DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 02/02/2026 and 03/11/2026 has/have been considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended claims 1, 3-5, 7, and 11.
Regarding the rejection of claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention, applicant asserts “the K-value in battery technology, as developed in the patented adaptive charging methods of Dr. Rachid Yazami (inventor of the lithium-graphite anode and of the present invention), is a dynamic control parameter used in non-linear voltammetry (NLV) charging protocols to safely optimize ultra-fast charging speeds and monitor battery health,” citing Yazami et. al (WO 2019111226 A) published on 09/13/2019. The publication Yazami et. al (WO 2019111226 A) provides the necessary basis for computing the K-value and is not referenced by the applicant in the specification or information disclosure statements of the present invention. Claims 4-5 and 7-8 claim the use of the K-value, thereby making this quantity essential to the claimed invention and necessitating a written description to enable on of ordinary skill in the art to replicate the method.
The subject matter of “K-value” is not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art to replicate the coefficient with reasonable expectation of success, presenting an enablement issue. Further claim 4 recites the limitation “as
Δ
V
j
=
K
n
Δ
I
(
j
)
with Kn defined as an adjustable coefficient, applying a new voltage stage
V
j
+
1
=
V
j
+
Δ
V
(
j
)
to the terminals of the battery cell.”, which indicates the
Δ
V
j
is expressed in units of voltage and
Δ
I
j
is expressed in units of current. Through Ohm’s law this would necessitate
K
n
to be expressed as units of impedance, which is inconsistent with the calculated K-value cited in Yazami et. al (WO 2019111226 A) hereafter referred to as Yazami 226. Yazami 226 pg2 details the method of determining the variable parameter of K-value taking the form of
K
=
δ
v
δ
t
δ
i
δ
t
α
which would have units of voltage over time multiplied by current over time raised to the power of
α
. Through unit analysis alone the K-value of the present application uses a different unit than that of Yazami 226.
Applicant arguments regarding Ding et al (US 20050099162 A1) are persuasive, the rejections of claims 1 -3, 6, and 11 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ding are withdrawn. The rejections of claims 4, 7-10, and 13 under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Ding modified by Lim et al (US 20190195956 A1) and claim 5 under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Ding modified by Lim and further in view of Ghantous et al (US 20190072618 A1) are subsequently withdrawn.
Regarding Lim et al (US 20190195956 A1) and Ghantous et al (US 20190072618 A1), applicant argues that Lim does not cure the deficiencies of Ding.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 08/12/2026, with respect to Ding have been fully considered and are persuasive. Upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is presented herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, and 6 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1 of U.S. Patent App. 18250475 and claims(s) 1 and 3 of U.S. Patent App. 18250697. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are obvious variants of one another.
App 18250606
App 18250475
Claim 1
App 18250697
(claim 1) a method for fast-charging a battery cell provided with charge/discharge terminals to which a charging voltage can be applied with a flowing pulse-like charging current, the method comprising the steps of:
a method for increasing a discharge capacity (Q_disch) of a battery cell having a rated capacity and provided with charge/discharge terminals to which a charging voltage can be applied with a flowing charging current, the method comprising:
(claim 1) A method for extending life of a battery cell provided with charge/discharge terminals to which a charging voltage can be applied with a flowing charging current, the method comprising:
- implementing a plurality of charge cycles to the battery cell, each of the charge cycles comprising the steps of
(claim 1)- applying to terminals of the battery cell a plurality of constant voltage stages Vj, where Vj+1> Vj, with j=1, 2..., k, each voltage stage comprising intermittent nj voltage plateaus,
- applying a plurality of constant voltage stages V_j, where V_(j+1)> V_j, j=1,2...,k,each voltage stage comprising intermittent n_j voltage plateaus,
(claim 1) - applying, to the terminals of the battery cell, a plurality of constant voltage stages Vj, where Vj+1 > Vj , j=1, 2..., k, each voltage stage comprising intermittent nj voltage plateaus;
(claim 1) between two successive voltage plateaus within a voltage stage, letting the charging current go to zero for a rest period
R
j
p
, with
1
≤
p
≤
n
j
,
(claim 6) claim 1, further comprising the steps of: between two successive current rest times
R
j
p
-
1
and
R
j
p
within a voltage stage Vj, and a pending voltage plateau, detecting the flowing pulse-like charging current dropping from an initial value
I
j
,
p
i
n
i
to a final value
I
j
,
p
f
i
n
where
1
≤
p
≤
n
j
,
- between two successive voltage plateaus within a voltage stage, letting the charging current going to rest (I=0A) for a rest period R^f, 1≤p≤n_j,
(claim 1) - between two successive voltage plateaus within a voltage stage, letting the charging current go to zero for a rest period Rf, 1<psnj, until any one of the following conditions is reached:
(claim 1) between two successive current rest times
R
j
p
-
1
and
R
j
p
within a voltage stage Vj, and a pending voltage plateau, detecting the flowing pulse-like charging current dropping from an initial value
I
j
,
p
i
n
i
to a final value
I
j
,
p
f
i
n
where
1
≤
p
≤
n
j
,
(claim 6) ending the pending voltage plateau, so that the flowing pulse-like charging current drops to zero for a rest time
R
j
p
, with the voltage departing from Vj,
- ending the pending voltage plateau, so that the flowing pulse-like current drops to zero for a rest time Rf, with the voltage departing from V_j,
(claim 1) ending the pending voltage plateau, so that the flowing pulse-like charging current drops to zero for a rest time
R
j
p
, with the voltage departing from Vj,
(claim 1) -Collecting data on at least two previous measured discharge capacities;
-Calculating a relative variation (
Δ
Q
Q
) of the discharge capacity to a predetermined threshold (
Ε
); and
-If the calculated relative variation (
Δ
Q
) of the discharge capacity exceeds the predetermined threshold, modifying at least one charge parameter among a selection of charge parameters including a duration of t he voltage plateau, the voltage stage shift, and the rest time, so as to bring the calculated relative capacity variation (
Δ
Q
/
Q
) below the predetermined threshold
(claim 6) after the rest time
R
j
p
has elapsed, applying back the voltage to Vj.
- after the rest time R_j^p is elapsed, applying back the voltage to V_j,
(claim 2) wherein a transition from a voltage stage Vj to the following stage Vj+1 is initiated when
I
j
,
p
f
i
n
, p=nj reaches a threshold value
I
j
,
n
j
t
h
r
- initiating a transition from a voltage stage V_j to the following stage V_(j+1) when I_(j,p)^fin, p=n_j) reaches a threshold value I_(j,nj)^Thr,
(claim 3) wherein a transition from a voltage stage Vj to the following stage Vj+1 is initiated when
I
j
,
p
f
i
n
, p=nj reaches a threshold value
I
j
,
n
j
t
h
r
(claim 3) further comprising a step for calculating the following stage
V
j
+
1
as being eqiual to
V
j
+
Δ
V
(
j
)
, with ΔV(j) relating to the current change
Δ
I
j
=
I
j
,
p
i
n
i
-
I
j
,
p
f
i
n
,
p
=
n
j
- calculating the following stage V_(j+1)=V_j+ ΔV(j) with ΔV(j) relating to the current change ΔI(j)=V_j+ΔV(j) and function of the following parameters i, V, Δi/Δt,T, SoC (State of Charge), SOH (State of Health),
(claim 1) and the fast-charging method proceeding until any one of the following conditions is reached: a pre-set charge capacity or state of charge is reached, the battery cell temperature exceeds a pre-set limit value
T
l
i
m
, or the battery cell voltage exceeds a pre-set limit value
V
l
i
m
.
-monitoring the temperature of the battery cell under a predetermined limit temperature, and
-proceeding the charge cycles until the discharge capacity reaches a predetermined target capacity greater than the rated capacity.
(claim 1) a pre-set charge capacity or state of charge (SOC) is reached, the battery cell temperature exceeds a pre-set limit value Tlim, or the battery cell voltage has exceeded a pre-set limit value Vim;
Each of the applications 18250606, 18250475, and 18250697 have slightly different ending conditions; however, each of these ending conditions are variants of one another. Applications 18250606 and 18250697 have a termination condition of “a pre-set charge capacity or state of charge”, if this pre-set charge capacity is set to be above the rated capacity then the termination condition for application 18250475 has been met. Each of the applications 18250606, 18250475, and 18250697 further have a termination condition of exceeding a temperature limit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The Wands factors are probative of the essential inquiry in determining whether one must engage in more than a reasonable amount of experimentation. The determination that "undue experimentation" would have been needed to make and use the claimed invention is not a single, simple factual determination. Rather, it is a conclusion reached by weighing all the above noted factual considerations. In re Wands, 858 F.2d at 737, 8 USPQ2d at 1404. These factual considerations are discussed more fully in MPEP § 2164.08 (scope or breadth of the claims), § 2164.05(a) (nature of the invention and state of the prior art), § 2164.05(b) (level of one of ordinary skill), § 2164.03 (level of predictability in the art and amount of direction provided by the inventor), § 2164.02 (the existence of working examples) and § 2164.06 (quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure)
Claims 4 and 5 are directed towards K-values (
K
n
) to determine the change in voltage relative to a change in current during the rest-phase between voltage plateaus. Claims 7 and 8 are directed towards K-values as it relates to a change in C-rate between voltage plateaus. The specification does not disclose how
K
n
is calculated or determined, the specification simply implements the coefficient beginning in ¶0060 “calculating a voltage variation (
Δ
V
(
j
)
) as
Δ
V
j
=
K
n
Δ
I
(
j
)
, with
K
n
as an adjustable coefficient”. Specification ¶0062 further discloses “successive K-values K.sub.n−1 to K.sub.n can be determined by using a machine-learning technique, so as to maintain a sufficient charge of the battery cell”, which does not further the understanding for the metes and bounds of
K
n
. This leads to an enablement issue since the specification, by not disclosing how
K
n
is determined or calculated, does not eneable one of ordinary skill in the art to make or use the invention without undue experimentation. The inventive concept “as
Δ
V
j
=
K
n
Δ
I
(
j
)
with Kn defined as an adjustable coefficient”, as claimed in claim 4, would require extensive experimentation to discover the equation that enables the change in voltage to be determined. The specification does not disclose the metes and bounds of the K-value (
K
n
), as claimed. The specification therefore does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to practice the invention without undue experimentation.
Claim(s) 2, 4, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "is initiated when
I
j
,
p
f
i
n
,
p
=
n
j
reaches a threshold value
I
j
,
n
j
t
h
r
", wherein the variable
I
j
,
p
f
i
n
is not defined prior to its introduction. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “intensity variation (
Δ
I
(
j
)
) as
Δ
I
j
=
I
0
-
I
l
i
m
i
t
, with
I
l
i
m
i
t
defined by a predetermined limit current", wherein the variable
I
is not defined prior to its introduction. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “and computation of VSIP data”, wherein the acronym “VSIP” is not defined prior to its introduction. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al (US 20150077058 A1) modified by Eriksson et al (US 20180050598 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jung teaches a method for fast-charging a battery cell provided with charge/discharge terminals to which a charging voltage can be applied with a flowing pulse-like charging current, the method comprising the steps of:
- applying to terminals of the battery cell a plurality of constant voltage stages Vj, where Vj+1> Vj, with j=1, 2..., k, each voltage stage comprising intermittent nj voltage plateaus, (FIGs 1A and 1B disclose a multi-stage constant current constant voltage charging method)
between two successive voltage plateaus within a voltage stage, letting the charging current go to zero for a rest period
R
j
p
, with
1
≤
p
≤
n
j
, (¶0041 “[FIG 1A] (S10) first constant current constant voltage charging, (S20) first idling and (S30) second constant current constant voltage charging”)
[and the fast-charging method proceeding until any one of the following conditions is reached: a pre-set charge capacity or state of charge is reached, the battery cell temperature exceeds a pre-set limit value
T
l
i
m
, or the battery cell voltage exceeds a pre-set limit value
V
l
i
m
.]
Jung ¶0058 discloses “completely stopping of charging (S60) is achieved by completely stopping charging of the battery cell or switching the charge mode to a trickle charge mode when the current of the battery cell reaches a reference charge current”. Jung does not teach and the fast-charging method proceeding until any one of the following conditions is reached: a pre-set charge capacity or state of charge is reached, the battery cell temperature exceeds a pre-set limit value
T
l
i
m
, or the battery cell voltage exceeds a pre-set limit value
V
l
i
m
.
Eriksson teaches and the fast-charging method proceeding until any one of the following conditions is reached: a pre-set charge capacity or state of charge is reached, the battery cell temperature exceeds a pre-set limit value
T
l
i
m
, or the battery cell voltage exceeds a pre-set limit value
V
l
i
m
. (¶0057 “ sixth step 307 it is determined if the connected battery has reached a predetermined level of charge. If it is determined that the level of charge has reached the predetermined level of charge, the inventive method ends in a seventh step 308”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the method as taught by Jung wherein the fast-charging method proceeding until any one of the following conditions is reached: a pre-set charge capacity or state of charge is reached, the battery cell temperature exceeds a pre-set limit value
T
l
i
m
, or the battery cell voltage exceeds a pre-set limit value
V
l
i
m
as taught by Eriksson. Yang discloses a constant-current constant voltage charging method which ends when a battery parameter has been met, it would be obvious to use the ending condition as taught by Eriksson wherein a predetermined level of charge has been reached to terminate the charging method of Yang. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve user experience by minimizing the charging time needed and improving the run-time of a given device.
Regarding claim 2, Jung modified by Eriksson teaches the fast-charging method of claim 1. Jung modified by Eriksson further teaches wherein a transition from a voltage stage Vj to the following stage Vj+1 is initiated when
I
j
,
p
f
i
n
, p=nj reaches a threshold value
I
j
,
n
j
t
h
r
. (Jung ¶0083 “[FIG 3] controller 166 of the battery pack determines whether or not the sensed charge current of the battery cell 110 reaches a first reference current (S16)”)
Regarding claim 3, Jung modified by Eriksson teaches the fast-charging method of claim 2. Jung modified by Eriksson further teaches further comprising a step for calculating the following stage
V
j
+
1
as being eqiual to
V
j
+
Δ
V
(
j
)
, with ΔV(j) relating to the current change
Δ
I
j
=
I
j
,
p
i
n
i
-
I
j
,
p
f
i
n
,
p
=
n
j
. (Jung FIG 1B depicts the constant current-constant voltage routine where each current phase increases the voltage to the value of the following constant voltage phase, FIG 3 steps S33 and S53)
Regarding claim 6, Jung modified by Eriksson teaches the fast-charging method of claim 1. Jung modified by Eriksson further teaches further comprising the steps of: between two successive current rest times
R
j
p
-
1
and
R
j
p
within a voltage stage Vj, and a pending voltage plateau, detecting the flowing pulse-like charging current dropping from an initial value
I
j
,
p
i
n
i
to a final value
I
j
,
p
f
i
n
where
1
≤
p
≤
n
j
, ending the pending voltage plateau, (Jung ¶0083 “[FIG 3] controller 166 of the battery pack determines whether or not the sensed charge current of the battery cell 110 reaches a first reference current (S16)”)
so that the flowing pulse-like charging current drops to zero for a rest time
R
j
p
, with the voltage departing from Vj, after the rest time
R
j
p
has elapsed, applying back the voltage to Vj. (Jung FIG 1B depicts the current dropping to 0 during the idle period)
Regarding claim 9, Jung modified by Eriksson teaches the fast-charging method of claim 1. Jung modified by Eriksson further teaches wherein the method is applied to a combination of battery cells arranged in series and/or in parallel. (Jung ¶0065 “one battery cell 110 is exemplified in the illustrated embodiment, a plurality of battery cells may be coupled to each other in series or in parallel”)
Regarding claim 11, Jung modified by Eriksson teaches the fast-charging method of claim 1. Jung modified by Eriksson further teaches a system comprising an electronic converter connected to an energy source and designed for applying a charging voltage to the terminals of the battery cell, (Eriksson ¶0037 “[FIG 1] battery charger 101 has a mains cable 102 for receiving incoming power, and an output means 103 configured to be connected to a minus pole 106 and a plus pole 105 of a battery 104”)
the electronic converter being controlled by a charging controller designed to process measurements of battery cell flowing current and temperature and charging instruction data, characterized in that the charging controller is further designed to control the electronic converter so as to: apply to terminals of the battery cell a plurality of constant voltage stages Vj, where Vj+1> Vj, with j=1, 2..., k, each voltage stage comprising intermittent nj voltage plateaus, (Jung FIGs 1A and 1B disclose a multi-stage constant current constant voltage charging method)
between two successive voltage plateaus within a voltage stage, let the charging current going to rest for a rest period
R
j
p
,
1
≤
p
≤
n
j
(Jung ¶0041 “[FIG 1A] (S10) first constant current constant voltage charging, (S20) first idling and (S30) second constant current constant voltage charging”)
until any of the following conditions is reached: a pre-set charge capacity or state of charge is reached, the battery cell temperature exceeds a pre-set limit value Tim, and the battery cell voltage has exceeded a pre-set limit value Vim. (Eriksson ¶0057 “sixth step 307 it is determined if the connected battery has reached a predetermined level of charge. If it is determined that the level of charge has reached the predetermined level of charge, the inventive method ends in a seventh step 308”)
Claim(s) 4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung modified by Eriksson and further in view of Nishida et al (US 20070222420 A1)
Regarding claim 4, Jung modified by Eriksson teaches the fast-charging method of claim 3. Jung modified by Eriksson further teaches further comprising the steps of: measuring an intensity of current in the battery cell during a voltage stage Vj, calculating an intensity variation (
Δ
I
(
j
)
) as
Δ
I
j
=
I
0
-
I
l
i
m
i
t
, with
I
l
i
m
i
t
defined by a predetermined limit current, (Jung ¶0083 “[FIG 3] controller 166 of the battery pack determines whether or not the sensed charge current of the battery cell 110 reaches a first reference current (S16)”)
[as
Δ
V
j
=
K
n
Δ
I
(
j
)
with Kn defined as an adjustable coefficient,] applying a new voltage stage
V
j
+
1
=
V
j
+
Δ
V
(
j
)
to the terminals of the battery cell. (Jung FIG 1B depicts the constant current-constant voltage routine where each current phase increases the voltage to the value of the following constant voltage phase, FIG 3 steps S33 and S53)
Jung modified by Eriksson does not teach a voltage variation (
Δ
V
(
j
)
)] as
Δ
V
j
=
K
n
Δ
I
(
j
)
with Kn defined as an adjustable coefficient.
Nishida teaches a voltage variation (
Δ
V
(
j
)
) as
Δ
V
j
=
K
n
Δ
I
(
j
)
with Kn defined as an adjustable coefficient. (¶0012 “constant-voltage charge, the current when charge complete is detected is small, and since the voltage drop across the resistor R1 is low, an input offset voltage of the operational amplifier A1 detecting the generated voltage is not negligible”, ¶0057 “NMOS transistor 36 turns ON, the resistor 35 serves as a load to the control transistor 24 of the constant-voltage circuit 4”)
Jung modified by Eriksson discloses a constant current – constant voltage fast-charging scheme which implements rest periods between constant current-constant voltage phases, increasing the constant voltage applied during each phase. Nishida discloses a charging circuit which uses a constant current – constant voltage fast-charging scheme which implements rest periods between each consant current – constant voltage stage, using a load resistor to measure a change in voltage. As detailed above, the present disclosure does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to replicate the metes and bounds of the variable coefficient
K
n
. The form of this equation necessitates variable coefficient
K
n
to have units of resistance, thereby measuring a change in voltage using a resistor would satisfy this requirement. Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the fast-charging method as taught by Jung modified by Eriksson wherein a voltage variation (
Δ
V
(
j
)
) as
Δ
V
j
=
K
n
Δ
I
(
j
)
with Kn defined as an adjustable coefficient as taught by Nishida. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to minimize heat generation during fast-charging to improve battery life and operational safety.
Regarding claim 7, Jung modified by Eriksson teaches the fast-charging method of claim 1. Jung modified by Eriksson further teaches further comprising ]an initial step for determining an initial K-value (Kn) and] a charge step from inputs including charging instructions for [C-rate,] voltage and charge time, (Jung ¶0081 “information about the battery cell 110 (that is, information about the charge voltage (Vset) and/or the charge current (Iset) is updated to then retransmit the updated information to the controller 210 of the external electric device to allow the controller 210 of the external electric device to control the charger 220, thereby charging the battery cell 110 with a first constant voltage (S14)”, Jung ¶0047 “FIG. 1C, the voltage stabilizing time (.tau.) of the battery cell may be defined as a time taken to make a change in the value A ”)
[wherein the K-value defines an adjustable coefficient relating a voltage variation to a current variation during charging.]
Jung as modified by Eriksson does not teach comprising an initial step for determining an initial K-value (Kn) and a charge step from inputs including charging instructions for C-rate, wherein the K-value defines an adjustable coefficient relating a voltage variation to a current variation during charging.
Eriksson further teaches comprising [an initial step for determining an initial K-value (Kn)] and a charge step from inputs including charging instructions for C-rate (¶0048 “the 5 h rate may be used for an initial charging current I.sub.start=C/5 in a fast charging profile”)
[wherein the K-value defines an adjustable coefficient relating a voltage variation to a current variation during charging.]
Eriksson FIG 3 steps 305 and 306 calculate and adjust the quantity
Δ
V
Δ
t
=
f
(
I
c
h
a
r
g
e
)
, which compares the rate of change of the output voltage to a change in the input current, due to Ohm’s law there is necessarily a coefficient related to the impedance of the circuit; however, an impedance is not explicitly disclosed.
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the fast-charging method as taught by Jung modified by Eriksson wherein a charge step from inputs including charging instructions for C-rate as further taught by Eriksson. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to more accurately estimate charging time during fast-charging thereby enhancing user experience.
Jung as modified by Eriksson does not teach comprising an initial step for determining an initial K-value (Kn), wherein the K-value defines an adjustable coefficient relating a voltage variation to a current variation during charging.
Nishida teaches comprising an initial step for determining an initial K-value (Kn), wherein the K-value defines an adjustable coefficient relating a voltage variation to a current variation during charging. (¶0012 “constant-voltage charge, the current when charge complete is detected is small, and since the voltage drop across the resistor R1 is low, an input offset voltage of the operational amplifier A1 detecting the generated voltage is not negligible”, ¶0057 “NMOS transistor 36 turns ON, the resistor 35 serves as a load to the control transistor 24 of the constant-voltage circuit 4”)
Jung modified by Eriksson discloses a constant current – constant voltage fast-charging scheme which implements rest periods between constant current-constant voltage phases, increasing the constant voltage applied during each phase. Nishida discloses a charging circuit which uses a constant current – constant voltage fast-charging scheme which implements rest periods between each constant current – constant voltage stage, using a load resistor to measure a change in voltage. As detailed above, the present disclosure does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to replicate the metes and bounds of the variable coefficient
K
n
. The form of this equation necessitates variable coefficient
K
n
to have units of resistance, thereby measuring a change in voltage using a resistor would satisfy this requirement. Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the fast-charging method as taught by Jung modified by Eriksson wherein a voltage variation (
Δ
V
(
j
)
) as
Δ
V
j
=
K
n
Δ
I
(
j
)
with Kn defined as an adjustable coefficient as taught by Nishida. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to minimize heat generation during fast-charging to improve battery life and operational safety.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung modified by Eriksson and Nishida and further in view of Ghantous et al (US 20190072618 A1)
Regarding claim 5, Jung modified by Eriksson and Nishida teaches the fast-charging method of claim 4. Jung modified by Eriksson and Nishida does not teach wherein the successive K-values
K
n
-
1
to
K
n
are determined by using a machine-learning technique, so as to maintain a sufficient charge of the battery cell.
Ghantous teaches wherein the successive K-values
K
n
-
1
to
K
n
are determined by using a machine-learning technique, so as to maintain a sufficient charge of the battery cell. (¶0125 “FIG. 7a, a process 701 begins with an operation 703 involving applying an in situ frequency-specific stimulus (e.g., a defined current or voltage) to a battery.”, ¶0126 “operation 707. Thus, in some cases, the process determines an impedance spectrum of the battery”)
Jung modified by Eriksson and Nishida discloses a charging circuit which uses a constant current – constant voltage fast-charging scheme which implements rest periods between each consant current – constant voltage stage, using a load resistor to measure a change in voltage. Ghantous similarly discloses a machine learning model for implementing a constant current – constant voltage charging scheme. Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the fast-charging method as taught by Jung modified by Eriksson and Nishida wherein the successive K-values
K
n
-
1
to
K
n
are determined by using a machine-learning technique, so as to maintain a sufficient charge of the battery cell as taught by Ghantous. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to minimize heat generation during fast-charging to improve battery life and operational safety.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung modified by Eriksson and Nishida and further in view of Maluf et al (US 20150219722 A1)
Regarding claim 8, Jung modified by Eriksson and Nishida teaches the fast-charging method of claim 7. Jung modified by Eriksson and Nishida further teaches further comprising [a step for detecting a Cshift threshold,]
leading to a step for determining a shift voltage, by applying a non-linear voltage equation (Eriksson ¶0053 “[FIG 3] resulting output voltage over the minus pole 106 and the plus pole 105 is then measured in a fourth step 305”)
[and using K-value and ΔC-rate.]
Jung as modified by Eriksson and Nishida does not teach further comprising a step for detecting a Cshift threshold, and using K-value and ΔC-rate.
Nishida teaches further comprising [a step for detecting a Cshift threshold,] and using K-value [and ΔC-rate.] (¶0012 “constant-voltage charge, the current when charge complete is detected is small, and since the voltage drop across the resistor R1 is low, an input offset voltage of the operational amplifier A1 detecting the generated voltage is not negligible”, ¶0057 “NMOS transistor 36 turns ON, the resistor 35 serves as a load to the control transistor 24 of the constant-voltage circuit 4”)
Jung modified by Eriksson discloses a constant current – constant voltage fast-charging scheme which implements rest periods between constant current-constant voltage phases, increasing the constant voltage applied during each phase. Nishida discloses a charging circuit which uses a constant current – constant voltage fast-charging scheme which implements rest periods between each consant current – constant voltage stage, using a load resistor to measure a change in voltage. As detailed above, the present disclosure does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to replicate the metes and bounds of the variable coefficient
K
n
. The form of this equation necessitates variable coefficient
K
n
to have units of resistance, thereby measuring a change in voltage using a resistor would satisfy this requirement. Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the fast-charging method as taught by Jung modified by Eriksson wherein a voltage variation (
Δ
V
(
j
)
) as
Δ
V
j
=
K
n
Δ
I
(
j
)
with Kn defined as an adjustable coefficient as taught by Nishida. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to minimize heat generation during fast-charging to improve battery life and operational safety.
Jung as modified by Eriksson and Nishida does not teach further comprising a step for detecting a Cshift threshold, and using ΔC-rate.
Maluf teaches further comprising a step for detecting a Cshift threshold, and using ΔC-rate. (¶0064 “battery/cell so that the change in terminal voltage in response to subsequent charging is within a predetermined range and/or below a predetermined value may impact the net effective charge rate… net effective charge rate may be adjusted and/or controlled by way of adjusting and/or controlling one or more characteristics of the charge or charging signal during a given charging period including, for example, the amplitude of the current charge or charging signal, the shape of the charge or charging signal”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the fast-charging method as taught by Jung modified by Eriksson and Nishida to further comprise a step for detecting a Cshift threshold, and using ΔC-rate as taught by Maluf. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to more accurately estimate charging time during fast-charging thereby enhancing user experience.
Claim(s) 10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung modified by Eriksson and further in view of Lim et al (US 20100264879 A1)
Regarding claim 10, Jung modified by Eriksson teaches the fast-charging method of claim 9. Jung modified by Eriksson further teaches wherein the method is implemented to charge a plurality of battery cells connected in series, (Jung ¶0065 “one battery cell 110 is exemplified in the illustrated embodiment, a plurality of battery cells may be coupled to each other in series or in parallel”)
[and wherein the method comprises intrinsic balancing between the battery cells.]
Jung modified by Eriksson does not teach and wherein the method comprises intrinsic balancing between the battery cells.
Lim teaches and wherein the method comprises intrinsic balancing between the battery cells. (¶0027 “charge circuitry of battery charger 24 (charge circuitry is shown in example configurations in FIGS. 2 and 3) is configured to provide different amounts of electrical energy (e.g., different number of charging pulses of electrical energy) to different ones of the rechargeable cells 28 to provide substantially balanced charging of the rechargeable cells 28 during a common charging cycle of the battery 22”)
Jung modified by Eriksson discloses a constant current – constant voltage fast-charging scheme which implements rest periods between constant current-constant voltage phases, increasing the constant voltage applied during each phase. Lim discloses a constant current – constant voltage charging scheme which balances the state of charge across a plurality of batteries. Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the fast-charging method as taught by Jung modified by Eriksson wherein the method comprises intrinsic balancing between the battery cells as taught by Lim. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve battery performance and extend battery lifespan by minimizing the damage due to unbalanced states of charge across multiple batteries.
Regarding claim 13, Jung modified by Eriksson teaches the system of claim 11. Jung modified by Eriksson further teaches wherein the system is configured to charge a system of battery cells connected in series, (Jung ¶0065 “one battery cell 110 is exemplified in the illustrated embodiment, a plurality of battery cells may be coupled to each other in series or in parallel”)
[wherein the charging controller is further designed to provide intrinsic balancing between the battery cells.]
Jung modified by Eriksson does not teach wherein the charging controller is further designed to provide intrinsic balancing between the battery cells.
Lim teaches wherein the charging controller is further designed to provide intrinsic balancing between the battery cells. (¶0027 “charge circuitry of battery charger 24 (charge circuitry is shown in example configurations in FIGS. 2 and 3) is configured to provide different amounts of electrical energy (e.g., different number of charging pulses of electrical energy) to different ones of the rechargeable cells 28 to provide substantially balanced charging of the rechargeable cells 28 during a common charging cycle of the battery 22”)
Jung modified by Eriksson discloses a constant current – constant voltage fast-charging scheme which implements rest periods between constant current-constant voltage phases, increasing the constant voltage applied during each phase. Lim discloses a constant current – constant voltage charging scheme which balances the state of charge across a plurality of batteries. Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the fast-charging method as taught by Jung modified by Eriksson wherein the method comprises intrinsic balancing between the battery cells as taught by Lim. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve battery performance and extend battery lifespan by minimizing the damage due to unbalanced states of charge across multiple batteries.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung modified by Eriksson and Ghantous
Regarding claim 12, Jung modified by Eriksson teaches the system of claim 11. Jung modified by Eriksson does not teach wherein the electronic converter includes a microcontroller with processing capabilities [enabling implementation of artificial intelligence methods and online storage and computation of VSIP data.] (¶0064 “FIG. 2, the battery charging system 100 according to embodiments of the present invention includes…a micro processor unit (MPU) 160.”)
Ghantous teaches wherein the electronic converter includes a microcontroller with processing capabilities enabling implementation of artificial intelligence methods and online storage and computation of VSIP data. (¶0125 “FIG. 7a, a process 701 begins with an operation 703 involving applying an in situ frequency-specific stimulus (e.g., a defined current or voltage) to a battery.”, ¶0126 “operation 707. Thus, in some cases, the process determines an impedance spectrum of the battery”)
Jung modified by Eriksson discloses a charging circuit which uses a constant current – constant voltage fast-charging scheme which implements rest periods between each constant current – constant voltage stage. Ghantous similarly discloses a machine learning model for implementing a constant current – constant voltage charging scheme. Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the fast-charging method as taught by Jung modified by Eriksson wherein the electronic converter includes a microcontroller with processing capabilities enabling implementation of artificial intelligence methods and online storage and computation of VSIP data l as taught by Ghantous. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to minimize heat generation during fast-charging to improve battery life and operational safety.
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence.
Asakura et al (US 20010022518 A1) discloses a capacity estimation method which applies a constant current – constant voltage charging method with rest periods between voltage plateaus.
Conclusion
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859