DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed on 05/12/2026.
Claim 13 has been canceled.
Claims 1-12 and 14-21 are pending and have been examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite “displaying a first set of index identifiers in the first region… wherein the second index identifier is not among the first set of index identifiers; and identifying that a first condition is met, and in response to identifying that the first condition is met: changing the index identifiers displayed in the first region from the second set to the first set; and displaying the second index identifier in a first preset manner at a start location of the first region or an end location of the first region”. However, the specification does not support the above features. As noted by applicant, the claims are amended to reflect figure 9. However, as can be seen in figure 9 (and alluded to in the claim limitations: “wherein the second index identifier is not among the first set of index identifiers”), in response to the first condition being met, a different set of index identifiers is shown in the first region of figure 9d (T-W) than is displayed in the first region of figure 9a (A-D). Therefore, “in response to identifying that the first condition is met”, index identifiers are not changed “from the second set to the first set”, but actually displays a different set that includes “displaying the second index identifier in a first preset manner at a start location of the first region or an end location of the first region” (e.g. T-W). The amended claim limitations would require that A-D be displayed along with T either before A or after D, which is not described in the specification. As such, the claim lacks written description. Independent claim 7 also recites similar limitations and therefore have the same problem. Due at least to their dependency upon claims 1 or 7, dependent claims 2-6, 8-12, and 14-21 also fail to comply with the written description requirement.
Claims 1-12 and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claim 1, it is unclear what “the index identifiers” in line 11 is referring to (e.g. “the first set of index identifiers”, or different). There is lack of antecedent basis for “the number of index identifiers” in line 13. Independent claim 7 also recites similar limitations and therefore have the same problem. Due at least to their dependency upon claims 1 or 7, dependent claims 2-6, 8-12, and 14-21 are also indefinite.
Further as per claim 10, there is lack of antecedent basis for “the fourth set…” in the 2nd to last line.
Response to Arguments
Previous objections to the specification have been withdrawn in view of amendments.
Previous objections to the claims have been withdrawn in view of amendments.
Previous rejections under 35 USC 112 have been withdrawn in view of amendments.
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. It is noted that applicant does not provide specific arguments with respect to the prior art in the response dated 05/12/2026. As best understood by examiner, applicant argues in substance that the references allegedly do not teach a temporal sequence including “starting with few” characters and “expanding with many” characters as noted in the response dated 04/13/2026. However, examiner respectfully disagrees. It is noted that the claims do not recite “starts” (or what that means). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claims generally recite “displaying a first set of index identifiers”, which is not required to be the “more characters” (as noted by applicant) screen of e.g. figure 4 of Eveson. As noted in the rejections, “displaying a first set of index identifiers” reads on e.g. figure 9 of Eveson. As also described in Eveson, “tapping the empty sector” causes displaying more characters such as shown in figure 4 (e.g. in column 5 lines 15-36 and column 6 lines 57-63), which reads on “obtaining a first operation; changing, in response to the first operation…” and “changing the first set to the second set”. Jang teaches after displaying a second set (e.g. figure 7 showing set with more identifiers similar to figure 4 of Eveson), obtaining a second operation (e.g. in paragraph 106, “if a first touch key 220 is touched in the IME”) and selecting, in response to the second operation, a second index identifier from the second set of index identifiers and displaying second content corresponding to the second index identifier in the second region (e.g. in paragraph 106, “automatically puts a representative character ("Q") 221 assigned to the first touch key 220 in a character input window” and figure 7). As such, the combination teaches the claimed features.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-12, 14-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eveson (US 9898192 B1) in view of Jang et al. (US 20150160856 A1).
As per independent claim 1, Eveson teaches an index display method comprising:
displaying an index interface (e.g. in column 1 lines 34-38, “entering character data into a device equipped with a circular shaped touch screen display, including making contact with the circular shaped touch screen display in a designated area”, i.e. index interface) comprising a first region and a second region, wherein the first region is located at an edge of the index interface and surrounds the second region (e.g. in column 1 lines 34-58 and column 4 lines 38-55, “an outer diameter of the display… the character display ring 404a-h… At the center of screen 102 there is a “center zone”” and figure 9 showing character display region surrounding center region);
displaying a first set of index identifiers in the first region (e.g. in column 5 lines 15-29, “character group A-G displayed in character ring 404a” and figure 9 showing a first quantity of characters, i.e. index identifiers);
receiving a selection of a first index identifier from the first set of index identifiers (e.g. in column 5 lines 30-41, “user makes the individual character selection” and figure 10);
displaying first content corresponding to the first index identifier in the second region (e.g. in column 5 lines 30-41, “entry of character “C” into text box 104” and figure 10 showing “C” displayed in center region);
obtaining a first operation (e.g. in column 6 lines 57-63, “tapping the empty sector”);
changing, in response to the first operation, the index identifiers displayed in the first region from the first set to a second set, wherein the second set comprises more index identifiers than the first set, and wherein a size of the first region corresponds to the number of index identifiers displayed in the first region (e.g. in column 5 lines 15-36 and column 6 lines 57-63, “tapping the empty sector can initiate a “back step” command, returning the user to the previous screen” and the previous screen including figure 8 showing the character display region with a greater number of characters and in a size with no empty sectors, i.e. a corresponding size);
after changing the first set to the second set, displaying a second index identifier in the second quantity of index identifiers, wherein the second index identifier is not among the first set of index identifiers (e.g. in figures 8 showing e.g. the letter “o” which is different from a character shown in figure 10); and identifying that a first condition is met and in response to identifying that the first condition is met: changing the index identifier displayed in the first region from the second set to the first set and displaying the second index identifier in a first preset manner at a start location of the first region or an end location of the first region (e.g. in column 5 lines 23-29, “the user simply taps (touch and release) the sector containing the character to be entered”; e.g. user can tap sector 402h shown in figure 4 to arrive at a preset display of figure 14 with the first quantity and with the character “o” displayed at a start location),
but does not specifically teach, as a whole, obtaining a second operation; selecting, in response to the second operation, the second index identifier from the second set of index identifiers; and displaying second content corresponding to the second index identifier in the second region.
However, Jang teaches after displaying a second set, obtaining a second operation (e.g. in paragraph 106, “if a first touch key 220 is touched in the IME”); selecting, in response to the second operation, a second index identifier from the second set of index identifiers and displaying second content corresponding to the second index identifier in the second region (e.g. in paragraph 106, “automatically puts a representative character ("Q") 221 assigned to the first touch key 220 in a character input window” and figure 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Eveson to include the teachings of Jang because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of allowing the user to also select characters from a screen with more characters.
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, but Eveson does not specifically teach, as a whole, wherein an index rule corresponding to a fourth index identifier comprises a first index rule and a second index rule, and wherein the index display method further comprises: displaying, in the first region, a fifth index identifier that complies with the first index rule and a first switching control, wherein the first switching control switches to display a sixth index identifier that complies with the second index rule; obtaining a third operation of tapping the first switching control; and displaying, in response to the third operation and in the first region, the sixth index identifier and a second switching control, wherein the second switching control switches to display the fifth index identifier. However, Jang teaches wherein an index rule corresponding to a fourth index identifier comprises a first index rule and a second index rule (e.g. in paragraphs 97 and 99, “a character mode switching touch key 210 is included in the IME. As shown in FIGS. 5(b) and (c), whenever the character mode switching touch key 210 is selected, the controller 80 displays a number mode IME and an English mode IME in a manner of switching the Korean mode IME in sequence” and figure 5 showing the key related to modes/“rules”), and displaying, in the first region, a fifth index identifier that complies with the first index rule and a first switching control, wherein the first switching control switches to display a sixth index identifier that complies with the second index rule (e.g. in paragraphs 98-99, “FIG. 5(a) indicates an IME of a Korean mode. Korean touch keys are respectively arranged… the character mode switching touch key 210… switching the Korean mode IME in sequence” and figure 5, allows for switching between different types of symbols; and/or in paragraphs 65, 113, and 115, “a predetermined touch key of the IME is touched by a predetermined scheme… setting a language type of the IME” and figure 8); obtaining a third operation of tapping the first switching control and displaying, in response to the third operation and in the first region, the sixth index identifier and a second switching control, wherein the second switching control switches to display the fifth index identifier (e.g. in paragraphs 65 and 99, “Such touches includes a short (or tap) touch… whenever the character mode switching touch key 210 is selected, the controller 80 displays a number mode IME and an English mode IME in a manner of switching the Korean mode IME in sequence” and figure 5, allows for switching between different types of symbols; and/or in paragraphs 65, 113, and 115, “Such touches includes a short (or tap) touch… a predetermined touch key of the IME is touched by a predetermined scheme… setting a language type of the IME” and figure 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Eveson to include the teachings of Jang because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of allowing the user to quickly and easily switch between different types of symbols.
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination further teaches identifying that the first condition is met and displaying, displaying, in response to identifying that the first condition is met and at a first location on the index interface, the first region comprising the first set of index identifiers and comprising the second index identifier (e.g. Eveson, in column 5 lines 23-29, “the user simply taps (touch and release) the sector containing the character to be entered”; e.g. user can tap sector 402h shown in figure 4 to arrive at figure 14 with the first quantity and with the character “o”), wherein the first location matches a second location of the second index identifier in the first region comprising the second set of index identifiers (e.g. Eveson, in figures 4 and 14 showing the character display region sharing a location excluding the empty portion), wherein the first location is different from a third location at which the first region comprising the first set of index identifiers and comprising the first index identifier is displayed (e.g. Eveson, figures 10 and 14 have different empty portions), and wherein the third location matches a fourth location of the first index identifier in the first region comprising the second set of index identifiers (e.g. Eveson, in figures 8 and 10 showing the character display region sharing a location excluding the empty portion).
As per claim 19, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination further teaches identifying that the first condition is met and displaying, in response to identifying that the first condition is met and at a first location on the index interface, the first region comprising the first set of index identifiers and comprising the second index identifier (e.g. Eveson, in column 5 lines 23-29, “the user simply taps (touch and release) the sector containing the character to be entered”; e.g. user can tap sector 402h shown in figure 4 to arrive at figure 14 with the first quantity and with the character “o”), wherein the first location is the same as a second location at which the first region comprising the first set of index identifiers and comprising the first index identifier is displayed (e.g. Eveson, in figures 4 and 14 showing one or more locations of the character display region is in a same location).
Claims 7, 9, 11, and 15 are the device claims corresponding to method claims 1, 3, 5, and 19 are rejected under the same reasons set forth and the combination further teaches a display comprising an edge and one or more processors coupled to the display (e.g. Eveson, in column 1 lines 15-16 and column 1 lines 34-58, “devices include wrist watches and other wearable electronic devices… an outer diameter [edge] of the display”; Jang, e.g. in paragraphs 37 and 309, “display unit… processor” and figures 1-2; figure 2 showing an edge) and wherein the first region is located at the edge of the display (e.g. Eveson, in column 1 lines 34-58 and column 4 lines 38-55, “an outer diameter [edge] of the display [matching] the character display ring 404a-h” and figure 8; Jang, in paragraph 69, “display unit 151 is generally configured to output information processed in the mobile terminal” and in figures 2, 7, and 45 showing matching edges).
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated and the combination further teaches wherein the display further comprises an inner edge shape and wherein the first region comprises an outer edge shape that matches the inner edge shape (e.g. Eveson, in column 1 lines 34-58 and column 4 lines 38-55, “an outer diameter [edge] of the display [matching] the character display ring 404a-h” and figure 8; Jang, in paragraph 69, “display unit 151 is generally configured to output information processed in the mobile terminal” and in figures 2, 7, and 45 showing matching edges).
As per claim 10, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated and the combination further teaches wherein a maximum number of index identifiers displayed in the first region is less than or equal to a first threshold (e.g. Eveson, in column 4 lines 38-55 and column 6 lines 26-37, “There is a specific relationship between the number of characters in the selection set (the group from which a character is chosen), and the number of sectors… “n−1” sectors” and figure 10 showing max characters to be displayed is 7 given 8 sectors), and wherein the one or more processors are configured to: identify that a third number of index identifiers to be displayed is greater than the first threshold (e.g. Eveson, in column 4 lines 38-55 and column 6 lines 26-37, “a large number of character choices” which is more than “ “n−1” sectors”); in response to identifying that the third number of index identifiers is greater than the first threshold, display a hidden control (e.g. Eveson, in column 5 lines 15-36 and column 6 lines 57-63, “a “back step” command” and figure 10 showing empty sector to be selected to show figure 8 with more characters that are not displayed in figure 10); and hide a third set of index identifiers, wherein a fourth number of index identifiers to be displayed after hiding the third set of index identifiers is less than or equal to the first threshold (e.g. Eveson, in column 5 lines 15-41, “character group A-G” and figure 10 showing only 7 characters shown after hiding the rest of the characters); obtain a third operation of tapping the hidden control and display, in response to the third operation, the fourth set of index identifiers in the first region (e.g. Eveson, in column 5 lines 15-36 and column 6 lines 57-63, “tapping the empty sector can initiate a “back step” command, returning the user to the previous screen” and the previous screen including figure 8 showing the character display region with the rest of the characters displayed).
As per claim 12, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated and the combination further teaches wherein the first operation is a third operation of tapping a zoom control, a sliding operation performed at the start location, or a second sliding operation performed at the end location (e.g. Eveson, in column 5 lines 15-36 and column 6 lines 57-63, “tapping the empty sector can initiate a “back step” command, returning the user to the previous screen” and the previous screen including figure 8 showing the character display region with more characters; since more characters are shown, the back step command is functionally equivalent to a zoom control).
As per claim 14, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated, but Eveson does not specifically teach, as a whole, wherein an index rule corresponding to a fourth index identifier comprises a first index rule and a second index rule, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: display, in the first region, a fifth index identifier that complies with the first index rule and a first switching control, wherein the first switching control switches to display a sixth index identifier that complies with the second index rule; obtain a third operation of tapping the first switching control; and display, in response to the third operation and in the first region, the sixth index identifier and a second switching control, wherein the second switching control switches to display the fifth index identifier. However, Jang teaches wherein an index rule corresponding to a fourth index identifier comprises a first index rule and a second index rule (e.g. in paragraphs 97 and 99, “a character mode switching touch key 210 is included in the IME. As shown in FIGS. 5(b) and (c), whenever the character mode switching touch key 210 is selected, the controller 80 displays a number mode IME and an English mode IME in a manner of switching the Korean mode IME in sequence” and figure 5 showing the key related to modes/“rules”), and displaying, in the first region, a fifth index identifier that complies with the first index rule and a first switching control, wherein the first switching control switches to display a sixth index identifier that complies with the second index rule (e.g. in paragraphs 98-99, “FIG. 5(a) indicates an IME of a Korean mode. Korean touch keys are respectively arranged… the character mode switching touch key 210… switching the Korean mode IME in sequence” and figure 5, allows for switching between different types of symbols; and/or in paragraphs 65, 113, and 115, “a predetermined touch key of the IME is touched by a predetermined scheme… setting a language type of the IME” and figure 8); obtaining a third operation of tapping the first switching control and displaying, in response to the third operation and in the first region, the sixth index identifier and a second switching control, wherein the second switching control switches to display the fifth index identifier (e.g. in paragraphs 65 and 99, “Such touches includes a short (or tap) touch… whenever the character mode switching touch key 210 is selected, the controller 80 displays a number mode IME and an English mode IME in a manner of switching the Korean mode IME in sequence” and figure 5, allows for switching between different types of symbols; and/or in paragraphs 65, 113, and 115, “Such touches includes a short (or tap) touch… a predetermined touch key of the IME is touched by a predetermined scheme… setting a language type of the IME” and figure 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Eveson to include the teachings of Jang because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of allowing the user to quickly and easily switch between different types of symbols.
As per claim 16, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated and the combination further teaches wherein the second operation is a tapping operation or a sliding operation (e.g. Jang, in paragraphs 65 and 106, “Such touches includes a short (or tap) touch… if a first touch key 220 is touched in the IME”).
As per claim 17, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated and the combination further teaches wherein the index display method is executed by a wearable device (e.g. Eveson, in column 3 lines 44-45, “wearable devices such as wrist watches”).
Claims 2, 4, 6, 18, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eveson (US 9898192 B1) in view of Jang et al. (US 20150160856 A1) as applied above, and further in view of Klein et al. (US 20180095588 A1).
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination further teaches wherein an outer edge shape of the first region matches an edge shape of the index interface (e.g. Eveson, in column 1 lines 34-58 and column 4 lines 38-55, “an outer diameter [edge] of the display [matching] the character display ring 404a-h” and figure 8; Jang, in paragraph 69, “display unit 151 is generally configured to output information processed in the mobile terminal” and in figures 2, 7, and 45 showing matching edges) and wherein the first condition comprises detecting an operation of tapping a zoom control, or a sliding operation at the start location or the end location of the first region, or an operation in the second region, or no operation (e.g. Eveson, in column 5 lines 23-29, “the user simply taps (touch and release) the sector containing the character to be entered”), but does not specifically teach within a preset time period. However, Klein teaches within a preset time period (e.g. in paragraphs 54 and 65, “received within the confirmation region of the touch device) within a predetermined time window… Mapping the disabled user inputs can optionally include filtering disabled user inputs S125, which functions to identify valid disabled user inputs (e.g., non-noise inputs) to map… filtering inputs that are received outside of a predetermined time range from a confirmatory input, etc.), temporal conditions (e.g., filtering touch inputs that extend beyond a threshold time duration without the user lifting their finger”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the combination to include the teachings of Klein because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of accommodating disabled users and/or determining valid inputs.
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination further teaches wherein a maximum number of index identifiers displayed in the first region is less than or equal to a first threshold (e.g. Eveson, in column 4 lines 38-55 and column 6 lines 26-37, “There is a specific relationship between the number of characters in the selection set (the group from which a character is chosen), and the number of sectors… “n−1” sectors” and figure 10 showing max characters to be displayed is 7 given 8 sectors), and wherein the index display method further comprises: identifying that a third number of index identifiers to be displayed is greater than the first threshold (e.g. Eveson, in column 4 lines 38-55 and column 6 lines 26-37, “a large number of character choices” which is more than “ “n−1” sectors”); in response to identifying that the third number of index identifiers is greater than the first threshold, displaying a hidden control (e.g. Eveson, in column 5 lines 15-36 and column 6 lines 57-63, “a “back step” command” and figure 10 showing empty sector to be selected to show figure 8 with more characters that are not displayed in figure 10); and hiding a third set of index identifiers, wherein a fourth number of index identifiers to be displayed after hiding the third set of index identifiers is less than or equal to the first threshold (e.g. Eveson, in column 5 lines 15-41, “character group A-G” and figure 10 showing only 7 characters shown after hiding the rest of the characters); thereafter obtaining a third operation of tapping the hidden control and displaying, in response to the third operation, the third set of index identifiers in the first region (e.g. Eveson, in column 5 lines 15-36 and column 6 lines 57-63, “tapping the empty sector can initiate a “back step” command, returning the user to the previous screen” and the previous screen including figure 8 showing the character display region with the rest of the characters displayed), wherein identifying that the first condition is met comprises, after displaying the third set of index identifiers, detecting an operation of tapping a zoom control, or a sliding operation at the start location or the end location of the first region, or an operation in the second region, or no operation (e.g. Eveson, in column 5 lines 23-29, “the user simply taps (touch and release) the sector containing the character to be entered”), but does not specifically teach within a preset time period. However, Klein teaches within a preset time period (e.g. in paragraphs 54 and 65, “received within the confirmation region of the touch device) within a predetermined time window… Mapping the disabled user inputs can optionally include filtering disabled user inputs S125, which functions to identify valid disabled user inputs (e.g., non-noise inputs) to map… filtering inputs that are received outside of a predetermined time range from a confirmatory input, etc.), temporal conditions (e.g., filtering touch inputs that extend beyond a threshold time duration without the user lifting their finger”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the combination to include the teachings of Klein because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of accommodating disabled users and/or determining valid inputs.
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination further teaches wherein the first operation is a third operation of tapping a zoom control, a sliding operation performed at the start location, or a second sliding operation performed at the end location (e.g. Eveson, in column 5 lines 15-36 and column 6 lines 57-63, “tapping the empty sector can initiate a “back step” command, returning the user to the previous screen” and the previous screen including figure 8 showing the character display region with more characters; since more characters are shown, the back step command is functionally equivalent to a zoom control) and wherein identifying that the first condition is met comprises, after selecting the second index identifier, detecting an operation of tapping the zoom control, or a sliding operation at the start location or the end location of the first region, or an operation in the second region, or no operation (e.g. Jang, in paragraph 106, “if a first touch key 220 is touched in the IME… automatically puts a representative character ("Q") 221 assigned to the first touch key 220 in a character input window”; Eveson, in column 5 lines 23-29, “the user simply taps (touch and release) the sector containing the character to be entered”), but does not specifically teach within a preset time period. However, Klein teaches within a preset time period (e.g. in paragraphs 54 and 65, “received within the confirmation region of the touch device) within a predetermined time window… Mapping the disabled user inputs can optionally include filtering disabled user inputs S125, which functions to identify valid disabled user inputs (e.g., non-noise inputs) to map… filtering inputs that are received outside of a predetermined time range from a confirmatory input, etc.), temporal conditions (e.g., filtering touch inputs that extend beyond a threshold time duration without the user lifting their finger”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the combination to include the teachings of Klein because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of accommodating disabled users and/or determining valid inputs.
As per claim 18, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated, but Eveson does not specifically teach, as a whole, wherein an index rule corresponding to a fourth index identifier comprises a first index rule and a second index rule, and wherein the index display method further comprises: displaying, in the first region, a fifth index identifier that complies with the first index rule and a first switching control, wherein the first switching control switches to display a sixth index identifier that complies with the second index rule; obtaining a third operation of tapping the first switching control; and displaying, in response to the third operation and in the first region, the sixth index identifier and a second switching control, wherein the second switching control switches to display the fifth index identifier. However, Jang teaches wherein an index rule corresponding to a fourth index identifier comprises a first index rule and a second index rule (e.g. in paragraphs 97 and 99, “a character mode switching touch key 210 is included in the IME. As shown in FIGS. 5(b) and (c), whenever the character mode switching touch key 210 is selected, the controller 80 displays a number mode IME and an English mode IME in a manner of switching the Korean mode IME in sequence” and figure 5 showing the key related to modes/“rules”), and displaying, in the first region, a fifth index identifier that complies with the first index rule and a first switching control, wherein the first switching control switches to display a sixth index identifier that complies with the second index rule (e.g. in paragraphs 98-99, “FIG. 5(a) indicates an IME of a Korean mode. Korean touch keys are respectively arranged… the character mode switching touch key 210… switching the Korean mode IME in sequence” and figure 5, allows for switching between different types of symbols; and/or in paragraphs 65, 113, and 115, “a predetermined touch key of the IME is touched by a predetermined scheme… setting a language type of the IME” and figure 8); obtaining a third operation of tapping the first switching control and displaying, in response to the third operation and in the first region, the sixth index identifier and a second switching control, wherein the second switching control switches to display the fifth index identifier (e.g. in paragraphs 65 and 99, “Such touches includes a short (or tap) touch… whenever the character mode switching touch key 210 is selected, the controller 80 displays a number mode IME and an English mode IME in a manner of switching the Korean mode IME in sequence” and figure 5, allows for switching between different types of symbols; and/or in paragraphs 65, 113, and 115, “Such touches includes a short (or tap) touch… a predetermined touch key of the IME is touched by a predetermined scheme… setting a language type of the IME” and figure 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Eveson to include the teachings of Jang because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of allowing the user to quickly and easily switch between different types of symbols.
As per claim 20, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination further teaches wherein the second operation is a tapping operation or a sliding operation (e.g. Jang, in paragraphs 65 and 106, “Such touches includes a short (or tap) touch… if a first touch key 220 is touched in the IME”) and wherein identifying that the first condition is met comprises, after selecting the second index identifier, detecting an operation of tapping a zoom control, or a sliding operation at the start location or the end location of the first region, or an operation in the second region, or no operation (e.g. Jang, in paragraph 106, “if a first touch key 220 is touched in the IME… automatically puts a representative character ("Q") 221 assigned to the first touch key 220 in a character input window”; Eveson, in column 5 lines 23-29, “the user simply taps (touch and release) the sector containing the character to be entered”), but does not specifically teach within a preset time period. However, Klein teaches within a preset time period (e.g. in paragraphs 54 and 65, “received within the confirmation region of the touch device) within a predetermined time window… Mapping the disabled user inputs can optionally include filtering disabled user inputs S125, which functions to identify valid disabled user inputs (e.g., non-noise inputs) to map… filtering inputs that are received outside of a predetermined time range from a confirmatory input, etc.), temporal conditions (e.g., filtering touch inputs that extend beyond a threshold time duration without the user lifting their finger”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the combination to include the teachings of Klein because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of accommodating disabled users and/or determining valid inputs.
As per claim 21, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination further teaches wherein the index display method is executed by a wearable device (e.g. Eveson, in column 3 lines 44-45, “wearable devices such as wrist watches”) and wherein identifying that the first condition is met comprises, after selecting the second index identifier, detecting an operation of tapping a zoom control, or a sliding operation at the start location or the end location of the first region, or an operation in the second region, or no operation (e.g. Jang, in paragraph 106, “if a first touch key 220 is touched in the IME… automatically puts a representative character ("Q") 221 assigned to the first touch key 220 in a character input window”; Eveson, in column 5 lines 23-29, “the user simply taps (touch and release) the sector containing the character to be entered”), but does not specifically teach within a preset time period. However, Klein teaches within a preset time period (e.g. in paragraphs 54 and 65, “received within the confirmation region of the touch device) within a predetermined time window… Mapping the disabled user inputs can optionally include filtering disabled user inputs S125, which functions to identify valid disabled user inputs (e.g., non-noise inputs) to map… filtering inputs that are received outside of a predetermined time range from a confirmatory input, etc.), temporal conditions (e.g., filtering touch inputs that extend beyond a threshold time duration without the user lifting their finger”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the combination to include the teachings of Klein because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of accommodating disabled users and/or determining valid inputs.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
For example,
Yoshioka (US 20080222571 A1) teaches “a plurality of characters as a selection item are arranged in a ring form” (e.g. in paragraph 127 and figure 9).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W.W/Examiner, Art Unit 2144 07/11/2026
/SHOURJO DASGUPTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2144