DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Withdrawn Rejections
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1, 3-5, 7-15 over Tsujino in view of Miyatake, is withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment filed on August 17, 2026.
New Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsujino (Clarivate Analytics English translation of JP-2007256501-A) in view of Miyatake (Clarivate Analytics English translation of JP-2011013684-A), as evidenced by Nagase (Denacol EX-810, datasheet, Nagase ChemteX Corporation).
Regarding claim 1, Tsujino teaches an adhesive composition for polarizing plates (4th para of page 4, adhesives 4-5, 3rd-4th paras of page 9) comprising: a polyvinyl alcohol-based resin (PVA-type resin, 3rd para of page 5, adhesives 4-5, 3rd-4th paras of page 9), a crosslinking agent comprising polyethyleneimine (4th para of page 4, adhesives 4-5, 3rd-4th paras of page 9) which has both a primary amine group (-NH2) and a secondary amine group (-NH) at terminals; and ethylene glycol diglycidyl ether which is an epoxy-based compound having an alkylene oxide group which is *-[-OR-]-* where R is a linear chain C2 alkylene group (Denacol EX810, 1st para of page 5, adhesives 4-5, 3rd-4th paras of page 9), and the ethylene glycol diglycidyl ether is more specifically in the form of poly(ethylene glycol) diglycidyl ether, as evidenced by Nagase.
Nagase teaches that the commercially named Denacol EX810 (EX-810, bottom of page 1) is ethylene glycol diglycidyl ether (chemical name, top of page 2) which is more specifically in the form of poly(ethylene glycol) diglycidyl ether, where the number of ethylene glycol units is at least 2, because it is based on poly(ethylene glycol) which is a polymer (aliphatic difunctional epoxies based on polyethylene glycol, performance attributes, 4th para of page 2).
Accordingly, the epoxy-based compound having an alkylene oxide group of Tsujino, comprises a compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 of Applicant where R1 of Applicant = R2 of Applicant = an epoxide group (diglycidyl ether), and R of Applicant is a linear chain C2 alkylene group (ethylene), where n of Applicant is an integer of at least 2, the ethylene glycol diglycidyl ether being in the form of poly(ethylene glycol) diglycidyl ether, which is a polymer, as evidenced by Nagase, as described above.
In addition, Tsujino teaches that in the crosslinking agent having a primary amine group and a secondary amine group at terminals (polyethyleneimine, 4th para of page 4 adhesives 4-5, 3rd-4th paras of page 9), the primary amine group and/or the secondary amine group react with a hydroxyl functional group of the polyvinyl alcohol-based resin (PVA resin, last para of page 4). Tsujino fails to teach that the polyvinyl alcohol-based resin comprises an acetoacetyl group-containing polyvinyl alcohol-based resin.
However, Miyatake teaches that in an adhesive composition for polarizing plates (polarizing plate has an adhesive layer, 4th last para of page 6), the polyvinyl alcohol-based resin comprises an acetoacetyl group-containing polyvinyl alcohol-based resin, for the purpose of providing the desired durability (polyvinyl alcohol resin containing an acetoacetyl group, 3rd last para of page 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have comprised an acetoacetyl group-containing polyvinyl alcohol-based resin, in the polyvinyl alcohol-based resin of the adhesive composition for polarizing plates of Tsujino, in order to obtain the desired durability, as taught by Miyatake.
Regarding claim 3, Tsujino teaches that the crosslinking agent (polyethyleneimine, adhesives 4-5, 3rd-4th paras of page 9) and the epoxy-based compound having an alkylene group (water-soluble polyepoxy compound (Denacol EX-810, adhesives 4-5, 3rd-4th paras of page 9) are comprising in a weight ratio of about 1:1 (100 parts of a 7 wt% polyethyleneimine aqueous solution: 100 parts of a 7 wt% aqueous solution of a water-soluble polyepoxy(Denacol EX-810, adhesives 4-5, 3rd-4th paras of page 9).
Regarding claim 7, Tsujino teaches that when a content of the polyvinyl alcohol-based resin is normalized to 100 parts by weight in the adhesive composition (500 PVA/5 = 100, 4th para of page 6), a content of the crosslinking agent having a primary amine group and a secondary amine group can be 20 parts by weight (100 polyalkyleneimine/5, 4th para of page 6) which is within the claimed range of about 0.1 to about 50 parts by weight, such that the epoxy-based compound having an alkylene oxide group can be 4 parts by weight (20 parts of a water-soluble polyepoxy compound … blended with 100 parts of polyethylene imine, 2nd last para of page 8) which is within the claimed range of about 1 parts by weight to about 100 parts by weight, for the purpose of providing the desired adhesive strength to a polarizer comprising a PVA resin (PVA polarizer, 3rd para of page 5).
Regarding claim 8, Tsujino teaches a polarizing plate comprising a polarizer and a first protective film layer stacked on a lower surface of the polarizer (on both sides of the PVA polarizer, 2nd para of page 3) and a first bonding layer bonding the polarizer to the first protective film layer (adhesive of present invention can be used to bond a protective film on both sides of a PVA polarizer, 2nd para of page 3), wherein the first bonding layer comprises a bonding layer formed of the adhesive composition for polarizing plates (adhesive of present invention, 2nd para of page 3). Tsujino fails to teach that a first liquid crystal retardation layer is stacked on a lower surface of the polarizer, with the first bonding layer bonding the polarizer to the first liquid crystal retardation layer.
However, Miyatake teaches that a first retardation layer can be stacked on a lower surface of the polarizer to also serve as a protective film layer (so as to serve also as a transparent protective film, 1st para of page 10), where the first retardation layer can be a first liquid crystal retardation layer (4th para of page 8, a discotic liquid crystal tilt alignment layer is preferable, 1st para of page 10). A support layer can be removed, for the purpose of reducing the thickness and weight of the polarizing plate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have stacked a first liquid crystal retardation layer on the lower surface of the polarizer, in the polarizing plate of Tsujino, in order to obtain the desired optical retardation function, as taught by Miyatake, and further, to have done so without a support layer in-between, the first bonding layer bonding the polarizer to the first liquid crystal retardation layer, in order to reduce the thickness and weight of the polarizing plate.
Regarding claim 9, Miyatake teaches that the first liquid crystal retardation layer can comprise a mesogenic ring-containing liquid crystal compound (substituted cyclic compound unit, 3rd last para of page 8) which is most commonly an aromatic ring-containing liquid crystal compound, for the purpose of providing the desired optical retardation.
Regarding claim 10, Miyatake teaches that the polarizing plate can further comprise a second retardation layer formed on a lower surface of the first liquid crystal retardation layer, for the purpose of providing the desired resultant optical retardation effect (retardation plate … may be composed of … more retardation layers, para of plage 19), where the second retardation layer can be a second liquid crystal retardation layer (4th para of page 8, a discotic liquid crystal tilt alignment layer is preferable, 1st para of page 10) attached by a second bonding layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have further formed a second liquid crystal retardation layer along with a second bonding layer on a lower surface of the first liquid crystal retardation layer, of the polarizing plate of Tsujino, as modified by Miyatake, in order to obtain the desired resultant optical retardation effect, as taught by Miyatake.
Regarding claim 11, Miyatake teaches that the second liquid crystal retardation layer can comprise a mesogenic ring-containing liquid crystal compound (substituted cyclic compound unit, 3rd last para of page 8) which is most commonly an aromatic ring-containing liquid crystal compound, for the purpose of providing the desired optical retardation.
Regarding claims 12-14, Tsujino, as modified by Miyatake, as evidenced by Nagase, teaches that the first bonding layer is formed of the adhesive composition for polarizing plates, as described above. Accordingly, the second bonding layer can also be formed of the adhesive composition for polarizing plates, comprising: a polyvinyl alcohol-based resin (PVA-type resin, 3rd para of page 5, Tsujino), a crosslinking agent comprising polyethyleneimine (4th para of page 4, Tsujino) which is an ethylene imine-based crosslinking agent which has both a primary amine group (-NH2) and a secondary amine group (-NH) at terminals; and poly(ethylene glycol) diglycidyl ether which is an epoxy-based compound having an alkylene oxide group (Denacol EX810, 1st para of page 5, adhesives 4-5, 3rd-4th paras of page 9,Tsujino) that comprises poly(ethylene glycol) diglycidyl ether, as evidenced by Nagase (EX-810, bottom of page 1; ethylene glycol diglycidyl ether, chemical name, top of page 2; aliphatic difunctional epoxies based on polyethylene glycol, performance attributes, 4th para of page 2), Nagase).
Regarding claim 15, Tsujino teaches an optical display device comprising the polarizing plate (liquid crystal display device, use of polarizing plate, 3rd last para of page 7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that flexural reliability is proper objective evidence of non-obviousness, and that while the feature is not recited in the claims, that does not preclude Applicant from relying on the feature as evidence of unexpected properties.
Applicant is respectfully apprised that the showing of unexpected results using comparative examples in the specification is not commensurate with the scope of the present claims.
Tsujino, as evidenced by Nagase, is the primary reference which teaches adhesives 4 and 5 for polarizing plates, which comprise the ethylene imine-based crosslinking agent, the epoxy-based compound having an alkylene oxide group represented by Chemical Formula 1 of Applicant, and the polyvinyl alcohol-based resin, as described above, with the exception that Tsujino is silent regarding an acetoacetyl group in the polyvinyl alcohol-based resin, as described above. Miyatake is the secondary reference which teaches that in adhesives for polarizing plates, the polyvinyl alcohol-based resin comprises an acetoacetyl group-containing polyvinyl alcohol-based resin, for the purpose of providing the desired durability, as described above, thus providing the motivation to modify the polyvinyl alcohol-based resin of the adhesives 4 and 5 for polarizing plates of Tsujino.
Applicant argues that the Nagase datasheet confirms that EX810 is ethylene glycol diglycidyl ether which is a compound with no repeating alkylene oxide units, such that in terms of Applicant’s Chemical Formula 1, EX810 corresponds to n = 1.
Applicant is respectfully apprised that on the contrary, Nagase actually teaches that the commercially named Denacol EX810 (EX-810, bottom of page 1) is ethylene glycol diglycidyl ether (chemical name, top of page 2) which is more specifically in the form of poly(ethylene glycol) diglycidyl ether, where the number of ethylene glycol units, n, is at least 2, because it is based on poly(ethylene glycol) which is a polymer (aliphatic difunctional epoxies based on polyethylene glycol, performance attributes, 4th para of page 2).
Accordingly, Tsujino, as evidenced by Nagase, teaches the commercially named Denacol EX810 which is ethylene glycol diglycidyl ether that is more specifically in the form of poly(ethylene glycol) diglycidyl ether, where the number of ethylene glycol units, n, is at least 2, because it is based on poly(ethylene glycol) which is a polymer.
Applicant argues that Miyatake lists polyethylene glycol diglycidyl ether generally as one possible epoxy crosslinker but does not suggest incorporating such a compound into Tsujino’ s PEI/EX810 adhesive system, nor does Miyatake recognize the claimed n ≥ 2 structure as providing improved flexural reliability.
Applicant is respectfully apprised that Tsujino, as evidenced by Nagase, is the primary reference which teaches adhesives 4 and 5 for polarizing plates, which comprise the ethylene imine-based crosslinking agent, the epoxy-based compound having an alkylene oxide group represented by Chemical Formula 1 of Applicant, and the polyvinyl alcohol-based resin, as described above, with the exception that Tsujino is silent regarding an acetoacetyl group in the polyvinyl alcohol-based resin, as described above.
Miyatake is the secondary reference which teaches that in adhesives for polarizing plates, the polyvinyl alcohol-based resin comprises an acetoacetyl group-containing polyvinyl alcohol-based resin, for the purpose of providing the desired durability, as described above, thus providing the motivation to modify the polyvinyl alcohol-based resin of the adhesives 4 and 5 for polarizing plates of Tsujino.
Applicant argues that Tsujino’s EX810 corresponds to n = 1, a compound with a single ethylene oxide unit and no repeat.
Applicant is respectfully apprised that on the contrary, Nagase actually teaches that the commercially named Denacol EX810 (EX-810, bottom of page 1) is ethylene glycol diglycidyl ether (chemical name, top of page 2) which is more specifically in the form of poly(ethylene glycol) diglycidyl ether, where the number of ethylene glycol units, n, is at least 2, because it is based on poly(ethylene glycol) which is a polymer (aliphatic difunctional epoxies based on polyethylene glycol, performance attributes, 4th para of page 2).
Accordingly, Tsujino, as evidenced by Nagase, teaches the commercially named Denacol EX810 which is ethylene glycol diglycidyl ether that is more specifically in the form of poly(ethylene glycol) diglycidyl ether, where the number of ethylene glycol units, n, is at least 2, because it is based on poly(ethylene glycol) which is a polymer.
Applicant argues that the selected subgenus of n ≥ 2 polyalkylene glycol diglycidyl ethers achieve unexpected properties, specifically superior high-temperature/high-humidity bending durability under severe conditions as demonstrated by the working examples [in the specification] in the context of the claimed synergistic combination.
Applicant is respectfully apprised that Table 2 of Applicant’s specification ([187]) shows no difference between Example 1 which contains the poly(ethylene glycol) diglycidyl ether (E [176], Example 1 of Table 1 [169], n ≥ 2), and Example 2 which contains the ethylene glycol diglycidyl ether (F [177], Example 2 of Table 1 [169], n = 1), since both show the desired combination of excellent high-temperature/high-humidity bending durability, flexural durability and durability of adhesive lamination of a liquid crystal retardation layer adhered by the adhesive composition to the polarizer.
Accordingly, Applicant is respectfully apprised that other features of the adhesive composition, as yet not recited in the present claims, may be essential to provide a better distinction between n ≥ 2 and n = 1. Accordingly, it appears that the current showing of unexpectedly superior results using comparative examples in the specification does not support a small but distinguishable difference, let alone a significant difference in the desired combination of excellent high-temperature/high-humidity bending durability, flexural durability and durability of adhesive lamination of a liquid crystal retardation layer adhered by the adhesive composition to the polarizer, between n ≥ 2 and n = 1.
/Sophie Hon/
Sow-Fun Hon
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782