DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s preliminary amendments filed 4/27/2023 have been entered.
Claims 1-10 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because there is no active method steps recited in the claims. And the claims do not belong to any one of the four categories to be patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 8 respectively recite the limitation "Vitamin B2, Vitamin B3, Vitamin B5, Vitamin B6 and Vitamin B9 ("Vitamin Mix")" in line 2 and 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The examiner will favorably consider the adding the phrase “further comprising” in the claims.
Claims 6-10 are rejected because there is no active method steps recited and therefore, the metes and bounds of the claims cannot be ascertained.
For compact prosecution, the use claims will be treated as if the claims are directed to the method of using the herein claimed actives for treating the symptoms of microbial dysbiosis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2016/172658 (‘658) in view of WO2020/043797 (‘797). ‘797 is reference of record in IDS filed 4/27/2023.
‘658 teaches a method of balancing and treating microbial dysbiosis in the GI tract by using microbiome regulators comprising micronutrients (see the abstract; page 22, last paragraph). The micronutrients are intended to be released substantially in the gastrointestinal tract (e.g., the stomach, small intestine and large intestine) (see page 1, last paragraph). ‘658 teaches the micronutrients can comprise various vitamins including vitamin C, vitamin B1, B2, B3, B5, B6, B7, and B9 (see page 62, last paragraph). One of the conditions is treated with the microbiome regulator of ‘658 is antibiotic-associated diarrhea.(see page 23, line 6).
‘658 does not teach the administration of the vitamin composition resulting in the effects recited in claims 5 and 10.
‘797 teaches a method of improving gut health by administering a composition to the colon and such composition comprising “active ingredients include of riboflavin, vitamin A, vitamin C, vitamin D, vitamin E, vitamin K, folic acid, β-carotene, vitamin B1, niacin, vitamin B5, vitamin B6, biotin, vitamin B12, omega−3 fatty acids and combinations thereof. Benefits include increased concentration of at least one short-chain fatty acid its salt thereof in the intestine… and reduced redox potential of the gut,” See the abstract.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to employ the micronutrients to the colon in the method of treating GI microbial dysbiosis.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the micronutrients to the colon in the method of treating GI microbial dysbiosis since it is well-known in the art that the micronutrients such as vitamin C and B complex as useful to produce the herein claimed effect. Employing the vitamin composition directly to the colon would be reasonably expected to be effective in balancing the microbial environment and treating the dysbiosis.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/250.377 (‘377) (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘377 teaches the use of the same composition to reduce the pathogens in the gut (see claim 1-3). ‘377 does not expressly teach the treating of microbial dysbiosis. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to employ the herein claimed vitamin composition to reduce the pathogenic bacteria, thereby treating microbial dysbiosis in the gut.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
/SAN MING R HUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627