DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 1, 4, 5, 7-9, 11-13, 15-17 and 22-28 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 8, 22, 23, 26-28, the original specification and/or the original claims do not provide proper support for the added limitation “during the multi-link establishment, sending the first message frame via one of the multiple links, to simultaneously provide, to the station, the multi-link device MAC address and the MAC address corresponding to each link, without sending the MAC address corresponding to each link via the link.”
Similar arguments apply to claims 9, 11-13, 15-17, 24 and 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1, 4, 5, 7-9, 11-13, 15-17 and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al. (US 2021/0314846 A1, hereinafter “Chu”) in view of Chitrakar et al. (US 2023/0011167 A1, hereinafter “Chitrakar”).
Regarding claims 1, 17, 22 and 23, Chu teaches a method for communication on multiple links, performed by an access point (figs. 2, 8, 10, 12-16. ¶ [0049]-¶ [0051], ¶ [0150], ¶ [0151]), comprising: determining a first message frame for multi-link establishment between the access point and a station, wherein the first message frame comprises a first multi-link element for indicating multi-link configuration information of the access point (figs. 2, 8, 10, 12-16, ¶ [0004], ¶ [0125], the full MLD information is transmitted in (Re)Association Request/Response frames. The full MLD information of the MLD (all the capabilities, operating parameters of the APs) with which the STA MLD is establishing multi-link BSS association is required to be carried in (Re)Association Response frame), and the first multi-link element comprises information corresponding to each link of multiple links of the access point, and a multi-link device MAC address for indicating a MAC address of the access point, and the multi-link device MAC address and the information corresponding to each link are included in separate sub-fields of the first multi-link element (Figs. 2, 8, 10, 13-16, ¶ [0022], ¶ [0131], an ML ID includes common information part such as MLD ID, MLD MAC SAP address, MLD common capabilities and/or per Link Info Profile (one or multiple), which may include Link ID. Pages 10-12 of Provisional Application # 63/072,038); and during the multi-link establishment, sending the first message frame via one of the multiple links (fig. 12), to simultaneously provide, to the station, the multi-link device MAC address and information corresponding to each link (figs. 2, 8, 10, 12-16, ¶ [0125], the full MLD information is transmitted in (Re)Association Request/Response frames. The full MLD information of the MLD (all the capabilities, operating parameters of the APs) with which the STA MLD is establishing multi-link BSS association is required to be carried in (Re)Association Response frame. ¶ [0126], In some embodiments, in a multi-link (re)association Request frame, i.e., a (re)association Request frame with an ML IE, the link IDs in Per Link Profiles are requested for the association. In some embodiments, an AP MLD sends the (re)association Response with ML IE that includes all the requested link IDs), without sending the information corresponding to each link via each link (Fig. 12, where the request and/or response are being sent via one (and not all) of the multiple links. Figs. 2, 8, 10, 13-16, ¶ [0124], ¶ [0126], ¶ [0131], In some embodiments, an ML IE is only used for requesting the updated link operating information of AP MLD's reported link other than the reporting link where the Probe Request is transmitted. ¶ [0132], ¶ [0141]. ).
Chu does not explicitly teach the first multi-link element comprises a media access control (MAC) address corresponding to each link of multiple links of the access point, and the multi-link device MAC address and the MAC address corresponding to each link are included in separate sub-fields of the first multi-link element; and during the multi-link establishment, sending the first message frame via one of the multiple links, to simultaneously provide, to the station, the multi-link device MAC address and the MAC address corresponding to each link, without sending the MAC address corresponding to each link via the link.
Chitrakar teaches a first message frame comprises a multi-link device MAC address ID for indicating a MAC address of the access point (figs. 7, 9, 11, 12B, 17A-18, 22A-23C, ¶ [0129], ¶ [0091], The MLD whose affiliated STAs send data using the Multi-link block ack agreement is referred to as originator MLD, and the MLD whose affiliated STAs are receiver of the data is referred to as recipient MLD. ¶ [0072], All affiliated STAs may share a common MAC Service Access Point (SAP) to the upper layers and a unique MAC Address may be assigned to represent the MLD. ¶ [0084], Originator MLD MAC address, a Recipient MLD MAC. ¶ [0089], ¶ [0152]), a first multi-link element for indicating multi-link configuration information of the access point (figs. 1-12, 17, 22A-23C, 27, 28, ¶ [0047], communication flow 400 between the multi-link originator 302 (an AP MLD in this example) and the multi-link recipient 304 (a non-AP MLD in this example) for TS and BA setup and communication thereafter in accordance with current multi-link communication. ¶ [0051], a Multi-link ADDBA Request 522 and Multi-link ADDBA Response 524 are used to negotiate BA setup 526 for a TID over multiple links. ¶ [0062], ¶ [0063], ¶ [0084], ¶ [0129], ADDBA Request and Response frames may carry a Multi-link element that specify the parameters related to all the links of the Multi-link block ack agreement negotiated between the originator MLD and the recipient MLD.), and the first multi-link element comprises a media access control (MAC) address ID corresponding to each link of multiple links of the access point (figs. 7, 9, 12A, 12B, 23A-23C, ¶ [0129], ADDBA Request and Response frames may carry a Multi-link element that specify the parameters related to all the links of the Multi-link block ack agreement negotiated between the originator MLD and the recipient MLD. The one or more Link Parameters field may each comprise a Link ID field 2314, a Scoreboard Size field 2316 and an optional MAC Address field 2318. ¶ [0059], The multi-band element 750 may also include the MAC address used in the link. ¶ [0067], ¶ [0072], Each affiliated STA has its own MAC/PHY layers and each MAC layer may have a unique MAC address assigned to it); and sending the first message frame (figs. 1-12, 17, 22A-23C, 27, 28).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to include the multi-link device MAC address and the MAC address corresponding to each link in separate sub-fields of the first multi-link element (i.e., to include multi-link device MAC address of the access point in the common information part and to include the link ID and (optionally) the MAC address corresponding to each link in the Per Link info); and to send, during the multi-link establishment, the first message frame via one of the multiple links, to simultaneously provide, to the station, the multi-link device MAC address and the MAC address corresponding to each link, without sending the MAC address corresponding to each link via each link in the system of Chu. The motivation for doing this is a matter of design choice (¶ [0129] of Chitrakar).
Regarding claim 4, Chu in view of Chitrakar teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first multi-link element comprises a link number ID for indicating a number of multiple links of the access point (Chu: Figs. 2, 8, 10, 13-16, ¶ [0022], ¶ [0131], an ML ID includes common information part such as MLD ID, MLD MAC SAP address, MLD common capabilities and/or per Link Info Profile (one or multiple), which may include Link ID. Pages 10-12 of Provisional Application # 63/072,038. Chitrakar: figs. 7, 9, 12A, 12B, 23A-23C, ¶ [0129], the one or more Link Parameters field may each comprise a Link ID filed 2314, a Scoreboard Size field 2316 and an optional MAC Address field 2318. ¶ [0059], The multi-band element 750 may also include the MAC address used in the link. ¶ [0067], ¶ [0072], Each affiliated STA has its own MAC/PHY layers and each MAC layer may have a unique MAC address assigned to it. ¶ [0089] and ¶ [0091], ¶ [0152]).
Regarding claim 5, Chu in view of Chitrakar teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first multi-link element comprises a link ID corresponding to each link of multiple links of the access point (Chu: figs. 2, 8, 10, 13-16, ¶ [0022], ¶ [0131], an ML ID includes common information part such as MLD ID, MLD MAC SAP address, MLD common capabilities and/or per Link Info Profile (one or multiple), which may include Link ID. Pages 10-12 of Provisional Application # 63/072,038. Chitrakar: figs. 7, 9, 12A, 12B, 23A-23C, ¶ [0129], the one or more Link Parameters field may each comprise a Link ID field 2314, a Scoreboard Size field 2316 and an optional MAC Address field 2318).
Regarding claim 7, Chu in view of Chitrakar teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first message frame further comprises a capability information ID for indicating that the access point is capable of supporting multi-link communication (Chu: figs. 2, 8, 10, 13-16, ¶ [0120], ¶ [0121], ¶ [0142]. Chitrakar: fig. 10, ¶ [0051], ¶ [0063]).
Regarding claim 8, Chu in view of Chitrakar teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a second message frame from a station, wherein the second message frame comprises a second multi-link element for indicating multi-link configuration information of the station (Chu: figs. 2, 8, 10, 13-16, ¶ [0125], ¶ [0126], ¶ [0131], ¶ [0132]. Chitrakar: figs. 1-12, 22A-23C, ¶ [0129], ADDBA Request and Response frames may carry a Multi-link element that specify the parameters related to all the links of the Multi-link block ack agreement negotiated between the originator MLD and the recipient MLD).
Regarding claims 9, 17, 24 and 25, Chu teaches a method for communication on multiple links, performed by a station (figs. 2, 8, 10, 12-16. ¶ [0049]-¶ [0051], ¶ [0150], ¶ [0151]), comprising: determining a message frame for multi-link establishment between an access point and the station, wherein the message frame comprises a multi-link element for indicating multi-link configuration information of the station (figs. 2, 8, 10, 12-16, ¶ [0004], ¶ [0125], the full MLD information is transmitted in (Re)Association Request/Response frames. The full MLD information of the MLD (all the capabilities, operating parameters of the APs) with which the STA MLD is establishing multi-link BSS association is required to be carried in (Re)Association Response frame. ¶ [0150], ¶ [0151]), and the multi-link element comprises a multi-link device MAC address for indicating a MAC address of the station, and information corresponding to each link of multiple links of the station, and the multi-link device MAC address and the information corresponding to each link are included in separate sub-fields of the multi-link element (Figs. 2, 8, 10, 13-16, ¶ [0022], ¶ [0131], an ML ID includes common information part such as MLD ID, MLD MAC SAP address, MLD common capabilities and/or per Link Info Profile (one or multiple), which may include Link ID. Pages 10-12 of Provisional Application # 63/072,038); and during the multi-link establishment, sending the message frame via one of the multiple links (fig. 12), to simultaneously provide, to the access point, the multi-link device MAC address and the information corresponding to each link (figs. 2, 8, 10, 12-16, ¶ [0125], the full MLD information is transmitted in (Re)Association Request/Response frames. The full MLD information of the MLD (all the capabilities, operating parameters of the APs) with which the STA MLD is establishing multi-link BSS association is required to be carried in (Re)Association Response frame. ¶ [0126], In some embodiments, in a multi-link (re)association Request frame, i.e., a (re)association Request frame with an ML IE, the link IDs in Per Link Profiles are requested for the association. In some embodiments, an AP MLD sends the (re)association Response with ML IE that includes all the requested link IDs), without sending the information corresponding to each link via each link (Fig. 12, where the request and/or response are being sent via one (and not all) of the multiple links. Figs. 2, 8, 10, 13-16, ¶ [0126], ¶ [0131], In some embodiments, an ML IE is only used for requesting the updated link operating information of AP MLD's reported link other than the reporting link where the Probe Request is transmitted. ¶ [0132], ¶ [0141]).
Chu does not explicitly teach the first multi-link element comprises a media access control (MAC) address corresponding to each link of multiple links of the access point, and the multi-link device MAC address and the MAC address corresponding to each link are included in separate sub-fields of the first multi-link element; and during the multi-link establishment, sending the first message frame via one of the multiple links, to simultaneously provide, to the station, the multi-link device MAC address and the MAC address corresponding to each link, without sending the MAC address corresponding to each link via the link.
Chitrakar teaches a first message frame comprises a multi-link device MAC address ID for indicating a MAC address of the station (figs. 7, 9, 11, 12B, 17A-18, 22A-23C, ¶ [0129], ¶ [0091], The MLD whose affiliated STAs send data using the Multi-link block ack agreement is referred to as originator MLD, and the MLD whose affiliated STAs are receiver of the data is referred to as recipient MLD. ¶ [0072], All affiliated STAs may share a common MAC Service Access Point (SAP) to the upper layers and a unique MAC Address may be assigned to represent the MLD. ¶ [0084], Originator MLD MAC address, a Recipient MLD MAC. ¶ [0089], ¶ [0152]), a first multi-link element for indicating multi-link configuration information of the station (figs. 1-12, 17, 22A-23C, 27, 28, ¶ [0047], communication flow 400 between the multi-link originator 302 (an AP MLD in this example) and the multi-link recipient 304 (a non-AP MLD in this example) for TS and BA setup and communication thereafter in accordance with current multi-link communication. ¶ [0051], a Multi-link ADDBA Request 522 and Multi-link ADDBA Response 524 are used to negotiate BA setup 526 for a TID over multiple links. ¶ [0062], ¶ [0063], ¶ [0084], ¶ [0129], ADDBA Request and Response frames may carry a Multi-link element that specify the parameters related to all the links of the Multi-link block ack agreement negotiated between the originator MLD and the recipient MLD.), and the first multi-link element comprises a media access control (MAC) address ID corresponding to each link of multiple links of the station (figs. 7, 9, 12A, 12B, 23A-23C, ¶ [0129], ADDBA Request and Response frames may carry a Multi-link element that specify the parameters related to all the links of the Multi-link block ack agreement negotiated between the originator MLD and the recipient MLD. The one or more Link Parameters field may each comprise a Link ID field 2314, a Scoreboard Size field 2316 and an optional MAC Address field 2318. ¶ [0059], The multi-band element 750 may also include the MAC address used in the link. ¶ [0067], ¶ [0072], Each affiliated STA has its own MAC/PHY layers and each MAC layer may have a unique MAC address assigned to it); and sending the first message frame (figs. 1-12, 17, 22A-23C, 27, 28).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to include the multi-link device MAC address of the station and the MAC address corresponding to each link in separate sub-fields of the first multi-link element (i.e., to include multi-link device MAC address of the station in the common information part and to include the link ID and (optionally) the MAC address corresponding to each link in the Per Link info); and to send, during the multi-link establishment, the first message frame via one of the multiple links, to simultaneously provide, to the station, the multi-link device MAC address and the MAC address corresponding to each link, without sending the MAC address corresponding to each link via each link in the system of Chu. The motivation for doing this is a matter of design choice (¶ [0129] of Chitrakar).
Regarding claim 11, Chu in view of Chitrakar teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising: in response to the station being in an enhanced single radio multi-link mode, setting the multi-link element as comprising the multi-link device MAC address ID (Chu: figs. 1, 2, 13-16, ¶ [0049]-¶ [0051]. ¶ [0131], ¶ [0132]. Chitrakar: ¶ [0069], unified Upper MAC (UMAC) layers 1202, 1204 and band specific Lower MAC (LMAC) layers 1206, 1208, 1210, 1212, 1214, 1216. In this architecture, the LMAC/PHY layers of different links are tightly coupled together with the UMAC coordinating the operations of each link specific LMCAC/PHY layers. Such architecture may be appropriate when an MLD is implemented as a single piece of silicon hardware. ¶ [0072], All affiliated STAs may share a common MAC Service Access Point (SAP) to the upper layers and a unique MAC Address may be assigned to represent the MLD. This architecture may be appropriate when each affiliated STA is implemented as an independent silicon, plurality of which may be housed together in a module to form an MLD, in which case the MLD may be seen as a logical collection of STAs. Of course, it is also possible that with the advance of the silicon technology, the entire MLD is implemented as a single piece of silicon hardware. ¶ [0084], Originator MLD MAC address, a Recipient MLD MAC. ¶ [0089], MLD-RA and MLD-TA refers to the MAC address of the Recipient MLD and the Originator MLD respectively. ¶ [0152]).
Regarding claim 12, Chu in view of Chitrakar teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the multi-link element comprises a link number ID for indicating a number of multiple links of the station (Chu: Figs. 2, 8, 10, 13-16, ¶ [0022], ¶ [0131], an ML ID includes common information part such as MLD ID, MLD MAC SAP address, MLD common capabilities and/or per Link Info Profile (one or multiple), which may include Link ID. Pages 10-12 of Provisional Application # 63/072,038. Chitrakar: figs. 23A-23C, ¶ [0129], the one or more Link Parameters field may each comprise a Link ID field 2314, a Scoreboard Size field 2316 and an optional MAC Address field 2318).
Regarding claim 13, Chu in view of Chitrakar teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the multi-link element comprises a link ID corresponding to each link of multiple links of the station (Chu: Figs. 2, 8, 10, 13-16, ¶ [0022], ¶ [0131], an ML ID includes common information part such as MLD ID, MLD MAC SAP address, MLD common capabilities and/or per Link Info Profile (one or multiple), which may include Link ID. Pages 10-12 of Provisional Application # 63/072,038. Chitrakar: figs. 23A-23C, ¶ [0129], the one or more Link Parameters field may each comprise a Link ID field 2314, a Scoreboard Size field 2316 and an optional MAC Address field 2318).
Regarding claim 15, Chu in view of Chitrakar teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the message frame further comprises: a capability information ID for indicating that the station is capable of supporting multi-link communication(Chu: figs. 2, 8, 10, 13-16, ¶ [0120], ¶ [0121], ¶ [0142]. Chitrakar: fig. 10, ¶ [0051], ¶ [0063]).
Regarding claim 16, Chu in view of Chitrakar teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the message frame is a second message frame, and the multi-link element is a second multi-link element, the method further comprising: receiving a first message frame from an access point, wherein the first message frame comprises a first multi-link element for indicating multi-link configuration information of the access point (Chu: figs. 2, 8, 10, 13-16, ¶ [0125], ¶ [0126], ¶ [0131], ¶ [0132].Chitrakar: figs. 1-12, 22A-23C, ¶ [0129], ADDBA Request and Response frames may carry a Multi-link element that specify the parameters related to all the links of the Multi-link block ack agreement negotiated between the originator MLD and the recipient MLD).
8. Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu in view of Chitrakar as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Huang et al. (US 2022/0286194 A1, hereinafter “Huang”).
Regarding claim 27, Chu in view of Chitrakar teaches the method according to claim 1.
Chu does not explicitly teach wherein the MAC address corresponding to each link is configured to generate a secret key corresponding to the link.
Huang teaches the MAC address corresponding to each link/STA is configured to generate a secret key corresponding to the link/STA or the multi-link device MAC is used to generate a secret key for all links/STAs (¶ [0018], the MAC address of each STA is used to generate an encryption key of a multicast data frame in the key derivation process. ¶ [0019], ¶ [0023], ¶ [0115], ¶ [0123], ¶ [0125])
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the MAC address corresponding to each link to generate a secret key corresponding to the link in the system of Chu in view of Chitrakar. The motivation for doing this is a matter of design choice (¶ [0018] and ¶ [0125] of Huang).
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 26 and 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
10. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 26, prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest “wherein in a case where one link of the multiple links fails to be identified, an access point to which the one link belongs is identified based on the multi-link device MAC address, and communication is performed using other links of the identified access point except for the one link” in combination of limitations specified in the base claim.
Regarding claim 28, prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest “wherein the MAC address corresponding to each link is arranged according to an order of frequencies of the multiple links” in combination of limitations specified in the base claim.
Response to Arguments
11. Applicant’s arguments filed on July 21, 2026 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
12. Applicant argues “…However, Chitrakar only discloses that, during multi-link TS or BA establishment, the multi-band element carried in the frame includes per link MAC address. In other words, the method of Chitrakar is used in a scenario of multi-link TS or BA establishment, which is different from a scenario of multi-link establishment recited in amended claim 1. The multi-link TS or BA establishment is performed after the multi-link establishment…
Chitrakar does not teach or suggest including the multi- link device MAC address in the first multi-link element separately from the MAC address corresponding to each link. Nor does Chitrakar teach or suggest, during the multi-link establishment, sending the first message frame via one of the multiple links, to simultaneously provide the multi-link device MAC address and the MAC address corresponding to each link to the station, without sending the MAC address corresponding to each link via the link…
Chu does not disclose that per Link MAC address is included in the same ML IE as the MLD MAC SAP address. Consequently, Chu likewise fails to teach or suggest including a multi-link device MAC address and a MAC address corresponding to each link in separate sub-fields of the same first multi-link element. Nor does Chu teach or suggest, during multi-link establishment, sending a first message frame via one of the multiple links to simultaneously provide both the multi-link device MAC address and the MAC address corresponding to each link, without sending the MAC address corresponding to each link via the respective links.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that prior art is not limited just to the references being applied, but includes the understanding of one of ordinary skill in the art. The prior art reference (or references when combined) need not teach or suggest all the claim limitations, however, Office personnel must explain why the difference(s) between the prior art and the claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. The “mere existence of differences between the prior art and an invention does not establish the invention’s nonobviousness.” Dann v. Johnston, 425 U.S. 219, 230, 189 USPQ 257, 261 (1976). The gap between the prior art and the claimed invention may not be “so great as to render the [claim] nonobvious to one reasonably skilled in the art.”Id. In determining obviousness, neither the particular motivation to make the claimed invention nor the problem the inventor is solving controls. The proper analysis is whether the claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art after consideration of all the facts. See 35 U.S.C. 103(a) (MPEP 2141).
In this case: Chu determining a first message frame for multi-link establishment between the access point and a station, wherein the first message frame comprises a first multi-link element for indicating multi-link configuration information of the access point (figs. 2, 8, 10, 12-16, ¶ [0004], ¶ [0125], the full MLD information is transmitted in (Re)Association Request/Response frames. The full MLD information of the MLD (all the capabilities, operating parameters of the APs) with which the STA MLD is establishing multi-link BSS association is required to be carried in (Re)Association Response frame), and the first multi-link element comprises information corresponding to each link of multiple links of the access point, and a multi-link device MAC address for indicating a MAC address of the access point, and the multi-link device MAC address and the information corresponding to each link are included in separate sub-fields of the first multi-link element (Figs. 2, 8, 10, 13-16, where the ML common info and the ML per link info are included in separate sub-fields. ¶ [0022], ¶ [0131], an ML ID includes common information part such as MLD ID, MLD MAC SAP address, MLD common capabilities and/or per Link Info Profile (one or multiple), which may include Link ID. Pages 10-12 of Provisional Application # 63/072,038); and during the multi-link establishment, sending the first message frame via one of the multiple links (fig. 12), to simultaneously provide, to the station, the multi-link device MAC address and information corresponding to each link (figs. 2, 8, 10, 12-16, ¶ [0125], the full MLD information is transmitted in (Re)Association Request/Response frames. The full MLD information of the MLD (all the capabilities, operating parameters of the APs) with which the STA MLD is establishing multi-link BSS association is required to be carried in (Re)Association Response frame. ¶ [0126], In some embodiments, in a multi-link (re)association Request frame, i.e., a (re)association Request frame with an ML IE, the link IDs in Per Link Profiles are requested for the association. In some embodiments, an AP MLD sends the (re)association Response with ML IE that includes all the requested link IDs), without sending the information corresponding to each link via each link (Fig. 12, where the request and/or response are being sent via one (and not all) of the multiple links. Figs. 2, 8, 10, 13-16, ¶ [0124], ¶ [0126], ¶ [0131], In some embodiments, an ML IE is only used for requesting the updated link operating information of AP MLD's reported link other than the reporting link where the Probe Request is transmitted. ¶ [0132], ¶ [0141]).
Chitrakar teaches a first message frame comprises a multi-link device MAC address ID for indicating a MAC address of the access point (figs. 7, 9, 11, 12B, 17A-18, 22A-23C, ¶ [0129], ¶ [0091], The MLD whose affiliated STAs send data using the Multi-link block ack agreement is referred to as originator MLD, and the MLD whose affiliated STAs are receiver of the data is referred to as recipient MLD. ¶ [0072], All affiliated STAs may share a common MAC Service Access Point (SAP) to the upper layers and a unique MAC Address may be assigned to represent the MLD. ¶ [0084], Originator MLD MAC address, a Recipient MLD MAC. ¶ [0089], ¶ [0152]), and the first multi-link element comprises a media access control (MAC) address ID corresponding to each link of multiple links of the access point (figs. 7, 9, 12A, 12B, 23A-23C, ¶ [0129], Request and Response frames may carry a Multi-link element that specify the parameters related to all the links of the Multi-link block ack agreement negotiated between the originator MLD and the recipient MLD. The one or more Link Parameters field may each comprise a Link ID field 2314, a Scoreboard Size field 2316 and an optional MAC Address field 2318. ¶ [0059], The multi-band element 750 may also include the MAC address used in the link. ¶ [0067], ¶ [0072], Each affiliated STA has its own MAC/PHY layers and each MAC layer may have a unique MAC address assigned to it); and sending the first message frame (figs. 1-12, 17, 22A-23C, 27, 28).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to include the multi-link device MAC address and the MAC address corresponding to each link in separate sub-fields of the first multi-link element (i.e., to include multi-link device MAC address of the access point/Station in the common information part and to include the link ID and (optionally) the MAC address corresponding to each link in the Per Link info); and to send, during the multi-link establishment, the first message frame via one of the multiple links, to simultaneously provide, to the station, the multi-link device MAC address and the MAC address corresponding to each link, without sending the MAC address corresponding to each link via each link in the system of Chu. The motivation for doing this is a matter of design choice (¶ [0129] of Chitrakar).
Therefore, Chu in view of Chitrakar render obvious the amended claims (1, 9 and 17), as set forth above.
Conclusion
13. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANDISH K RANDHAWA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477