DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed on 04/26/2023.
Claim 13 has been canceled.
Claims 14-21 have been added.
Claims 1-12 and 14-21 are pending and have been examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted was filed on 10/03/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted was filed on 08/16/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted was filed on 05/15/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The use of a trade name or a mark used in commerce (e.g. BLUETOOTH, WI-FI, ZIGBEE, etc.) has been noted in this application. It should be capitalized (each letter) wherever it appears and be accompanied by the generic terminology or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce, such as ™, SM, or ® following the word. Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 9, 14, and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
As per claim 3, it appears that “a first index rule…comprises a first index rule and a second index rule” should be rephrased for clarity (this raises question as to whether the second instance of “a first index rule” is the same as or different than the first instance of “a first index rule”; for example, replace the first instance of “a first index rule” with the original claim language which stated “wherein an index rule…comprises a first index rule and a second index rule”). This similarly applies to claim 9, 14, and 18.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 6,18, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claim 1 appears to recite contingent limitations, e.g. based on a first condition being met (e.g. “when a first condition is met…, changing…”, etc.). It appears that the contingent condition itself is not actively recited. For example, it is not explicitly clear whether or not the first condition is met in claim 1. Accordingly, it is not clear which, if any, of the contingencies are satisfied, and therefore which, if any, of the claim's consequential actions to a satisfied contingency are required. See, e.g., MPEP 2111.04(II). The effect is that the claim is rendered vague and indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and therefore rejected accordingly. Dependent claims 2-4, 6, 18, and 20-21 incorporate the features of claim 1 without curing its deficiencies (e.g. note claims 5 and 19 fix this issue by reciting “identifying that the first condition is met”), and are therefore rejected under the same rationale. Applicants can overcome the rejection by making affirmative that the first condition is met, thereby necessitating performance of a consequential action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eveson (US 9898192 B1) in view of Jang et al. (US 20150160856 A1).
As per independent claim 1, Eveson teaches an index display method comprising:
displaying an index interface (e.g. in column 1 lines 34-38, “entering character data into a device equipped with a circular shaped touch screen display, including making contact with the circular shaped touch screen display in a designated area”, i.e. index interface) comprising a first region and a second region, wherein the first region is located at an edge of the index interface and surrounds the second region (e.g. in column 1 lines 34-58 and column 4 lines 38-55, “an outer diameter of the display… the character display ring 404a-h… At the center of screen 102 there is a “center zone”” and figure 8 showing character display region surrounding center region);
displaying a first quantity of index identifiers in the first region (e.g. in column 5 lines 15-29, “character group A-G displayed in character ring 404a” and figure 8 showing a first quantity of characters, i.e. index identifiers);
receiving a selection of a first index identifier in the first quantity of index identifiers (e.g. in column 5 lines 30-41, “user makes the individual character selection” and figure 10);
displaying first content corresponding to the first index identifier in the second region (e.g. in column 5 lines 30-41, “entry of character “C” into text box 104” and figure 10 showing “C” displayed in center region);
obtaining a first operation (e.g. in column 6 lines 57-63, “tapping the empty sector”);
changing, in response to the first operation, the first quantity to a second quantity of index identifiers, wherein the second quantity is greater than the first quantity and wherein a size of the first region matches the second quantity (e.g. in column 5 lines 15-36 and column 6 lines 57-63, “tapping the empty sector can initiate a “back step” command, returning the user to the previous screen” and the previous screen including figure 8 showing the character display region with a greater number of characters and in a size with no empty sectors);
displaying a second index identifier in the second quantity of index identifiers, wherein the second index identifier is different from a third index identifier associated with the first quantity of index identifiers (e.g. in figures 8 showing e.g. the letter “o” which is different from a character shown in figure 10); and when a first condition is met: changing the second quantity to the first quantity and displaying the second index identifier in a first preset manner at a start location of the first region or an end location of the first region (e.g. in column 5 lines 23-29, “the user simply taps (touch and release) the sector containing the character to be entered”; e.g. user can tap sector 402h shown in figure 4 to arrive at a preset display of figure 14 with the first quantity and with the character “o” displayed at a start location),
but does not specifically teach, as a whole, obtaining a second operation; selecting, in response to the second operation, the second index identifier in the second quantity of index identifiers; and displaying second content corresponding to the second index identifier in the second region.
However, Jang teaches obtaining a second operation (e.g. in paragraph 106, “if a first touch key 220 is touched in the IME”); selecting, in response to the second operation, a second index identifier in the second quantity of index identifiers and displaying second content corresponding to the second index identifier in the second region (e.g. in paragraph 106, “automatically puts a representative character ("Q") 221 assigned to the first touch key 220 in a character input window” and figure 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Eveson to include the teachings of Jang because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of allowing the user to also select characters from a screen with more characters.
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination further teaches wherein an outer edge shape of the first region matches an edge shape of the index interface (e.g. Eveson, in column 1 lines 34-58 and column 4 lines 38-55, “an outer diameter [edge] of the display [matching] the character display ring 404a-h” and figure 8; Jang, in paragraph 69, “display unit 151 is generally configured to output information processed in the mobile terminal” and in figures 2, 7, and 45 showing matching edges).
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, but Eveson does not specifically teach, as a whole, wherein a first index rule corresponding to a fourth index identifier comprises a first index rule and a second index rule, and wherein the index display method further comprises: displaying, in the first region, a fifth index identifier that complies with the first index rule and a first switching control, wherein the first switching control switches to display a sixth index identifier that complies with the second index rule; obtaining a third operation of tapping the first switching control; and displaying, in response to the third operation and in the first region, the sixth index identifier and a second switching control, wherein the second switching control switches to display the fifth index identifier. However, Jang teaches wherein a first index rule corresponding to a fourth index identifier comprises a first index rule and a second index rule (e.g. in paragraphs 97 and 99, “a character mode switching touch key 210 is included in the IME. As shown in FIGS. 5(b) and (c), whenever the character mode switching touch key 210 is selected, the controller 80 displays a number mode IME and an English mode IME in a manner of switching the Korean mode IME in sequence” and figure 5 showing the key related to modes/“rules”), and displaying, in the first region, a fifth index identifier that complies with the first index rule and a first switching control, wherein the first switching control switches to display a sixth index identifier that complies with the second index rule (e.g. in paragraphs 98-99, “FIG. 5(a) indicates an IME of a Korean mode. Korean touch keys are respectively arranged… the character mode switching touch key 210… switching the Korean mode IME in sequence” and figure 5, allows for switching between different types of symbols; and/or in paragraphs 65, 113, and 115, “a predetermined touch key of the IME is touched by a predetermined scheme… setting a language type of the IME” and figure 8); obtaining a third operation of tapping the first switching control and displaying, in response to the third operation and in the first region, the sixth index identifier and a second switching control, wherein the second switching control switches to display the fifth index identifier (e.g. in paragraphs 65 and 99, “Such touches includes a short (or tap) touch… whenever the character mode switching touch key 210 is selected, the controller 80 displays a number mode IME and an English mode IME in a manner of switching the Korean mode IME in sequence” and figure 5, allows for switching between different types of symbols; and/or in paragraphs 65, 113, and 115, “Such touches includes a short (or tap) touch… a predetermined touch key of the IME is touched by a predetermined scheme… setting a language type of the IME” and figure 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Eveson to include the teachings of Jang because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of allowing the user to quickly and easily switch between different types of symbols.
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination further teaches wherein a maximum quantity of index identifiers displayed in the first region is less than or equal to a first threshold (e.g. Eveson, in column 4 lines 38-55 and column 6 lines 26-37, “There is a specific relationship between the number of characters in the selection set (the group from which a character is chosen), and the number of sectors… “n−1” sectors” and figure 10 showing max characters to be displayed is 7 given 8 sectors), and wherein the index display method further comprises: identifying that a third quantity of index identifiers to be displayed is greater than the first threshold (e.g. Eveson, in column 4 lines 38-55 and column 6 lines 26-37, “a large number of character choices” which is more than “ “n−1” sectors”); in response to identifying that the third quantity of index identifiers is greater than the first threshold, displaying a hidden control (e.g. Eveson, in column 5 lines 15-36 and column 6 lines 57-63, “a “back step” command” and figure 10 showing empty sector to be selected to show figure 8 with more characters that are not displayed in figure 10); and hiding a fourth quantity of index identifiers, wherein a fifth quantity of index identifiers to be displayed after hiding the fourth quantity of index identifiers is less than or equal to the first threshold (e.g. Eveson, in column 5 lines 15-41, “character group A-G” and figure 10 showing only 7 characters shown after hiding the rest of the characters); obtaining a third operation of tapping the hidden control and displaying, in response to the third operation, the fourth quantity of index identifiers in the first region (e.g. Eveson, in column 5 lines 15-36 and column 6 lines 57-63, “tapping the empty sector can initiate a “back step” command, returning the user to the previous screen” and the previous screen including figure 8 showing the character display region with the rest of the characters displayed).
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination further teaches identifying that the first condition is met and displaying, displaying, in response to identifying that the first condition is met and at a first location on the index interface, the first region comprising the first quantity of index identifiers and comprising the second index identifier (e.g. Eveson, in column 5 lines 23-29, “the user simply taps (touch and release) the sector containing the character to be entered”; e.g. user can tap sector 402h shown in figure 4 to arrive at figure 14 with the first quantity and with the character “o”), wherein the first location matches a second location of the second index identifier in the first region comprising the second quantity of index identifiers (e.g. Eveson, in figures 4 and 14 showing the character display region sharing a location excluding the empty portion), wherein the first location is different from a third location at which the first region comprising the first quantity of index identifiers and comprising the first index identifier is displayed (e.g. Eveson, figures 10 and 14 have different empty portions), and wherein the third location matches a fourth location of the first index identifier in the first region comprising the second quantity of index identifiers (e.g. Eveson, in figures 8 and 10 showing the character display region sharing a location excluding the empty portion).
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination further teaches wherein the first operation is a third operation of tapping a zoom control, a sliding operation performed at the start location, or a second sliding operation performed at the end location (e.g. Eveson, in column 5 lines 15-36 and column 6 lines 57-63, “tapping the empty sector can initiate a “back step” command, returning the user to the previous screen” and the previous screen including figure 8 showing the character display region with more characters; since more characters are shown, the back step command is functionally equivalent to a zoom control).
As per claim 18, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated, but Eveson does not specifically teach, as a whole, wherein a first index rule corresponding to a fourth index identifier comprises a first index rule and a second index rule, and wherein the index display method further comprises: displaying, in the first region, a fifth index identifier that complies with the first index rule and a first switching control, wherein the first switching control switches to display a sixth index identifier that complies with the second index rule; obtaining a third operation of tapping the first switching control; and displaying, in response to the third operation and in the first region, the sixth index identifier and a second switching control, wherein the second switching control switches to display the fifth index identifier. However, Jang teaches wherein a first index rule corresponding to a fourth index identifier comprises a first index rule and a second index rule (e.g. in paragraphs 97 and 99, “a character mode switching touch key 210 is included in the IME. As shown in FIGS. 5(b) and (c), whenever the character mode switching touch key 210 is selected, the controller 80 displays a number mode IME and an English mode IME in a manner of switching the Korean mode IME in sequence” and figure 5 showing the key related to modes/“rules”), and displaying, in the first region, a fifth index identifier that complies with the first index rule and a first switching control, wherein the first switching control switches to display a sixth index identifier that complies with the second index rule (e.g. in paragraphs 98-99, “FIG. 5(a) indicates an IME of a Korean mode. Korean touch keys are respectively arranged… the character mode switching touch key 210… switching the Korean mode IME in sequence” and figure 5, allows for switching between different types of symbols; and/or in paragraphs 65, 113, and 115, “a predetermined touch key of the IME is touched by a predetermined scheme… setting a language type of the IME” and figure 8); obtaining a third operation of tapping the first switching control and displaying, in response to the third operation and in the first region, the sixth index identifier and a second switching control, wherein the second switching control switches to display the fifth index identifier (e.g. in paragraphs 65 and 99, “Such touches includes a short (or tap) touch… whenever the character mode switching touch key 210 is selected, the controller 80 displays a number mode IME and an English mode IME in a manner of switching the Korean mode IME in sequence” and figure 5, allows for switching between different types of symbols; and/or in paragraphs 65, 113, and 115, “Such touches includes a short (or tap) touch… a predetermined touch key of the IME is touched by a predetermined scheme… setting a language type of the IME” and figure 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Eveson to include the teachings of Jang because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of allowing the user to quickly and easily switch between different types of symbols.
As per claim 19, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination further teaches identifying that the first condition is met and displaying, in response to identifying that the first condition is met and at a first location on the index interface, the first region comprising the first quantity of index identifiers and comprising the second index identifier (e.g. Eveson, in column 5 lines 23-29, “the user simply taps (touch and release) the sector containing the character to be entered”; e.g. user can tap sector 402h shown in figure 4 to arrive at figure 14 with the first quantity and with the character “o”), wherein the first location is the same as a second location at which the first region comprising the first quantity of index identifiers and comprising the first index identifier is displayed (e.g. Eveson, in figures 4 and 14 showing one or more locations of the character display region is in a same location).
As per claim 20, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination further teaches wherein the second operation is a tapping operation or a sliding operation (e.g. Jang, in paragraphs 65 and 106, “Such touches includes a short (or tap) touch… if a first touch key 220 is touched in the IME”).
As per claim 21, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination further teaches wherein the index display method is executed by a wearable device (e.g. Eveson, in column 3 lines 44-45, “wearable devices such as wrist watches”).
Claims 7, 9-12, and 14-17 are the device claims corresponding to method claims 1, 3-6 and 18-21 are rejected under the same reasons set forth and the combination further teaches a display comprising an edge and one or more processors coupled to the display (e.g. Eveson, in column 1 lines 15-16 and column 1 lines 34-58, “devices include wrist watches and other wearable electronic devices… an outer diameter [edge] of the display”; Jang, e.g. in paragraphs 37 and 309, “display unit… processor” and figures 1-2; figure 2 showing an edge) and wherein the first region is located at the edge of the display (e.g. Eveson, in column 1 lines 34-58 and column 4 lines 38-55, “an outer diameter [edge] of the display [matching] the character display ring 404a-h” and figure 8; Jang, in paragraph 69, “display unit 151 is generally configured to output information processed in the mobile terminal” and in figures 2, 7, and 45 showing matching edges).
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated and the combination further teaches wherein the display further comprises an inner edge shape and wherein the first region comprises an outer edge shape that matches the inner edge shape (e.g. Eveson, in column 1 lines 34-58 and column 4 lines 38-55, “an outer diameter [edge] of the display [matching] the character display ring 404a-h” and figure 8; Jang, in paragraph 69, “display unit 151 is generally configured to output information processed in the mobile terminal” and in figures 2, 7, and 45 showing matching edges).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
For example,
Yoshioka (US 20080222571 A1) teaches “a plurality of characters as a selection item are arranged in a ring form” (e.g. in paragraph 127 and figure 9).
/W.W/Examiner, Art Unit 2144 01/08/2026
/TAMARA T KYLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2144