DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraph 0183, line 1 the first “A” should read “As”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yazami et al. (US 2021/0167621).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
With respect to claim 1, Yazami discloses a method for extending life of a battery cell provided with charge/discharge terminals to which a charging voltage can be applied with a flowing charging current, the method comprising: applying, to the terminals of the battery cell, a plurality of constant voltage stages Vj, where Vj+1>Vj, j=1, 2 . . . , k, each voltage stage comprising intermittent nj voltage plateaus (the figures discloses charge cycles/pulses with respective plateaus); between two successive voltage plateaus within a voltage stage, letting the charging current go to zero for a rest period R.sub.j.sup.p, 1≤p≤nj (as shown in the figures for each pulse the current drops to zero and then goes up, paragraph 0076), until any one of the following conditions is reached: a pre-set charge capacity or state of charge (SOC) is reached, the battery cell temperature exceeds a pre-set limit value T.sub.lim, or the battery cell voltage has exceeded a pre-set limit value V.sub.lim (paragraphs, 0076-0078, 0131-0165 discloses that after each step/relaxation the data is updated and moved to the next step based on the data, Voltage (V), Current (I), and Temperature (T)); collecting data on at least two previous measured discharge capacities (paragraphs 0131-0165); calculating a relative variation (ΔQ/Q) of the discharge capacity, from the collected data; comparing the calculated relative variation (ΔQ/Q) of the discharge capacity to a predetermined threshold (ε) (paragraphs 0078, 0156 discloses comparing the collected data discharge capacity with a target); and if the calculated relative variation (ΔQ/Q) of the discharge capacity exceeds the predetermined threshold (ε), modifying at least one charge parameter among a selection of charge parameters including a duration of the voltage plateau, the voltage stage shift, and the rest time, so as to bring the calculated relative capacity variation (ΔQ/Q) below the predetermined threshold (ε) (paragraphs 0076 discloses modifying the voltage step/relaxation to gain optimal current).
With respect to claims 2, 3, 4, Yazami discloses the method of one of the claims, further comprising: between two successive current rest times R.sub.j.sup.p-1 and R.sub.j.sup.p within a voltage stage Vj, and a pending voltage plateau, detecting flowing pulse-like charging current dropping from an initial value I.sub.j,p.sup.ini to a final value I.sub.j,p.sup.fin, where 1≤p≤nj, ending the pending voltage plateau, so that the flowing pulse-like charging current drops to zero for a rest time R.sub.j.sup.p, with the voltage departing from Vj, and after the rest time R.sub.j.sup.p has elapsed, applying back the voltage to Vj, wherein a transition from a voltage stage Vj to the following stage Vj+1 is initiated when I.sub.j,p.sup.fin, p=nj reaches a threshold value I.sub.j,nj.sup.Thr. Paragraphs 0076-0080, 0109-0154 discloses detecting the voltage step/relaxation at every step and controlling the relaxation time based on the parameters.
With respect to claim 5, Yazami discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising, prior to applying, to the terminals of the battery cell, the plurality of constant voltage stages Vj, determining a K-value and a charge step from inputs including charging instructions for C-rate, voltage and charge time. Paragraphs 0155-0165 discloses determining a Kn value and C-rate charging instructions.
With respect to claim 6, Yazami discloses the method of claim 5, further comprising detecting a Cshift threshold, followed by determining a shift voltage by applying a non-linear voltage equation and using the K-value and a ΔC-rate. Paragraphs 0063-0080 discloses applying a non-linear equation using the K-value and the rate of change.
With respect to claim 7, Yazami discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the method is applied to a plurality of battery cells arranged in series and/or in parallel. Paragraph 0026 discloses that the battery cells are arranged in series and/or in parallel.
With respect to claims 8, 12, Yazami discloses the method of one of the claims, wherein the plurality of battery cells are connected in series, and the method further comprises providing intrinsic balancing between the battery cells of the plurality. Abstract, paragraph 0032 discloses balancing the charging of the cells.
With respect to claim 9, Yazami discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the collecting of the data comprises collecting previously stored voltage, current and capacity data. Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0132-0134 discloses storing the values and retrieving the stored values.
With respect to claim 10, Yazami discloses a system for extending the life of a battery cell provided with charge/discharge terminals to which a charging voltage can be applied with a flowing charging current, the system comprising an electronic converter connected to a power source and configured for applying a charging voltage to the terminals of a battery cell, the electronic converter being controlled by a charging controller configured to process battery cell flowing current and cell voltage measurement data and charging instruction data (figure 1 discloses a charger system with respective controller for receiving data and thus controlling/converting power to be supplied to the battery/cells), wherein the system further comprises: means for collecting data on at least two previous discharge capacities measured or estimated during previous charge cycles for the battery cell (paragraphs 0131-0165), means for calculating a relative variation (ΔQ/Q) of the discharge capacity from the collected data, means for comparing the calculated relative variation (ΔQ/Q) of the discharge capacity to a predetermined threshold (ε) and for delivering information when the predetermined threshold (ε) is exceeded (paragraphs 0078, 0156 discloses comparing the collected data discharge capacity with a target), and wherein the charging controller is programed to modify at least one charge parameter among a selection of charge parameters including a duration of a voltage plateau, a voltage stage shift, and the rest time, so as to bring back the calculated relative variation (ΔQ/Q) of the discharge capacity below the predetermined threshold (ε) (paragraphs 0076 discloses modifying the voltage step/relaxation to gain optimal current).
With respect to claim 11, Yazami discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the charging controller is further configured to control the electronic converter so as to: apply to the terminals of the battery cell a plurality of constant voltage stages Vj, where Vj+1>Vj, j=1, 2 . . . , k, each voltage stage comprising intermittent nj voltage plateaus, between two successive voltage plateaus within a voltage stage, let the charging current go to zero for a rest period R.sub.j.sup.p, 1≤p≤nj, until one of the following conditions is reached: a pre-set charge capacity or state of charge (SOC) is reached, the battery cell temperature exceeds a pre-set limit value T.sub.lim, or the battery cell voltage has exceeded a pre-set limit value V.sub.lim. Paragraphs, 0076-0078, 0131-0165 discloses that after each step/relaxation the data is updated and moved to the next step based on the data, Voltage (V), Current (I), and Temperature (T).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Maluf et al. (US 9,791,513) discloses adjusting the state of charge of a battery based on the relaxation time, the charge current is provided via plurality of pulses.
/CARLOS AMAYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836