DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Final Office Action is in reply to the communications filed on 14 January 2026.
Claim 8, 11, 13, 17 and 19 have been cancelled.
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 12, 14-16, 18, and 20-24 are currently pending and have been examined.
Previous Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Examiner withdraws the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph of claims 1-7, 9-10, 12, 14-16, 18, and 20-24 in light of the claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 10, 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ha et al (US 20170351887 A1).
Claim 1: Ha discloses an item with engraving associable with a web content, comprising:
an item body, made of metal or metal alloy (see [0038]: FIG. 1 shows a jewelry article 10 according to some embodiments of the present invention. The jewelry article 10 includes a substrate 11, such as a medallion made of metal, stone, or other material);
at least one engraving made on said item body or on an element embedded or mounted in the item body, (see [0038]: such as a medallion made of metal, stone, or other material, on which micro- or nano-sized human readable information may be printed or etched.) wherein said at least one engraving represents at least one respective engraved code which is associated with the item (see [0053] For example, on a medallion 11 micro- or nano-printed or etched with Shakespeare's works 25, as shown in the exemplar system of FIG. 4, an optical or wireless tag can instruct the reading or electronic device 13 to access a database including audio information of the book being read or to access a video about the various works of Shakespeare) and is also associated with a web connection able to show a web content, related to the item (see [0070] Because data may be written from any media source, a website and/or web page may be used as a source of images and/or other data to be recorded. Further, any of the communications, inputs, storage, databases or displays discussed herein may be facilitated through a website having web pages. The term “web page” as it is used herein is not meant to limit the type of documents and applications that might be used to interact with the user.);
wherein said item comprises a ring and/or a piece of jewelry and/or a jewel and/or a watch and/or a medal and/or an item made of a precious metal or of a precious metal alloy (see [0038]: jewelry item); and
wherein said at least one engraved code comprises a Quick-Response-code (QR-code) and/or a numerical code and/or an alphanumerical code and/or a bar code and/or a QR DATAMATRIX code (see [0039]: QR code).
and wherein said code associated with the item is a unique identifier of the item, and wherein said web content reachable through the web connection associated with the code comprises information relating to recognition and/or authentication and/or characterization of the item (see [0012]: the wireless or optical tag may store a unique code corresponding to the printed or etched human readable information, the unique code associated with the electronic file corresponding to the printed or etched human readable information. [0053] For example, on a medallion 11 micro- or nano-printed or etched with Shakespeare's works 25, as shown in the exemplar system of FIG. 4, an optical or wireless tag can instruct the reading or electronic device 13 to access a database including audio information of the book being read or to access a video about the various works of Shakespeare. In some embodiments, the database may be stored in storage 157 shown in FIG. 7 and accessed by the electronic device 13 via network 153 shown in FIG. 7. The electronic file corresponding to the printed or etched human readable information 25 may be displayed on a display screen on the electronic device 13, or on any other associated display 160 as shown in FIG. 7.)
Claim 2: Ha discloses wherein said at least one engraved code is a QR-code, which is frameable by a mobile user device (see Fig. 2).
Claim 3: Ha discloses wherein said at least one engraving is made on a metal or metal alloy portion of the item body (see [0038]: The jewelry article 10 includes a substrate 11, such as a medallion made of metal, stone, or other material, on which micro- or nano-sized human readable information may be printed or etched.).
Claim 4: Ha discloses wherein the item body is made of gold and/or silver and/or aluminum and/or steel (see [0038]: The jewelry article 10 includes a substrate 11, such as a medallion made of metal, stone, or other material, on which micro- or nano-sized human readable information may be printed or etched.).
Claim 12: Ha discloses wherein said information relating to the recognition and/or authentication and/or characterization of the item comprises pieces of information adapted to verify the following functions: authenticity of the item and/or technical features of the item and/or duration of the warranty of the item and/or ownership of the item and/or history of the ownership of the item and/or service/maintenance interventions and/or immediate reporting of theft or loss and/or geolocation of the closest retailer, and/or wherein said information relating to the recognition and/or authentication and/or characterization of the item comprises photographs and/or videos of the item (See [0053]: on a medallion 11 micro- or nano-printed or etched with Shakespeare's works, access a video about the various works of Shakespeare).
Claim 15: Ha discloses wherein said web content reachable through the web connection associated with the code comprises photographic and/or video and/or audio contents loadable by a user (see 0070] Because data may be written from any media source, a website and/or web page may be used as a source of images and/or other data to be recorded. Further, any of the communications, inputs, storage, databases or displays discussed herein may be facilitated through a website having web pages. [0072] In some embodiments, in an application for music, a jewelry article 10 may be micro- or nano-printed or etched with the lyrics and musical notations, and the instructions can direct the reader to access the musician's audio or video playback of the music).
Claim(s) 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kumar et al ( US 2020/0364427 A1).
Claim 21: Kumar discloses a method for accessing web contents associated with an item through codes engraved on the item, comprising:
making, via laser engraving, at least one engraving on an item body, made of metal or metal alloy, or on an element embedded or mounted in the item body, wherein said at least one engraving represents at least one respective engraved code associated with the metal item and further associated with a web connection able to show said web content, related to the item (See [0009], [0019] A directed energy beam (ultrashort pulsed laser and focused ion beam) and/or micromechanical process like micro-milling and micro-drilling are used for inscribing micro scale optical codes on such precious objects. The present disclosure further describes a method and system for reading the microscale optical code produced on precious objects. A mobile device may be used for reading the microscale optical code created on the jewelry and gemstones. [0026] A software application is installed in the mobile device for an image processing of the captured images or videos of the microscale optical code. The software application receives the captured images of the microscale optical code. The captured images of the microscale optical code further may be processed at the software application using one or more processors of the mobile device 130. The software application decodes the microscale optical code in the captured image and extracts at least one URL address corresponding to a web page. [0029];
wherein said item comprises a ring and/or a piece of jewelry and/or a jewel and/or a watch and/or a medal and/or an item made of a precious metal or of a precious metal alloy (see [0009]: The precious object may be jewelry, precious metals, natural or man-made diamonds, natural or man-made gemstones or semi-precious gemstones.);
and wherein said at least one engraved code comprises a Quick-Response-code (QR-cod)e and/or a numerical code and/or an alphanumerical code and/or a bar code and/or a DATAMATRIX code (see [0009]: generating a two-dimensional data matrix with the array of micro-indents or micro-holes);
and wherein said code associated with the item is a unique identifier of the item, and wherein said web content reachable through the web connection associated with the code comprises information relating to recognition and/or authentication and/or characterization of the item (See [0026]: The software application receives the captured images of the microscale optical code. The captured images of the microscale optical code further may be processed at the software application using one or more processors of the mobile device 130. The software application decodes the microscale optical code in the captured image and extracts at least one URL address corresponding to a web page. . The web page may retrieve a pre-stored user data from a remote server. [0027]: When a web page associated with the URL address is loaded on the web browser, the pre-stored user data corresponding to the unique address of the URL address, is rendered on an on-screen interface of the mobile device 110. [0028] The pre-stored user data comprises at least one personalized message. The personalized message may comprise a greeting message, wishes, or a reminder, or an information about the merchandise (merchandise includes, jewelry and precious gemstone)).
Claim 22: Kumar discloses a method according to claim 21, comprising the further steps of: accessing a web portal through an electronic link to the web portal, associated with said code engraved onto the item (see [0011]: processing the image of the microscale optical code to extract at least one URL address of a web page, by the application using one or more processors of the mobile device, forwarding the URL address automatically by application to a web browser of the mobile device and redirecting to the web page associated with the URL address automatically on the web browser of the mobile device);
accessing information describing and/or characterizing the item comprising photographs and/or videos and/or a written description of technical features of the item (see [0028] The pre-stored user data comprises at least one personalized message. The personalized message is relayed to a user through the on-screen interface of the mobile device. The personalized message may comprise a content in any of the format such as audio, video, GIF, text or any other format based on the personalization method. For example, the personalized message may comprise a greeting message, wishes, or a reminder, or an information about the merchandise.);
wherein said step of accessing a web portal comprises accessing the web portal through the acquisition of the image of the QR Code through a mobile user device, or by entering the numerical or alphanumerical code engraved by a processor or desktop or laptop computer (See [0026]: The software application receives the captured images of the microscale optical code. The captured images of the microscale optical code further may be processed at the software application using one or more processors of the mobile device 130. The software application decodes the microscale optical code in the captured image and extracts at least one URL address corresponding to a web page).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha et al (US 20170351887 A1) in view of Kumar et al (US 2020/0364427 A1).
Claim 5: Ha discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 3 above. Ha does not expressly disclose a laser engraving but Kumar in the same field of endeavor teaches, wherein said at least one engraving comprises laser engraving (see[0019] A directed energy beam (ultrashort pulsed laser and focused ion beam) and/or micromechanical process like micro-milling and micro-drilling are used for inscribing micro scale optical codes on such precious objects).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to inscribe the jewelry with laser engraving as taught by Kumar in the etching of a jewelry article of Ha “for an improved method and system for inscribing micro-sized optical codes on the surface of the jewelry or precious gemstones with minimal damage to the surface of the precious material of the jewelry or gemstones” (Kumar, [0005]).
Claim 10: Ha discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1 above. Ha teaches [0070]: Because data may be written from any media source, a website and/or web page may be used as a source of images and/or other data to be recorded. Further, any of the communications, inputs, storage, databases or displays discussed herein may be facilitated through a website having web pages. However, Ha does not expressly disclose wherein said web connection associated with the engraved code is a URL link which enables access to a web portal and/or a web page through which said contents associated with the item are visible but Kumar in the same field of endeavor teaches, wherein said web connection associated with the engraved code is a URL link which enables access to a web portal and/or a web page through which said contents associated with the item are visible (See [0026]: the software application decodes the microscale optical code in the captured image and extracts at least one URL address corresponding to a web page. The extracted URL address is automatically forwarded by the software application to a web browser of the mobile device 130. The web browser runs on the on-screen interface. The web browser automatically loads the web page of the extracted URL address, the web page associated with the URL address is redirected automatically on the web browser of the mobile device 130. The web page may retrieve a pre-stored user data from a remote server. [0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in Ha, wherein said web connection associated with the engraved code is a URL link which enables access to a web portal and/or a web page through which said contents associated with the item are visible as taught by Kumar because it would provide a unique address to access the pre-stored user data stored at the cloud database (Kumar, [0027]).
Claim(s) 6, 7, 9, 14, 16, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha et al (US 2017/0351887 A1) in view of Dholakiya et al (US 2017/0365194 A1)
Claim 6: Ha discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1 above. Ha discloses wherein said at least one engraving is made on an element (see [0038]: The jewelry article 10 includes a substrate 11, such as a medallion made of metal, stone, or other material, on which micro- or nano-sized human readable information may be printed or etched). Ha does not expressly disclose an element that is mounted or embedded or recessed in cavity obtained in the item body but Dholakiya in the same field of endeavor teaches, wherein said at least one engraving is made on an element that is mounted or embedded or recessed in cavity obtained in the item body (see [0065]: and engrave at least the diamond identification code (1802), the diamond weight (1804) and metal identification (1806) on the inside band of a ring setting to provide a completed set diamond ring).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the etching of Ha, one engraving is made on an element that is mounted or embedded or recessed in cavity obtained in the item body as taught by Dholakiya in order to provide a completed set (Dholakiya, [0006]).
Claim 7: The combination of Ha and Dholakiya discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 6 above. Ha further teaches, wherein said element is a plate made of steel or metal, or wherein said element is a plate made of ceramic (see [0038]: The jewelry article 10 includes a substrate 11, such as a medallion made of metal, stone, or other material, on which micro- or nano-sized human readable information may be printed or etched. )
Claim 9: The combination of Ha and Dholakiya discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 6 above. Ha further teaches, wherein said element is a stone or precious stone (see [0038]: The jewelry article 10 includes a substrate 11, such as a medallion made of metal, stone, or other material, on which micro- or nano-sized human readable information may be printed or etched).
Claim 14: Ha discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 11 above. Ha does not expressly disclose the following limitations but Dholakiya in the same field of endeavor teaches, wherein said information relating to the recognition and/or authentication and/or characterization of the item comprises traceability information that is generated and/or accessed by the manufacturer, said traceability information comprising: pieces of information about traceability of the item along a production chain and/or about distribution logistics control and/or about creation of customer databases and/or about checking expiry of the warranty and any extensions and/or about list of maintenance interventions and/or about checking sales of authorized retailers and/or checking authenticity of the items by retailers and/or about impossibility to counterfeit the item and the warranty and/or about history of ownership of the item and/or about receipt of reporting of theft or loss and/or about loading photographs and videos and/or audios of the item (see [0065]. receiving a rough diamond (900) having rough diamond data, wherein rough diamond data includes at least the country of origin (902) and weight (904). The rough diamond data may further include the name of the diamond mine, the name of the individual who discovered the rough diamond and a conflict free certification. The method may have the step of assigning a diamond identification code (1802) to the rough diamond; capturing an image (906) of the rough diamond; saving the image (906) of the rough diamond, the rough diamond data and the diamond identification code (1802) in a computing system (e.g. 210); cut, polish and laser inscribe the diamond identification code (1802) on the rough diamond by a specific craftsmen to provide a polished diamond and specific craftsmen data, wherein the specific craftsmen data includes at least location (1106), date (1102) and name (1104); capturing an image of the polished diamond (1900), including at least the laser inscription (1902) and the polished diamond (1900); saving the image of the polished diamond and the specific craftsmen data in a computing system (e.g. 210) and associating the image of the polished diamond (1900) and the specific craftsmen data with the diamond identification code (1802) in the computing system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include system and method of accessing information about jewelry of Ha, wherein said information relating to the recognition and/or authentication and/or characterization of the item comprises traceability information that is generated and/or accessed by the manufacturer, said traceability information comprising: pieces of information about traceability of the item along a production chain and/or about distribution logistics control and/or about creation of customer databases and/or about checking expiry of the warranty and any extensions and/or about list of maintenance interventions and/or about checking sales of authorized retailers and/or checking authenticity of the items by retailers and/or about impossibility to counterfeit the item and the warranty and/or about history of ownership of the item and/or about receipt of reporting of theft or loss and/or about loading photographs and videos and/or audios of the item as taught by Dholakiya because it would “help increase both monetary value and sentimental value of a piece of jewelry by providing credible information to the buyer regarding the sources of the material and the labor that have contributed to the finished product and by allowing the buyer to include his or her personal story that led to the purchase of the piece” (Dholakiya, [0005]).
Claim 16: Ha discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 15 above. Ha discloses wherein the item is a ring or piece of jewelry or jewel (See [0038]. Ha also discloses photographic and/or video and/or audio contents (see [0072]). Ha does not expressly disclose said photographic and/or video and/or audio contents comprise photograph albums and/or digital videos of events and/or ceremonies, or wherein the item is a ring and/or a medal and/or another precious item for a prize-giving, and said photographic and/or video and/or audio contents comprise images and/or videos of a sports and/or cinematographic and/or musical event and/or of the related prize-giving but Dholakiya teaches, said photographic and/or video and/or audio contents comprise photograph albums and/or digital videos of events and/or ceremonies, or wherein the item is a ring and/or a medal and/or another precious item for a prize-giving, and said photographic and/or video and/or audio contents comprise images and/or videos of a sports and/or cinematographic and/or musical event and/or of the related prize-giving (See [0065]: diamond ring set. [0066]: [0066] There may be the step of providing a website to a customer, the website permitting the customer to enter personal information regarding purchase and use of the jewelry in order to personalize the story, wherein the personal information is associated with the diamond identification code. The personal information may include the bride's name (1502), groom's name (1504) engagement story, the engagement date, the engagement location, the wedding story, the wedding date (1506), the wedding location (1508), engagement photos and wedding photos.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include system and method of accessing information about jewelry of Ha said photographic and/or video and/or audio contents comprise photograph albums and/or digital videos of events and/or ceremonies as taught by Dholakiya because it would “help increase both monetary value and sentimental value of a piece of jewelry” (Dholakiya, [0005]).
Claim 18: Ha discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1 above. Ha does not expressly disclose the following limitations but Dholakiya in the same field of endeavor teaches, comprising at least two engravings corresponding to at least two respective codes, including at least one QR-code and at least one numerical or alphanumerical code, wherein said QR-code and said numerical or alphanumerical code are codes associated with each other and both corresponding to the item (See Fig. 18, [0065]: engrave at least the diamond identification code (1802), the diamond weight (1804) and metal identification (1806) on the inside band of a ring setting).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the etching of Ha, two engravings corresponding to at least two respective codes, including at least one QR-code and at least one numerical or alphanumerical code, wherein said QR-code and said numerical or alphanumerical code are codes associated with each other and both corresponding to the item as taught by Dholakiya in order to provide a completed set (Dholakiya, [0006]).
Claim 20: Ha discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1 above. Ha does not expressly disclose wherein: the item is a ring, wherein the engraving corresponding to the code is made on an inner surface of the ring; or the item is a watch, wherein the engraving corresponding to the code is made on a case or back or clock face or on an external part or on gears; or the item is a piece of jewelry, in which the engraving corresponding to the code is made on an upper part or on a lower or on a lateral part of the piece of jewelry but Dholakiya in the same field of endeavor teaches, wherein: the item is a ring, wherein the engraving corresponding to the code is made on the an inner surface of the ring; or the item is a watch, wherein the engraving corresponding to the code is made on a case or back or clock face or on an external part or on gears; or the item is a piece of jewelry, in which the engraving corresponding to the code is made on an upper part or on a lower or on a lateral part of the piece of jewelry (see [0065]: and engrave at least the diamond identification code (1802), the diamond weight (1804) and metal identification (1806) on the inside band of a ring setting to provide a completed set diamond ring).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the etching of Ha, the item is a ring, wherein the engraving corresponding to the code is made on an inner surface of the ring as taught by Dholakiya in order to provide a completed set (Dholakiya, [0006]).
Claim(s) 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al (US 2020/0364427 A1) in view of Dholakiya et al (US 2017/0365194 A1).
Claim 23: Kumar discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 22 above. Kumar does not expressly disclose the following limitations but Dholakiya in the same field of endeavor teaches, accessing, through the web portal, further authentication and/or anti-counterfeiting and/or warranty verification information, by a user and owner of the item, through said web portal, by entering one or more further user codes available to the user of the item (see [0068] The personal information may be made available to a seller and a buyer of the piece of jewelry and to third parties referring to the website (209) and granted access. Authorized sellers, buyers and third parties may add story information associated with the diamond identification code (1702). Registration of the piece of jewelry at a website (209) may certify authenticity of the parts that include the identification code).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the system of Kumar, accessing, through the web portal, further authentication and/or anti-counterfeiting and/or warranty verification information, by a user and owner of the item, through said web portal, by entering one or more further user codes available to the user of the item as taught by Dholakiya because it “help increase both monetary value and sentimental value of a piece of jewelry by providing credible information to the buyer regarding the sources of the material and the labor that have contributed to the finished product” (Dholakiya, [0005]).
Claim 24: The combination of Kumar and Dholakiya discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 23 above. Dholakiya further teaches performing, by the user of the item, through said web portal, by entering said further user code available to the owner of the item, one or more of the following functions: reporting of theft or loss of the item; item maintenance interventions; access to the item ownership history (see [0010] In one aspect of the present invention, successive owners of the jewelry are identified on the website and stories of successive owners of the jewelry is provided on the website. [0046] For example, a buyer of the jewelry system 100 of FIG. 1 uses the information available in the information booklet 120 to register his ring 110 at the registration server 230 by accessing the registration website from his personal computer which operates as the registration station 210).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 14 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Ha does not disclose nor suggest, wherein said code associated with the item is a unique identifier of the item, and wherein said web content reachable through the web connection associated with the code comprises information relating to recognition and/or authentication and/or characterization of the item. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Ha teaches, at paragraph [0053]: For example, on a medallion 11 micro- or nano-printed or etched with Shakespeare's works 25, as shown in the exemplar system of FIG. 4, an optical or wireless tag can instruct the reading or electronic device 13 to access a database including audio information of the book being read or to access a video about the various works of Shakespeare. In some embodiments, the database may be stored in storage 157 shown in FIG. 7 and accessed by the electronic device 13 via network 153 shown in FIG. 7. The electronic file corresponding to the printed or etched human readable information 25 may be displayed on a display screen on the electronic device 13, or on any other associated display 160 as shown in FIG. 7. As disclosed in Ha, the information is related to the characterization of the medallion.
The Examiner further disagrees with the Applicant’s assertion that Kumar does not teach or suggest, wherein said code associated with the item is a unique identifier of the item, and wherein said web content reachable through the web connection associated with the code comprises information relating to recognition and/or authentication and/or characterization of the item. Kumar teaches at the limitation in paragraphs, [0026]: The software application receives the captured images of the microscale optical code. The captured images of the microscale optical code further may be processed at the software application using one or more processors of the mobile device 130. The software application decodes the microscale optical code in the captured image and extracts at least one URL address corresponding to a web page. . The web page may retrieve a pre-stored user data from a remote server. [0027]: When a web page associated with the URL address is loaded on the web browser, the pre-stored user data corresponding to the unique address of the URL address, is rendered on an on-screen interface of the mobile device 110. [0028] The pre-stored user data comprises at least one personalized message. The personalized message may comprise a greeting message, wishes, or a reminder, or an information about the merchandise (merchandise includes, jewelry and precious gemstone).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Gottesman (US 20070132845 A1): [0011] During the showing and video streaming, the gemologist may direct the camera to capture an identification number of the jewelry item being inspected. In a diamond, for instance, an identification number is often etched into the girdle of the cut stone. Showing the identification number to the remote customer may help put the customer at ease that the diamond he will receive is the exact same diamond that was seen in the video stream.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MAAME BALLOU
Examiner
Art Unit 3629
/MAAME BALLOU/Examiner, Art Unit 3629
/JESSICA LEMIEUX/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3626