DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to claims filed on 1/12/2026.
Claims 16-17 and 29-30 have been amended.
Claims 1-15 have been cancelled.
Claims 16-30 remain pending in the application.
Double Patenting
grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claim 16 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/251,068, hereinafter referred to as the ‘068 application’; in view of Gao et al. (US 2022/0094399 A1); and in further view of Muruganathan et al. (US 2024/0250727 A1, provisional application number 63/058290). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 16; claim 1 of ‘068 application’ recites a method of a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving a channel state information (CSI) reporting setting (a method at a user equipment, the method comprising: receiving at least one channel state information (CSI) reporting setting), wherein the CSI reporting setting comprises a CSI reference signal (RS) resource setting (wherein the at least one channel state information CSI reporting setting comprises at least one channel state information CSI reference signal (RS) (CSI-RS) resource setting), wherein the CSI reporting setting corresponds to a set of hypotheses (identifying a set of transmission hypotheses based on the channel state information CSI reporting setting), and wherein each hypothesis of the set of hypotheses corresponds to a single-point transmission from at least one TRP, or a joint multi-point transmission from two TRPs, or a combination thereof (wherein the hypotheses include a combination of single-point transmission from at least one transmission and reception point (TRP), or multi-point joint transmission from two TRPs); receiving at least one CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) on a CSI-RS resource based on the CSI-RS resource setting (receiving at least one CSI-RS resource transmitted from the mobile communication network based on the CSI-RS resource setting); generating a CSI report based on the CSI reporting setting and the CSI-RS (generating a set of at least one CSI report based on the CSI report setting), wherein the CSI report comprises at least one value of a precoder matrix indicator ("PMI"), a rank indicator ("RI"), a CSI-RS resource indicator ("CRI"), a layer indicator ("LI"), or a channel quality indicator ("CQI"), or a combination thereof (wherein the at least one CSI report comprises a value of a precoder matrix indicator ("PMI"), a rank indicator ("RI"), a CSI-RS resource indicator ("CRI"), a layer indicator ("LI"), or a channel quality indicator ("CQI"), or a synchronization signal block resource indicator), and transmitting the CSI report (feeding back the set of the at least one CSI report to the mobile communication network).
Claim 1 of ‘068 application’ recites a CSI report includes at least one value of a PMI, a RI, a CRI, a LI or a CQI.
Claim 1 of ‘068 application’ does not explicitly disclose the at least one value is associated with a hypothesis of the set of hypotheses.
Gao discloses and wherein the at least one value is associated with a hypothesis of the set of hypotheses (the CSI feedback report includes a single TRP hypothesis and/or a NC-JT transmission hypothesis; the CSI includes a PMI, a RI and a CQI; see paragraphs [0023], [0180] and [0239] – [0240]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of ‘068 application’ and Gao to associate a value with a hypothesis of the set of hypotheses to support dynamical switching PDSCH transmissions (see paragraph [0306] of Gao).
The combination of claim 1 of ‘068 application’ and Gao discloses a UE receives a channel state information reporting setting.
The combination of claim 1 of ‘068 application’ and Gao does not explicitly disclose the CSI reporting setting includes an indication of at least two CSI-RS identifiers associated with at least two CSI-RS resources.
Muruganatha discloses wherein the CSI reporting setting includes an indication of at least two CSI-RS identifiers associated with at least two CSI-RS resources, or at least two CSI-RS port groups per CSI-RS resource, or both (to support CSI feedback for multi-TRP, a CSI-ReportConfig includes M (e.g. M=2) NZP-CSI-RS-Resource Sets; each NZP-CSI-RS-Resource Sets has a CSI-RS identifier associated with it; for example, jth CSI-RS resource from a first NZP-CSI-RS-Resource Set and kth CSI-RS resource from a second NZP-CSI-RS-Resource Set; see paragraph [0152]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of ‘068 application’, Gao and Muruganatha to include an indication of at least two identifiers associated with at least two CSI-RS resources in order to support CSI feedback for multi-TRP (see paragraph [0152] of Muruganatha).
Claim 17 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of the ‘068 application’; in view of Gao; and in further view of Muruganathan. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 17; claim 2 of ‘068 application’ recites the method of claim 16, wherein the indication of the CSI reporting for the multiple TRPs comprises a parameter indicating: a number of CSI reports; a number of codebook configurations; a pair of report quantities; or a transmission configuration indicator ("TCI") codepoint in a downlink control information, wherein the TCI codepoint corresponds to at least two TCI states (a number of CSI reports; multiple codebook configurations; a pair of report quantities; or a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) codepoint in a downlink control information, wherein the TCI codepoint corresponds to two TCI states).
Claim 18 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of the ‘068 application’; in view of Gao; and in further view of Muruganathan. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 18; claim 3 of ‘068 application’ recites the method of claim 16, wherein the CSI report comprises four or less PMI values, and wherein the CSI report comprise three or less RI values (wherein up to multiple values of the one or more of the PMI, the RI, the CRI, the LI, the CQL, or the SSBRI, or the combination thereof are reported in the at least one CSI report).
Claim 19 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of the ‘068 application’; in view of Gao; and in further view of Muruganatha. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 19; Claim 1 of ‘068 application’ recites a CSI report includes at least one value of a PMI, a RI, a CRI, a LI or a CQI.
Claim 1 of ‘068 application’ does not explicitly disclose including PMI and RI values corresponding to each of the two single-TRP transmission hypotheses.
Gao discloses a first PMI value and a first RI value correspond to a first hypothesis of the set of hypotheses, the set of hypotheses comprising at least two single-TRP transmission hypotheses (for K TRPs, the WD is configured with K NZP CSI-RS resources for channel measurement; the WD measures and estimates the single TRP transmission hypothesis CSI for the first TRP; each CSI may include a RI, a PMI; see paragraphs [0226], [0229] and [0239] – [0240]); a second PMI value and a second RI value correspond to a second hypothesis of the two single-TRP transmission hypotheses (the WD measures and estimates the single TRP transmission hypothesis CSI for the second TRP; each CSI may include a RI, a PMI; see paragraphs [0226], [0229] and [0239] – [0240]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of ‘068 application’ and Gao to include PMI and RI values corresponding to each of the two single-TRP transmission hypotheses to improve performance (see paragraph [0011] of Gao).
The combination of claim 1 of ‘068 application’ and Gao discloses CSI reports include CSI report for each TRP and a CSI report for multi-TRP.
The combination of claim 1 of ‘068 application’ and Gao does not explicitly disclose the CSI report for multi-TRP includes one RI, two PMIs and one CQI.
Muruganatha discloses a third PMI value, a fourth PMI value, and a third RI value correspond to a third hypothesis of the set of hypotheses, the set of hypotheses comprising a joint transmission hypothesis from at least two TRPs (in the case of 2 NZP CSI-RS resources case, CSI feedback for multi-TRP includes performing CSI computations and calculating one RI, two PMIs and one CQI; see paragraph [0148]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of ‘068 application’, Gao and Muruganatha to include one RI, two PMIs and one CQI in a multi-TRP CSI feedback to support multi-TRP URLLC scheme (see paragraph [0147] of Muruganatha).
Claim 20 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of the ‘068 application’; in view of Gao; and in further view of Muruganatha. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 20; the combination of claim 1 of ‘068 application’ and Gao discloses CSI reports include a CSI report for multi-TRP.
The combination of claim 1 of ‘068 application’ and Gao does not explicitly disclose the CSI report for multi-TRP includes two RI, two PMIs and one CQI.
Muruganatha discloses the method of claim 19, wherein the third RI value corresponds to a number of layers corresponding to both of the at least two TRPs, and wherein the number of layers corresponding to both of the at least two TRPs is based at least in part on a rule (when one layer is transmitted from each of two TRPs, the NC-JT CSI feedback two RIs, two PMIs and a single CQI; see paragraph [0095]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of ‘068 application’, Gao and Muruganatha to include two RI, two PMIs and one CQI in a multi-TRP CSI feedback to NR NC-JT scheme (see paragraph [0095] of Muruganatha).
Claim 21 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of the ‘068 application’; in view of Gao; and in further view of Muruganatha. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 21; claim 1 of ‘068 application’ recites a CSI report include at least one value of a PMI, a RI, a CRI, a LI or a CQI.
Claim 1 of ‘068 application’ does not explicitly disclose generating three CSI reports.
Gao discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising: generating three CSI reports (the CSI feedback report comprises K single TSP CSIs each associated with one of the K NZP CSI-RS resources and one CSI for NC-JT; when K=2, UE generates three CSI reports; see paragraphs [0204], [0239] – [0240] and [0248]), wherein a first CSI report of the three CSI reports corresponds to a first hypothesis of the set of hypotheses, wherein the set of hypotheses comprises two single-TRP transmission hypotheses (in an example of two TRPs, the WD measures and estimates the single TRP transmission hypothesis CSI for the first TRP; see paragraphs [0226] and [0229]), wherein a second CSI report of the three CSI reports corresponds to a second hypothesis of the two single-TRP transmission hypotheses (the WD measures and estimates the single TRP transmission hypothesis CSI for the second TRP; each CSI may include a RI, a PMI; see paragraphs [0226] and [0229]), and wherein a third CSI report of the three CSI reports corresponds to third hypothesis of the set of hypotheses, wherein the set of hypotheses comprises a joint transmission hypothesis from at least two TRPs (a CSI for NC-JT transmission hypothesis is also fed back in addition to the two single-TRP transmission hypothesis CSIs; see paragraphs [0232], [0239]-[0240] and [0248]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of ‘068 application’, Gao and Muruganatha to generate three CSI reports to improve performance in a MIMO (see paragraph [0011] of Gao).
Claim 22 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of the ‘068 application’; in view of Gao; and in further view of Muruganatha. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 22; claim 1 of ‘068 application’ recites a CSI report includes at least one value of a PMI, a RI, a CRI, a LI or a CQI.
Claim 1 of ‘068 application’ does not explicitly disclose each of the CSI reports include one PMI value, one RI value and one CQI value.
Gao discloses the method of claim 21, wherein each of the first CSI report and the second CSI report comprise one PMI value, one RI value, and one CQI value (each of CSI #1 for TRP #1 and CSI #2 for TRP #2 comprise one R1, one PM1 and one CQI; see paragraphs [0239] – [0241]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of ‘068 application’ and Gao to include a PMI value, a RI value and a CQI value in a CSI report to improve performance in a MIMO (see paragraph [0011] of Gao).
Claim 23 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of the ‘068 application’; in view of Gao; and in further view of Muruganatha. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 23; the combination of claim 1 of ‘068 application’ and Gao discloses a CSI report includes at least one value of a PMI, a RI, a CRI, a LI or a CQI.
The combination of claim 1 of ‘068 application’ and Gao does not explicitly disclose a third CSI report comprises two PMI values, one RI value, and one CQI value.
Muruganatha discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the third CSI report comprises two PMI values, one RI value, and one CQI value (in the case of 2 NZP CSI-RS resources case, CSI feedback for multi-TRP includes performing CSI computations and calculating one RI, two PMIs and one CQI; see paragraph [0148]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of ‘068 application’, Gao and Muruganatha to include one RI, two PMIs and one CQI in a multi-TRP CSI feedback to support multi-TRP URLLC scheme (see paragraph [0147] of Muruganatha).
Claim 24 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of the ‘068 application’; in view of Gao; and in further view of Muruganatha. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 24; the combination of claim 1 of ‘068 application’ and Gao discloses CSI reports include CSI report for each TRP and a CSI report for multi-TRP.
The combination of claim 1 of ‘068 application’ and Gao does not explicitly disclose the CSI report for multi-TRP includes one RI, two PMIs and one CQI.
Muruganatha discloses wherein the third CSI report comprises two PMI values, one RI value, and one CQI value (in the case of 2 NZP CSI-RS resources case, CSI feedback for multi-TRP includes performing CSI computations and calculating one RI, two PMIs and one CQI; see paragraph [0148]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of ‘068 application’, Gao and Muruganatha to include one RI, two PMIs and one CQI in a multi-TRP CSI feedback to support multi-TRP URLLC scheme (see paragraph [0147] of Muruganatha).
Claim 25 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of the ‘068 application’; in view of Gao; and in further view of Muruganatha. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 25; the combination of claim 1 of ‘068 application’ and Gao discloses CSI reports include CSI report for each TRP and a CSI report for multi-TRP.
The combination of claim 1 of ‘068 application’ and Gao does not explicitly disclose each RI value corresponds to a number of layers.
Muruganatha discloses the method of claim 24, wherein a first RI value of the two RI values corresponds to a first number of layers of a first PMI value of the two PMI values, and wherein a second RI value of the two RI values corresponds to a second number of layers of a second PMI value of the two PMI values (when one layer is transmitted from each of two TRP, NC-JT CSI feedback including two RIs, two PMIs would need to be fed back for NR; see paragraph [0095] and Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of ‘068 application’, Gao and Muruganatha to include two RI, two PMIs in a multi-TRP CSI feedback to NR NC-JT scheme (see paragraph [0095] of Muruganatha).
Claim 26 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of the ‘068 application’; in view of Gao; in view of Muruganatha; and in further view of Sun et al. (US 2023/0379031 A1). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 26; the combination of claim 1 of ‘068 application’, Gao and Muruganatha discloses generating and transmitting a CSI report including at least one value of the PMI, the RI, the CRI, the LI or the CQI.
The combination of claim 1 of ‘068 application’, Gao and Muruganatha does not explicitly disclose a CSI report associated with a single-TRP has higher priority than CSI report associated with a joint TRPs.
Sun discloses the method of claim 16, wherein a first subset of the at least one value of the PMI, the RI, the CRI, the LI, or the CQI, or a combination thereof corresponding to a single-TRP hypothesis is associated with a higher priority related to an order of reporting compared with a second subset of the at least one value of the PMI, the RI, the CRI, the LI, or the CQI, or a combination thereof corresponding to a joint transmission hypothesis from at least two TRPs (the single TRP CSI reports may be prioritized over multi-TRP CSI reports; the CSI report include PMI, RI, CQI; see paragraphs [0035] and [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of ‘068 application’, Gao, Muruganatha and Sun to have a CSI report associated with a single-TRP having higher priority than CSI report associated with a joint TRPs to meet UE capability (see paragraph [0035] of Sun).
Claim 27 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of the ‘068 application’; in view of Gao; in view of Muruganatha; and in further view of Ma et al. (US 2015/0139016 A1). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 27; the combination of claim 1 of ‘068 application’, Gao and Muruganatha discloses generating and transmitting a CSI report including at least one value of the PMI, the RI, the CRI, the LI or the CQI.
The combination of claim 1 of ‘068 application’, Gao and Muruganatha does not explicitly disclose the report is according to a descending order from the CQI value.
Ma discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the at least one value of the PMI, the RI, the CRI, the LI, or the CQI, or a combination thereof corresponding to a hypothesis are reported according to a descending order from the CQI value corresponding to the hypothesis (the receiving apparatus first sort the first CQI and the second CQI value in a descending order, and then feedback to the transmitting apparatus; see paragraph [0096]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of ‘068 application’, Gao, Muruganatha and Ma to report according to a descending order from the CQI values to ensure the performance of the communication system (see paragraph [0031] of Ma).
Claim 28 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of the ‘068 application’; in view of Gao; in view of Muruganatha; and in further view of Onggosanusi et al. (US 2018/0175993 A1). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 28; the combination of claim 1 of ‘068 application’, Gao and Muruganatha discloses generating and transmitting a CSI report including at least one value of the PMI, the RI, the CRI, the LI or the CQI.
The combination of claim 1 of ‘068 application’, Gao and Muruganatha does not explicitly disclose at least one of the PMI, the RI, the CRI, the LI or the CQI is multiplexed in a CSI report.
Onggosanusi discloses the method of claim 16, wherein an order, in which the at least one value of the PMI, the RI, the CRI, the LI, or the CQI, or a combination thereof is reported in the CSI report, is multiplexed by a value of a parameter reported within the CSI report, and the parameter reported corresponds to at least one transmission hypothesis (CRI is multiplexed with CQI, PMI and RI, and measured from a RS/CSI-RS setting associated with CQI/PMI/RI; the RS/CRI-RS setting can include K > 1 NZP CSI-RS resources; see paragraph [0136]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of ‘068 application’, Gao, Muruganatha and Onggosanusi to multiplex at least one of the PMI, the RI, the CRI, the LI and the CQI in a CSI report to improve in radio interface efficiency and coverage (see paragraph [0011] of Onggosanusi).
Claim 29 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of the ‘068 application’; in view of Gao; and in further view of Muruganatha. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 29; claim 13 of ‘068 application’ discloses a method of a network device, the method comprising (a method performed by a base station, the method comprising): transmitting a channel state information (CSI) reporting setting (transmitting at least one channel state information (CSI) reporting setting), wherein the CSI reporting setting comprises a CSI reference signal (RS) resource setting (wherein the at least one CSI reporting setting comprises at least one CSI reference signal (RS) (CSI-RS) resource setting), wherein the CSI reporting setting includes an indication of CSI reporting for multiple transmission-and-reception points (TRPs) (the CSI reporting setting includes an indication of CSI feedback reporting for multiple transmission points in a mobile communication network), wherein the CSI reporting setting corresponds to a set of hypotheses (a set of transmission hypotheses is identified based on the CSI reporting setting), and wherein each hypothesis of the set of hypotheses corresponds to a single-point transmission from at least one TRP, or a joint multi-point transmission from two TRPs, or a combination thereof (and the hypotheses include a combination of single-point transmission from at least one transmission and reception point (TRP), or multi-point joint transmission from two TRPs); transmitting at least one CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) on a CSI-RS resource based on the CSI-RS resource setting (transmitting at least one CSI-RS resource transmitted based on the CSI-RS resource setting), wherein a CSI report is generated based on the CSI reporting setting and the CSI-RS (wherein a set of at least one CSI report is generated based on the CSI reporting setting), wherein the CSI report comprises at least one value of a precoder matrix indicator ("PMI"), a rank indicator ("RI"), a CSI-RS resource indicator ("CRI"), a layer indicator ("LI"), or a channel quality indicator ("CQI"), or a combination thereof (the at least one CSI report comprises a value of one or more of a precoder matrix indicator (PMI), a rank indicator (RI), a CSI- RS resource indicator (CRI), a layer indicator (LI), a channel quality indicator (CQI), or a synchronization signal block resource indicator), and receiving the CSI report (receiving feedback comprising the set of the at least one CSI report).
Claim 13 of ‘068 application’ recites a CSI report include at least one value of a PMI, a RI, a CRI, a LI or a CQI.
Claim 13 of ‘068 application’ does not explicitly disclose the at least one value is associated with a hypothesis of the set of hypotheses.
Gao discloses and wherein the at least one value is associated with a hypothesis of the set of hypotheses (the CSI feedback report includes a single TRP hypothesis and/or a NC-JT transmission hypothesis; the CSI includes a PMI, a RI and a CQI; see paragraphs [0023], [0180] and [0239] – [0240]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 13 of ‘068 application’ and Gao to associate a value with a hypothesis of the set of hypotheses to support dynamical switching PDSCH transmissions (see paragraph [0306] of Gao).
The combination of claim 13 of ‘068 application’ and Gao discloses a UE receives a channel state information reporting setting.
The combination of claim 13 of ‘068 application’ and Gao does not explicitly disclose the CSI reporting setting includes an indication of at least two CSI-RS identifiers associated with at least two CSI-RS resources.
Muruganatha discloses wherein the CSI reporting setting includes an indication of at least two CSI-RS identifiers associated with at least two CSI-RS resources, or at least two CSI-RS port groups per CSI-RS resource, or both (to support CSI feedback for multi-TRP, a CSI-ReportConfig includes M (e.g. M=2) NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets; each NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets has a CSI-RS identifier associated with it; for example, jth CSI-RS resource from a first NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet and kth CSI-RS resource from a second NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet; see paragraph [0152]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 13 of ‘068 application’, Gao and Muruganatha to include an indication of at least two identifiers associated with at least two CSI-RS resources in order to support CSI feedback for multi-TRP (see paragraph [0152] of Muruganatha).
Claim 30 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15 of the ‘068 application’; in view of Gao; and in further view of Muruganatha. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 30; claim 15 of ‘068 application’ recites an apparatus for wireless communication, the apparatus comprising (a base station, comprising): a processor; and a memory coupled to the processor, the memory comprising instructions executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to (at least one processor coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the base station to): transmit a channel state information (CSI) reporting setting (transmit at least one channel state information (CSI) reporting setting), wherein the CSI reporting setting comprises a CSI reference signal (RS) resource setting (wherein the at least one CSI reporting setting comprises at least one CSI reference signal (RS) (CSI-RS) resource setting), wherein the CSI reporting setting corresponds to a set of hypotheses (a set of transmission hypotheses is identified based on the CSI reporting setting), and wherein each hypothesis of the set of hypotheses corresponds to a single-point transmission from at least one TRP, or a joint multi-point transmission from two TRPs, or a combination thereof (the hypotheses include a combination of single-point transmission from at least one transmission and reception point (TRP), or multi-point joint transmission from two TRPs); transmit at least one CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) on a CSI-RS resource based on the CSI-RS resource setting (transmit at least one CSI-RS resource transmitted based on the CSI-RS resource setting), wherein a CSI report is generated based on the CSI reporting setting and the CSI-RS (wherein a set of at least one CSI report is generated based on the CSI reporting setting), wherein the CSI report comprises at least one value of a precoder matrix indicator ("PMI"), a rank indicator ("RI"), a CSI-RS resource indicator ("CRI"), a layer indicator ("LI"), or a channel quality indicator ("CQI"), or a combination thereof (least one CSI report comprises a value of one or more of a precoder matrix indicator (PMI), a rank indicator (RI), a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRD, a layer indicator (LI), a channel quality indicator (CQI), or a synchronization signal block resource indicator), and wherein the at least one value is associated with a hypothesis of the set of hypotheses; and receive the CSI report (receive feedback comprising the set of the at least one CSI report).
Claim 15 of ‘068 application’ recites a CSI report include at least one value of a PMI, a RI, a CRI, a LI or a CQI.
Claim 15 of ‘068 application’ does not explicitly disclose the at least one value is associated with a hypothesis of the set of hypotheses.
Gao discloses and wherein the at least one value is associated with a hypothesis of the set of hypotheses (the CSI feedback report includes a single TRP hypothesis and/or a NC-JT transmission hypothesis; the CSI includes a PMI, a RI and a CQI; see paragraphs [0023], [0180] and [0239] – [0240]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 15 of ‘068 application’ and Gao to associate a value with a hypothesis of the set of hypotheses to support dynamical switching PDSCH transmissions (see paragraph [0306] of Gao).
The combination of claim 15 of ‘068 application’ and Gao discloses a UE receives a channel state information reporting setting.
The combination of claim 15 of ‘068 application’ and Gao does not explicitly disclose the CSI reporting setting includes an indication of at least two CSI-RS identifiers associated with at least two CSI-RS resources.
Muruganatha discloses wherein the CSI reporting setting includes an indication of at least two CSI-RS identifiers associated with at least two CSI-RS resources, or at least two CSI-RS port groups per CSI-RS resource, or both (to support CSI feedback for multi-TRP, a CSI-ReportConfig includes M (e.g. M=2) NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets; each NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets has a CSI-RS identifier associated with it; for example, jth CSI-RS resource from a first NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet and kth CSI-RS resource from a second NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet; see paragraph [0152]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 15 of ‘068 application’, Gao and Muruganatha to include an indication of at least two identifiers associated with at least two CSI-RS resources in order to support CSI feedback for multi-TRP (see paragraph [0152] of Muruganatha).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 17; claim 17 recites the limitation "wherein the indication of the CSI
reporting for the multiple TRPs comprises a parameter …" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-25 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. (US 2022/0094399 A1); in view of Muruganathan et al. (US 2024/0250727 A1, provisional application number 63/058290).
Regarding claim 16; Gao discloses a method of a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving a channel state information (CSI) reporting setting (a UE receives a configuration of a channel state information, CSI, report setting; see paragraph [0206] and Fig. 16), wherein the CSI reporting setting comprises a CSI reference signal (RS) resource setting (the CSI report setting contains at least K>1 NZP CSI-RS resources for channel measurement; see paragraph [0206] and Fig. 16), wherein the CSI reporting setting corresponds to a set of hypotheses (the CSI reporting setting is for single TRP transmission hypotheses or multi-TRP transmission hypotheses; see paragraph [0312] and Fig. 16), and wherein each hypothesis of the set of hypotheses corresponds to a single-point transmission from at least one transmission and reception point (TRP), or a joint multi-point transmission from two TRPs, or a combination thereof (for the case of three TRPs configured for the UE, the single TRP transmission hypothesis comprises three single TRP transmissions each from one of the three TRPs, and the NC JT transmission hypothesis comprises three NC-JT transmissions each from one pair of TRPs of the three TRPs; see paragraphs [0121], [0312] and Fig. 16); receiving at least one CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) on a CSI-RS resource based on the CSI-RS resource setting (the UE receives a CSI feedback report request for CSI measurement and feedback based at least in part on the CSI report setting; see paragraph [0206] and Fig. 16 ); generating a CSI report based on the CSI reporting setting and the CSI-RS (the UE sends a channel state information, CSI, feedback report; the CSI measurement and feedback are based on the CSI report setting and NZP CSI-RS resources; see paragraph [0206] and Fig. 16), wherein the CSI report comprises at least one value of a precoder matrix indicator ("PMI"), a rank indicator ("RI"), a CSI-RS resource indicator ("CRI"), a layer indicator ("LI"), or a channel quality indicator ("CQI"), or a combination thereof (a CSI feedback includes RI, PMI, CQI; see paragraph [0023]), and wherein the at least one value is associated with a hypothesis of the set of hypotheses (the CSI feedback report includes a single TRP hypothesis and/or a NC-JT transmission hypothesis; the CSI includes a PMI, a RI and a CQI; see paragraphs [0023], [0180] and [0239]–[0240]); and transmitting the CSI report (sending a CSI feedback report; see paragraph [0206] and Fig. 16).
Gao discloses a UE receives a channel state information reporting setting.
Gao does not explicitly disclose the CSI reporting setting includes an indication of at least two CSI-RS identifiers associated with at least two CSI-RS resources.
Muruganathan discloses wherein the CSI reporting setting includes an indication of at least two CSI-RS identifiers associated with at least two CSI-RS resources, or at least two CSI-RS port groups per CSI-RS resource, or both (to support CSI feedback for multi-TRPs, a CSI-ReportConfig includes M (e.g. M=2) NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets; each NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets has a CSI-RS identifier associated with it; for example, jth CSI-RS resource from a first NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet and kth CSI-RS resource from a second NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet; see paragraph [0152]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gao and Muruganathan to include an indication of at least two identifiers associated with at least two CSI-RS resources in order to support CSI feedback for multi-TRPs (see paragraph [0152] of Muruganathan).
Regarding claim 17; Gao discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the indication of the CSI reporting for the multiple TRPs comprises a parameter indicating: a number of CSI reports (the CSI-ReportConfig includes reportQuantity field; see paragraph [0033]); a number of codebook configurations; a pair of report quantities; or a transmission configuration indicator ("TCI") codepoint in a downlink control information, wherein the TCI codepoint corresponds to at least two TCI states (no patentable weight is given to the other limitations due to a claim language or).
Regarding claim 18; Gao discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the CSI report comprises four or less PMI values, and wherein the CSI report comprise three or less RI values (CSI feedback for K TRPs; each CSI may contain RI, PMI and one or two CQI; see paragraph [216]).
Regarding claim 19; Gao discloses the method of claim 18, wherein: a first PMI value and a first RI value correspond to a first hypothesis of the set of hypotheses, the set of hypotheses comprising at least two single-TRP transmission hypotheses (for K TRPs, the WD is configured with K NZP CSI-RS resources for channel measurement; the WD measures and estimates the single TRP transmission hypothesis CSI for the first TRP; each CSI may include a RI, a PMI; see paragraphs [0226], [0229] and [0239] – [0240]); a second PMI value and a second RI value correspond to a second hypothesis of the two single-TRP transmission hypotheses (the WD measures and estimates the single TRP transmission hypothesis CSI for the second TRP; each CSI may include a RI, a PMI; see paragraphs [0226], [0229] and [0239] – [0240]).
Gao discloses CSI reports include CSI report for each TRP and a CSI report for multi-TRP.
Gao does not explicitly disclose the CSI report for multi-TRP includes one RI, two PMIs and one CQI.
Muruganatha discloses and a third PMI value, a fourth PMI value, and a third RI value correspond to a third hypothesis of the set of hypotheses, the set of hypotheses comprising a joint transmission hypothesis from at least two TRPs (in the case of 2 NZP CSI-RS resources case, CSI feedback for multi-TRP includes performing CSI computations and calculating one RI, two PMIs and one CQI; see paragraph [0148]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gao and Muruganatha to include one RI, two PMIs and one CQI in a multi-TRP CSI feedback to support multi-TRP URLLC scheme (see paragraph [0147] of Muruganatha).
Regarding claim 20; Gao discloses CSI reports include a CSI report for multi-TRP.
Gao does not explicitly disclose the CSI report for multi-TRP includes two RI, two PMIs and one CQI.
Muruganatha discloses the method of claim 19, wherein the third RI value corresponds to a number of layers corresponding to both of the at least two TRPs, and wherein the number of layers corresponding to both of the at least two TRPs is based at least in part on a rule (when one layer is transmitted from each of two TRPs, the NC-JT CSI feedback two RIs, two PMIs and a single CQI; see paragraph [0095]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gao and Muruganatha to include two RI, two PMIs and one CQI in a multi-TRP CSI feedback to NR NC-JT scheme (see paragraph [0095] of Muruganatha).
Regarding claim 21; Gao discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising: generating three CSI reports (the CSI feedback report comprises K single TSP CSIs each associated with one of the K NZP CSI-RS resources and one CSI for NC-JT; when K=2, UE generates three CSI reports; see paragraphs [0204], [0239] – [0240] and [0248]), wherein a first CSI report of the three CSI reports corresponds to a first hypothesis of the set of hypotheses, wherein the set of hypotheses comprises two single-TRP transmission hypotheses (in an example of two TRPs, the WD measures and estimates the single TRP transmission hypothesis CSI for the first TRP; see paragraphs [0226] and [0229]), wherein a second CSI report of the three CSI reports corresponds to a second hypothesis of the two single-TRP transmission hypotheses (the WD measures and estimates the single TRP transmission hypothesis CSI for the second TRP; each CSI may include a RI, a PMI; see paragraphs [0226] and [0229]), and wherein a third CSI report of the three CSI reports corresponds to third hypothesis of the set of hypotheses, wherein the set of hypotheses comprises a joint transmission hypothesis from at least two TRPs (a CSI for NC-JT transmission hypothesis is also fed back in addition to the two single-TRP transmission hypothesis CSIs; see paragraphs [0232], [0239]-[0240] and [0248]).
Regarding claim 22; Gao discloses the method of claim 21, wherein each of the first CSI report and the second CSI report comprise one PMI value, one RI value, and one CQI value (each of CSI #1 for TRP #1 and CSI #2 for TRP #2 comprise one R1, one PM1 and one CQI; see paragraphs [0239] – [0241]).
Regarding claim 23; Gao discloses CSI reports include CSI report for each TRP and a CSI report for multi-TRP.
Gao does not explicitly disclose the CSI report for multi-TRP includes one RI, two PMIs and one CQI.
Muruganatha discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the third CSI report comprises two PMI values, one RI value, and one CQI value (in the case of 2 NZP CSI-RS resources case, CSI feedback for multi-TRP includes performing CSI computations and calculating one RI, two PMIs and one CQI; see paragraph [0148]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gao and Muruganatha to include one RI, two PMIs and one CQI in a multi-TRP CSI feedback to support multi-TRP URLLC scheme (see paragraph [0147] of Muruganatha).
Regarding claim 24; Gao discloses CSI reports include CSI report for each TRP and a CSI report for multi-TRP.
Gao does not explicitly disclose the CSI report for multi-TRP includes two RIs, two PMIs and one CQI.
Muruganatha discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the third CSI report comprises two PMI values, two RI values, and one CQI value (when one layer is transmitted from each of two TRPs, the NC-JT CSI feedback two RIs, two PMIs and a single CQI; see paragraph [0095]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gao and Muruganatha to include two RI, two PMIs and one CQI in a multi-TRP CSI feedback to NR NC-JT scheme (see paragraph [0095] of Muruganatha).
Regarding claim 25; Gao discloses CSI reports include CSI report for each TRP and a CSI report for multi-TRP.
Gao does not explicitly disclose each RI value corresponds to a number of layers.
Muruganatha discloses the method of claim 24, wherein a first RI value of the two RI values corresponds to a first number of layers of a first PMI value of the two PMI values, and wherein a second RI value of the two RI values corresponds to a second number of layers of a second PMI value of the two PMI values (when one layer is transmitted from each of two TRP, NC-JT CSI feedback including two RIs, two PMIs would need to be fed back for NR; see paragraph [0095] and Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gao and Muruganatha to include two RI, two PMIs in a multi-TRP CSI feedback to NR NC-JT scheme (see paragraph [0095] of Muruganatha).
Regarding claims 29 and 30; Gao discloses transmitting a channel state information (CSI) reporting setting (a UE receives a configuration of a channel state information, CSI, report setting; see paragraph [0206], Fig. 15 and Fig. 16), wherein the CSI reporting setting comprises a CSI reference signal (RS) resource setting (the CSI report setting contains at least K>1 NZP CSI-RS resources for channel measurement; see paragraph [0206], Fig. 15 and Fig. 16), wherein the CSI reporting setting corresponds to a set of hypotheses (the CSI reporting setting is for single TRP transmission hypotheses or multi-TRP transmission hypotheses; see paragraph [0312], Fig. 15 and Fig. 16), and wherein each hypothesis of the set of hypotheses corresponds to a single-point transmission from at least one transmission and reception point (TRP), or a joint multi-point transmission from two TRPs, or a combination thereof (for the case of three TRPs configured for the UE, the single TRP transmission hypothesis comprises three single TRP transmissions each from one of the three TRPs, and the NC JT transmission hypothesis comprises three NC-JT transmissions each from one pair of TRPs of the three TRPs; see paragraphs [0121], [0312] and Fig. 16); transmitting at least one CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) on a CSI-RS resource based on the CSI-RS resource setting (the UE receives a CSI feedback report request for CSI measurement and feedback based at least in part on the CSI report setting; see paragraph [0206], Fig. 15 and Fig. 16 ), wherein a CSI report is generated based on the CSI reporting setting and the CSI-RS (the UE sends a channel state information, CSI, feedback report; the CSI measurement and feedback are based on the CSI report setting and NZP CSI-RS resources; see paragraph [0206] and Fig. 16), wherein the CSI report comprises at least one value of a precoder matrix indicator ("PMI"), a rank indicator ("RI"), a CSI-RS resource indicator ("CRI"), a layer indicator ("LI"), or a channel quality indicator ("CQI"), or a combination thereof (a CSI feedback includes RI, PMI, CQI; see paragraph [0023]), and wherein the at least one value is associated with a hypothesis of the set of hypotheses (the CSI feedback report includes a single TRP hypothesis and/or a NC-JT transmission hypothesis; the CSI includes a PMI, a RI and a CQI; see paragraphs [0023], [0180] and [0239]–[0240]); and receiving the CSI report (receive the CSI feedback report; see Fig. 15).
Gao discloses a UE receives a channel state information reporting setting.
Gao does not explicitly disclose the CSI reporting setting includes an indication of at least two CSI-RS identifiers associated with at least two CSI-RS resources.
Maleki discloses wherein the CSI reporting setting includes an indication of at least two CSI-RS identifiers associated with at least two CSI-RS resources, or at least two CSI-RS port groups per CSI-RS resource, or both (to support CSI feedback for multi-TRP, a CSI-ReportConfig includes M (e.g. M=2) NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets; each NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets has a CSI-RS identifier associated with it; for example, jth CSI-RS resource from a first NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet and kth CSI-RS resource from a second NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet; see paragraph [0152]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gao and Maleki to include an indication of at least two identifiers associated with at least two CSI-RS resources in order to support CSI feedback for multi-TRP (see paragraph [0152] of Maleki).
Specifically for claim 30; Gao discloses an apparatus for wireless communication (network node 16; see paragraph [0169] and Fig. 10), the apparatus comprising: a processor (processing circuitry 68; see Fig. 10); and a memory coupled to the processor (memory 72; see Fig. 10), the memory comprising instructions executable by the processor (instructions; see paragraph [0169]).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao; in view of Muruganathan; and in further view of Sun et al. (US 2023/0379031 A1).
Regarding claim 26; the combination of Gao and Muruganathan discloses generating and transmitting a CSI report including at least one value of the PMI, the RI, the CRI, the LI or the CQI.
The combination of Gao and Muruganathan does not explicitly disclose a CSI report associated with a single-TRP has higher priority than CSI report associated with a joint TRPs.
Sun discloses the method of claim 16, wherein a first subset of the at least one value of the PMI, the RI, the CRI, the LI, or the CQI, or a combination thereof corresponding to a single-TRP hypothesis is associated with a higher priority related to an order of reporting compared with a second subset of the at least one value of the PMI, the RI, the CRI, the LI, or the CQI, or a combination thereof corresponding to a joint transmission hypothesis from at least two TRPs (the single TRP CSI reports may be prioritized over multi-TRP CSI reports; the CSI report include PMI, RI, CQI; see paragraphs [0035] and [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gao, Muruganathan and Sun to have a CSI report associated with a single-TRP having higher priority than CSI report associated with a joint TRPs to meet UE capability (see paragraph [0035] of Sun).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao; in view of Muruganathan; and in further view of Ma et al. (US 2015/0139016 A1).
Regarding claim 27; the combination of Gao and Muruganathan discloses generating and transmitting a CSI report including at least one value of the PMI, the RI, the CRI, the LI or the CQI.
The combination of Gao and Muruganathan does not explicitly disclose the report is according to a descending order from the CQI value.
Ma discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the at least one value of the PMI, the RI, the CRI, the LI, or the CQI, or a combination thereof corresponding to a hypothesis are reported according to a descending order from the CQI value corresponding to the hypothesis (the receiving apparatus first sort the first CQI and the second CQI value in a descending order, and then feedback to the transmitting apparatus; see paragraph [0096]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gao, Muruganathan and Ma to report according to a descending order from the CQI values to ensure the performance of the communication system (see paragraph [0031] of Ma).
Claims 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao; in view of Muruganathan; and in further view of Onggosanusi et al. (US 2018/0175993 A1).
Regarding claim 28; the combination of Gao and Muruganathan discloses generating and transmitting a CSI report including at least one value of the PMI, the RI, the CRI, the LI or the CQI.
The combination of Gao and Muruganathan does not explicitly disclose at least one of the PMI, the RI, the CRI, the LI or the CQI is multiplexed in a CSI report.
Onggosanusi discloses the method of claim 16, wherein an order, in which the at least one value of the PMI, the RI, the CRI, the LI, or the CQI, or a combination thereof is reported in the CSI report, is multiplexed by a value of a parameter reported within the CSI report, and the parameter reported corresponds to at least one transmission hypothesis (CRI is multiplexed with CQI, PMI and RI, and measured from a RS/CSI-RS setting associated with CQI/PMI/RI; the RS/CRI-RS setting can include K > 1 NZP CSI-RS resources; see paragraph [0136]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gao, Muruganathan and Onggosanusi to multiplex at least one of the PMI, the RI, the CRI, the LI and the CQI in a CSI report to improve in radio interface efficiency and coverage (see paragraph [0011] of Onggosanusi).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 16 have been considered but are moot in view
of a reference Muruganathan et al. (US 2024/0250727 A1, provisional application number 63/058290) being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office
action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to NING LI whose telephone number is (571)270-0624. The examiner can normally be reached Monday, Tuesday, Thursday 8:30am - 5:00pm.
/N.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/MANSOUR OVEISSI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415