DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1—20 have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on merits. The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 04/27/2023 has been acknowledged by the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 9—12 & 14—16 , 18 & 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S Patent 4,741,065 A to Parkins (Parkins hereafter).
As per claim 1, Parkins teaches
A mat locking strip (12—Fig.1; Col 2 lines 1—5) for being attached to an edge portion of a mat (10—Fig.1; Col 2 lines 4—10) and for interconnecting a plurality of mats (12—Fig.1; Col 2 lines 4—10), the locking strip comprising: a longitudinally extending body (12—Fig.1) having a top side (28—Fig.1; Col 1 lines 49—51) and a bottom side (30—Fig.1; Col 1 lines 49—51), each side comprising a plurality of protruding ridges defining intermediate trenches (28 & 30—Fig.2; Col 1 lines 49—51: ridges and trenches positioned on and in between element 28 & 30), the ridges having a continuous extension along the longitudinal extension of the body (28 & 30—Fig.2; Col 1 lines 49—51); the body having a first end configured to be arranged closest to the mat and a second end configured to be arranged farthest away from the mat (annotated Fig.1); wherein the ridges of the top side of the body are arranged opposite the trenches of the bottom side of the body (28 & 30—Fig.2; Col 1 lines 49—51), and the trenches of the top side of the body are arranged opposite the ridges of the bottom side of the
body (annotated Fig.2).
As per claim 2, Parkins teaches:
A mat locking strip according to claim 1, wherein the ridges and trenches on the top side of the body are complementary (annotated Fig.2)with the ridges and trenches on the bottom side of the body (annotated Fig.2).
As per claim 5, Parkins teaches:
A mat locking strip according to claim 1,wherein the ridges and/or the trenches have a rectangular cross-section as seen in a direction transverse to the longitudinal extension of the body (28 & 30—Fig.2: generally shown rectangular cross section).
As per claim 6, Parkins teaches:
A mat locking strip according to claim 1, further comprising a folding line having an extension along the longitudinal extension of the body (32—Fig.2; Col 2 lines 1—5: generally shown folding line near element 32).
As per claim 9, Parkins teaches:
A mat locking strip (12—Fig.1; Col 2 lines 1—5) for being attached to an edge portion of a mat and for interconnecting (10—Fig.1; Col 2 lines 4—10) a plurality of mats (10—Fig.1; Col 2 lines 4—10), the locking strip comprising: a longitudinally extending body having a top side (28—Fig.1; Col 1 lines 49—51)and a bottom side (30—Fig.1; Col 1 lines 49—51), wherein the top side comprises a plurality of protruding ridges defining intermediate trenches (28 & 30—Fig.2; Col 1 lines 49—51: ridges and trenches positioned on and in between element 28 & 30), the ridges having a continuous extension along the longitudinal extension of the body (28 & 30—Fig.2; Col 1 lines 49—51); the body having a first end configured to be arranged closest to the mat, the first end comprising a folding line having an extension along the longitudinal extension of the body (32—Fig.2; Col 2 lines 1—5: generally shown folding line near element 32); the mat locking strip being configured to connect to another mat locking strip when a first of the two mat locking strips is folded along the folding line (Col 2 lines 1—5) such that the top side of the body of the first mat locking strip faces the same direction as the bottom side of the body of the second mat locking strip and the ridges and trenches of the first and second mat locking strips face each other (32—Fig.2; Col 2 lines 1—5: generally shown folding line near element 32); and the mat locking strip further being configured to connect to the mat locking strip according to claim 1(Col 2 lines 1—5).
As per claim 10, Parkins teaches:
A mat system comprising a plurality of mats (10—Fig.1; Col 2 lines 4—10), each mat comprising a mat locking strip (12—Fig.1; Col 2 lines 1—5) according to claim 1 arranged along a side edge portion of the mat (32—Fig.1; Col 2 lines 1—5); and wherein the plurality of mats is configured to be interconnected by the ridges (32—Fig.1; Col 2 lines 1—5) with the trenches of the bottom side of the body of the locking strip of a second mat (Col 2 lines 1—5).
As per claim 11, Parkins teaches:
A mat system according to claim 10, wherein each side edge portion of each mat comprises a locking strip (Col 2 lines 5—10).
As per claim 12, Parkins teaches:
A mat system according to claim 10, wherein the locking strips are integral with the mats; or wherein the locking strips are mounted to the mats (Col 2 lines 5—10).
As per claim 14, Parkins teaches:
A mat system according to claim 10,wherein the locking strips are configured to interconnect the mats (12—Fig.1; Col 2 lines 1—5) while protruding away from the side edge portions of the mats and forming a connecting strip between the mats (32, 12 & 10—Fig.1; Col 2 lines 1—5).
As per claim 15, Parkins teaches:
A mat system according to claim 10, further comprising a joining member (20—Fig.3; Col 1 lines 39—46) comprising at least two locking strips arranged along at least two side edge portions of the joining member (Col 2 lines 5—10: multiple locking strips may be supplied to joining member), the locking strips of the joining member being configured to interconnect two spatially separated mats by the ridges of the top side of the body of a locking strip of the mats engaging with trenches of a bottom side of a body of the locking strips of the joining member (22—Fig.3; Col 1 lines 49—51); or by the ridges of the bottom side of the body of each mat locking strip engaging with trenches of a top side of a body of the locking strips of the joining member.
As per claim 16, Parkins teaches:
A mat system according to claim 15, wherein the locking strips of the joining member are the locking strips (20—Fig.3; Col 1 lines 49—51), comprising: a longitudinally extending body having a top side and a bottom side, each side comprising a plurality of protruding ridges defining intermediate trenches, the ridges having a continuous extension along the longitudinal extension of the body (22—Fig.3; Col 1 lines 49—51); the body having a first end configured to be arranged closest to the mat (18—Fig.3 first end closest to mat 24) and a second end configured to be arranged farthest away from the mat (22—Fig.3; second end farthest from mat); wherein the ridges of the top side of the body are arranged opposite the trenches of the bottom side of the body (18—Fig.3; ridges in top side opposite trenches in bottom side), and the trenches of the top side of the body are arranged opposite the ridges of the bottom side of the body (22—Fig.3; ridges in top side opposite trenches in bottom side).
As per claim 18, Parkins teaches:
A mat system according to claim 10,wherein at least one locking strip comprises a corner portion (annotated Fig.2), the corner portion comprising ridges and trenches in a cross-pattern (annotated Fig.2), wherein the ridges of the corner portion are non-continuous such that the corner portion may be connected to another locking strip of another mat in either direction of the cross-pattern (12—Fig.1; Col 2 lines 1—5).
As per claim 19, Parkins teaches:
A joining member comprising at least two locking strips arranged along at least two side edge portions of the joining member (20—Fig.3; Col 1 lines 49—51), the locking strips of the joining member being configured to interconnect two spatially separated mat locking strips claim 1 (Col 2 lines 5—10: multiple locking strips may be supplied to joining member) by the ridges of the top side (22—Fig.3; Col 1 lines 49—51); or by the ridges of the bottom side of the body of each mat locking strip engaging with trenches of a top side of a body of the locking strips of the joining member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3,4, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent 4,741,065 A to Parkins in view of U.S Patent Application 2006/0246255 A1 to Bailey et. al. (Bailey hereafter).
As per claim 3, Parkins teaches: A mat locking strip according to claim 1.
Parkins does not teach, wherein the top side of the body further comprises a top stopping member having an extension along the longitudinal extension of the body; the top stopping member being arranged along the first end of the body and having a height exceeding a combined thickness of the body and a ridge on the bottom side of the body at the second end of the body.
Bailey teaches, wherein the top side of the body further comprises a top stopping member having an extension along the longitudinal extension of the body (32 & 34—Fig.8; para [0027]); the top stopping member being arranged along the first end of the body and having a height exceeding a combined thickness of the body and a ridge on the bottom side of the body at the second end of the body (32, 34 & 28, 40 & 44 —Fig.8; para [0027] top stopping member height exceeding thickness of body and ridges on body’s bottom side).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Parkins (directed to a mat locking strip attached along the base of a mat for interconnecting mats) and Bailey (directed to a mat locking strip provided with a top stopping member) and arrived at a mat locking strip attached along the base of a mat for interconnecting mats including a top stopping member. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to hold the mat insert tightly in place relative to the mat frame as taught in Bailey (para [0027]).
As per claim 4, Parkins teaches: A mat locking strip according to claim 1.
Parkins does not teach, wherein the bottom side of the body further comprises a bottom stopping member having an extension along the longitudinal extension of the body; the bottom stopping member being arranged along the first end of the body and extending beyond the height of a ridge on the bottom side of the body.
Bailey teaches, wherein the bottom side of the body further comprises a bottom stopping member having an extension along the longitudinal extension of the body (3—Fig.8; para [0027]); the bottom stopping member being arranged along the first end of the body and extending beyond the height of a ridge on the bottom side of the body (38, 40 & 44 —Fig.8; para [0027] bottom stopping member height exceeding thickness of body and ridges on body’s bottom side).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Parkins (directed to a mat locking strip attached along the base of a mat for interconnecting mats) and Bailey (directed to a mat locking strip provided with a top stopping member) and arrived at a mat locking strip attached along the base of a mat for interconnecting mats including a top stopping member. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to hold the mat insert tightly in place relative to the mat frame as taught in Bailey (para [0027]).
Claim(s) 7, 8, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent 4,741,065 A to Parkins in view of U.S Patent Application 2003/0196288 A1 to Kessler (Kessler hereafter).
As per claim 7, Parkins teaches: A mat locking strip according to claim 1.
Parkins does not teach further comprising a mounting member having an extension along the longitudinal extension of the body and adjacent the first side of the locking strip, the mounting member being configured to extend towards the mat.
Kessler further comprising a mounting member having an extension along the longitudinal extension of the body and adjacent the first side of the locking strip (20—Fig.1: mounting member with extension along body 26), the mounting member being configured to extend towards the mat (20—Fig.4: mounting member extending toward the mat 26).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Parkins (directed to a mat locking strip attached along the base of a mat for interconnecting mats) and Kessler (directed to a mat locking strip provided with a mount which prevents the floor mats from lifting) and arrived at a mat locking strip attached along the base of a mat for interconnecting mats including a mount which prevents the floor mats from lifting. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to retain the mats in a fixed position via a frame assembly as taught in Kessler (para [0025]).
As per claim 8, Parkins teaches: A mat locking strip according to claim 7.
Parkins does not teach, wherein a major geometrical plane extending across the longitudinal extension of a bottom side of the mounting member forms an angle to a major geometrical plane extending across a top surface of a ridge of the bottom side of the body.
Kessler teaches, wherein a major geometrical plane extending across the longitudinal extension of a bottom side of the mounting member (113—Fig.4: geometrical plane extending across the longitudinal extension of a bottom side of mounting member extending toward the mat 26) forms an angle to a major geometrical plane extending across a top surface of a ridge of the bottom side of the body (29 & 113—Fig.4: angle formed by top ridge of bottom side).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Parkins (directed to a mat locking strip attached along the base of a mat for interconnecting mats) and Kessler (directed to a mat locking strip provided with a mount which prevents the floor mats from lifting) and arrived at a mat locking strip attached along the base of a mat for interconnecting mats including a mount which prevents the floor mats from lifting. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to retain the mats in a fixed position via a frame assembly as taught in Kessler (para [0025]).
As per claim 13, Parkins teaches: A mat system according to claim 10.
Parkins, wherein a major geometrical plane extending along a top surface of a ridge of the bottom side of the body of a locking strip forms an angle to a major geometrical plane extending along the bottom side of the mats.
Kessler teaches, wherein a major geometrical plane extending along a top surface of a ridge of the bottom side of the body of a locking strip (113—Fig.4: geometrical plane extending across the longitudinal extension of a bottom side of mounting member extending toward the mat 26) forms an angle to a major geometrical plane extending along the bottom side of the mats (29 & 113—Fig.4: angle formed by top ridge of bottom side).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Parkins (directed to a mat locking strip attached along the base of a mat for interconnecting mats) and Kessler (directed to a mat locking strip provided with a mount which prevents the floor mats from lifting) and arrived at a mat locking strip attached along the base of a mat for interconnecting mats including a mount which prevents the floor mats from lifting. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to retain the mats in a fixed position via a frame assembly as taught in Kessler (para [0025]).
Claim(s) 17 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent 4,741,065 A to Parkins in view of U.S Patent Application 2013/0019456 A1 to Heartsfield (Heartsfield hereafter).
As per claim 17, Parkins teaches: A mat system according to claim 15.
Parkins does not teach, wherein the joining member further comprises an adhesive on a bottom surface of the joining member.
Heartsfield teaches, wherein the joining member further comprises an adhesive on a bottom surface of the joining member (38—Fig.1; para [0045-46] : joining member 38 with adhesive on a bottom surface of the joining member).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Parkins (directed to a mat locking strip attached along the base of a mat for interconnecting mats) and Heartsfield (directed to a mat locking strip provided with a joining member further comprising an adhesive) and arrived at a mat locking strip attached along the base of a mat for interconnecting mats including a mount which prevents the floor mats from lifting. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide a substantially contiguous surface with the working surface 29 of the mats as taught in Heartsfield (para [0045]).
As per claim 20, Parkins teaches: A joining member according to claim 19.
Parkins does not teach, further comprising an adhesive on a bottom surface of the joining member.
Heartsfield teaches, further comprising an adhesive on a bottom surface of the joining member (38—Fig.1; para [0045-46] : joining member 38 with adhesive on a bottom surface of the joining member).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Parkins (directed to a mat locking strip attached along the base of a mat for interconnecting mats) and Heartsfield (directed to a mat locking strip provided with a joining member further comprising an adhesive) and arrived at a mat locking strip attached along the base of a mat for interconnecting mats including a mount which prevents the floor mats from lifting. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide a substantially contiguous surface with the working surface 29 of the mats as taught in Heartsfield (para [0045]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S Patent 6352757 B1 teaches A floor mat system having a plurality of individual floor mats disposed in a frame assembly includes floor mats sized in a manner so that a transport vehicle having wheels can be rolled over the floor mat system in any direction without two wheels of the transport vehicle contacting a single floor mat at any given time.
U.S Patent 6505444 B1 A free standing modular mat system for creating various selectable combinations of mat configurations at the site of installation, first and second mats having parallel ribs on the bottom and parallel spaced ribs on the top at right angles to the bottom ribs, a top connector having a body attached to the first mat and an elongated downwardly facing groove running parallel to the first mat.
/D.T.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3673 09/03/20225
/JUSTIN C MIKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3673