrate have a distance therebetween, as in Kim, into the display panel of Xu to prevent outside impurities from penetrating the display area (Kim, para. [0080]).
Regarding claim 19, Xu discloses further comprising: a substrate (Fig. 1; para. [n0041]).
Xu fails to explicitly disclose at least one planarization layer and a pixel defining layer that are sequentially disposed on the substrate, wherein the third barrier comprises at least one first pad layer and a second pad layer that are arranged in a direction perpendicular to the substrate; the at least one first pad layer is located in the at least one planarization layer, and the second pad layer is located in the pixel defining layer.
However, Kim discloses at least one planarization layer (160, 181, and/or 182) and a pixel defining layer (183) that are sequentially disposed on the substrate (110) (Figs. 2-8), wherein
the third barrier (193a, Figs. 5-6; 191a, Fig. 7; or 150a, Fig. 8) comprises at least one first pad layer and a second pad layer (191 and/or 193) that are arranged in a direction perpendicular to the substrate (110) (Figs. 5-8); the at least one first pad layer is located in the at least one planarization layer (160, 181, and/or 182), and the second pad layer is located in the pixel defining layer (183) (Figs. 5-8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate at least one planarization layer and a pixel defining layer that are sequentially disposed on the substrate, wherein the third barrier comprises at least one first pad layer and a second pad layer that are arranged in a direction perpendicular to the substrate; the at least one first pad layer is located in the at least one planarization layer, and the second pad layer is located in the pixel defining layer, as in Kim, into the display panel of Xu to form the dummy patterns of materials and at the same time as other elements in the display panel for efficiency.
Regarding claim 20, Xu fails to explicitly disclose wherein the display panel comprises a plurality of planarization layers; the third barrier comprises: a first supporting part comprising a plurality of first pad layers, wherein for any two adjacent first pad layers, an orthographic projection of a first pad layer relatively proximate to the substrate on the substrate is within a range of an orthographic projection of a first pad layer relatively away from the substrate on the substrate; and a second supporting part, disposed on a side of the first supporting part away from the substrate and comprising at least one first pad layer and the second pad layer, wherein an orthographic projection of a first pad layer adjacent to the second pad layer on the substrate is within a range of an orthographic projection of the second pad layer on the substrate.
However, Kim discloses wherein the display panel comprises a plurality of planarization layers (160, 181, and/or 182);
the third barrier (193a, Figs. 5-6; 191a, Fig. 7; or 150a, Fig. 8) comprises:
a first supporting part (e.g., 191, 193) comprising a plurality of first pad layers (193a), wherein for any two adjacent first pad layers, an orthographic projection of a first pad layer relatively proximate to the substrate (110) on the substrate is within a range of an orthographic projection of a first pad layer relatively away from the substrate on the substrate (Figs. 5-8); and
a second supporting part (e.g., 193), disposed on a side of the first supporting part away from the substrate (110) and comprising at least one first pad layer and the second pad layer (193a), wherein an orthographic projection of a first pad layer adjacent to the second pad layer on the substrate is within a range of an orthographic projection of the second pad layer on the substrate (Figs. 5-8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the display panel comprises a plurality of planarization layers; the third barrier comprises: a first supporting part comprising a plurality of first pad layers, wherein for any two adjacent first pad layers, an orthographic projection of a first pad layer relatively proximate to the substrate on the substrate is within a range of an orthographic projection of a first pad layer relatively away from the substrate on the substrate; and a second supporting part, disposed on a side of the first supporting part away from the substrate and comprising at least one first pad layer and the second pad layer, wherein an orthographic projection of a first pad layer adjacent to the second pad layer on the substrate is within a range of an orthographic projection of the second pad layer on the substrate, as in Kim, into the display panel of Xu to form the dummy patterns of materials and at the same time as other elements in the display panel for efficiency.
Regarding claim 21, Xu fails to explicitly disclose wherein an orthographic projection of the second supporting part on the substrate is within a range of an orthographic projection of the first supporting part on the substrate; and/or the second barrier structure comprises two third barriers; the two third barriers share the first supporting part, and orthographic projections of second supporting parts of the two third barriers on the substrate are both within a range of an orthographic projection of the first supporting part on the substrate; and/or the second barrier structure comprises two third barriers, a number of first pad layers comprised in a third barrier relatively away from the display area is greater than a number of first pad layers comprised in a third barrier relatively proximate to the display area.
However, Kim discloses wherein an orthographic projection of the second supporting part (193) on the substrate (110) is within a range of an orthographic projection of the first supporting part (191, 193) on the substrate (Figs. 5-8); and/or
the second barrier structure comprises two third barriers; the two third barriers share the first supporting part, and orthographic projections of second supporting parts of the two third barriers on the substrate are both within a range of an orthographic projection of the first supporting part on the substrate; and/or the second barrier structure comprises two third barriers, a number of first pad layers comprised in a third barrier relatively away from the display area is greater than a number of first pad layers comprised in a third barrier relatively proximate to the display area.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein an orthographic projection of the second supporting part on the substrate is within a range of an orthographic projection of the first supporting part on the substrate; and/or the second barrier structure comprises two third barriers; the two third barriers share the first supporting part, and orthographic projections of second supporting parts of the two third barriers on the substrate are both within a range of an orthographic projection of the first supporting part on the substrate; and/or the second barrier structure comprises two third barriers, a number of first pad layers comprised in a third barrier relatively away from the display area is greater than a number of first pad layers comprised in a third barrier relatively proximate to the display area, as in Kim, into the display panel of Xu for greater stability.
Regarding claim 24, Xu discloses wherein the display area (110) comprises a transparent display area (e.g., innermost area, Fig. 1) and a main display area (e.g., 110) at least partially surrounding the transparent display area (Fig. 1).
Xu fails to explicitly disclose the display panel further comprises: first sub-pixels disposed in the transparent display area; and at least one transparent conductive layer, wherein the at least one transparent conductive layer comprises transparent signal lines located in the transparent display area, and the transparent signal lines are electrically connected to the first sub-pixels; and a transparent conductive layer is disposed between two adjacent planarization layers.
However, Kim discloses the display panel further comprises:
first sub-pixels (200) disposed in the transparent display area (DA); and
at least one transparent conductive layer (210; para. [0051]), wherein the at least one transparent conductive layer comprises transparent signal lines (170; para. [0046]) located in the transparent display area (DA), and the transparent signal lines are electrically connected to the first sub-pixels (Figs. 2-8); and a transparent conductive layer (210) is disposed between two adjacent planarization layers (182, 183) (Figs. 2-8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the display panel further comprises: first sub-pixels disposed in the transparent display area; and at least one transparent conductive layer, wherein the at least one transparent conductive layer comprises transparent signal lines located in the transparent display area, and the transparent signal lines are electrically connected to the first sub-pixels; and a transparent conductive layer is disposed between two adjacent planarization layers, as in Kim, into the display panel of Xu to provide a circuit for display imaging.
Regarding claim 25, Xu discloses wherein a height (e.g., of a block 150 in horizontal or vertical direction, Fig. 3) of a portion (150), located in the corner peripheral area (A1), of the third barrier is less than a height (e.g., of a block 160 in horizontal or vertical direction, Fig. 3) of a portion (160), located in the side peripheral area (L1, L2), of the third barrier (Fig. 3); or
a height of a portion, located in the corner peripheral area, of the third barrier is less than a height of a portion, located in the side peripheral area, of the third barrier; the display panel further comprises: a spacer layer disposed on a side of the pixel defining layer away from the substrate, wherein the third barrier further comprises a third pad layer, in the side peripheral area, disposed on a side of the second pad layer away from the substrate, and the third pad layer is located in the spacer layer.
Conclusion
/PAISLEY L WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871