Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 17 use quotation marks. This is not permitted because it is unclear what scope to attribute to the quotes that isn’t equally valid to the absence of quotes.
Claims 1-16 and 18-20 depend from claims 1 and 17 and thus are objected to for the same reasons.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Yoo (US 20150227281).
With regard to claim 1 Yoo discloses a wristwatch (figure 1; paragraph 43) comprising:
a wristwatch body (100 figure 1) having a rectangular parallelepiped shape (figure 1);
at least two display units (150, 130 figure 1; paragraph 43-44) that are formed over respective entire areas of “an upper face on a side opposite to a lower face directed toward a side of an arm of a user at a time of using the wristwatch” (figure 1) and “at least one side face out of four side faces” out of six faces that form a surface of the wristwatch body (figure 1; paragraphs 43-44); and
a display control unit (claim 6) configured to control a display of each of the at least two display units (claim 6),
wherein the display control unit has a function of controlling display on each of the at least two display units such that images displayed on the respective at least two display units are moved in a linked manner (abstract; figures 3a-4b).
With regard to claim 2 Yoo discloses the wristwatch according to claim 1, wherein the display control unit has a function of controlling display on each of the at least two display units such that the images displayed on the at least two display units move in a seamless manner by straddling the at least two display units (abstract; figures 3a-4b).
With regard to claim 3 Yoo discloses the wristwatch according to claim 1, wherein at least two display units include: five display units that are formed over the respective entire areas of five faces that are formed of the upper face and the four side faces (abstract; figures 3a-8c; figure 1).
With regard to claim 4 Yoo discloses the wristwatch according to claim 3, wherein in a state where the five faces of the wristwatch body display no pattern on the five display units, no pattern is displayed over the entire areas of five respective display units (abstract; figures 3a-8c; figure 1).
Applicant’s specification states: In this specification, “no pattern” means that neither an analog watch display nor a digital watch display is performed.
With regard to claim 15 Yoo discloses the wristwatch according to claim 3, wherein the five display units is formed of a touch panel (claim 2 of Yoo).
With regard to claim 16 Yoo discloses the wristwatch according to claim 15, wherein the display control unit controls the respective displays of the five display units such that an image is changed over corresponding to a swipe operation performed by a finger of the user on the touch panel (figures 3-7).
With regard to claim 17 Yoo discloses a wristwatch type display device (figure 1; paragraph 43) comprising: a wristwatch type display device body having a rectangular parallelepiped shape (figure 1);
at least two display units (130, 140 figure 1) that are formed over respective entire areas of “an upper face on a side opposite to a lower face directed to an arm side of a user at a time of using the wristwatch type display device” (figure 1) and “at least one side face out of four side faces” out of six faces that form a surface of the wristwatch type display device body (figure 1; paragraphs 43-44); and
a display control unit (claim 6) that controls the respective displays of the at least two display units (claim 6),
wherein the display control unit has a function of controlling display on each of the at least two display units such that images displayed on the respective at least two display units are moved in a linked manner (abstract; figures 3a-4b).
With regard to claim 18 Yoo discloses the wristwatch type display device according to claim 17, wherein the display control unit has a function of controlling display on each of the at least two display units such that the images displayed on the at least two display units move in a seamless manner by straddling the at least two display units (figures 1-8, especially figures 3a-4b).
With regard to claim 19 Yoo discloses the wristwatch type display device according to claim 17, wherein the at least two display units are formed of five display units that are formed over the respective entire areas of five faces formed of the upper face and the four side faces (figures 1-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-14, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (US 20150227281) in view of Kuwabara (US 20160109852).
With regard to claim 5 (depends from claim 3) Yoo does not disclose the claimed: wherein the five display units are formed of five organic EL display sheets or five micro LED display sheets, and
the five organic EL display sheets or the micro LED display sheets are laminated to the five faces of the wristwatch body respectively.
Kuwabara teaches laminated displays and laminated batteries to protect against environmental considerations – paragraphs 119, 324; figures 2a-c
Kuwabara paragraph 200 teaches - For example, in this specification and the like, a display element, a display device which is a device including a display element, a light-emitting element, and a light-emitting device which is a device including a light-emitting element can employ a variety of modes or can include a variety of elements. A display element, a display device, a light-emitting element, or a light-emitting device includes, for example, at least one of an electroluminescence (EL) element (e.g., an EL element including organic and inorganic materials, an organic EL element, or an inorganic EL element), an LED (e.g., a white LED, a red LED, a green LED, or a blue LED), a transistor (a transistor that emits light depending on current), an electron emitter, a liquid crystal element, electronic ink, an electrophoretic element, a grating light valve (GLV), a plasma display panel (PDP), a display element using micro electro mechanical systems (MEMS), a digital micromirror device (DMD), a digital micro shutter (DMS), MIRASOL (registered trademark), an interferometric modulator display (IMOD) element, a MEMS shutter display element, an optical-interference-type MEMS display element, an electrowetting element, a piezoelectric ceramic display, and a display element including a carbon nanotube.
Before the earliest effective filling date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure Yoo’s system to comprise: the five display units are formed of five organic EL display sheets or five micro LED display sheets, and the five organic EL display sheets or the micro LED display sheets are laminated to the five faces of the wristwatch body respectively, as taught by Kuwabara. The reason for doing so would have been to achieve the display taught by Yoo using known and common display technologies. A reason for doing so would have been to layer the display with a protective material to protection against environmental concerns. A reason for doing so would have been to provide a display type with light emission properties to improve visibility. A reason for doing so would have been to provide structural support to the display technology to give it protection against environmental concerns.
With regard to claim 6 (depends from claim 3) Yoo does not disclose the claimed:
wherein the five display units are formed of one organic EL display sheet or one micro LED display sheet, and the one organic EL display sheet or one sheet of micro LED display sheet is bent along an outer shape of the wristwatch body and is attached to the wristwatch body.
Kuwabara teaches laminated displays and laminated batteries to protect against environmental considerations – paragraphs 119, 324; figures 2a-c. See figure 1a-d.
Kuwabara paragraph 200 teaches - For example, in this specification and the like, a display element, a display device which is a device including a display element, a light-emitting element, and a light-emitting device which is a device including a light-emitting element can employ a variety of modes or can include a variety of elements. A display element, a display device, a light-emitting element, or a light-emitting device includes, for example, at least one of an electroluminescence (EL) element (e.g., an EL element including organic and inorganic materials, an organic EL element, or an inorganic EL element), an LED (e.g., a white LED, a red LED, a green LED, or a blue LED), a transistor (a transistor that emits light depending on current), an electron emitter, a liquid crystal element, electronic ink, an electrophoretic element, a grating light valve (GLV), a plasma display panel (PDP), a display element using micro electro mechanical systems (MEMS), a digital micromirror device (DMD), a digital micro shutter (DMS), MIRASOL (registered trademark), an interferometric modulator display (IMOD) element, a MEMS shutter display element, an optical-interference-type MEMS display element, an electrowetting element, a piezoelectric ceramic display, and a display element including a carbon nanotube.
Before the earliest effective filling date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure Yoo’s system to comprise: wherein the five display units are formed of one organic EL display sheet or one micro LED display sheet, and the one organic EL display sheet or one sheet of micro LED display sheet is bent along an outer shape of the wristwatch body and is attached to the wristwatch body, as taught by Kuwabara. The reason for doing so would have been to achieve the display taught by Yoo using known and common display technologies. A reason for doing so would have been to layer the display with a protective material to protection against environmental concerns. A reason for doing so would have been to provide a display type with light emission properties to improve visibility. A reason for doing so would have been to provide structural support to the display technology to give it protection against environmental concerns.
With regard to claim 7 (depends from claim 5) Yoo does not disclose the claimed:
wherein a first electrode group for supplying power and electric signals to the organic EL display sheet or the micro LED display sheet is mounted on the five faces of the wristwatch body, and a second electrode group for receiving the power and the electric signals from the first electrode group are mounted on a back face of the organic EL display sheet or the micro LED display sheet at a position that corresponds to the first electrode group, and the wristwatch includes a drive circuit that supplies an electric signal for controlling a turn on/off states of the respective pixels of the organic EL display sheet or the micro LED display sheet, and the first electrode group and the second electrode group are electrically connected to each other.
These limitations in essence merely describe how the display technologies work in a normal way.
Kuwabar teaches (paragraph 159: The light-emitting portion 804 includes a transistor 820 and a light-emitting element 830 over the substrate 801 with the adhesive layer 811 and the insulating layer 813 provided between the substrate 801 and each of the transistor 820 and the light-emitting element 830. The light-emitting element 830 includes a lower electrode 831 over the insulating layer 817, an EL layer 833 over the lower electrode 831, and an upper electrode 835 over the EL layer 833. The lower electrode 831 is electrically connected to a source electrode or a drain electrode of the transistor 820. An end portion of the lower electrode 831 is covered with the insulating layer 821. The lower electrode 831 preferably reflects visible light. The upper electrode 835 transmits visible light.
Kuwabar teaches a driving circuit paragraph 164.
Paragraph 177: The light-emitting portion 804 includes a transistor 820 and a light-emitting element 830 over the substrate 801 with the adhesive layer 811 and the insulating layer 813 provided between the substrate 801 and each of the transistor 820 and the light-emitting element 830. The light-emitting element 830 includes the lower electrode 831 over the insulating layer 817, the EL layer 833 over the lower electrode 831, and the upper electrode 835 over the EL layer 833. The lower electrode 831 is electrically connected to the source electrode or the drain electrode of the transistor 820. The end portion of the lower electrode 831 is covered with the insulating layer 821. The lower electrode 831 preferably reflects visible light. The upper electrode 835 transmits visible light.
Paragraph 185: The light-emitting portion 804 includes the transistor 820, the transistor 822, and the light-emitting element 830 over the substrate 801 with the adhesive layer 811 and the insulating layer 813 provided between the substrate 801 and each of the transistor 820, the transistor 822, and the light-emitting element 830. The light-emitting element 830 includes the lower electrode 831 over the insulating layer 817b, the EL layer 833 over the lower electrode 831, and the upper electrode 835 over the EL layer 833. The lower electrode 831 is electrically connected to the source electrode or the drain electrode of the transistor 820. The end portion of the lower electrode 831 is covered with the insulating layer 821. The upper electrode 835 preferably reflects visible light. The lower electrode 831 transmits visible light. The coloring layer 845 that overlaps with the light-emitting element 830 can be provided anywhere; for example, the coloring layer 845 may be provided between the insulating layers 817a and 817b or between the insulating layers 815 and 817a.
Before the earliest effective filling date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure Yoo’s system to comprise: a first electrode group for supplying power and electric signals to the organic EL display sheet or the micro LED display sheet is mounted on the five faces of the wristwatch body, and a second electrode group for receiving the power and the electric signals from the first electrode group are mounted on a back face of the organic EL display sheet or the micro LED display sheet at a position that corresponds to the first electrode group, and the wristwatch includes a drive circuit that supplies an electric signal for controlling a turn on/off states of the respective pixels of the organic EL display sheet or the micro LED display sheet, and the first electrode group and the second electrode group are electrically connected to each other, as taught by Kuwabara. The reason for doing so would have been to arrange electrode to control the display elements to effect command and control as well as to provide the power to operate the respective display elements, as taught by Kuwabara. Another reason for doing so would have been to provide layered control operations for elements having more than one display layer such as backlight and primary display layer, or alternating display layers having advantageous layer features such a color and/or brightness, as taught by Kuwabara.
With regard to claim 8 (depends from claim 3) Yoo does not disclose the claimed:
wherein a gap formed between five display units is embedded with a black member so as to prevent the gap from being visually recognized from the outside.
Kuwabara discloses wherein a gap formed between five display units is embedded with a black member so as to prevent the gap from being visually recognized from the outside – figure 5a.
Before the earliest effective filling date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure Yoo’s system to comprise: a gap formed between five display units is embedded with a black member so as to prevent the gap from being visually recognized from the outside, as taught by Kuwabara. The reason for doing so would have been to distinguish between operational regions as taught by Kuwabara.
With regard to claim 9 (depends from claim 3) Yoo does not disclose the claimed:
wherein a protective member is applied to by coating to five display units so as to cover the entirety of five display units and is cured.
Kuwabara teaches laminated displays and laminated batteries to protect against environmental considerations – paragraphs 119, 324; figures 2a-c. See figures 12a-d.
Kuwabara teaches protected continuous displays:
Before the earliest effective filling date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure Yoo’s system to comprise: wherein a protective member is applied to by coating to five display units so as to cover the entirety of five display units and is cured, as taught by Kuwabara. The reason for doing so would have been to protect the elements from environmental concern, damage, and wear, as taught by Kuwabara. A reason for doing so would have been to improve water resistance, as taught by Kuwabara.
With regard to claim 10 (depends from claim 3) Yoo does not disclose the claimed:
wherein assuming the display unit formed on an upper face of the wristwatch body on a side opposite to a lower face of the wristwatch body as an upper face display unit and the display units formed on four side faces of the wristwatch body as four side face display units with respect to the five display units,
in a case where a display mode on the five display units is an analog watch display mode where a time is displayed by a plurality of hands, the display control unit controls the respective displays of the five display units such that at least the longest hand out of the plurality of hands extends from the upper face display unit to at least one side face display unit out of the four side face display units, and a portion of the hand that extends over the one side face display unit that is displayed on the upper face display unit and a portion of the hand that extends over the first side face display unit that is displayed on the one side face display unit rotate in a linked manner.
Kuwabara teaches the display hand extending over the top border region to effect a continuous display figure 6b. See figures 12a-d.
Before the earliest effective filling date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure Yoo’s system to comprise: wherein assuming the display unit formed on an upper face of the wristwatch body on a side opposite to a lower face of the wristwatch body as an upper face display unit and the display units formed on four side faces of the wristwatch body as four side face display units with respect to the five display units,
in a case where a display mode on the five display units is an analog watch display mode where a time is displayed by a plurality of hands, the display control unit controls the respective displays of the five display units such that at least the longest hand out of the plurality of hands extends from the upper face display unit to at least one side face display unit out of the four side face display units, and a portion of the hand that extends over the one side face display unit that is displayed on the upper face display unit and a portion of the hand that extends over the first side face display unit that is displayed on the one side face display unit rotate in a linked manner, as taught by Kuwabara. The reason for doing so would have been to achieve a unique and interesting display configuration, as taught by Kuwabara. A reason for doing so would have been to provide unique aspects of adjoining displays to achieve a novel and interesting display of time, thus achieving an improvement in marketability and desirability of the product as taught by Kuwabara.
With regard to claim 11 (depends from claim 3) Yoo does not disclose the claimed:
wherein assuming the display unit formed on an upper face of the wristwatch body on a side opposite to a lower face of the wristwatch body as an upper face display unit and display units formed on four side faces of the wristwatch body as four side face display units with respect to the five display units, and assuming the side face display unit positioned on a depth side as viewed from a user at a time of using the wristwatch as a first side face display unit, the side face display unit positioned on a back side of a hand as a second side face display unit, the side face display unit disposed on a side opposite to the first side face display unit as a third side face display unit, and the side face display unit disposed on a side opposite to the second side face display unit as a fourth side face display unit with respect to the four side face display units, in a case where a display mode in the five display units is in an analogue watch display mode where time is indicated by a plurality of hands, the display control unit controls the respective displays of the five display units such that the inside of the wristwatch body is viewed as if in a see-through manner as viewed from the user, and a display of numerical values that indicates a time in the analogue watch display mode is performed in a left-and-right normal display on at least the third side face display unit, and is performed in a reverse left-and-right display in at least the first side face display unit.
Kuwabara teaches the display hand extending over the top border region to effect a continuous display figure 6b. See figures 12a-d.
Before the earliest effective filling date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure Yoo’s system to comprise: wherein assuming the display unit formed on an upper face of the wristwatch body on a side opposite to a lower face of the wristwatch body as an upper face display unit and display units formed on four side faces of the wristwatch body as four side face display units with respect to the five display units, and assuming the side face display unit positioned on a depth side as viewed from a user at a time of using the wristwatch as a first side face display unit, the side face display unit positioned on a back side of a hand as a second side face display unit, the side face display unit disposed on a side opposite to the first side face display unit as a third side face display unit, and the side face display unit disposed on a side opposite to the second side face display unit as a fourth side face display unit with respect to the four side face display units, in a case where a display mode in the five display units is in an analogue watch display mode where time is indicated by a plurality of hands, the display control unit controls the respective displays of the five display units such that the inside of the wristwatch body is viewed as if in a see-through manner as viewed from the user, and a display of numerical values that indicates a time in the analogue watch display mode is performed in a left-and-right normal display on at least the third side face display unit, and is performed in a reverse left-and-right display in at least the first side face display unit, as taught by Kuwabara. The reason for doing so would have been to achieve a unique and interesting display configuration, as taught by Kuwabara. A reason for doing so would have been to provide unique aspects of adjoining displays to achieve a novel and interesting display of time, thus achieving an improvement in marketability and desirability of the product as taught by Kuwabara.
With regard to claim 12 (depends from claim 3) Yoo does not disclose the claimed:
wherein in a case where a display mode in the five display units is in an analogue watch display mode where time is indicated by a plurality of hands, the display control unit controls the respective displays of the five display units such that the inside of the wristwatch body is viewed as if in a see-through manner as viewed from the user at a time of using the wristwatch, and the plurality of hands rotate in a state where the plurality of hands are positioned in the wristwatch body.
Kuwabara teaches wherein in a case where a display mode in the five display units is in an analogue watch display mode where time is indicated by a plurality of hands, the display control unit controls the respective displays of the five display units such that the inside of the wristwatch body is viewed as if in a see-through manner as viewed from the user at a time of using the wristwatch, and the plurality of hands rotate in a state where the plurality of hands are positioned in the wristwatch body- figures 6b-6f; abstract; figures 12a-d).
Before the earliest effective filling date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure Yoo’s system to comprise: wherein in a case where a display mode in the five display units is in an analogue watch display mode where time is indicated by a plurality of hands, the display control unit controls the respective displays of the five display units such that the inside of the wristwatch body is viewed as if in a see-through manner as viewed from the user at a time of using the wristwatch, and the plurality of hands rotate in a state where the plurality of hands are positioned in the wristwatch body, as taught by Kuwabara. The reason for doing so would have been to achieve a unique and interesting display configuration, as taught by Kuwabara. A reason for doing so would have been to provide unique aspects of adjoining displays to achieve a novel and interesting display of time, thus achieving an improvement in marketability and desirability of the product as taught by Kuwabara. A reason for doing so would have been to indicate the time.
With regard to claim 13 (depends from claim 3) Yoo does not disclose the claimed:
wherein the display control unit controls the respective displays of the five display units as if the inside of the wristwatch body is viewed in a see-through manner as viewed from a user.
Kuwabara teaches wherein in a case where a display mode in the five display units is in an analogue watch display mode where time is indicated by a plurality of hands, the display control unit controls the respective displays of the five display units such that the inside of the wristwatch body is viewed as if in a see-through manner as viewed from the user at a time of using the wristwatch, and the plurality of hands rotate in a state where the plurality of hands are positioned in the wristwatch body- figures 6b-6f; abstract; figures 12a-d).
Before the earliest effective filling date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure Yoo’s system to comprise: wherein the display control unit controls the respective displays of the five display units as if the inside of the wristwatch body is viewed in a see-through manner as viewed from a user, as taught by Kuwabara. The reason for doing so would have been to achieve a unique and interesting display configuration, as taught by Kuwabara. A reason for doing so would have been to provide unique aspects of adjoining displays to achieve a novel and interesting display of time, thus achieving an improvement in marketability and desirability of the product as taught by Kuwabara. A reason for doing so would have been to indicate the time.
With regard to claim 14 (depends from claim 3) Yoo does not disclose the claimed:
wherein assuming the display unit formed on an upper face opposite to a lower face of the wristwatch body as an upper face display unit with respect to the five display units and display units formed on four side faces of the wristwatch body as four side face display units, in a case where the display mode adopted by the five display units is a digital watch display mode where a time is displayed as a combination of a plurality of numerals, the display control unit performs a control where at least a portion of the plurality of numerals extends from the upper face display unit over the four side face display units or a portion that has been extended once returns to the upper face display unit.
Kuwabara teaches wherein in a case where a display mode in the five display units is in an analogue watch display mode where time is indicated by a plurality of hands, the display control unit controls the respective displays of the five display units such that the inside of the wristwatch body is viewed as if in a see-through manner as viewed from the user at a time of using the wristwatch, and the plurality of hands rotate in a state where the plurality of hands are positioned in the wristwatch body- figures 6b-6f; abstract; figures 12a-d). See figures 18a. See figures 10a, b. See figures 6b-f. See figures 5a-b.
Before the earliest effective filling date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure Yoo’s system to comprise: wherein assuming the display unit formed on an upper face opposite to a lower face of the wristwatch body as an upper face display unit with respect to the five display units and display units formed on four side faces of the wristwatch body as four side face display units, in a case where the display mode adopted by the five display units is a digital watch display mode where a time is displayed as a combination of a plurality of numerals, the display control unit performs a control where at least a portion of the plurality of numerals extends from the upper face display unit over the four side face display units or a portion that has been extended once returns to the upper face display unit, as taught by Kuwabara. The reason for doing so would have been to achieve a unique and interesting display configuration, as taught by Kuwabara. A reason for doing so would have been to provide unique aspects of adjoining displays to achieve a novel and interesting display of time, thus achieving an improvement in marketability and desirability of the product as taught by Kuwabara. A reason for doing so would have been to indicate the time. A reason for doing so would have been to switch between regular modes and time modes while providing the user a layer of command and control as to what is displayed, as taught by Kuwabara. See figures 18a. See figures 10a, b. See figures 6b-f. See figures 5a-b.
With regard to claim 20 (depends from claim 6) Yoo does not disclose the claimed:
wherein a first electrode group for supplying power and electric signals to the organic EL display sheet or the micro LED display sheet is mounted on the five faces of the wristwatch body, and
a second electrode group for receiving the power and the electric signals from the first electrode group are mounted on a back face of the organic EL display sheet or the micro LED display sheet at a position that corresponds to the first electrode group, and the wristwatch includes a drive circuit that supplies an electric signal for controlling a turn on/off states of the respective pixels of the organic EL display sheet or the micro LED display sheet, and the first electrode group and the second electrode group are electrically connected to each other.
These limitations in essence merely describe how the display technologies work in a normal way.
Kuwabar teaches (paragraph 159: The light-emitting portion 804 includes a transistor 820 and a light-emitting element 830 over the substrate 801 with the adhesive layer 811 and the insulating layer 813 provided between the substrate 801 and each of the transistor 820 and the light-emitting element 830. The light-emitting element 830 includes a lower electrode 831 over the insulating layer 817, an EL layer 833 over the lower electrode 831, and an upper electrode 835 over the EL layer 833. The lower electrode 831 is electrically connected to a source electrode or a drain electrode of the transistor 820. An end portion of the lower electrode 831 is covered with the insulating layer 821. The lower electrode 831 preferably reflects visible light. The upper electrode 835 transmits visible light.
Kuwabar teaches a driving circuit paragraph 164.
Paragraph 177: The light-emitting portion 804 includes a transistor 820 and a light-emitting element 830 over the substrate 801 with the adhesive layer 811 and the insulating layer 813 provided between the substrate 801 and each of the transistor 820 and the light-emitting element 830. The light-emitting element 830 includes the lower electrode 831 over the insulating layer 817, the EL layer 833 over the lower electrode 831, and the upper electrode 835 over the EL layer 833. The lower electrode 831 is electrically connected to the source electrode or the drain electrode of the transistor 820. The end portion of the lower electrode 831 is covered with the insulating layer 821. The lower electrode 831 preferably reflects visible light. The upper electrode 835 transmits visible light.
Paragraph 185: The light-emitting portion 804 includes the transistor 820, the transistor 822, and the light-emitting element 830 over the substrate 801 with the adhesive layer 811 and the insulating layer 813 provided between the substrate 801 and each of the transistor 820, the transistor 822, and the light-emitting element 830. The light-emitting element 830 includes the lower electrode 831 over the insulating layer 817b, the EL layer 833 over the lower electrode 831, and the upper electrode 835 over the EL layer 833. The lower electrode 831 is electrically connected to the source electrode or the drain electrode of the transistor 820. The end portion of the lower electrode 831 is covered with the insulating layer 821. The upper electrode 835 preferably reflects visible light. The lower electrode 831 transmits visible light. The coloring layer 845 that overlaps with the light-emitting element 830 can be provided anywhere; for example, the coloring layer 845 may be provided between the insulating layers 817a and 817b or between the insulating layers 815 and 817a.
Before the earliest effective filling date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure Yoo’s system to comprise: wherein a first electrode group for supplying power and electric signals to the organic EL display sheet or the micro LED display sheet is mounted on the five faces of the wristwatch body, and
a second electrode group for receiving the power and the electric signals from the first electrode group are mounted on a back face of the organic EL display sheet or the micro LED display sheet at a position that corresponds to the first electrode group, and the wristwatch includes a drive circuit that supplies an electric signal for controlling a turn on/off states of the respective pixels of the organic EL display sheet or the micro LED display sheet, and the first electrode group and the second electrode group are electrically connected to each other, as taught by Kuwabara. The reason for doing so would have been to arrange electrode to control the display elements to effect command and control as well as to provide the power to operate the respective display elements, as taught by Kuwabara. Another reason for doing so would have been to provide layered control operations for elements having more than one display layer such as backlight and primary display layer, or alternating display layers having advantageous layer features such a color and/or brightness, as taught by Kuwabara.
Conclusion
/SEAN KAYES/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2844