DETAILED ACTION
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendments
Applicant's response of 03/10/2026 has been acknowledged. No claims have been amended. No new matter has been added. Claim 20 was added in the previous
response.
This office action considers claims 1-20 pending for prosecution and are examined on their merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 03/10/2026 with respect to the rejection of claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Xu et al. (US 20210313405 A1 – hereinafter Xu-405).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
Notes: when present, hyphen separated fields within the hyphens (- -) represent, for example, as (30A - Fig 2B - [0128]) = (element 30A - Figure No. 2B - Paragraph No. [0128]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. The same conventions apply to Column and Sentence, for example (19:14-20) = (column19:sentences 14-20). These conventions are used throughout this document.
Claims 1-4, 10-12, 14, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 20210313405 A1 – hereinafter Xu-405) in
view of Yokoyama et al. (US 20210027718 A1 – hereinafter Yokoyama), Shima (US 20170221435 A1 – hereinafter Shima), Xu et al. (US 20220157895 A1 – hereinafter Xu-895), Zhao et al. (US 20210408191 A1 – hereinafter Zhao-191).
Regarding independent claim 1, Xu-405 teaches
(Previously Presented) A display substrate (100 – Fig. 1 – [0035] –
“display substrate 100”), comprising:
a base substrate (410 – Fig. 7A – [0044] – “display substrate 100 can further
include a substrate 410” – this is a base substrate) comprising:
a display region ([0035] – “display region”) comprising:
a first display region (10 – Fig. 1 – [0035] – “first display region 10”); and
a second display region (20 – Fig. 1 – [0035] – “second display region 20”) at least on one side of the first display region (10 – Fig. 1 shows this); and
a frame region surrounding the display region;
wherein light transmittance of the first display region (10) is greater than light transmittance of the second display region (20 – [0035] – “light transmittance of the first display region 10 is greater than a light transmittance of the second display region 20”);
a drive circuit layer (Fig. 7A annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘DCL’), located on the base substrate (410) and comprising:
a plurality of first pixel circuits (12 – Fig. 4 – [0037] – “plurality of pixel circuits 12 disposed correspondingly to the first sub-pixels 11”); and
a plurality of second pixel circuits (22 – Fig. 4 – [0037] – “plurality of pixel circuits 22 disposed correspondingly to the second sub-pixels 21”);
wherein orthographic projections ([0058] – “projection of the first electrode 111 on the substrate 410 falls within a projection of the first-display-region-located portion 16 of the power line on the substrate 410”) of the plurality of first pixel circuits on the base substrate do not overlap an orthographic projection of the first display region on the base substrate, and the plurality of second pixel circuits (22) are in the second display region (Fig. 6 shows this);
a light-emitting device layer (Fig. 7A annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘LEL’), located on one side of the drive circuit layer (DCL) facing away from the base substrate (410 – Fig 7A annotated shows this) and comprising:
a plurality of first light-emitting devices (112 – Fig. 7A – [0043] – “each first sub-pixel 11 includes a first electrode 111, a first light-emitting structure 112” – this is a light-emitting device) in the first display region (10); and
a plurality of second light-emitting devices (212 – Fig. 7A – [0043] – “Each second sub-pixel 21 includes a third electrode 211, a second light-emitting structure 212” – this is a light-emitting device) in the second display region (20);
wherein:
the plurality of first light-emitting devices (112) comprises:
a plurality of first anodes (xu (111 – Fig. 7A – [0043] – “each first sub-pixel 11 includes a first electrode 111, a first light-emitting structure 112 located on the first electrode 111, and a second electrode 113 located on the first light-emitting structure 112”) independently arranged;
the plurality of second light-emitting device (212) comprises:
a plurality of second anodes (211 – Fig. 7A – [0043] – “Each second sub-pixel 21 includes a third electrode 211, a second light-emitting structure 212 located on the third electrode 211, and a fourth electrode 213 located on the second light-emitting structure 212”) independently arranged;
wherein the plurality of first anodes (111) each is electrically connected with a respective one of the plurality of first pixel circuits (12 – Fig. 6 – [0042] – “pixel circuits 12 corresponding to the first sub-pixels 11”), and the plurality of second anodes (211) each is electrically connected with a respective one of the plurality of second pixel circuits (22 – Fig. 6 – [0042] – “pixel circuits 22 corresponding to the second sub-pixels 21”); and
a density of the plurality of first light-emitting devices in the first display region is same as a density of the plurality of second light-emitting devices in the second display region; and
at least one transparent conducting layer (323 – Fig. 8 – {[0057] – “third segment 323 can surround a portion of the first electrode 111 “}, {[0054] – “third segment 323 can include at least one of indium tin oxide}”) between the drive circuit layer (DCL) and the light-emitting device layer (LEL);
wherein each layer of the at least one transparent conducting layer (323) comprises:
a plurality of first anode wires electrically connected with the first anodes;
wherein the first anode wire at least comprises:
a first portion extending in a column direction; and
a second portion extending in a row direction;
wherein the second portions of one first anode wires electrically connected with one first anode
Xu-405 does not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 1.
However, in an analogous art, Yokoyama teaches
a frame region (NA – Fig. 14 –[0044] – “frame region (non-display region) NA”) surrounding the display region (DA – Fig. 14 – [0044] – “frame region (non-display region) NA surrounding the display region DA”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the frame structures as taught by Yokoyama into Xu-405.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Yokoyama in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0006] – “an aspect of the present invention, luminance unevenness of a display region having an irregular shape can be improved.”
Xu-405 and Yokoyama do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 1.
However, in an analogous art, Shima teaches
the plurality of first pixel circuits (30 – Fig. 1 – [0029] – “plurality of first circuit units 30”) on the base substrate ([0023] – “a first substrate SUB1 and a second substrate SUB2. The first substrate SUB1 is attached to the second substrate SUB2 such that they face each other” – this is a base substrate, hereinafter ‘BS’) do not overlap an orthographic projection of the first display region (DA – Fig. 1 – [0024] – “display area DA”) on the base substrate (BS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the pixel circuit structure as taught by Shima into Xu-405 and Yokoyama.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Shima in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result [0004] – “The display device is required to minimize the peripheral area around the display area (in other words, to minimize the width of the frame). In the display device in digital mode, various lines and circuits need to be provided in the peripheral area to control the memories. Thus, the circuit layout of the peripheral area must be designed in some way to reduce the width of the frame.”
Xu-405, Yokoyama, and Shima do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 1.
However, in an analogous art, Xu-895 teaches
a density of the plurality of first light-emitting devices (110 – Fig. 4 – [0044] – “first pixel units PU1 includes a plurality of first sub-pixels 110” – these are light-emitting devices) in the first display region (AA1 – Fig. 1 – [0039] – “the pixel density of the transition display area TA is the same as the pixel density of the first display area AA1”) is same as a density of the plurality of second light-emitting devices (130 – Fig. 4 – [0054] – “third pixel units PU3 includes a plurality of third sub-pixels 130” – these are light-emitting devices) in the second display region (TA – Fig. 1 – [0039] – “the pixel density of the transition display area TA is the same as the pixel density of the first display area AA1”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the pixel density and wire structures as taught by Xu-895 into Xu-405, Yokoyama, and Shima.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Xu-895 in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0005] – “a display panel and a display apparatus, at least part of an area of the display panel can transmit light and be used for display, thereby facilitating an under-screen integration of the photosensitive assembly.”
Xu-405, Yokoyama, Shima, and Xu-895 do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 1.
However, in an analogous art, Zhao-191 teaches
a plurality of first anode wires (1041 – Fig. 4B – [0066] – “the plurality of transparent wires 104 include a first transparent wire 1041, a second transparent wire 1042, and a third transparent wire 1043”) electrically connected with the first anodes (1051 – [0060] – “first anodes 1051 of the plurality of first display pixels P1”);
wherein the first anode wire (1041) at least comprises:
a first portion (Fig. 4A annotated see below – hereinafter ‘1041-1’) extending in a column direction (Fig. 4A annotated see below – hereinafter ‘column’); and
a second portion (Fig. 4A annotated see below – hereinafter ‘1041-2’) extending in a row direction (Fig. 4A annotated see below – hereinafter ‘row’);
wherein the second portions (1041-2) of one first anode wires (1041) electrically connected with one first anode (1051 - Fig. 4A annotated see below) in a row and the second portion (1041-2) of another first anode wire (1041) electrically connected with another first anode (1051) in the row are located between different pairs of two adjacent rows of first anodes (1051), and the second portions (1041-2) are led out in the row direction to an outside of the first display region (Fig. 4A annotated shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the anode wire structure as taught by Zhao-191 into Xu-405, Yokoyama, Shima, and Xu-895.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Zhao-191 in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result [0003] – “to solve the problem that the front camera placed on the top of the screen of the smart mobile terminal results a poor video communication experience for the users.”
Regarding claim 2, Xu-405, as modified by Yokoyama, Shima, Xu-895, and Zhao-191, teaches claim 1 from which claim 2 depends. Xu-405 further teaches
(Original) The display substrate according to claim 1, wherein:
the at least one transparent (323) conducting layer comprises:
a first transparent conducting layer (323) and a second transparent conducting layer (423 – Fig. 9 – [0083] – “twelfth segment 423 can include at least one of indium tin oxide, indium zinc oxide” – this is transparent) which are stacked (Fig. 3 shows this – [0077] – “sub-pixels in the display region of the display substrate 100 also can be divided into third-type pixel groups 201, fourth-type pixel groups 202, and sixth-type pixel groups 203. The third-type pixel groups 201, the fourth-type pixel groups 202, and the sixth-type pixel groups 203 are arranged in the first direction. Each third-type pixel group 201 includes a plurality of first sub-pixels 11 and a plurality of second sub-pixels 21. Each fourth-type pixel group 202 merely includes a plurality of second sub-pixels 21. The plurality of sub-pixels of each third-type pixel group 201 are arranged in the second direction and spaced from each other. The plurality of sub-pixels of each fourth-type pixel group 202 are arranged in the second direction and spaced from each other” – each group contains the same structure and are therefore stacked) and insulated ([0063] – “the insulating layer for the connection between the third segment 323 and the second segment 322” – each layer is insulated from the other layers) from each other;
wherein in every two adjacent rows of first anodes, the first anode wires corresponding to one of the two adjacent rows of first anodes are on the first transparent conducting layer, and the first anode wires corresponding to another one of the two adjacent rows of first anodes are on the second transparent conducting layer ([0096] – “each first electrode 111 includes two or more first electrode blocks 1111 which are arranged in the first direction and spaced from each other. The first electrode 111 further includes a plurality of connecting portions 1112, each connecting portion 1112 is disposed between two adjacent first electrode blocks 1111. The two adjacent first electrode blocks 1111 are electrically connected by a corresponding connecting portion 1112. In this manner, signals can be provided to the first electrode blocks 1111 of the first electrode 111 by one data line or one scanning line, so that the wiring complexity of the first display region can be reduced, and the diffraction superposition phenomenon caused by the complex wiring in the first display region during the light transmission can be effectively reduced, thereby improving the quality of the image captured by the camera disposed on a back surface of the first display region, and avoiding the image distortion. Further, the plurality of first electrode blocks 1111 of the same first electrode 111 are electrically connected with each other, so that the light-emitting structure blocks correspondingly disposed on the first electrode blocks 1111 of the same first electrode 111 can be controlled to simultaneously emit lights or to be simultaneously turned off, thereby simplifying the control of the first display region 10” – this descries this limitation).
Regarding claim 3 Xu-405, as modified by Yokoyama, Shima, Xu-895, and Zhao-191, teaches claim 2 from which claim 3 depends. Xu-405 further teaches
(Original) The display substrate according to claim 2, wherein the first
transparent conducting layer and the second transparent conducting layer have same patterns ({[0080] – “Optionally, referring to FIG. 3 again, the second sub-pixels 21 of the same third-type pixel group 201 are arranged at two opposite sides of the first display region 10 in the second direction; and/or the second sub-pixels 21 of the fourth-type pixel group 202 are arranged at two opposite sides of the first display region 10 in the second direction. When the second sub-pixels 21 in the fourth-type pixel group 202 are located at two opposite sides of the first display region 10 in the second direction, each second-type light-emitting control line 42 can include a tenth segment 421, an eleventh segment 422, and a twelfth segment 423. The tenth segment 421 and the eleventh segment 422 are located in the second display region 20 and at two opposite sides of the first display region 10”}, {[0088] – “Optionally, referring to FIG. 3 again, the second sub-pixels 21 of the same third-type pixel group 201 are arranged at two opposite sides of the first display region 10 in the second direction; and/or the second sub-pixels 21 of the fourth-type pixel group 202 are arranged at two opposite sides of the first display region 10 in the second direction. Referring to FIG. 10, when the second sub-pixels 21 in the fourth-type pixel group 202 are arranged at two opposite sides of the first display region 10 in the second direction, each second-type scanning line 52 can include a seventh segment 521, an eighth segment 522, and a ninth segment 523. The seventh segment 521 and the eighth segment 522 are located in the second display region 20 and at two opposite sides of the first display region 10. The seventh segment 521 is connected to the eighth segment 522 by the ninth segment 523.”} – this describes this limitation).
Regarding claim 4, Xu-405, as modified by Yokoyama, Shima, Xu-895, and Zhao-191, teaches claim 1 from which claim 4 depends. Xu-405 further teaches
(Previously Presented) The display substrate according to claim 1,
wherein a quantity of the first anode wires between two adjacent rows of first anodes on each transparent conducting layer is not greater than a first quantity, a quantity of the first anode wires between two adjacent columns of first anodes on each transparent conducting layer is not greater than a second quantity, and the first quantity is greater than the second quantity ([0078] – “In this embodiment, the number of rows of the first pixel driving circuits is twice the number of rows of the second pixel driving circuits, that is, the number of rows of the first pixel driving circuits is twice the number of lines of the second reset signal lines 72, that is 4n. Since one second reset signal line 72 corresponds to one row of the first pixel driving circuits, the number of the first reset signal lines 71 and the number of the second reset signal lines 72 are equal, both are 2n, m=4n” – this describes this limitation).
Xu-405, Yokoyama, Shima, and Zhao-191 do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 4.
However, in an analogous art, Xu-895 teaches
the first anode wires (xu-895 (170) between two adjacent rows of first anodes (xu-895 (110) on each transparent conducting layer is not greater than a first quantity, a quantity of the first anode wires (xu-895 (170) between two adjacent columns of first anodes (xu-895 (110) on each transparent conducting layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the wire structures as taught by Xu-895 into Xu-405, Yokoyama, Shima, and Zhao-191.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Xu-895 in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Xu-405, as modified by Yokoyama, Shima, Xu-895, and Zhao-191, teaches claim 1 from which claim 10 depends. Xu-405 further teaches
(Original) The display substrate according to claim 1, wherein:
the first anode wires (31) on each transparent conducting layer (23) do not
overlap one another (Fig. 6 shows they do not overlap), and;
orthographic projections, on the base substrate (410), of the first anode wires (31) on different transparent conducting layers are staggered with each other.
Regarding claim 11, Xu-405, as modified by Yokoyama, Shima, Xu-895, and Zhao-191, teaches claim 1 from which claim 11 depends. Xu-405 further teaches
(Previously Presented) The display substrate according to claim 1,
wherein an insulation layer (46 – Fig. 7B – [0048] – “insulating layer is the planarization layer 46”) is provided between the plurality of first anodes (111) and the at least one transparent conducting layer (323), the insulation layer is provided with a plurality of via holes for electrically connecting the plurality of first anodes with the plurality of first anode wires ([0055] – “A connection between other conducting members on two opposite sides of the insulting layer through a through-hole, for example, respectively connecting the first segment 321 and the second segment 322 to the third segment 323 through the second through-holes, can be implemented by the same or similar structure as shown in FIG. 7B.” – describes this part of the limitation), and orthographic projections of the plurality of first anode wires (31) on the base substrate do not overlap orthographic projections of the plurality of via holes on the base substrate ([0048] – “Referring to FIG. 7B, the first-display-region-located portion 31′ of the first-type data line 31 and the second-display-region-located portion 31″ of the first-type data line 31 are respectively disposed on two opposite surfaces of the insulating layer. The insulating layer is provided with a first through-hole 461. The first-display-region-located portion 31′ of the first-type data line 31 is connected to the second-display-region-located portion 31″ of the first-type data line 31 through the first through-hole 461 of the insulating layer” – describes this part of the limitation as the wires are adjacent to each other).
Regarding claim 12, Xu-405, as modified by Yokoyama, Shima, Xu-895, and Zhao-191, teaches claim 1 from which claim 12 depends. Xu-405 and Xu-895 do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 12.
However, in an analogous art, Yokoyama teaches
(Original) The display substrate according to claim 1, wherein the plurality
of first pixel circuits are in the frame region ({[0081] – “the frame region includes”}, {[0084] – “a drive circuit being electrically coupled to the first lead wiring line,”}, {[0085] – “a drive circuit being electrically coupled to the second lead wiring line”}) adjacent to the first display region.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the positioning of the plurality of first pixel circuits as taught by Yokoyama into Xu-405 and Xu-895.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Yokoyama in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, Xu-405, as modified by Yokoyama, Shima, Xu-895, and Zhao-191, teaches claim 4 from which claim 14 depends. Xu-405 further teaches
(Previously Presented) The display substrate according to claim 4,
wherein a shape of the first display region is a circle, an oval, a rectangle or a polygon ([0107] – “the shape of the first display region 10 of the display substrate 100 can be a droplet shape, a circle shape, a rectangle shape, a semi-circle shape, a semi-ellipse shape, or an ellipse shape, etc., but not limited to these, and the shape of the first display region 10 of the display substrate 100 can be in another shape in accordance with an actual situation”).
Regarding claim 18, Xu-405, as modified by Yokoyama, Shima, Xu-895, and Zhao-191, teaches claim 1 from which claim 18 depends. Xu-405 further teaches
(Previously Presented) A display panel, comprising the display
substrate according to any one of claim 1 ([0033] – “present disclosure provides embodiments of a display substrate, a display panel, and a display device”).
Regarding claim 19, Xu-405, as modified by Yokoyama, Shima, Xu-895, and Zhao-191, teaches claim 18 from which claim 19 depends. Xu-405, by Yokoyama, Shima, and Zhao-191 do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 19.
However, in an analogous art, Xu-895 teaches
(Original) The display substrate according to claim 5, wherein the first
region (B1) is close to the second display region (AA2), the second region (B2) is on one side of the first region away (B1) from the second display region (AA2), and the third region (B3) is on one side of the second region away (B2) from the second display region (AA2 – Figs. 4 and 7 annotated show this); and
a quantity of the first anode wires (170) corresponding to the first region (B1) is not greater than half of the first quantity, and quantities of the first anode wires (170) corresponding to the second region (B2) and the third region (B3) are both the first quantity (Figs. 4 and 7 annotated show this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the region and wire structures as taught by Xu-895 into Xu-405 and Yokoyama.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Xu-895 in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, Xu-405, as modified by Yokoyama, Shima, Xu-895, and Zhao-191,teaches claim 1 from which claim 20 depends. Xu-405, Yokoyama, Shima, and Xu-895 do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 20.
However, in an analogous art, Zhao-191 teaches
(Previously Presented) The display substrate according to claim 1,
wherein:
first portions of at least some of the first anode wires (1041), which are
connected with the first anodes (1051) located in one row, pass through gaps ([0064] – “The plurality of transparent wires 104 are arranged in at least two layers to increase the wiring space of the transparent wires 104 and avoid occurrence of short circuit between adjacent ones of the transparent wires 104 due to a narrow gap”) between the first anodes (1051) located in a row adjacent to the one row.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the anode wire structure as taught by Zhao-191 into Xu-405, Yokoyama, Shima, and Xu-895.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Zhao-191 in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu-405 in view of Yokoyama, Shima, Xu-895, Zhao-191, and Zhao et al. (US 20210408200 A1 – hereinafter Zhao).
Regarding claim 15, Xu-405, as modified by Yokoyama, Shima, Xu-895, Zhao-191, teaches claim 14 from which claim 15 depends. Xu-405, Yokoyama, Shima, Xu-895, and Zhao-191 do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 15.
However, in an analogous art, Zhao teaches
(Previously Presented) The display substrate according to claim 14, wherein the first display region is divided into four equal parts along center lines of the row direction and the column direction, and a layout mode of the first anode wires of each equal part adopt a layout mode of the first anode wires in the display substrate (Fig. 14A annotated, see below – while not expressly disclosed it is common knowledge that a circle can be divided in to four equal parts along perpendicular radii).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the display quadrants structure as taught by Zhao into Xu-405, Yokoyama, Shima, Xu-895, and Zhao-191.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Zhao in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 7.
To do so would have merely been to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143 I. D.
Regarding claim 16, Xu-405, Yokoyama, Shima, Xu-895, Zhao-191, and Zhao, teaches claim 15 from which claim 16 depends. Xu-405, Yokoyama, Shima, Xu-895, and Zhao-191, do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 16.
However, in an analogous art, Zhao teaches
(Original) The display substrate according to claim 15, wherein the four
equal parts comprise:
a first equal part, a second equal part, a third equal part and a fourth equal part which are clockwise arranged;
wherein the first equal part and the second equal part are symmetrically arranged with respect to a center line of the column direction, the second equal part and the third equal part are symmetrically arranged with respect to a center line of the row direction, the third equal part and the fourth equal part are symmetrically arranged with respect to the center line of the column direction, and the fourth equal part and the first equal part are symmetrically arranged with respect to the center line of the row direction (Fig. 14A annotated, see above – while not expressly disclosed it is common knowledge that a circle can be divided in to four equal parts along perpendicular radii and appropriately labeled corresponding to this limitation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the display quadrants structure as taught by Zhao into Xu-405, Yokoyama, Shima, Xu-895, Zhao-191.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Zhao in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 7.
To do so would have merely been to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143 I. D.
Regarding claim 17, Xu-405, Yokoyama, Shima, Xu-895, Zhao-191 and Zhao, teaches claim 16 from which claim 17 depends. Xu-405, Yokoyama, Shima, Xu-895, and Zhao-191, do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 17.
However, in an analogous art, Zhao teaches
(Original) The display substrate according to claim 16, wherein:
one row of first anodes closest to the fourth equal part in the first equal
part is a first row of first anodes (Fig. 14A annotated, see above);
one row of first anodes closest to the first equal part in the fourth equal part is a second row of first anodes (Fig. 14A annotated, see above);
a first gap (Fig. 14A annotated, see above – hereinafter ‘gap’); is between the first row of first anodes and the second row of first anodes; and
the first anode wires corresponding to the first region, close to the second display region, of the first row of first anodes and the first anode wires corresponding to the first region, close to the second display region, of the second row of first anodes are located in the first gap (Fig. 14A annotated, see below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the display quadrants structure as taught by Zhao into Xu-405, Yokoyama, Shima, Xu-895, Zhao-191.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Zhao in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 7.
To do so would have merely been to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143 I. D.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-9 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, no prior art addresses the specified wire layout.
Claim 6 depends on claim 5 and would be allowable.
Regarding claim 7, no prior art addresses the specified wire layout.
Claim 8 depends on claim 7 and would be allowable.
Regarding claim 9, no prior art addresses the specific quantities of anode wires.
Regarding claim 13, no prior art addresses the area of the pixel circuits in the specified regions.
Pertinent Art
For the benefits of the Applicant, US 20180047799 A1 is cited on the record as being pertinent to significant disclosure through some but not all claimed features of the defined invention. These references fail to disclose the combination of limitations including the wiring structure.
Conclusion
examiner should be directed to GARY ABEL whose telephone number is (571) 272-0246. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm (Eastern).
/GRA/
Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897