Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, 12-15, 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramappa et al (US 2019/0132792) (hereinafter Ramappa) in view of Messenger et al (US 2018/0054720) (hereinafter Messenger).
Regarding claim 1, Ramappa discloses a method, applied to a first terminal device (see Fig. 2, e.g., portable device 101), wherein the first terminal device and a second terminal device (see Fig. 2, e.g., wireless audio device 201) are bound with a one-number- multi-terminal service (see Ramappa, p. [0002], e.g., portable device can be a smartphone and wireless audio device a wearable), and the method comprises: when a condition for power saving is satisfied (see Ramappa, p. [0030-0031], e.g., display status changed reduces the number of notifications and saves battery consumption), performing a power-off operation on a baseband module and an application processor (AP) core of the first terminal device (see Ramappa, p. [0022], e.g., An aspect of reducing battery power consumption may be an architecture in which the audio frames encoding responsibility is shifted from main host processor to a co-processor, host processor put into a sleep state), and controlling a Bluetooth module of the first terminal device to be in a power-on state (see Ramappa, p. [0020], [0022] and [0032], e.g., the lower power BT controller 109 performs the offloaded event handling for the predetermined period the functions of the host processor, which is set to sleep state are offloaded to the Bluetooth controller which is in an ON state).
However, Ramappa does not expressly disclose wherein the first terminal device and the second terminal device use a same cellular phone number but different international mobile subscriber identification numbers (IMSIs).
Messenger discloses the above recited limitations. In particular, Messenger discloses wherein the first terminal device and the second terminal device use a same cellular phone number (see Messenger, p. [0003], e.g., A group of mobile phones can each be associated with a different personal phone number, and can also be associated with a common shared phone number, and p. [0079-0080] but different international mobile subscriber identification numbers (IMSIs) (see Messenger, p. [002], e.g., mobile devices are usually associated with one ID (e.g., a Subscriber Identity Module (SIM), an International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI), an Electronic Serial Number (ESN), and the like), and are typically associated with one phone number).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Messenger’s teachings into Ramappa. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide communication services to one or more of the users that are complementary to the communication services provided by the service providers of the users as suggested by Messenger.
Regarding claim 2, the combined teaching of Ramappa and Messenger disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein performing the power-off operation on the baseband module and the AP core of the first terminal device comprises: controlling the first terminal device to power off a main processor of the first terminal device, wherein the AP core is integrated into the main processor, the Bluetooth module is connected to a coprocessor of the first terminal device, the coprocessor is configured to control the Bluetooth module to communicate with the second terminal device, the coprocessor is connected to the main processor (see Ramappa, p. [0020], [0022] and [0032], e.g., the lower power BT controller 109 performs the offloaded event handling for the predetermined period, host processor put into a sleep state), and the coprocessor and the main processor run different operating systems (see Ramappa, p. [0022], e.g., An aspect of reducing battery power consumption may be an architecture in which the audio frames encoding responsibility is shifted from main host processor to a co-processor); or controlling the first terminal device to power off a main processor of the first terminal device when it is determined that the condition for power saving is satisfied, wherein the AP core, the baseband module, and the Bluetooth module are integrated into the main processor, the Bluetooth module is configured to respond to a wake-up message from the second terminal device, and the wake-up message indicates a task for waking up the baseband module and/or the AP core.
Regarding claim 3, the combined teaching of Ramappa and Messenger disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the condition for power saving comprises at least one of the following conditions:
it is determined that a user using the first terminal device and the second terminal device falls asleep; the first terminal device or the second terminal device is in a profile mode, a manner mode, a do-not-disturb mode, or a conference mode; first scenario information of the first terminal device or the second terminal device satisfies a preset condition, wherein the first scenario information comprises at least one of information about a location of a scenario or information about a time for power saving; the first terminal device or the second terminal device is in a preset power-saving time period; the first terminal device or the second terminal device is in a power-saving mode (see Ramappa, p. [0030-0031], e.g., The new event may be initiated by the portable device 101 as a request to monitor status of the display 211, and e.g., the target TG sends a Registration Notification “DISPLAY_STATUS_CHANGED” 411 to controller CT which invokes an Interim Response 413, and The controller CT will notify the target TG of the change in display status by a Changed Response notification message 415); or first power-saving instruction information from the second terminal device is received, wherein the first power-saving instruction information instructs the first terminal device to perform a power-off operation
Regarding claim 4, the combined teaching of Ramappa and Messenger disclose the method according to claim 3, further comprising; obtaining first configuration information from the second terminal device, wherein the first configuration information is used to determine whether the first terminal device satisfies the condition for power saving (see Ramappa, p. [0030-0031]), and the first configuration information indicates at least one of the first scenario information of the second terminal device, the preset power-saving time period for the second terminal device, or whether the second terminal device is currently in the power-saving mode (see Ramappa, p. [0030-0031], e.g., the remote display 211 is off, the display mode can be a power-saving mode).
Regarding claim 5, the combined teaching of Ramappa and Messenger disclose the method according to claim 1, further comprising: when the condition for power saving is not satisfied (see Ramappa, Fig. 5, e.g., event 503), performing a power-on operation on the baseband module and the AP core of the first terminal device (see Ramappa, p. [0032], e.g., the lower power BT controller 109 performs the offloaded event handling for the predetermined period. The host processor may be waked after completion of the predetermined period).
Regarding claim 6, the combined teaching of Ramappa and Messenger disclose the method according to claim 5, wherein performing the power-on operation on the baseband module and the AP core of the first terminal device comprises: controlling, based on the coprocessor, a power management module of the main processor to power on the main processor again (see Ramappa, p. [0032], e.g., the lower power BT controller 109 performs the offloaded event handling for the predetermined period. The host processor may be waked after completion of the predetermined period).
Regarding claim 7, the combined teaching of Ramappa and Messenger disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein before performing the power-off operation on the baseband module and the
Regarding claim 9, the combined teaching of Ramappa and Messenger disclose the method according to claim 7, wherein that the first terminal device determines the device that needs to save power in the first terminal device and the second terminal device is the first terminal device or is the second terminal device (see Ramappa, p. [0030-0031]) comprises: obtaining a performance parameter of the second terminal device, wherein the performance parameter indicates a performance indicator of the second terminal device; and comparing a performance indicator of the first terminal device with the performance indicator of the second terminal device, and determining that a terminal device corresponding to a lower performance indicator is the device that needs to save power (see Ramappa, p.[0038], e.g., the status of display 211 is off, the controller CT will not initiate another handshake. Without any further handshakes requesting notification by the target, the host processor of the target TG may remain in a sleep state, and not be waked up by a request notification from the controller CT).
Regarding claim 12, Ramappa discloses a method, applied to a second terminal device (see Fig. 2, e.g., wireless audio device 201), wherein the second terminal device and a first terminal device (see Fig. 2, e.g., portable device 101) are bound with a one-number- multi-terminal service, and the method comprises:
receiving first indication information from the first terminal device, wherein the first indication information indicates that the second terminal device satisfies a condition for power saving (see Ramappa, p. [0030-0031], e.g., display status changed reduces the number of notifications and saves battery consumption); and performing a power-off operation on a baseband module and an application processor (AP) core of the second terminal device see Ramappa, p. [0022], e.g., An aspect of reducing battery power consumption may be an architecture in which the audio frames encoding responsibility is shifted from main host processor to a co-processor, host processor put into a sleep state),and controlling a Bluetooth module of the second terminal device to be in a power-on state (see Ramappa, p. [0020], [0022] and [0032], e.g., the lower power BT controller 109 performs the offloaded event handling for the predetermined period, the functions of the host processor, which is set to sleep state are offloaded to the Bluetooth controller which is in an ON state).
However, Ramappa does not expressly disclose wherein the first terminal device and the second terminal device use a same cellular phone number but different international mobile subscriber identification numbers (IMSIs).
Messenger discloses the above recited limitations. In particular, Messenger discloses wherein the first terminal device and the second terminal device use a same cellular phone number (see Messenger, p. [0003], e.g., A group of mobile phones can each be associated with a different personal phone number, and can also be associated with a common shared phone number, and p. [0079-0080] but different international mobile subscriber identification numbers (IMSIs) (see Messenger, p. [002], e.g., mobile devices are usually associated with one ID (e.g., a Subscriber Identity Module (SIM), an International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI), an Electronic Serial Number (ESN), and the like), and are typically associated with one phone number).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Messenger’s teachings into Ramappa. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide communication services to one or more of the users that are complementary to the communication services provided by the service providers of the users as suggested by Messenger.
Regarding claim 13, the combined teaching of Ramappa and Messenger disclose the method according to claim 12, wherein performing the power-off operation on the baseband module and the AP core of the second terminal device comprises: controlling the second terminal device to power off a main processor of the second terminal device, wherein the AP core is integrated into the main processor, the Bluetooth module is connected to a coprocessor of the second terminal device, the coprocessor is configured to control the Bluetooth module to communicate with the first terminal device, the coprocessor is connected to the main processor (see Ramappa, p. [0020], [0022] and [0032], e.g., the lower power BT controller 109 performs the offloaded event handling for the predetermined period, host processor put into a sleep state), and the coprocessor and the main processor run different operating systems (see Ramappa, p. [0022], e.g., An aspect of reducing battery power consumption may be an architecture in which the audio frames encoding responsibility is shifted from main host processor to a co-processor); or controlling to power off a main processor of the second terminal device, wherein the AP core, the baseband module, and the Bluetooth module are integrated into the main processor, the Bluetooth module is configured to respond to a wake-up message from the first terminal device, and the wake-up message indicates a task for waking up the baseband module and/or the AP core.
Regarding claim 14, the combined teaching of Ramappa and Messenger disclose the method according to claim 12 further comprising: receiving second indication information from the first terminal device, wherein the second indication information indicates that the second terminal device does not satisfy the condition for power saving; and performing a power-on operation on the baseband module and the AP core of the second terminal device (see Ramappa, p. [0032], e.g., the lower power BT controller 109 performs the offloaded event handling for the predetermined period. The host processor may be waked after completion of the predetermined period).
Regarding claim 15, the combined teaching of Ramappa and Messenger disclose the method according to any one of claim 12,wherein the condition for power saving comprises at least one of the following conditions: it is determined that a user using the first terminal device and the second terminal device falls asleep; the first terminal device or the second terminal device is in a profile mode, a manner mode, a do-not-disturb mode, or a conference mode; first scenario information of the first terminal device or the second terminal device satisfies a preset condition, wherein the first scenario information comprises at least one of information about a location of a scenario or information about a time for power saving (see Ramappa, p. [0030-0031], e.g., The new event may be initiated by the portable device 101 as a request to monitor status of the display 211, and e.g., the target TG sends a Registration Notification “DISPLAY_STATUS_CHANGED” 411 to controller CT which invokes an Interim Response 413, and The controller CT will notify the target TG of the change in display status by a Changed Response notification message 415); the first terminal device or the second terminal device is in a preset power-saving time period; or the first terminal device or the second terminal device is in a power-saving mode.
16.-18. (Cancelled)
Regarding claim 19, Ramappa discloses an electronic device (see Fig. 2, e.g., portable device 101), comprising one or more processors and one or more memories; wherein the one or more memories are coupled to the one or more processors, the one or more memories are configured to store computer program code, the computer program code comprises computer instructions, and when the one or more processors execute the computer instructions, the electronic device is caused to: when a condition for power saving is satisfied (see Ramappa, p. [0030-0031], e.g., display status changed reduces the number of notifications and saves battery consumption), performing a power-off operation on a baseband module and an application processor (AP) core of a first terminal device (see Ramappa, p. [0022], e.g., An aspect of reducing battery power consumption may be an architecture in which the audio frames encoding responsibility is shifted from main host processor to a co-processor, host processor put into a sleep state), and controlling a Bluetooth module of the first terminal device to be in a power-on state, wherein the first terminal device and a second terminal device are bound with a one-number-multi-terminal service, and the electronic device is applied to the first terminal device (see Ramappa, p. [0020], [0022] and [0032], e.g., the lower power BT controller 109 performs the offloaded event handling for the predetermined period, the functions of the host processor, which is set to sleep state are offloaded to the Bluetooth controller which is in an ON state).
However, Ramappa does not expressly disclose the first terminal device and the second terminal device use a same cellular phone number but different international mobile subscriber identification numbers (IMSIs).
Messenger discloses the above recited limitations. In particular, Messenger discloses the first terminal device and the second terminal device use a same cellular phone number (see Messenger, p. [0003], e.g., A group of mobile phones can each be associated with a different personal phone number, and can also be associated with a common shared phone number, and p. [0079-0080] but different international mobile subscriber identification numbers (IMSIs) (see Messenger, p. [002], e.g., mobile devices are usually associated with one ID (e.g., a Subscriber Identity Module (SIM), an International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI), an Electronic Serial Number (ESN), and the like), and are typically associated with one phone number).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Messenger’s teachings into Ramappa. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide communication services to one or more of the users that are complementary to the communication services provided by the service providers of the users as suggested by Messenger.
Regarding claim 20, the combined teaching of Ramappa and Messenger disclose the electronic device according to claim 19, wherein performing the power-off operation on the baseband module and the AP core of the first terminal device comprises: controlling the first terminal device to power off a main processor of the first terminal device, wherein the AP core is integrated into the main processor (see Ramappa, p. [0020], [0022] and [0032], e.g., the lower power BT controller 109 performs the offloaded event handling for the predetermined period, host processor put into a sleep state), the Bluetooth module is connected to a coprocessor of the first terminal device, the coprocessor is configured to control the Bluetooth module to communicate with the second terminal device, the coprocessor is connected to the main processor, and the coprocessor and the main processor run different operating systems (see Ramappa, p. [0022], e.g., An aspect of reducing battery power consumption may be an architecture in which the audio frames encoding responsibility is shifted from main host processor to a co-processor); or controlling the first terminal device to power off a main processor of the first terminal device when it is determined that the condition for power saving is satisfied, wherein the AP core, the baseband module, and the Bluetooth module are integrated into the main processor, the Bluetooth module is configured to respond to a wake-up message from the second terminal device, and the wake-up message indicates a task for waking up the baseband module and/or the AP core.
Regarding claim 21, the combined teaching of Ramappa and Messenger disclose the electronic device according to claim 19, wherein the condition for power saving comprises at least one of the following conditions: it is determined that a user using the first terminal device and the second terminal device falls asleep; the first terminal device or the second terminal device is in a profile mode, a manner mode, a do-not-disturb mode, or a conference mode; first scenario information of the first terminal device or the second terminal device satisfies a preset condition, wherein the first scenario information comprises at least one of information about a location of a scenario or information about a time for power saving; the first terminal device or the second terminal device is in a preset power-saving time period; the first terminal device or the second terminal device is in a power-saving mode (see Ramappa, p. [0030-0031], e.g., The new event may be initiated by the portable device 101 as a request to monitor status of the display 211, and e.g., the target TG sends a Registration Notification “DISPLAY_STATUS_CHANGED” 411 to controller CT which invokes an Interim Response 413, and The controller CT will notify the target TG of the change in display status by a Changed Response notification message 415); or first power-saving instruction information from the second terminal device is received, wherein the first power-saving instruction information instructs the first terminal device to perform a power-off operation.
Regarding claim 22, the combined teaching of Ramappa and Messenger disclose the electronic device according to claim 21, further comprising: obtaining first configuration information from the second terminal device, wherein the first configuration information is used to determine whether the first terminal device satisfies the condition for power saving (see Ramappa, p. [0030-0031]), and the first configuration information indicates at least one of the first scenario information of the second terminal device, the preset power-saving time period for the second terminal device, or whether the second terminal device is currently in the power-saving mode (see Ramappa, p. [0030-0031], e.g., the remote display 211 is off, the display mode can be a power-saving mode).
Regarding claim 23, the combined teaching of Ramappa and Messenger disclose the electronic device according to claim 19, wherein when the one or more processors execute the computer instructions, the electronic device is caused to: when the condition for power saving is not satisfied (see Ramappa, Fig. 5, e.g., event 503), performing a power-on operation on the baseband module and the AP core of the first terminal device (see Ramappa, p. [0032], e.g., the lower power BT controller 109 performs the offloaded event handling for the predetermined period. The host processor may be waked after completion of the predetermined period).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined teaching of Ramappa and Messenger in view of Ingale et al (US 2016/0150350) (hereinafter Ingale).
Regarding claim 8, the combined teaching of Ramappa and Messenger do not expressly disclose the method according to claim 7, wherein that the first terminal device determines the device that needs to save power in the first terminal device and the second terminal device is the first terminal device or is the second terminal device comprises: determining information about a target battery level of the second terminal device, wherein the information about the target battery level indicates that a remaining battery level of the second terminal device is a first battery level; and comparing a current battery level of the first terminal device with the first battery level, and determining that a terminal device corresponding to a lower battery level in the current battery level and the first battery level is the device that needs to save power.
Ingale discloses the above recited limitations (see Ingale, p. [0133], e.g., If the wearable 600 detects that the battery level of the connected smart device reaches lower than the preconfigured level, then wearable automatically scans for any other smart devices in the vicinity with a better battery level than the current paired smart device. If there is/are other smart device/s with better battery level discovered by the wearable 600, then at least one of the following is performed. The proximity connectivity interface such as Bluetooth pairing functionality is triggered to check if there are other smart devices in vicinity based on the list in the association context. If other smart device from list is detected then the battery level of the smart devices with respect to all detected devices is estimated and compared. The wearable 600 disassociates with currently paired device and associates with the smart device having the highest battery level).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Indale’s teachings into the combined teaching of Ramappa and Messenger. The suggestion/motivation would have been to perform signal strength measurement with the paired smart device and also account for the battery power level of the smart device.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined teaching of Ramappa, Messenger and Ingale as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Kim et al (US 2017/0094048) (hereinafter Kim)
Regarding claim 10, the combined teaching of Ramappa and Ingale do not expressly disclose the method according to claim 8, wherein before the first terminal device determines that the terminal device corresponding to the lower battery level is the device that needs to save power, the method further comprises: determining that the terminal device corresponding to the lower battery level is in an uncharged state.
Kim discloses the above recited limitations (see Kim, p. [0072], e.g., The user equipment, including a mobile phone, a tablet computer (Tablet Computer), a personal digital assistant (Personal Digital Assistant, PDA for short), and another portable mobile user terminal, needs to be connected to a charger for charging when a battery level of the user equipment is low. If it may be determined, by detecting the battery level of the user equipment, whether to perform a charging operation on the user equipment, and p. [0099]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kim’s teachings into the combined teaching of Ramappa, Messenger and Ingale. The suggestion/motivation would have been to detect the battery level of the mobile phone in order to perform a charging operation on the mobile phone.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined teaching of Ramappa and Messenger in view of Raymann et al US 2017/0094046) (hereinafter Raymann).
Regarding claim 11, the combined teaching of Ramappa and Messenger do not expressly disclose the method according to claim 1,
Raymann discloses the above recited limitations (see Raymann, p. [0090], e.g., computing device 100 can analyze the historical sleep data to determine if the user is experiencing a pattern of short sleep onset latency durations, and p. [0056-0058], e.g., the user can select graphical element 204 to enable or disable automatic adjustment of the alarm time specified using graphical elements 202 based on the user's sleep onset latency duration and/or sleep goal).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Raymann’s teachings into the combined teaching of Ramappa and Messenger. The suggestion/motivation would have been to adjust an alarm setting based on the sleep onset latency duration detected for a user of the mobile device.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MINH TRANG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477