DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 5/28/2026. As directed by the amendment, claims 1, 23, and 24 have been amended, claims 14-15, 17, 22, and 25-49 have been cancelled, and no claims have been newly added. Thus, claims 1-13, 16, 18-21, and 23-24 are presenting pending in this application.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a first connection portion” and “a second connection portion” in claims 1 and 24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 12-13, 16, 20-21, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulliver et al (2015/0075534) in view of Ho et al (2008/0121234).
Regarding claim 1, Gulliver in figs 1-6 discloses a headgear (1) for use with a respiratory patient interface (4) (user interface) (para [0160]), and as shown in fig 4, the headgear (1) comprising: a backstrap portion (5) (portion extending about rear region); at least one top strap portion (12) (strap (12) extending about upper region (6)) (para [0186]); a first adjustable ear loop (7) (portion of strap extending about left ear forms an ear loop (para [0164]), and the loop about an, or each ear of the user, may be adjustable, such as adjustable by the size of the loop provided for encircling partially or wholly the ear or ears of a user (para [0039])) extending from the backstrap portion (as shown in the annotated fig 4 above, the lower portion of the ear loop is shown to extend from the backstrap (5)), and a second adjustable ear loop (7) (portion of strap extending about right ear forms an ear loop (para [0164]), and the loop about an, or each ear of the user, may be adjustable, such as adjustable by the size of the loop provided for encircling partially or wholly the ear or ears of a user (para [0039]) extending from the backstrap portion (as shown in the annotated fig 4 above, the lower portion of the ear loop is shown to extend from the backstrap (5)).
Gulliver does not disclose the first adjustable ear loop is comprises a first connection portion configured to be removably attachable to a first attachment zone of the headgear such that the first adjustable ear loop defines a first ear opening, wherein the first attachment zone is configured to be attachable to different portions along the first connection portion to adjust a size of the first ear opening; and the second ear adjustable loop comprises a second connection portion configured to be removably attachable to a second attachment zone of the headgear such that the second adjustable ear loop defines a second ear opening, wherein the second attachment zone is configured to be attachable to different portions along the second connection portion to adjust a size of the second ear opening.
However, Ho in fig 15 teaches a respiratory interface including a first ear loop formed by an upper strap (26a’) and a lower strap (26b’), wherein the first ear loop (26a’, 26b’) includes a first connection portion configured to be removably attachable to a first attachment zone of the headgear (24) such that the first adjustable ear loop defines a first ear opening (includes a hook and loop fastener configured to attach to a headgear (24) to form an ear loop) (para [0054], wherein the first attachment zone is configured to be attachable to different portions along the first connection portion to adjust a size of the first ear opening (as shown in fig 15, ear loop straps (26a’, 26b’) can be moved about the top of a patient’s head using a hook-and-loop fastener (e.g., VELCRO), which would adjust a size of an ear loop, and would allow different areas of a first attachment zone of the headgear to connect to different portions of a corresponding connection portion of the ear loop).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first and second adjustable ear loops of Gulliver by providing the ends of the ear loops with a first connection portion configured to be removably attachable to a first attachment zone of the headgear such that the first adjustable ear loop defines a first ear opening, wherein the first attachment zone is configured to be attachable to different portions along the first connection portion to adjust a size of the first ear opening as taught by Ho in order to provide a known mechanism for adjusting the size of an ear loop (Gulliver, para [0039]), and would allow the pressure distribution about the contact footprint produced by the respiratory patient interface to be influenced (Ho, para [0054]).
Regarding claim 2, Gulliver in fig 4 shows the first ear opening and the second ear opening (7) to have a rounded triangular shape.
Regarding claim 3, Gulliver in fig 4 shows the first ear opening and the second ear opening (7) are shaped and configured such that the first adjustable ear loop and the second adjustable ear loop (7) avoid the ears of a user.
Regarding claim 4, the modified Gulliver’s reference disclose the first attachment zone and the second attachment zone comprise one of a hook material or a loop material, wherein the first connection portion and the second connection portion comprise the other of the hook material or the loop material (connection between the attachment zone and the connection portion is a hook-and-loop fastener) (Ho, para [0054]).
Regarding claim 5, Gulliver in figs 4-5 discloses the at least one top strap portion (12) comprises a first top strap portion and a second top strap portion that is selectively connectable to the first top strap portion (as shown in figs 4-5 top strap portion (12) can be configured to be a two-part releasable connection system and shown to have a first top strap portion extending from a left ear loop and a second top strap portion extending from a right ear loop and connected by a buckle) (para [0186]).
Regarding claim 6, Gulliver in the annotated fig 4 above discloses the first top strap portion extends from a first end of the backstrap portion and the second top strap portion extends from a second end of the backstrap portion.
Regarding claim 7, Gulliver discloses the upper portion of the ear loop is attached to the top strap portion (see annotated fig 4, above), and modified Gulliver’s reference discloses the upper portion of the ear loop (26a’ of Ho) includes an attachment zone comprising a hook and loop material (Ho, para [0054]), and therefore the first attachment zone is located on the first top strap portion, and the second attachment zone is located on the second top strap portion.
Regarding claim 12, Gulliver discloses the first top strap portion and the second top strap portion are configured to be adjustable to conform to a size of a head of the user (first top strap and second strap form adjustment strap (12) with a two-part releasable connection system (para [0186]).
Regarding claim 13, Gulliver discloses the first top strap portion comprises a slot configured to receive the second top strap portion (as shown in fig 6a, adjustment strap (12) includes a buckle (13) including a first (right) top strap part comprising a slot configured to receive a receiving hook of a second (left) top strap part) (fig 6a, para [0123]).
Regarding claim 16, Gulliver discloses the first adjustable ear loop and the second adjustable ear loop are symmetrical about the backstrap portion (para [0199]).
Regarding claim 20, Gulliver disclose the first adjustable ear loop (7) and the second adjustable ear loop (7) comprise respective attachment zones (15) (releasable connectable part) (para [0223]).
Regarding claim 21, Gulliver discloses the respective attachment zones (15) are configured to be removably attachable to the respiratory patient interface (4) (para [0223]).
Regarding claim 24, Gulliver in figs 1-6 discloses a patient interface assembly for delivering respiratory support to a user, the patient interface assembly comprising a headgear (1) shown in fig 4, above, for use with a respiratory patient interface (4) (user interface) (para [0160]), and as shown in fig 4, the headgear (1) comprising: a backstrap portion (5) (portion extending about rear region); a top strap portion (12) comprising a first top strap portion and a second top strap portion (as shown in figs 4-5 top strap portion (12) can be configured to be a two-part releasable connection system and shown to have a first top strap portion extending from a left ear loop and a second top strap portion extending from a right ear loop and connected by a buckle) (para [0186]); a first adjustable ear loop (7) (portion of strap extending about left ear forms an ear loop (para [0164]), and the loop about an, or each ear of the user, may be adjustable, such as adjustable by the size of the loop provided for encircling partially or wholly the ear or ears of a user (para [0039])) extending from the backstrap portion (as shown in the annotated fig 4 above, the lower portion of the ear loop is shown to extend from the backstrap (5)), and a second adjustable ear loop (7) (portion of strap extending about right ear forms an ear loop (para [0164]), and the loop about an, or each ear of the user, may be adjustable, such as adjustable by the size of the loop provided for encircling partially or wholly the ear or ears of a user (para [0039]) extending from the backstrap portion (as shown in the annotated fig 4 above, the lower portion of the ear loop is shown to extend from the backstrap (5)); and a respiratory patient interface (4) (user interface) (para [0113]) configured to deliver respiratory support to the patient, wherein the respiratory patient interface (4) is removably attachable to the headgear (1) (para [0154]).
Gulliver does not disclose the first adjustable ear loop comprises a first connection portion configured to be removably attachable to a first attachment zone of the headgear such that the first adjustable ear loop defines a first ear opening, wherein the first attachment zone is configured to be attachable to different portions along the first connection portion to adjust a size of the first ear opening; and the second ear adjustable loop comprises a second connection portion configured to be removably attachable to a second attachment zone of the headgear such that the second adjustable ear loop defines a second ear opening, wherein the second attachment zone is configured to be attachable to different portions along the second connection portion to adjust a size of the second ear opening.
However, Ho in fig 15 teaches a respiratory interface including a first ear loop formed by an upper strap (26a’) and a lower strap (26b’), wherein the first ear loop (26a’, 26b’) includes a first connection portion configured to be removably attachable to a first attachment zone of the headgear) such that the first adjustable ear loop defines a first ear opening (includes a hook and loop fastener configured to attach to a headgear (24) to form an ear loop) (para [0054]), wherein the first attachment zone is configured to be attachable to different portions along the first connection portion to adjust a size of the first ear opening (as shown in fig 15, ear loop straps (26a’, 26b’) can be moved about the top of a patient’s head using a hook-and-loop fastener (e.g., VELCRO), which would adjust a size of an ear loop, and would allow different areas of a first attachment zone of the headgear to connect to different portions of a corresponding connection portion of the ear loop).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first and second adjustable ear loops of Gulliver by providing the ends of the ear loops with a first connection portion configured to be removably attachable to a first attachment zone of the headgear such that the first adjustable ear loop defines a first ear opening, wherein the first attachment zone is configured to be attachable to different portions along the first connection portion to adjust a size of the first ear opening as taught by Ho in order to provide a known mechanism for adjusting the size of an ear loop (Gulliver, para [0039]), and would allow the pressure distribution about the contact footprint produced by the respiratory patient interface to be influenced (Ho, para [0054]).
Claims 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulliver et al and Ho et al as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Landis (2004/0065330).
Regarding claim 8, modified Gulliver discloses a first top strap portion and a second top portion.
Modified Gulliver does not disclose the first top strap portion comprises a first protruding portion and the second top strap portion comprises a second protruding portion.
However, Landis discloses a respiratory interface including a continuous positive airway pressure system (CPAP) (100) having a bladder-like interface (102) (para [0049]) including a forehead securement member (122) (tabs) including attachment zones (124a, b) (hook and loops portions) (para [0053]), and a headgear including a top first top strap portion (174) and a second top strap portion (175) (upper straps) formed as a portion protruding from a rear of the headgear (para [0073]), wherein the first and second top strap portions (174, 175) are provided with a respective attachment zone (para [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of modified Gulliver by providing a CPAP interface having a bladder-like interface and including a forehead securement member including attachment zones, and providing the top strap portion with a first protruding portion and an attachment zone and the second top strap portion with a second protruding portion and an attachment zone as taught by Landis in order to allow the headgear to support an elastic CPAP system to allow the respiratory interface to be capable of off axis movement and/or pivoting (Landis, abstract).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Gulliver’s reference discloses the first protruding portion (174 of Landis) comprises a third attachment zone and the second protruding portion (175 of Landis) comprises a fourth attachment zone (distal portions (174a, 175a of Landis) of each protruding portion (174, 175 of Landis) each include the other of hook or loop portion (124b of Landis) for releasably engaging the hook or loop portion (124a of Landis) of each tab (122 of Landis) of continuous positive airway pressure system (100 of Landis) (Landis, par [0075]).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Gulliver’s reference discloses a forehead securement member (122 of Landis) (tabs (122 of Landis) attached to CPAP system (100 of Landis) configured to be removably attachable to the third attachment zone and the fourth attachment zone (Landis, para [0075]).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Gulliver’s reference discloses the forehead securement member (122 of Landis) comprises one of a hook material or a loop material (124a of Landis) (Landis, para [0053]) and wherein the third attachment zone and the fourth attachment zone (124b of Landis) comprise the other one of the hook material and the loop material (Landis, para [0075]).
Claims 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulliver et al and Ho et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jestrabek-Hart (6,470,886).
Regarding claim 18, modified Gulliver discloses a first attachment zone and a second attachment zone comprise a hook and loop material to connect to a headgear (Ho, para [0054]).
Modified Gulliver does not disclose the first attachment zone and the second attachment zone comprise a hook material and a remainder of the headgear comprises a loop material.
However, Jestrabek-Hart teaches a respiratory interface including a plurality of elastic straps (13) to secure a respiratory mask to a headgear, and including an attachment zone (4) comprising a hook material (col 6, ln 15-32), and a headgear (head cover) comprising an outer surface comprising a loop material that the hook side of a hook and loop fastener will receive and attach (col 4, ln 62-col 5, ln 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of modified Gulliver so that a remainder of the headgear comprises a loop material as taught by Jestrabek-Hart in order to allow for the hook side of a hook and loop type fastener to attach anywhere on the outside of the headgear which allows a multitude of adjustment possibilities (Jestrabek-Hart, col 3, ln 7-10).
Claims 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulliver et al and Ho et al as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Grashow (2016/0354571).
Regarding claim 19, modified Gulliver discloses a first adjustable ear loop and the second adjustable ear loop.
Modified Gulliver does not disclose the first adjustable ear loop and the second adjustable ear loop comprise respective ear loop size indicators, the respective ear loop size indicators correspond to a respective size of the first ear opening and the second ear opening.
However, Grashow in fig 1 teaches a respiratory interface including a strap portion (20) shown in fig 1 to form a loop around a user’s ears, wherein the strap portion (20) comprises an ear loop size indicator (23) (indicia) configured to indicate different adjustment of the straps (para [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first adjustable ear loop and the second adjustable ear loop by providing respective ear loop size indicators, the respective ear loop size indicators correspond to a respective size of the first ear opening and the second ear opening as taught by Grashow in order to indicate different adjustment of the first and second ear loops and be useful in communicating adjustment information to a clinician or patient (Grashow, para [0026]).
Claims 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulliver et al in view of Ho et al and Landis.
Regarding claim 23, Gulliver in figs 1-6 discloses a headgear (1) for use with a respiratory patient interface (4) (user interface) (para [0160]), and as shown in fig 4, the headgear (1) comprising: a backstrap portion (5) (portion extending about rear region); a top strap portion (12) comprising a first top strap portion and a second top strap portion (as shown in figs 4-5 top strap portion (12) can be configured to be a two-part releasable connection system and shown to have a first top strap portion extending from a left ear loop and a second top strap portion extending from a right ear loop and connected by a buckle) (para [0186]); a first adjustable ear loop (7) (portion of strap extending about left ear forms an ear loop (para [0164]), and the loop about an, or each ear of the user, may be adjustable, such as adjustable by the size of the loop provided for encircling partially or wholly the ear or ears of a user (para [0039])) extending from the backstrap portion (as shown in the annotated fig 4 above, the lower portion of the ear loop is shown to extend from the backstrap (5)), and a second adjustable ear loop (7) (portion of strap extending about right ear forms an ear loop (para [0164]), and the loop about an, or each ear of the user, may be adjustable, such as adjustable by the size of the loop provided for encircling partially or wholly the ear or ears of a user (para [0039]) extending from the backstrap portion (as shown in the annotated fig 4 above, the lower portion of the ear loop is shown to extend from the backstrap (5)).
Gulliver does not disclose the first adjustable ear loop is comprises a first connection portion configured to be removably attachable to a first attachment zone of the headgear such that the first adjustable ear loop defines a first ear opening, wherein the first attachment zone is configured to be attachable to different portions along the first connection portion to adjust a size of the first ear opening; and the second ear adjustable loop comprises a second connection portion configured to be removably attachable to a second attachment zone of the headgear such that the second adjustable ear loop defines a second ear opening, wherein the second attachment zone is configured to be attachable to different portions along the second connection portion to adjust a size of the second ear opening.
However, Ho in fig 15 teaches a respiratory interface including a first ear loop formed by an upper strap (26a’) and a lower strap (26b’), wherein the first ear loop (26a’, 26b’) includes a first connection portion configured to be removably attachable to a first attachment zone of the headgear) such that the first adjustable ear loop defines a first ear opening (includes a hook and loop fastener configured to attach to a headgear (24) to form an ear loop) (para [0054]), wherein the first attachment zone is configured to be attachable to different portions along the first connection portion to adjust a size of the first ear opening (as shown in fig 15, ear loop straps (26a’, 26b’) can be moved about the top of a patient’s head using a hook-and-loop fastener (e.g., VELCRO), which would adjust a size of an ear loop, and would allow different areas of a first attachment zone of the headgear to connect to different portions of a corresponding connection portion of the ear loop).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first and second adjustable ear loops of Gulliver by providing the ends of the ear loops with a first connection portion configured to be removably attachable to a first attachment zone of the headgear such that the first and second adjustable ear loop defines a first ear opening, wherein the first attachment zone is configured to be attachable to different portions along the first connection portion to adjust a size of the first ear opening as taught by Ho in order to provide a known mechanism for adjusting the size of an ear loop (Gulliver, para [0039]), and would allow the pressure distribution about the contact footprint produced by the respiratory patient interface to be influenced (Ho, para [0054]).
The now-modified Gulliver’s device does not disclose a forehead securement member configured to be removably attachable to the first and second attachment zones of the headgear to provide horizontal stability to the headgear in use.
However, Landis discloses a respiratory interface including a continuous positive airway pressure system (CPAP) (100) having a central ventilation tube (102) (bladder-like interface) (para [0049]) including a forehead securement member (122) (tabs) including attachment zones (124a, b) (hook and loops portions) (para [0053]), and a headgear including attachment zones including a first attachment zone (174) (first top strap portion) and a second attachment zone (175) (second top strap portion) (upper straps) (para [0073]), wherein the first and second top strap portions (174, 175) are provided with a respective attachment zone (para [0053]) to provide horizontal stability to the headgear in use (as shown in fig 1, the forehead securement member (122) extends horizontally across a user’s face, and therefore would provide horizontal stability to the headgear in use).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of modified Gulliver by providing a CPAP interface having a central ventilation tube and including a forehead securement member including attachment zones configured to be removably attachable to the first and second attachment zones of the headgear to provide horizontal stability to the headgear in use as taught by Landis in order to allow the headgear to support an elastic CPAP system to allow the respiratory interface to be capable of off axis movement and/or pivoting (Landis, abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, third full paragraph-page 8 first paragraph and page 9, first full paragraph-page 10, first paragraph of applicant’s remarks filed 5/28/2024, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 23 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 in view of Ho and Landis have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Gulliver and Ho.
Applicant's arguments filed 5/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 8, first full paragraph-page 9, first full paragraph of applicant’s remarks, that the same end portion of Ho’s strap is used to couple to different portions of the headpiece, and therefore, Ho does not disclose that the first attachment zone is configured to be attachable to different portions of the first connection portion to adjust a size of the first ear opening. However, Ho discloses that the connecting strap (26a') and lower connecting strap (26b') are coupled to mesh headpiece (24) using a hook-and-loop fastener (e.g., VELCRO) (para [0054]). A hook and loop fastener is considered to provide the structure to allow different areas of a hook (or loop) on a first attachment zone of the headgear (24) (corresponding to the lower strap portion shown on the mesh headpiece shown in Ho) to connect to different portions of a corresponding loop (or hook) on a connection portion of the ear loop (26a’, 26b’) (corresponding to the connecting straps shown in Ho), as a hook and loop structure would allow the first connection portion and the first attachment zone to be attachable at different overlapping portions along the first connection. Therefore, because Ho’s hook and loop structure would allow a first attachment zone to be attachable to different portions along a first connection portion, the rejection is maintained.
Applicant argues on page 10, first full paragraph-page 11, first full paragraph of applicant’s remarks, that Ho does not disclose that different portions of the strap can be attached to the headpiece. However, as discussed above, because Ho discloses that the connection mechanism is a hook and loop connection mechanism, the modified Gulliver’s device discloses that the ends of the ear loops would have a hook and loop structure would allow a first attachment zone to be attachable to different portions along a first connection portion. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOUGLAS Y SUL/Examiner, Art Unit 3785