DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1, 4, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tamura (US 2010/0062294) as cited in IDS dated 1/30/25.
Regarding claim 1, Tamura discloses a fuel battery module unit (abstract) comprising: a fuel battery module including a reformer (main component of hydrogen generator 1, [0051]-[0052], Fig. 1) configured to generate fuel gas containing hydrogen by steam reforming raw fuel gas([0052], [0058]), and a fuel battery cell stack including multiple fuel battery cells configured to generate electricity from an electrochemical reaction of the fuel gas generated by the reformer and an oxidant(101, Fig. 6, [0109]); and a controller (20, Fig. 1) configured to increase a temperature of the reformer from startup until start of power generation in the fuel battery cell stack, and decrease the temperature of the reformer multiple times before the start of power generation in the fuel battery cell stack (claims 1 and 2, [0095]-[0097], Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Tamura discloses a fuel battery device (Fig. 6, claim 12) comprising:
the fuel battery module unit according to claim 1(hydrogen generator 1, Fig. 6); and auxiliary equipment([0105]-[0111], Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5, Tamura discloses a fuel battery device(Fig. 6, claim 12) comprising:
a fuel battery module including a reformer (main component of hydrogen generator 1, [0051]-[0052], Fig. 1) configured to generate fuel gas containing hydrogen by steam reforming raw fuel gas ([0052], [0058]), and a fuel battery cell stack including multiple fuel battery cells configured to generate electricity from an electrochemical reaction of the fuel gas generated by the reformer and an oxidant (101, Fig. 6, [0109]); and a controller (20, Fig. 1) configured to control the reformer and the fuel battery cell stack, wherein the controller increases a temperature of the reformer from startup until start of power generation in the fuel battery cell stack, and decreases the temperature of the reformer multiple times before the start of power generation (claims 1 and 2, [0095]-[0097], Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamura (US 2010/0062294) as cited in IDS dated 1/30/25 as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 2, Tamura discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Tamura discloses that by intermittently carrying out combustion for heating the reformer until the temperature of an evaporator which supplies the steam to the reforming catalyst layer increases to a predetermined threshold or higher at the start-up of the hydrogen generator, the temperature of the reforming catalyst layer can be kept lower than the temperature at which the carbon deposition occurs([0003]). Tamura teaches a temperature of the reformer is kept to a predetermined temperature or lower([0007]). Tamura teaches when the temperature of the reformer becomes a predetermined temperature or lower (150 °C. or lower for example), the hydrogen generator 1 carries out the start-up operation, i.e., the first combustion operation of the combustor 4 is started, and ON and OFF of the combustion operation of the combustor 4 are carried out([0088]) but does not explicitly disclose wherein a magnitude of a second temperature drop of the reformer performed by the controller is greater than a magnitude of a first temperature drop of the reformer performed by the controller.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the fuel battery module unit of Tamura with a magnitude of a second temperature drop of the reformer performed by the controller is greater than a magnitude of a first temperature drop of the reformer performed by the controller in order to balance the temperature of the reforming catalyst layer be kept lower than the temperature at which the carbon deposition occurs and hydrogen generation, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP §2144.05 (II-A).
Regarding claim 3, Tamura discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Tamura discloses that by intermittently carrying out combustion for heating the reformer until the temperature of an evaporator which supplies the steam to the reforming catalyst layer increases to a predetermined threshold or higher at the start-up of the hydrogen generator, the temperature of the reforming catalyst layer can be kept lower than the temperature at which the carbon deposition occurs([0003]). Tamura teaches a temperature of the reformer is kept to a predetermined temperature or lower([0007]). Tamura teaches when the temperature of the reformer becomes a predetermined temperature or lower (150 °C. or lower for example), the hydrogen generator 1 carries out the start-up operation, i.e., the first combustion operation of the combustor 4 is started, and ON and OFF of the combustion operation of the combustor 4 are carried out([0088]) but does not explicitly disclose a duration of a second temperature drop of the reformer performed by the controller is greater than a duration of a first temperature drop of the reformer performed by the controller.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the fuel battery module unit of Tamura with a duration of a second temperature drop of the reformer performed by the controller is greater than a duration of a first temperature drop of the reformer performed by the controller in order to balance the temperature of the reforming catalyst layer be kept lower than the temperature at which the carbon deposition occurs and hydrogen generation, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP §2144.05 (II-A).
Conclusion
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724