Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Remarks
This Office Action fully acknowledges Applicant’s remarks filed on 08/28/2026. Claims 16-30 are pending. Claims 16 and 19-21 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 16-18, 22-24 and 26-30 are ejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 3,419,722 to Meikle in view of U.S. Patent No. 3,580,686 to Coulter, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0382026 to Narula and U.S. Patent No. 4,787,744 to Hissung.
Regarding applicant’s claim 16, Meikle teaches a photometer arrangement in which a sample to be tested is supplied into cuvette 4 so that light from light source 13 passes through the sample and received by light receiver 14.
In Meikle the sample is drained from the bottom of cuvette 14 by a drain line 6 as shown in the sole figure.
Meike does not explicitly teach a drain.
Coulter teaches a system for absorbance measurements of samples that includes a cuvette 14 that is provided with a drain 26 at the bottom of the cuvette as shown in Fig. 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify Meikle to include a drain in the bottom of cuvette 4 as taught by Coulter for draining sample from the cuvette.
In Meikle in view of Coulter the opposite sides of the cuvette through which the light passes are interpreted as being windows. Otherwise, it would have been obvious to position separate windows on opposite sides of the cuvette.
In Meikle in view of Coulter the light path would not be parallel to the sample inlet opening and the sample outlet opening.
Meikle in view of Coulter does not teach that the cuvette is movably supported by a cuvette body support element that is provided with a cuvette vibration device for vibrating the cuvette to thereby homogenously mix a liquid sample volume within the cuvette cavity. (Abstract)
Narula teaches cuvettes used together with photodetectors [0071] and mixing of the contents of cuvettes with vibrators. [0125]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify Meikle in view of Coulter to include a holder for the cuvette that is configured for vibrating the cuvette as taught by Narula for purposes of mixing the contents of the cuvette.
Meikle in view of Coulter and Narula does not teach that the cuvette body defines at least one inclined interior side wall being inclined with an inclination angle of between 15° and 75° with respect to a vertical axis, wherein the vertical axis is perpendicular to a horizontal axis defined by the length of the cuvette body, and wherein no movable mixing body is provided within the cuvette cavity.
Hissung teaches a cuvette that, as shown in Figs. 1 and 2 has opposed side walls that are inclined at an angle between 15° and 75° with respect to a vertical axis (as drawn). The shape of the cuvettes is for purposes of ensuring that the cuvettes are always received by the cell holder only in one and the same sequence. (“Summary of the Invention”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify Meikle in view of Coulter and Narula to provide the cuvette with a shape as taught by Hissung for purposes of ensuring that the cuvette is received in a holder so that the light passes through the desired sides of the cuvette.
II.) Regarding applicant’s claim 17, as noted above, Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung renders claim 16 obvious from which claim 17 depends.
Claim 17 recites that the cuvette vibration device generates a cuvette vibration frequency of 1 to 500 Hz.
Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung do not teach that the cuvette vibration device generates a cuvette vibration frequency of 1 to 500 Hz.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to conduct routine engineering optimization experimentation to determine a suitable frequency at which to vibrate the cuvette in Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung based on the dimensions of the cuvette and the type of sample to be tested, including at a vibration frequency in the range of 1 to 500 Hz.
Therefore, Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung renders claim 17 obvious.
III.) Regarding applicant’s claim 18, as noted above, Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung renders claim 16 obvious from which claim 18 depends.
Claim 18 recites that the cuvette vibration device generates a linear cuvette vibration, with a nominal vibration amplitude of 0.1 to 5.0 mm.
Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung do not teach that the cuvette vibration device generates a linear cuvette vibration, with a nominal vibration amplitude of 0.1 to 5.0 mm
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to conduct routine engineering optimization experimentation to use linear vibration and determine a suitable nominal vibration amplitude at which to vibrate the cuvette in Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung based on the dimensions of the cuvette and the type of sample to be tested, including at a nominal vibration amplitude in the range of 0.1 to 5.0 mm.
Therefore, Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung renders claim 18 obvious.
IV.) Regarding applicant’s claim 22, as noted above Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung renders claim 16 obvious from which claim 22 depends.
Claim 22 recites that the cuvette cavity is fluidically closed.
The cuvette in Meikle is fluidically closed as show in the sole figure.
Therefore, Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung renders claim 22 obvious.
V.) Regarding applicant’s claim 23, as noted above, Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung renders claim 16 obvious from which claim 23 depends.
Claim 23 recites that the sample inlet opening and the sample outlet opening are defined by one single combined inlet and outlet opening.
Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung does not teach that sample inlet opening and the sample outlet opening are defined by one single combined inlet and outlet opening.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior at applicant’s effective filing date to modify Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung to provides the sample inlet opening and the sample outlet opening as a single combined inlet and outlet opening as a matter of engineering design choice since it has been held that making separate parts integral is obvious. (MPEP2144.04(V)(B)).
Therefore, Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung renders claim 23 obvious.
VI.) Regarding applicant’s claim 24, as noted above Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung renders claim 16 obvious from which claim 24 depends.
Claim 24 recites that the cuvette body is provided with a venting opening for providing an air cushion above the sample volume in the cuvette cavity during the cuvette vibration caused by the vibration device.
Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung does not teach that the cuvette body is provided with a venting opening for providing an air cushion above the sample volume in the cuvette cavity during the cuvette vibration caused by the vibration device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung by proving a venting opening on the cuvette for purposes of providing for air release when filling the cuvette with sample liquids to prevent airlock.
Therefore, Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung renders claim 24 obvious.
VII.) Regarding applicant’s claim 26, as noted above Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung renders claim 16 obvious from which claim 26 depends.
Claim 26 recites that the cuvette body is provided with a reagent inlet opening for directly applying a liquid reagent into the cuvette cavity.
Coulter teaches that reagents can be added into the cuvette. (column 3, lines 45-50)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung to include a reagent inlet for adding reagents into the cuvette as taught by Coulter. Alternatively, the sample inlet in Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung could be used to supply a reagent into the cuvette.
Therefore, Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung renders claim 26 obvious.
VIII.) Regarding applicant’s claim 27, as noted above Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung renders claim 16 obvious from which claim 27 depends
Claim 27 recites that the cuvette body is provided with a flushing liquid opening.
Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung does not teach that the cuvette is provided with a flushing liquid opening.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to applicant’s effective filing date to modify Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung to include a flushing liquid opening for purposes of flushing/cleaning the cuvette after use. Alternatively, the sample inlet in Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung could be used to supply a flushing liquid to clean the cuvette.
Therefore, Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung renders claim 27 obvious.
IX.) Regarding applicant’s claim 28, as noted above Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung renders claim 16 obvious from which claim 28 depends.
Claim 28 recites that the cuvette cavity has a total volume of less than 0.5 ml.
Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung does not teach the volumes of the cuvette.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to provide Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung with a cuvette of any suitable volume including a volume of less than 0.5 ml. Note, changes in size are not patentable if the change in size would not perform differently. (MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)).
Therefore, Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung renders claim 28 obvious.
X.) Regarding applicant’s claim 29, as noted above Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung renders claim 16 obvious from which claim 29 depends
Claim 29 recites that the photometer light inlet window and the photometer light outlet window are provided at sidewalls of the cuvette cavity.
Light passes through the opposite sides of the cuvette in Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung which opposite sides are interpreted as being photometer light inlet and outlet windows.
Therefore, Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung renders claim 29 obvious.
XI.) Regarding applicant’s claim 30, as noted above Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung renders claim 16 obvious from which claim 30 depends.
Claim 30 recites a control unit with a sample filling level control unit being connected to a photometer unit for controlling the liquid sample filling level within the cuvette cavity.
Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung does not teach a control unit with a sample filling level control unit being connected to a photometer unit for controlling the liquid sample filling level within the cuvette cavity.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to provide Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung with a control unit with a sample filling level control unit being connected to a photometer unit for controlling the liquid sample filling level within the cuvette cavity, for purposes of preventing insufficient and/or overfilling of the wells.
Therefore, Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung renders claim 30 obvious.
2. Claim 25 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung as applied to claim 16 above and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2001/0030906 to Friedman.
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 25, as noted above Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung renders claim 16 obvious from which claim 25 depends.
Claim 25 recites that the cuvette vibration device is provided with an electromagnet which is driven by a frequency generator.
Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung does not teach that the cuvette vibration device is provided with an electromagnet which is driven by a frequency generator.
Friedman teaches an electromagnetic vibratory microplate shaker. (Title)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula and Hissung to use a vibration device that is provided with an electromagnet which is driven by a frequency generator as taught by Friedman et al. as a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Therefore, Meikle in view of Coulter, Narula, Hissung and Friedman renders claim 25 obvious.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record does not teach or suggest a cuvette body that defines two opposite parallel vertical interior sidewalls and two opposite inclined interior side walls both being inclined to define a V- shaped funnel between the vertical interior sidewalls, wherein the liquid outlet opening is provided at the bottom of the V-shaped funnel as recited in claim 19. Claim 20 is dependent on claim 19.
The prior art or record does not teach or suggest a vibration device that is a linear horizontal vibration device, wherein the linear horizontal vibration axis substantially lies in a V-plane defined by the inclined interior side walls and is parallel to the vertical interior sidewalls as recited in claim 21.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-18 and 22-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection that relies upon Narula, Hissung as necessitated by applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
/M.S.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798