DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 26 April 2023 has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim 7 recites the limitation "comprising an initial step for determining an initial K-value and a charge step from inputs including charging instructions for C-rate, voltage and charge time ", wherein the emphasized portion is indefinite. The K-value is not a commonly defined term in the art, and the claim as written does not facilitate one of ordinary skill in the art to be able to determine an initial K-value.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ding et al (US 20050099162 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Ding teaches a method for fast-charging a battery cell provided with charge/discharge terminals to which a charging voltage V can be applied with a flowing pulse-like charging current, (¶0014 “FIG. 2 shows a series of current pulses that can be used by the battery charger shown in FIG. 1”, ¶0016 “FIGS. 4-7 show different types of current pulses that can be used by the battery charger shown in FIG. 1”, ¶0017 “FIGS. 8-10 show different types of voltage pulses that can be used by the battery charger shown in FIG. 1”)
the method comprising the steps of:
- applying to terminals of said the battery cell a plurality of constant voltage stages
V
j
, where
V
j
+
1
>
V
j
,
j
=
1
,
2
.
.
.
,
k
, each voltage stage comprising intermittent
n
j
voltage plateaus, (¶0017 “FIGS. 8-10 show different types of voltage pulses that can be used by the battery charger shown in FIG. 1”, ¶0045 “ two applications of the first voltage pulse 116, 116' are shown in FIG. 8, it is contemplated that first voltage pulses, separated by corresponding rest periods, will be applied, thereby forming a first voltage pulse group (G1)”)
- between two successive voltage plateaus within a voltage stage, letting the charging current go to zero for a rest period
R
j
p
,
1
≤
p
≤
n
j
. (¶0045 “ two applications of the first voltage pulse 116, 116' are shown in FIG. 8, it is contemplated that first voltage pulses, separated by corresponding rest periods, will be applied, thereby forming a first voltage pulse group (G1)”, similarly as depicted in FIGs 9 and 10)
the fast-charging method proceeding until any one of the following conditions is reached:
- a pre-set capacity or state of charge (SOC) is reached, (¶0031 “a battery, such as the battery 20, will be more than 95% charged when the microprocessor 16 commands the control circuit 18 to cease application of the pulse groups”)
- the cell temperature T(t) exceeds a pre-set limit value
T
l
i
m
or (¶0045 “Application of the first voltage pulses will continue until a predetermined condition is met. The predetermined condition can include one of, a combination of, comparisons between measured parameters and predetermined values… Another predetermined condition that can be used is the battery temperature, which can be measured during the application of the first voltage pulses, and during the rest periods”
– the battery cell voltage exceeds a pre-set limit value
V
l
i
m
. (¶0045 “Application of the first voltage pulses will continue until a predetermined condition is met. The predetermined condition can include one of, a combination of, comparisons between measured parameters and predetermined values… if the measured voltage exceeds a predetermined voltage, application of the first voltage pulses can be ended”
Regarding claim 2, Ding teaches the fast-charging method of preceding claim 1. Ding further teaches a fast-charging method wherein a transition from a voltage stage
V
j
to the following stage
V
j
+
1
is initiated when
I
j
,
p
f
i
n
,
p
=
n
j
reaches a threshold value
I
j
,
n
j
T
h
r
. (¶0045 “[FIG 8] If the measured battery current drops below a predetermined level, application of the first voltage pulses can be ended”)
Regarding claim 3, Ding teaches the fast-charging method of preceding claim 2. Ding further teaches a fast-charging method further comprising a step for calculating the following stage
V
j
+
1
as
=
V
j
+
Δ
V
(
j
)
, with
Δ
V
(
j
)
relating to the current change
Δ
I
j
=
I
j
,
p
i
n
i
-
I
j
,
p
f
i
n
,
p
=
n
j
. (¶0034 “[FIG 3] At the end of the excitation current pulse, the voltage of the battery (V3) is again measured at step 54”)
Regarding claim 6, Ding teaches the fast-charging method of preceding claim 1. Ding further teaches a fast-charging method further comprising the steps of:
- between two successive current rest times within a voltage stage
V
j
, and a pending voltage plateau, detecting the flowing pulse-like charging current dropping from an initial value
I
j
,
p
i
n
i
to a final value
I
j
,
p
f
i
n
where
1
≤
p
≤
n
j
, (¶0041 “The variation and average current between pulse groups is best illustrated in FIGS. 6 and 7. For example, in FIG. 6, a first pulse group (I) has an average current indicated by the dashed line 88”)
- ending the pending voltage plateau, so that the flowing pulse-like charging current drops to zero for a rest time
R
j
p
, with the voltage departing from
V
j
.
, (¶0044 “After the first voltage pulse 116 is applied, a rest period 118 is provided. During the rest period 118, no voltage is applied to the battery”)
- after the rest time
R
j
p
has elapsed, applying back the voltage to
V
j
. (¶0044 “After the rest period 118, the first voltage pulse is again applied, and this is designated by 116'”)
Regarding claim 11, Ding teaches the fast-charging method of preceding claim 1. Ding further teaches a system for fast-charging a battery cell, implementing a fast-charging method, the system comprising an electronic converter connected to an energy source and designed for applying a charging voltage to the terminals of the battery cell, (¶0018 “[FIG 1] In order to accommodate the use of an AC power source, a converter 14 is provided to convert the AC power to DC power before it is used by the battery charger 10. Alternatively, a DC power source, such as a 12 volt car battery, can be used. In such a case, an adapter 15, shown in phantom, may be used to physically adapt the DC power source to the converter 14”)
the electronic converter being controlled by a charging controller designed to process measurements of battery cell flowing current and temperature and charging instruction data, (¶0019 “ Power from the power source 12 is provided to a controller, or control circuit 18. The control circuit 18 is configured to receive power from the converter 14, and to output current or voltage in the form of pulses to a battery 20 that has been placed in the battery charger 10 for charging”)
characterized in that the charging controller is further designed to control the electronic converter so as to:
- apply to terminals of the battery cell a plurality of constant voltage stages
V
j
, where
V
j
+
1
>
V
j
,
j
=
1
,
2
.
.
.
,
k
, each voltage stage comprising intermittent
n
j
voltage plateaus, (¶0017 “FIGS. 8-10 show different types of voltage pulses that can be used by the battery charger shown in FIG. 1”, ¶0045 “ two applications of the first voltage pulse 116, 116' are shown in FIG. 8, it is contemplated that first voltage pulses, separated by corresponding rest periods, will be applied, thereby forming a first voltage pulse group (G1)”)
- between two successive voltage plateaus within a voltage stage, let the charging current going to rest for a rest period
R
j
p
,
1
≤
p
≤
n
j
.
(¶0045 “ two applications of the first voltage pulse 116, 116' are shown in FIG. 8, it is contemplated that first voltage pulses, separated by corresponding rest periods, will be applied, thereby forming a first voltage pulse group (G1)”, similarly as depicted in FIGs 9 and 10)
until either one of the following conditions is reached:
- a pre-set capacity or state of charge (SOC) is reached, (¶0031 “a battery, such as the battery 20, will be more than 95% charged when the microprocessor 16 commands the control circuit 18 to cease application of the pulse groups”)
- the cell temperature T(t) exceeds a pre-set limit value
T
l
i
m
or (¶0045 “Application of the first voltage pulses will continue until a predetermined condition is met. The predetermined condition can include one of, a combination of, comparisons between measured parameters and predetermined values… Another predetermined condition that can be used is the battery temperature, which can be measured during the application of the first voltage pulses, and during the rest periods”
– the battery cell voltage exceeds a pre-set limit value
V
l
i
m
. (¶0045 “Application of the first voltage pulses will continue until a predetermined condition is met. The predetermined condition can include one of, a combination of, comparisons between measured parameters and predetermined values… if the measured voltage exceeds a predetermined voltage, application of the first voltage pulses can be ended”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 7-10, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding modified by Lim et al (US 20190195956 A1)
Regarding claim 4, Ding teaches the fast-charging method of preceding claim 2. Ding further teaches a fast-charging method further comprising the steps of:
-measuring an intensity of current in the battery cell during a voltage stage Vj, (¶0045 “a battery current can be measured while the first voltage pulses are applied”)
- calculating an intensity variation
(
Δ
I
(
j
)
)
as
Δ
I
j
=
I
o
-
I
l
i
m
i
t
, with
I
l
i
m
i
t
defined by a predetermined limit current, (¶0040 “ FIG. 5, the amplitude and width of individual current pulses can vary between different pulse groups”, ¶0042 “[FIG 7] The difference in average currents is effected by a difference in the widths of the first and third current pulses 102, 108”)
- calculating a voltage variation
Δ
V
j
as
Δ
V
j
=
K
n
Δ
I
(
j
)
, with
K
n
defined as an adjustable coefficient, (¶0074 “comparing the graph of FIG. 3 and the graph of FIG. 2, at SOCs that cause the phase “transition of the active material of the cathode, the variance in the OCV with respect to the variance in the SOC dV/dSOC, that is, a slope or differential coefficient of the graph of FIG. 2”)
- applying a new voltage stage
V
j
+
1
=
V
j
+
Δ
V
(
j
)
to the terminals of the battery cell. (¶0046 “After the predetermined condition is met, and application of the first voltage pulse group is ended, additional voltage pulses may be applied. In FIG. 8, two more voltage pulse groups (G2), (G3) are applied. As with the current pulse charging method, any number of different pulse groups may be used”)
Both Ding and Lim teach a method of fast-charging batteries for hand-held electronic devices using a pulse current with constant current and constant voltage phases. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the fast-charging method as taught by Ding wherein the method is applied to a combination of battery cells arranged in series and/or in parallel as taught by Lim, for the purpose of improved detection of battery faults for safer charging/discharging.
Regarding claim 7, Ding teaches the fast-charging method of preceding claim 1. Ding a fast-charging method further comprising an initial step for determining an initial K-value and a charge step from inputs including charging instructions for C-rate, voltage and charge time.
Ding does not teach a fast-charging method further comprising an initial step for determining an initial K-value and a charge step from inputs including charging instructions for C-rate, voltage and charge time.
Lim teaches a fast-charging method further comprising an initial step for determining an initial K-value (¶0074 “comparing the graph of FIG. 3 and the graph of FIG. 2, at SOCs that cause the phase “transition of the active material of the cathode, the variance in the OCV with respect to the variance in the SOC dV/dSOC, that is, a slope or differential coefficient of the graph of FIG. 2”)
and a charge step from inputs including charging instructions for C-rate, voltage and charge time. (¶0053 “FIG. 1, the battery system 100 includes the battery monitoring apparatus 110 that monitors an inner state of the battery 120 being charged… battery monitoring apparatus 110 is implemented by a battery management system (BMS)… an operation of controlling the state or an operation of the battery 120 by generating a control or instruction signal”)
Lim defines c-rate in ¶0052 as “a current input into the battery 120 is expressed in a unit of amperes (A) or milliamperes (mA). A charging current is also expressed as a C-rate”. Further Lim ¶0083 indicates “FIG. 5 is a flowchart illustrating an example of an operation of a battery monitoring apparatus”, with further details including the decision inputs which include current input to battery, charge time, and voltage
Both Ding and Lim teach a method of fast-charging batteries for hand-held electronic devices using a pulse current with constant current and constant voltage phases. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the fast-charging method as taught by Ding to further comprise an initial step for determining an initial K-value and a charge step from inputs including charging instructions for C-rate, voltage and charge time as taught by Lim, for the purpose of improved detection of battery faults for safer charging/discharging.
Regarding claim 8, Ding as modified by Lim teaches the fast-charging method of claim 7. Ding as modified by Lim does not teach a fast-charging method further comprising a step for detecting a
C
s
h
i
f
t
threshold, leading to a step for determining a shift voltage, by applying a non-linear voltage equation and using K-value and a C-rate. ( Lim ¶0074 “comparing the graph of FIG. 3 and the graph of FIG. 2, at SOCs that cause the phase “transition of the active material of the cathode, the variance in the OCV with respect to the variance in the SOC dV/dSOC, that is, a slope or differential coefficient of the graph of FIG. 2”).
Lim FIG 3 depicts the graph by which the K-value (dV/dSOC) is calculated from the graph of FIG 2, and both figures show curved, non-linear functions.
Regarding claim 9, Ding teaches the fast-charging method of preceding claim 1. Ding does not teach a fast-charging method wherein the method is applied to a combination of battery cells arranged in series and/or in parallel.
Lim teaches a fast-charging method wherein the method is applied to a combination of battery cells arranged in series and/or in parallel. (¶0023 “[FIG 2] Battery 22 includes a plurality of rechargeable cells 28 in one embodiment. Battery charger 24 is configured to provide charging electrical energy to the rechargeable cells 28 to charge battery 22”, FIG 2 depicts rechargeable cells 28 to be in series)
Both Ding and Lim teach a method of fast-charging batteries for hand-held electronic devices using a pulse current with constant current and constant voltage phases. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the fast-charging method as taught by Ding wherein the method is applied to a combination of battery cells arranged in series and/or in parallel as taught by Lim, for the purpose of reducing the stress per cell and improved thermal management by distributing heat generation across a larger area.
Regarding claim 10, Ding as modified by Lim teaches the fast-charging method of claim 9. Ding as modified by Lim further teaches a fast-charging method wherein the method is implemented to charge a plurality of battery cells connected in series, (Lim ¶0023 “[FIG 2] Battery 22 includes a plurality of rechargeable cells 28 in one embodiment. Battery charger 24 is configured to provide charging electrical energy to the rechargeable cells 28 to charge battery 22”, Lim FIG 2 depicts rechargeable cells 28 to be in series)
Ding as modified by Lim does not teach a fast-charging method wherein the method comprises intrinsic balancing between the battery cells.
Lim further teaches a fast-charging method wherein the method comprises intrinsic balancing between the battery cells. (¶0027 “charge circuitry of battery charger 24 (charge circuitry is shown in example configurations in FIGS. 2 and 3) is configured to provide different amounts of electrical energy (e.g., different number of charging pulses of electrical energy) to different ones of the rechargeable cells 28 to provide substantially balanced charging of the rechargeable cells 28 during a common charging cycle of the battery 22”)
Both Ding and Lim teach a method of fast-charging batteries for hand-held electronic devices using a pulse current with constant current and constant voltage phases. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the fast-charging method as taught by Ding modified by Lim wherein the method comprises intrinsic balancing between the battery cells as taught by Lim for the purpose of reducing the stress per cell and improved thermal management by distributing heat generation across a larger area.
Regarding claim 13, Ding teaches the system of claim 11. Ding does not teach a system for fast-charging a battery cell wherein the system is configured to charge a system of battery cells connected in series, wherein the charging controller is further designed to provide intrinsic balancing between the battery cells.
Lim teaches a system for fast-charging a battery cell wherein the system is configured to charge a system of battery cells connected in series, (¶0023 “[FIG 2] Battery 22 includes a plurality of rechargeable cells 28 in one embodiment. Battery charger 24 is configured to provide charging electrical energy to the rechargeable cells 28 to charge battery 22”, FIG 2 depicts rechargeable cells 28 to be in series)
wherein the charging controller is further designed to provide intrinsic balancing between the battery cells. (¶0027 “charge circuitry of battery charger 24 (charge circuitry is shown in example configurations in FIGS. 2 and 3) is configured to provide different amounts of electrical energy (e.g., different number of charging pulses of electrical energy) to different ones of the rechargeable cells 28 to provide substantially balanced charging of the rechargeable cells 28 during a common charging cycle of the battery 22”)
Both Ding and Lim teach a system for fast-charging batteries for hand-held electronic devices using a pulse current with constant current and constant voltage phases. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system of fast-charging a battery cell as taught by Ding wherein the method is applied to a combination of battery cells arranged in series and/or in parallel and wherein the charging controller is further designed to provide intrinsic balancing between the battery cells as taught by Lim, for the purpose of reducing the stress per cell and improved thermal management by distributing heat generation across a larger area.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding as modified by Lim and further in view of Ghantous et al (US 20190072618 A1)
Regarding claim 5, Ding as modified by Lim teaches the fast-charging method of claim 4. Ding as modified by Lim further teaches a fast-charging method wherein the successive K-values
K
n
-
1
K
n
are used to maintain a sufficient charge of the battery cell. (Lim ¶0074 “comparing the graph of FIG. 3 and the graph of FIG. 2, at SOCs that cause the phase “transition of the active material of the cathode, the variance in the OCV with respect to the variance in the SOC dV/dSOC, that is, a slope or differential coefficient of the graph of FIG. 2”)
Ding as modified by Lim does not teach a fast-charging method wherein the successive K-values
K
n
-
1
K
n
are determined by using a machine-learning technique, so as to maintain a sufficient charge of the battery cell.
Ghantous teaches a fast-charging method wherein the successive K-values
K
n
-
1
K
n
are determined by using a machine-learning technique. (¶0057 “ A model may be applicable to just a particular individual battery or to a plurality of batteries… the model may evolve or learn based on information and/or data it gains from application to one or more batteries… Such observing and learning may be implemented as machine learning or deep learning”)
Both Ding and Ghantous teach an adaptive fast-charging system using a pulse-current with constant current and constant voltage phases to charge hand-held electronic devices. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the fast-charging method as taught by Ding modified by Lim wherein the successive K-values
K
n
-
1
K
n
are determined by using a machine-learning technique for the purpose of improving the fast-charging method to better identify patterns in the input variables and associated conditions of batteries (e.g., normal or expected behavior, unexpected degradation, potentially dangerous to operate, and imminent failure or imminent safety issue).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding modified by Ghantous.
Regarding claim 12, Ding teaches the system of claim 11. Ding does not teach a system for fast-charging a battery cell wherein the electronic converter includes a microcontroller with processing capabilities enabling implementation of artificial intelligence methods and online storage and computation of VSIP data.
Ghantous teaches a system for fast-charging a battery cell wherein the electronic converter includes a microcontroller (¶0149 “FIG. 1 depicts in block form a battery monitoring/charging system that may be configured to obtain and analyze time and/or frequency domain data from a battery, and, optionally, adaptively charge a battery… Control circuitry 116 is coupled to the charging circuitry and the measuring circuitry. Using data received by the monitoring circuitry the control circuitry is configured to generate one or more control signals to adapt one or more characteristics of a charge packet”)
with processing capabilities enabling implementation of artificial intelligence methods (¶0057 “ A model may be applicable to just a particular individual battery or to a plurality of batteries… the model may evolve or learn based on information and/or data it gains from application to one or more batteries… Such observing and learning may be implemented as machine learning or deep learning”)
and online storage (¶0157 “control circuitry may operate on a remote server or a cloud-based application. In some cases, control circuitry may be coupled to monitoring circuitry and/or charging circuitry via wireless or wired communication”)
and computation of VSIP data. (¶0023 “[FIG 1] charging circuitry 112 (including, e.g., a voltage source and/or current source) responds to control circuitry 116 which receives battery information from monitoring circuitry 114 (including, e.g., a voltmeter and/or a current meter)”, ¶0044 “charging circuitry adapts, adjusts and/or controls the amplitude, pulse width, duty cycle, or other parameter of charging or discharging current pulses and/or it adjusts and/or controls the conditions of a constant voltage portion of the charge process”, ¶0047 ““Battery Control Logic” refers to the control algorithms and/or rules that are used to determine (i) charging parameters (for example, the amplitude, width, and frequency of charge and discharge pulses) in the charge process, and/or (ii) information about a battery's health”)
Both Ding and Ghantous teach an adaptive fast-charging system using a pulse-current with constant current and constant voltage phases to charge hand-held electronic devices. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system for fast-charging a battery cell as taught by Ding wherein the electronic converter includes a microcontroller with processing capabilities enabling implementation of artificial intelligence methods and online storage and computation of VSIP data as taught by Ghantous for the purpose of improving the fast-charging method to better identify patterns in the input variables and associated conditions of batteries (e.g., normal or expected behavior, unexpected degradation, potentially dangerous to operate, and imminent failure or imminent safety issue).
Claim Objections
Claims 1 objected to because of the following limitation “
1
≤
p
≤
n
j
.” concludes with improper punctuation as it is not the conclusion of the respective claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1 and 11 are objected to because of the informality “
R
j
p
,
1
≤
p
≤
n
j
.
” where the variable and the index are connected into one mathematical expression and an errant period is added to the upper bound of the index. Please amend as necessary to visually separate the variable from it’s associate index and remove the period which appears part way through the respective claims.
Claim 3 is objected to due to the informality of the following limitation “stage
V
j
+
1
as
=
V
j
+
Δ
V
(
j
)
”, using the “=” to mean equal to or equivalent to is grammatically incorrect.
Claim 5 is objected to due to the informality “K-values
K
n
-
1
K
n
are”, where the calculated K-values are connected in one mathematical expression. Please separate the variable to be distinct.
Claim 11 is objected to due to the informality “until either one of the following conditions is reached” which is grammatically incorrect. The term “either” is used to choose between or compare two things, examiner suggests amending to be consistent with the language in independent claim 1 as “until any of the following conditions are reached”
Claim 11 is objected to due to the informality “where
V
j
+
1
>
V
j
,
j
=
1
,
2
.
.
.
,
k
,” which could benefit from a grammatical change. Examiner suggests “where
V
j
+
1
>
V
j
with
j
=
1
,
2
.
.
.
,
k
” such that the index j is not visually connected to the equation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence.
Maluf et al (US 20150219722 A1) which teaches an adaptive method of charging a battery using pulse current relaxation time and c-rate.
Greening et al (US 20150022160 A1) which teaches an adaptive c-rate charging method using a pulse current and machine learning.
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859