DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed December 22, 2025. In view of this communication and the amendment concurrently filed: claims 1-20 were previously pending; no claims were cancelled and no claims were added by amendment; and thus, claims 1-20 are now pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 28, 2025 have been fully considered.
The Applicant's first point (page 8-10 of Remarks) argues that newly amended claim 1 differs from TAN in structure and function. The Applicant goes on to argue that function of the partition is to create or form the third cooling channel while the function of the partition in TAN is to protect the coils. The Examiner is not willing to concede that this is true, but even if it was true the said functionality of the partition is not claimed and therefor the argument is moot. The Applicant continues this argument by stating the partition of the present invention is constructed as a spacer while the partition of TAN is constructed as a coating. The Examiner is not willing to concede that this is true, but even if it was true the limitation of the partition being a spacer is not claimed and therefor the argument is moot.
The Applicant's second point (page 10-11 of Remarks) argues that newly amended claim 1 differs from TAN since the cooling concepts and structure are different. The Applicant goes on to argue that TAN cools indirectly, while the present invention cools directly. While this may be true for TAN; ZHANG does teach direct cooling on page 2 lines 20-27, therefor the argument is moot.
The Applicant's third point (page 11 of Remarks) argues that ZHANG and TAN would be inoperable if combined because they lack a partition. The Examiner disagrees with the Applicant because a partition is not the only way one can restrict axial movement of coils. For example, ZHANGE uses stator teeth to hold the coils axially, therefor the argument is moot.
The Applicant's forth point (page 11-13 of Remarks) argues that newly amended claim 11 differs from TAN since the cooling concepts and structure are different. The Applicant goes on to argue that TAN cools indirectly, while the present invention cools directly. While this may be true for TAN; ZHANG does teach direct cooling on page 2 lines 20-27, therefor the argument is moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG (CN 109510341 A) in view of TAN (JP 2009033898 A).
In regards to claim 1, ZHANG teaches:
A cooling structure for a disc electric motor[abstract], comprising:
a stator core (Fig 1; 200) having a plurality of stator units(Fig 1; 200a);
a stator housing(Fig 1; 100) enclosing the stator core(Fig 1; 200), wherein a first cavity (Fig 1; 300)is defined by the stator housing(Fig 1; 100) and an outer side of the stator core(Fig 1; 200), a second cavity(Fig 1; 400) is defined by the stator housing(Fig 1; 100) and an inner side of the stator core(Fig 1; 200), wherein the stator housing (Fig 2; 100)is provided with a liquid inlet channel(Fig 2; 101), a liquid outlet channel(Fig 2; 102), a liquid inlet(Fig 2; 105), a liquid outlet(Fig 2; 106), a liquid spray port (Fig 2; 103)and a liquid return port(Fig 2; 104), wherein the liquid inlet (Fig 2; 105)and the liquid spray port (Fig 2; 103)are communicated through the liquid inlet channel(Fig 2; 101)(shown in Fig 2), and the liquid outlet(Fig 2; 106) and the liquid return port (Fig 2; 104)are communicated through the liquid outlet channel(Fig 2; 102)(shown in fig 2);
a first baffle (Fig 1; 500a)and a second baffle (Fig 1; 500b) arranged between the outer side of the stator(Fig 1; 200) core and the stator housing(Fig 1; 100), wherein the first baffle (Fig 1; 500a)and the second baffle (Fig 1; 500b)are configured to separate the first cavity (Fig 1; 300)into a first cooling channel (Fig 1; 301)and a second cooling channel(Fig 1; 302), the first cooling channel (Fig 1; 301)is communicated with the liquid outlet(Fig 1; 106), and the second cooling channel (Fig 1; 302)is communicated with the liquid return port(Fig 1; 104);
a third cooling channel(Fig 2; 201) which is formed between the adjacent stator units (Fig 1; 200a)to communicate the first cavity (Fig 2; 300)with the second cavity (Fig 2; 400)and is configured to allow liquid refrigerant to directly contact and exchange heat[pg 2; ln 20-27].
ZHANG does not teach:
a first coil and a second coil arranged on each of the plurality of stator units,
a partitioner interposed between the first coil and the second coil to space the first coil apart from the second coil such as to create a third cooling channel which is formed between the adjacent stator units and is configured to allow liquid refrigerant to directly contact and exchange heat with the first coil, the second coil, the adjacent stator units and the partitioner,
wherein first coils on adjacent ones of the stator units are in a close fit with each other, and second coils on the adjacent stator units are in a close fit with each other.
TAN teaches:
a first coil (Fig 2; 111)and a second coil (Fig 2; 112)arranged on each of the plurality of stator units(Fig 2; 10);
a partitioner (Fig 4; 14a)interposed between the first coil (Fig 2; 111)and the second coil(Fig 2; 112) to space the first coil (Fig 2; 111)apart from the second coil (Fig 2; 112)such as to create a third cooling channel (Fig 2; 12) which is formed between the adjacent stator units (Fig 2; 10) and is configured to allow liquid refrigerant to directly contact and exchange heat[pg 2; ln 20-27] (heat exchange [0004]) with the first coil(Fig 2; 111), the second coil(Fig 2; 111), the adjacent stator units (Fig 2; 10)and the partitioner(Fig 2; 14a),
wherein first coils (Fig 3; 111)on adjacent ones of the stator units(Fig 3; 10) are in a close fit with each other(close fit shown in Fig 3), and second coils (Fig 3; 112)on the adjacent stator units(Fig 3; 10) are in a close fit with each other(close fit shown in Fig 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the third cooling channel disclosed in ZHANG by using the first coils, second coils, and partition taught by TAN in order to provide a cooling structure of a rotating electrical machine, with no degradation of cooling efficiency [abstract, 0002 TAN].
In regards to claim 2, ZHANG, in view of TAN, teaches the cooling structure for a disc electric motor according to claim 1.
ZHANG does not teach:
wherein the partitioner comprises a first partitioner and a second partitioner, the first partitioner is arranged at an outer side of the stator unit, and the second partitioner is arranged at an inner side of the stator unit.
TAN teaches:
wherein the partitioner (Fig 4; 14a)comprises a first partitioner and a second partitioner, the first partitioner is arranged at an outer side of the stator unit, and the second partitioner is arranged at an inner side of the stator unit(partition 14a is disclosed to cover both stator coils [0016], which can be partitioned into two sections; an outer first partition and an inner second partition).
In regards to claim 7, ZHANG, in view of TAN, teaches the cooling structure for a disc electric motor according to claim 1:
wherein the stator housing (Fig 3; 100)comprises an outer stator housing(Fig 3; 100a), an inner stator housing(Fig 3; 100b), a front stator plate(Fig 3; 100c) and a rear stator plate(Fig 3; 100d), the stator core(Fig 3; 200) is arranged between the outer stator housing(Fig 3; 100a) and the inner stator housing(Fig 3; 100b), the front stator plate (Fig 3; 100c)is arranged on a first end face of the outer stator housing(Fig 3; 100a), the rear stator plate (Fig 3; 100d)is arranged on a second end face of the outer stator housing(Fig 3; 100a), the first cavity(Fig 3; 300) is defined by the outer stator housing(Fig 3; 100a), the outer side of the stator core(Fig 3; 200), the front stator plate (Fig 3; 100c)and the rear stator plate(Fig 3; 100d), and the second cavity (Fig 3; 400)is defined by the inner stator housing(Fig 3; 100b), the inner side of the stator core(Fig 3; 200), the front stator plate(Fig 3; 100c) and the rear stator plate(Fig 3; 100d).
In regards to claim 8, ZHANG, in view of TAN, teaches the cooling structure for a disc electric motor according to claim 7:
wherein one or more of the liquid inlet(Fig 3; 105), the liquid outlet(Fig 3; 106), the liquid spray port (Fig 1; 103)and the liquid return port (Fig 1; 104)are arranged at the outer stator housing(Fig 3; 100a), the inner stator housing(Fig 3; 100b), the front stator plate (Fig 3; 100c)or the rear stator plate(Fig 3; 100d).
In regards to claim 9, ZHANG, in view of TAN, teaches the cooling structure for a disc electric motor according to claim 8:
wherein the number of the liquid spray port (Fig 1; 103)is more than one(Shown in Fig 1 or 2), and each of the more than one liquid spray port (Fig 2; 103)corresponds to a middle part of a corresponding stator unit (Fig 1; 100a)of the stator units(Fig 2 shows each spray point corresponding to a middle point of a stator unit).
In regards to claim 10, ZHANG, in view of TAN, teaches the cooling structure for a disc electric motor according to claim 1.
ZHANG does not teach:
wherein the stator core is a segmented core.
TAN teaches:
wherein the stator core (Fig 2; 10)is a segmented core[0008].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ZHANG by using the segmented core taught by TAN in order to provide a cooling structure of a rotating electrical machine, with no degradation of cooling efficiency [abstract, 0002 TAN].
Claim(s) 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG (CN 109510341 A) in view of TAN (JP 2006033965 A).
In regards to claim 11, ZHANG teaches:
A cooling structure for a disc electric motor[abstract], comprising:
a stator core (Fig 1; 200) having a plurality of stator units(Fig 1; 200a);
a stator housing(Fig 1; 100) enclosing the stator core(Fig 1; 200), wherein a first cavity (Fig 1; 300)is defined by the stator housing(Fig 1; 100) and an outer side of the stator core(Fig 1; 200), a second cavity(Fig 1; 400) is defined by the stator housing(Fig 1; 100) and an inner side of the stator core(Fig 1; 200), wherein the stator housing (Fig 2; 100)is provided with a liquid inlet channel(Fig 2; 101), a liquid outlet channel(Fig 2; 102), a liquid inlet(Fig 2; 105), a liquid outlet(Fig 2; 106), a liquid spray port (Fig 2; 103)and a liquid return port(Fig 2; 104), wherein the liquid inlet (Fig 2; 105)and the liquid spray port (Fig 2; 103)are communicated through the liquid inlet channel(Fig 2; 101)(shown in Fig 2), and the liquid outlet(Fig 2; 106) and the liquid return port (Fig 2; 104)are communicated through the liquid outlet channel(Fig 2; 102)(shown in fig 2);
a first baffle (Fig 1; 500a)and a second baffle (Fig 1; 500b) arranged between the outer side of the stator(Fig 1; 200) core and the stator housing(Fig 1; 100), wherein the first baffle (Fig 1; 500a)and the second baffle (Fig 1; 500b)are configured to separate the first cavity (Fig 1; 300)into a first cooling channel (Fig 1; 301)and a second cooling channel(Fig 1; 302), the first cooling channel (Fig 1; 301)is communicated with the liquid outlet(Fig 1; 106), and the second cooling channel (Fig 1; 302)is communicated with the liquid return port(Fig 1; 104); a third cooling channel(Fig 2; 201) which is formed between the adjacent stator units (Fig 1; 200)to communicate the first cavity (Fig 2; 300)with the second cavity (Fig 2; 400)and is configured to allow liquid refrigerant to directly contact and exchange heat[pg 2; ln 20-27].
ZHANG does not teach:
a plurality of first coils and a plurality of second coils arranged on each of the plurality of stator units; and
a third baffle interposed between adjacent ones of the stator units,
wherein the first coils have a width different from a width of the second coils such as to create a third cooling channel which is formed between the adjacent stator units and is configured to allow liquid refrigerant to directly contact and exchange heat with the third baffle, and the first coil and the second coil adjacent to each other, and the corresponding stator unit.
TAN teaches:
a plurality of first coils(Fig 13; 12b) and a plurality of second coils (Fig 13; 12a)arranged on each of the plurality of stator units(Fig 13; 11); and
a third baffle(Fig 13; 14) interposed between adjacent ones of the stator units(Fig 13; 11)( the baffle 14 is a resin shown to be disposed between the stator units 11),
wherein the first coils (Fig 13; 12b)have a width different from a width of the second coils(Fig 13; 12a)(Shown in Fig 13) such as to create a third cooling channel(Fig 13; 21) which is formed between the adjacent stator units (Fig 13; 11) and is configured to allow liquid refrigerant to directly contact and exchange heat(parts are cooled [0006]) with the third baffle(Fig 13; 14), and the first coil (Fig 13; 12b)and the second coil (Fig 13; 12a)adjacent to each other, and the corresponding stator unit(Fig 13; 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the third cooling channel disclosed in ZHANG by using the first coils, second coils, and third baffle taught by TAN in order to widely increase a continuous output by improving cooling efficiency without worsening motor efficiency. [abstract, 0007 TAN].
In regards to claim 12, ZHANG, in view of TAN, teaches the cooling structure for a disc electric motor according to claim 11.
ZHANG does not teach:
wherein the first coils and the second coils are alternately arranged on each of the plurality of stator units.
TAN teaches:
wherein the first coils (Fig 13; 12b)and the second coils (Fig 13; 12a)are alternately arranged on each of the plurality of stator units(Fig 13; 11)(Shown in Fig 13).
In regards to claim 13, ZHANG, in view of TAN, teaches the cooling structure for a disc electric motor according to claim 12.
ZHANG does not teach:
wherein the first coils have a width smaller than a width of the second coils.
TAN teaches:
wherein the first coils (Fig 13; 12b)have a width smaller than a width of the second coils(Fig 13; 12a) (Shown in Fig 13).
In regards to claim 14, ZHANG, in view of TAN, teaches the cooling structure for a disc electric motor according to claim 13.
ZHANG does not teach:
wherein the third baffle abuts against second coils on stator units adjacent to the third baffle.
TAN teaches:
wherein the third baffle (Fig 13; 14)abuts against second coils(Fig 13; 12a) on stator units (Fig 13; 11)adjacent to the third baffle(Fig 13; 14).
In regards to claim 15, ZHANG, in view of TAN, teaches the cooling structure for a disc electric motor according to claim 11:
wherein the first baffle(Fig 1; 500a) is arranged on a middle line of the liquid inlet (Fig 1; 105)and the liquid outlet(Fig 1; 106).
In regards to claim 16, ZHANG, in view of TAN, teaches the cooling structure for a disc electric motor according to claim 15:
wherein the second baffle (Fig 1; 500b)is arranged on the middle line of the liquid inlet(Fig 1; 105) and the liquid outlet(Fig 1; 106).
In regards to claim 17, ZHANG, in view of TAN, teaches the cooling structure for a disc electric motor according to claim 11:
wherein the stator housing (Fig 3; 100)comprises an outer stator housing(Fig 3; 100a), an inner stator housing(Fig 3; 100b), a front stator plate(Fig 3; 100c) and a rear stator plate(Fig 3; 100d), the stator core(Fig 3; 200) is arranged between the outer stator housing(Fig 3; 100a) and the inner stator housing(Fig 3; 100b), the front stator plate (Fig 3; 100c)is arranged on a first end face of the outer stator housing(Fig 3; 100a), the rear stator plate (Fig 3; 100d)is arranged on a second end face of the outer stator housing(Fig 3; 100a), the first cavity(Fig 3; 300) is defined by the outer stator housing(Fig 3; 100a), the outer side of the stator core(Fig 3; 200), the front stator plate (Fig 3; 100c)and the rear stator plate(Fig 3; 100d), and the second cavity (Fig 3; 400)is defined by the inner stator housing(Fig 3; 100b), the inner side of the stator core(Fig 3; 200), the front stator plate(Fig 3; 100c) and the rear stator plate(Fig 3; 100d).
In regards to claim 18, ZHANG, in view of TAN, teaches the cooling structure for a disc electric motor according to claim 17:
wherein one or more of the liquid inlet(Fig 3; 105), the liquid outlet(Fig 3; 106), the liquid spray port (Fig 1; 103)and the liquid return port (Fig 1; 104)are arranged at the outer stator housing(Fig 3; 100a), the inner stator housing(Fig 3; 100b), the front stator plate (Fig 3; 100c)or the rear stator plate(Fig 3; 100d).
In regards to claim 19, ZHANG, in view of TAN, teaches the cooling structure for a disc electric motor according to claim 18:
wherein the number of the liquid spray port (Fig 1; 103)is more than one(Shown in Fig 1 or 2), and each of the more than one liquid spray port (Fig 2; 103)corresponds to a middle part of a corresponding stator unit (Fig 1; 100a)of the stator units(Fig 2 shows each spray point corresponding to a middle point of a stator unit).
In regards to claim 20, ZHANG, in view of TAN, teaches the cooling structure for a disc electric motor according to claim 11.
ZHANG does not teach:
wherein the stator core is a segmented core.
TAN teaches:
wherein the stator core (Fig 13; 11)is a segmented core[0007](show in Fig 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ZHANG by using the segmented core taught by TAN in order to provide a cooling structure of a rotating electrical machine, with no degradation of cooling efficiency [abstract, 0007 TAN].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3-6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3: The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
TAN teaches:
a partition (Fig 4; 14a)
However, TAN does not teach:
the first partitioner has a width smaller than a width of the outer side of the stator unit. (The underlined is allowable subject matter.)
Claim 4 is objected solely due to being dependent on claim 3.
Regarding claim 5: The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
TAN teaches:
a partition (Fig 4; 14a)
However, TAN does not teach:
wherein the second partitioner has a width smaller than a width of the inner side of the stator unit. (The underlined is allowable subject matter.)
Claim 6 is objected solely due to being dependent on claim 5.
Claim 3-6 is objected to, and not rejected, because the limitation of the first and second partitions having different width lengths related to the inner and outer side of the structure, is too specific which makes it novel.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
/N.L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834