DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, 12 and 14-16 in the reply filed on 12/26/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 17-19, 21, 25 and 26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/26/2025.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains legal phraseology. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10, 12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The limitation “comprises polyethylene or parts thereof” in claim 1 is indefinite. The metes and bounds of “parts thereof” is unclear. Does merely having an ethyl group satisfy the limitation? Any functional group can also be part of a polyethylene polymer, and can be considered a “part thereof”.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The variables Ra, Rb and Rc are not defined for the R7 variables.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The variables Ra, Rb and Rc are not defined for the R7 variables.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The embodiment of 100 molar% of formula (I) relative to the copolymer means that general formula (II) is not present, as required by claim 1.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 10 recites the broad recitation PEG, and the claim also recites PEG having a number average molecular weight of between 500 and 7,000 which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 12 recites the broad recitation of genera, and the claim also recites specific species, such as decyl, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 12 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blum et al (2018/0042843).
Regarding claims 1-3, 5-9, 12, 14 and 15: Blum et al. teach a copolymer that is a polymerization of norbornyl-peptide monomers via ROMP. Blum et al. teach that the polymerized monomer is N-substituted-5-norbornene-2,3-dicarboximide, wherein the substitution comprises a therapeutic peptide [0185]. Blum et al. teach the following structure, which corresponds to claimed general formula (II):
[Claim 8].
Blum et al. also teach monomers that correspond to the claimed general formula (I) [0104, 0189, 0214], and the following copolymer:
[0250-0255; Figures 1, 13, 15-17, 23, 27 and 32]. Blum et al. teach optimize the linking group between the norbornyl polymer backbone and the peptide [0260]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the options within Blum et al. that meet the claimed structure to produce a high density brush peptide polymer, drug delivery vehicles for delivering cell penetrating peptides and drugs.
Regarding claim 10: Blum et al. teach polyethylene glycol [0252, 0276; Examples].
Regarding claim 16: Blum et al. teach the claimed structure [0003, 0024, 0035, 0037; Table 1; Examples].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10, 12 and 14-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim s 1-4, 6, 8-11 and 13-14 of copending Application No. 18/251144. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Contact Information
/JOHN E USELDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763