DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claim 1, 2, 4 and 6, in the reply filed on March 18, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 18, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 (lines 15-16) recites “wherein the brazing seam extends in a direction transverse to a direction of gravity”.
It is unclear as to what extension or dimension of the brazing seam “extends in a direction transverse to a direction of gravity”. It is unclear as to whether such “transverse extension” of the brazing seam is defined by the longitudinal extension of the brazing seam along opposing longitudinally-extending edges of the first and second base metal [plates], or defined by the cross-sectional extension of the brazing seam which extends between the opposing outer and inner edges of the gap disposed between opposing horizontal planar surfaces of the vertically-overlapped first and second base metal [plates]. Accordingly, one is unable to properly determine the metes and bounds of such claim. Claims 2, 4 and 6 depend from claim 1 and are likewise rejected as being indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palmquist et al. (US 7,875,827) in view of Wakisaka et al. (US 8,492,675), Nowak et al. (US 2011/0095000) and Wittebrood et al. (US 7,056,597).
As to claim 1 as best understood, Palmquist et al. disclose a brazing joint for promoting solder rheology and gas overflow, comprising:
a first base metal 10, a second base metal 12, and a brazing seam 24 located between the first base metal and the second base metal, wherein the brazing seam is formed by filling a solder in a gap formed by a welding surface of the first base metal and a welding surface of the second base metal and melting the solder to connect the first base metal and the second base metal;
the gap defines a first distance and a second distance, the first distance is located at an edge A of the gap (Figure 2 reprinted below with annotations), the second distance is located at an opposing edge B of the gap or inside the gap, the first distance is greater than the second distance, and a curved surface C is formed between the location of the first distance and the location of the second distance for transition, such that a distance from inside the gap to the edge of the gap increases gradually (the distance between inner edge B and outer edge A of the gap gradually increases about curved cross-sectional profile C of the gap; Figure 2);
wherein the brazing seam extends in a direction transverse to a direction of gravity (brazing seam 24 longitudinally extends in a direction transverse to a downward direction G of gravity; Figures 2-3); and
wherein, under an action of buoyant force and/or gravitational force, bubbles, brazing flux residues, or slags move along the gap from the location of the second distance to the location of the first distance and are discharged out of the brazing seam (inherently, the lighter density gas bubbles within the solder material 24 rise upwardly, opposite to the downward gravitational force G acting of the solder material, in a direction from inner edge B to outer edge A of the gap and are discharged out of the brazing seam; Figure 3);
wherein the first base metal comprises a first welding surface, and the second base metal comprises a second welding surface,
wherein the solder is a copper-based solder, or a silver-based solder,
wherein the solder comprises tin, which controls the solder to form the brazing seam along the gap during a brazing process (Figures 1-3; C3 L42-47).
[AltContent: textbox (C)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (G)][AltContent: arrow]
Palmquist et al. fail to disclose a brazing joint wherein the brazing seam is a concave-shaped brazing seam.
Wakisaka et al. teach a brazing joint wherein a brazing seam 4 is a concave-shaped brazing seam; the concave-shape providing for increased joint strength of the brazing seam between first and second plates 1,2 (Figures 1-3; C2 L1-4). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the brazing joint disclosed by Palmquist et al. wherein to comprise a concave-shaped brazing seam, as taught by Wakisaka et al., in order to provide for increased joint strength of the brazing seam between the first and second plates.
Palmquist et al. fail to disclose a brazing joint wherein the first welding surface and/or the second welding surface are provided with strip-shaped textures, and the strip-shaped textures extend from the location of the first distance to the location of the second distance.
Nowak et al. teach a brazing joint wherein a first welding surface 114 and/or a second welding surface 114 are provided with strip-shaped textures 116, and the strip-shaped textures extend from the location of a first distance to the location of a second distance; the strip-shaped textures providing for reduced porosity of the brazing seam between first and second plates 102,104, providing for increased joint strength of the brazing seam (Figures 3-8; paragraph [0022]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the brazing joint disclosed by Palmquist et al. wherein the first and second welding surfaces comprise strip-shaped textures, as taught by Nowak et al., in order to provide for reduced porosity of the brazing seam between the first and second plates, providing for increased joint strength of the brazing seam.
Palmquist et al. fail to disclose a brazing joint wherein the solder comprise 0.5%-3.5% tin. Palmquist et al. do not disclose any structural or functional significance as to the specific percentage of tin.
Wittebrood et al. teach a brazing joint wherein the solder comprises 0.3%-7% tin; such percentage of tin within solder providing for corrosion-resistance of the brazing seam between first and second plates (C5 L58-67). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the brazing joint disclosed by Palmquist et al. wherein the solder comprises 0.5%-3.5% tin, within the range as taught by Wittebrood et al., in order to provide for corrosion-resistance of the brazing seam between the first and second plates.
Furthermore, Applicant is reminded that the selection of a known material based upon its suitability for the intended use, wherein there is no structural or functional significance disclosed as to the specific material of an element, is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the brazing joint disclosed by Palmquist et al. wherein the solder comprises 0.5%-3.5% tin, as Palmquist et al. do not disclose any structural or functional significance as to the specific percentage of tin, and as such selection of material is a design consideration within the skill of the art which would yield expected and predictable results.
Applicant is reminded that process limitations are given little patentable weight in product claims since the patentability determination of product-by-process claims is based on the product itself, even though such claims are limited and defined by the process. See MPEP § 2113. “The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. “ In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695,698,USPQ 964,966 (Fed.Cir.1985).
Accordingly, the process limitations of “wherein, under an action of buoyant force and/or gravitational force, bubbles, brazing flux residues, or slags move along the gap from the location of the second distance to the location of the first distance and are discharged out of the brazing seam” in claim are given little patentably weight, as such limitations set forth a manufacturing process step and intermediate product; opposed to positively defining structural limitations of the claimed final product.
As to claim 2, Palmquist et al. disclose a brazing joint wherein the curved surface is provided on the first base metal 10 and/or the second base metal 12 (Figures 1-3).
As to claim 4, Palmquist et al. disclose a brazing joint wherein a material of the first base metal 10 is copper or steel; and a material of the second base metal 12 is copper or steel (Figures 1-3; C3 L18-26).
As to claim 6, Palmquist et al. disclose a brazing joint wherein the solder 24 comprises silicon (Figures 1-3; C6 L10-12).
Palmquist et al. fail to explicitly disclose a brazing joint wherein the solder comprises 0.2%-1.5% silicon. Palmquist et al. do not disclose any structural or functional significance as to the specific percentage of silicon.
Wakisaka et al. teach a brazing joint wherein the solder comprises 0.25%-1.0% silicon; such percentage of silicon within solder providing for increased tensile strength and peel strength of the brazing seam between first and second plates (Figures 16-17). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the brazing joint disclosed by Palmquist et al. wherein the solder comprises 0.25%-1.0% silicon, as taught by Wakisaka et al., in order to provide for increased tensile strength and peel strength of the brazing seam between the first and second plates.
Furthermore, Applicant is reminded that the selection of a known material based upon its suitability for the intended use, wherein there is no structural or functional significance disclosed as to the specific material of an element, is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the brazing joint disclosed by Palmquist et al. wherein the solder comprises 0.2%-1.5% silicon, as Palmquist et al. do not disclose any structural or functional significance as to the specific percentage of silicon, and as such selection of material is a design consideration within the skill of the art which would yield expected and predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 7, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to claim 1, Attorney argues that:
Palmquist et al. fail to disclose a brazing joint wherein a curved surface is formed between the location of the first distance and the location of the second distance for transition, such that a distance from inside the gap to the edge of the gap increases gradually; and wherein the brazing seam extends in a direction transverse to a direction of gravity.
Examiner disagrees. As to claim 1 as best understood, Palmquist et al. disclose a brazing joint wherein a curved surface C is formed between the location of the first distance and the location of the second distance for transition, such that a distance from inside B the gap to the edge A of the gap increases gradually (the distance between inner edge B and outer edge A of the gap gradually increases about curved cross-sectional profile C of the gap; Figure 2 reprinted above with annotations); and wherein the brazing seam 24 extends in a direction transverse to a direction of gravity (brazing seam 24 longitudinally extends in a direction transverse to a downward direction G of gravity; Figures 2-3).
As to claim 1, Attorney further argues that:
Palmquist et al. fail to disclose a brazing joint wherein, under an action of buoyant force and/or gravitational force, bubbles, brazing flux residues, or slags move along the gap from the location of the second distance to the location of the first distance and are discharged out of the brazing seam.
Examiner disagrees. As to claim 1, Palmquist et al. disclose a brazing joint wherein, under an action of gravitational force, bubbles move along the gap from the location of the second distance to the location of the first distance and are discharged out of the brazing seam 24 (inherently, the lighter density gas bubbles within the solder material 24 rise upwardly, opposite to the downward gravitational force G acting of the solder material, in a direction from inner edge B to outer edge A of the gap and are discharged out of the brazing seam; Figure 3).
Applicant is reminded that process limitations are given little patentable weight in product claims since the patentability determination of product-by-process claims is based on the product itself, even though such claims are limited and defined by the process. See MPEP § 2113. “The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. “ In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695,698,USPQ 964,966 (Fed.Cir.1985).
Accordingly, the process limitations of “wherein, under an action of buoyant force and/or gravitational force, bubbles, brazing flux residues, or slags move along the gap from the location of the second distance to the location of the first distance and are discharged out of the brazing seam” in claim are given little patentably weight, as such limitations set forth a manufacturing process step and intermediate product; opposed to positively defining structural limitations of the claimed final product.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
05/23/26
/MICHAEL P FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619