DETAILED ACTION
Claims 2-5 are canceled. A complete action on the merits of pending claims 1 and 6-13 appears below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 recites a first pivot extending outwardly to the second pivot. Fig. 1 shows pivots 40 and 46 being points separated from one. Claims 6-13 are rejected as being dependent on claim 1.
Claims 1 and 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first leg". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 6-13 are rejected as being dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boudreaux US 20130296843.
Regarding claim 1, Boudreaux teaches a first shaft (Fig. 7 arm 320) having a first jaw positioned at a first end (Fig. 7 312); a second shaft pivotally coupled to the first shaft (Fig. 7 310) and having a second jaw associated with a second end (Fig. 7 322) so that the first shaft and second shaft are pivotal relative to each other to move the first jaw and the second jaw between an open position and a closed position (Figs. 13A and B); a knife actuating assembly coupled to the first shaft (Fig. 7 340, 344, 346, and 352) positioned to move a knife between a retracted position (Fig. 13A)and an extended position between the first jaw and the second jaw (Fig. 13D) in response to contact by the second shaft (Fig. 7 its always contacting the second shaft), wherein the knife actuating assembly comprises a first pivot secured to the first shaft (Fig. 7 342) and extending outwardly from the first shaft to a second pivot (Fig. 7 346) and a second leg coupled at one end to the first leg by the second pivot (Fig. 7 340 and 344) and coupled at an opposing end to a knife pin (Fig. 7 348) position in a slot extending longitudinally along the first shaft (Fig. 7 328), and wherein when the first jaw and the second jaw are in the closed position, the second shaft is in contact with the second pivot (Fig. 13C).
Regarding claim 6, Boudreaux teaches wherein the second leg of the linkage is coupled to the knife (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 7, Boudreaux teaches wherein the second shaft includes a first section pivotally coupled to a second section (Fig. 7 340 and 344).
Regarding claim 8, Boudreaux teaches wherein a spring interconnects the first section and the second section to prevent pivotal movement of the first section relative to the second section until the first jaw and the second jaw are in the closed position (par. [0083] spring biasing locking arm 374 to prevent rod of the knife from moving until the jaws are closed).
Regarding claim 9, Boudreaux teaches further comprising a knife lockout interconnected to the knife actuating assembly and moveable to selectively prevent or allow the knife actuating assembly to move the knife between the retracted position and the extended position (par. [0083] spring biasing locking arm 374 to prevent rod of the knife from moving until the jaws are closed).
Regarding claim 10, Boudreaux teaches wherein the knife lockout comprises an interlock secured to a knife lockout button that is accessible by a user (Fig. 10 trigger 360).
Regarding claim 11, Boudreaux teaches wherein the knife lockout is pivotally mounted to the first shaft for movement between a first position where the interlock is in engagement with the knife actuating assembly and a second position where the interlock is out of engagement with the knife actuating assembly (Fig. 10 366 par. [0083] rotation of locking member around the pin).
Regarding claim 12, Boudreaux teaches wherein the interlock includes a detect (Fig. 10 374) and the knife actuating assembly includes a notch into which the detent may fit (Fig. 10 358).
Regarding claim 13, Boudreaux teaches wherein the detent is positioned in the notch when the first jaw and the second jaw are in the open position (par. [0083] they will remain engaged until the trigger is pivoted around 366).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that the device of Boudreaux presented in Figs. 1-5 is inoperable and does not read on the claim limitations since 144 does not move longitudinally. First, the embodiment used is in Fig. 7-13D. Further, when flipping between Figs. 1B and 1C 144 moves longitudinally. Additionally, just fundamentally it has to as seen from Fig. 1A to Fig. 1C the cutting edge 152 moves distally and it is on firing beam 150. This is exactly like a finger if you think about it. If a finger is bent at the knuckle and then straightened the knuckle moves forward to make the tip of the finger move forward. This would also apply to how Fig. 7 moves, this is further described in par. [0080]. Next, the applicant argues that 340 and 344 are not part of the shaft but part of the linkage. The examiner disagrees, it does not matter what the parts are called they read on the claim limitations. They are attacked to the shaft and therefore can be considered part of it. Further, as required by the claim, the shaft has to have parts that are not unitary but different and attached via a pivot.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.T.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/LINDA C DVORAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794