DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/8/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive to the extent they apply to the current rejection. Applicant argues that the newly added limitations are not disclosed in the previously cited references, but these limitations are addressed by the newly added reference.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the source of solvent/binder/other material must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The examiner was unable to locate any disclosure regarding a source of the organic binder/solvent/other material within the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-16, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu (CN 106426649) in view of Mark (US 2014/0291886) and Chu (CN 107523022).
As to claims 12 and 18, An apparatus for the production of items of clothing, comprising - at least one shredder (11, 12) of a type chosen from blade crushers ; at least one pulverizer that is an impact mill (4, 7), for fine pulverization of the milled material that originates from said at least one shredder [Fig 1]; at least one mixer (1) for mixing powder that originates from said at least one pulverizer (the extruder would mix the powder and is equipped with a screw the threading of which is sometimes referred to as a spiral blade) [Fig 1].
While Fu does not explicitly state mixing with at least one other substance chosen from a solvent, polyethylene glycol, a polyether and organic binders, this would just be a material worked upon by the apparatus and not a structural feature of the apparatus itself. The article worked upon does not limit apparatus claims, see MPEP 2115. Additionally, the manner of operating a device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, see MPEP 2114 II.
Fu teaches a mixer but does not teach a source of PEG or other organic binders.
Chu teaches a method of 3D printing clothing wherein PEG, PBT (which would count as an organic binder) are added from a source to the mixer in order to impart softness to the end clothing product that is “ soft, fluffy, and breathable” [0009-0014, 0022, 0028-0033, 0035]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Fu and utilized a source of PEG or organic binder, as suggested by Chi, in order to achieve a printed clothing product that was “soft, fluffy, and breathable”.
Fu teaches a fiber/filament mixture collected by a winder [final paragraph] but does not teach at least one extruder of said mixture, which is arranged on a movement unit with at least two axes for deposition of layers of said mixture on a predefined surface.
Mark teaches an apparatus for 3D printing [abstract] wherein the extruder system is operated by a robotic arm which would have multiple degrees of freedom and be capable of depositing onto a 3D surface in order to precisely place the material to produce a part [0143, Fig 1, 2]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Fu and had the filament produced by Fu be provided to least one extruder of said mixture, which is arranged on a movement unit with multiple degrees of freedom for deposition of layers of said mixture on a complex surface, as suggested by Mark, in order to allow for precise 3D printing.
The step of consequent provision of at least one portion of an item of clothing according to a method of the type of additive manufacturing is an intended use of the apparatus and not a structural limitation of the device. The manner of operating a device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, see MPEP 2114 II.
As to claim 13, Fu teaches the least one pulverizer is associated with a refrigeration unit (5, 15) in order to keep said at least one pulverizer [claim 2, Fig 1].
The process temperature is a process parameter of the apparatus and so the specific temperature of -50 C is an intended use of the apparatus. The manner of operating a device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, see MPEP 2114 II.
As to claim 14, Fu teaches refrigeration unit comprises a circuit (5) for recirculation of liquid nitrogen along said at least one pulverizer [claim 2, Fig 1]. ,
The process temperature is a process parameter of the apparatus and so the specific temperature of -150 C is an intended use of the apparatus. The manner of operating a device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, see MPEP 2114 II.
As to claims 15 and 16, Fu teaches the shredder and pulverizer as discussed above.
The examiner notes the phrase “adapted to” renders the subsequent recitation of a desired outcome as non limiting, see MPEP 2111.04. However, the examiner notes that these limitations also fail add additional limitation on structure of the device for the following reasons.
Absent evidence to the contrary the blade crusher of the shredder would be capable to crush to crush material chosen from fabrics, hides. Furthermore, The article worked upon (fabric hides) does not limit apparatus claims, see MPEP 2115.
As to the particular particle and granulate sizes recited, these would be dependent on process parameters at which the apparatus was operated. The manner of operating a device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, see MPEP 2114 II.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu (CN 106426649) in view of Mark (US 2014/0291886) and Chu (CN 107523022), as applied to claims 12-16, 18 above, and in further view of Zhang (CN 106891518).
As to claim 17, Fu does not explicitly state wherein said at least one mixer is controlled by a respective control unit that is adapted to define a rule of motion for rotations of a shaft that supports mixing blades of said mixer, said rule of motion comprising at least one first time interval with mixing rotations at least one first speed and at least one second time interval with mixing rotations at least one second speed, in order to eliminate any foams and to reduce air emulsified within the mixture.
Zhang teaches a mixer for making a filament to be used in 3D printing process [Paragraph beginning with “the device of the invention realizes”] a controller controls the speed of the shaft to the mixer and would comprise the ability to define at least two speeds: the stirring speed and an inactive at rest state ie “off” [Page 7, Fig 2]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Fu and utilized a controller for the rotations of the shaft that supports the mixing blades of the mixer to have at least 2 speed settings, as suggested by Zhang, in order to realize a “high precision” filament that can be used I FDM 3D printing.
The examiner notes the phrase “adapted to” renders the subsequent recitation of a desired outcome as non limiting, see MPEP 2111.04. As to the recitations “in order to eliminate any foams and to reduce air emulsified within the mixture” these would be dependent on process parameters at which the apparatus was operated and is merely a desired outcome but not particular structural limitation. The manner of operating a device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, see MPEP 2114 II.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARMAND MELENDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759