DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “pressure control device” in claim 37, and “control system” in claim 38.
According to the specification, the pressure control device is a pump, a blower, or a vacuum system. According to the specification, the control system is a system comprising a first control program and a memory.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The originally filed disclosure fails to provide support for reducing a gas-outlet flow rate both based on a comparison and after a predefined waiting time.
Claims 28, 30-32, and 34-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 28, the phrase “based on feedback from measured pressure and/or flow” renders the claim indefinite. What pressure is being measured? What flow is being measured? Clarification is requested. For this examination, the claim is being interpreted such that the feedback is determined from any measured pressure and from any measured flow.
Regarding claim 30, the phrase “wherein said control system comprises a first control program and a memory” renders the claim indefinite. Claim 27 already recites that the plethysmograph comprises a first control program and a memory. Are the first control program and memory of claim 30 the same as or different than the first control program and memory of claim 27? For this examination, the first control program and memory of claim 30 are being interpreted as being the same first control program and memory of claim 27. Further regarding claim 30, the phrase “the desired negative gas pressure stored in the memory” lacks proper antecedent basis as claim 27 recites that a “desired negative gas-pressure setpoint” is stored in the memory.
Regarding claim 31, the phrase “the gas-outlet flow rate” lacks proper antecedent basis. For this examination, the phrase is being interpreted as “a gas-outlet flow rate”.
Regarding claim 32, it is unclear what is meant by “the correlation of a gas outlet flow and at least one measured gas pressure value”.
Regarding claim 34, the phrase “the negative gas pressure” lacks proper antecedent basis. For examination purposes, the phrase is being interpreted as “a negative gas pressure”.
Regarding claim 37, the phrase “the lung function” lacks proper antecedent basis. For examination purposes, the phrase is being interpreted as “a lung function”.
Regarding claim 39, it remains unclear as to whether or not the “actual gas pressure inside the cabinet” is the same as the “desired negative gas pressure” that is provided in step b) of claim 37. If the desired negative gas pressure is provided in step b) (as required by claim 37), then it is the actual gas pressure inside the cabinet. Is claim 39 requiring the measured actual gas pressure to be compared to itself? Clarification is requested.
Regarding claim 40, the phrase “the subject” lacks proper antecedent basis. Furthermore, as with claim 28, the phrase “based on feedback from measured pressure and/or flow” renders the claim indefinite.
Regarding claim 41, it is unclear what is meant by “the relation of a gas outlet flow and at least a measured pressure value”.
Regarding claim 42, the phrase “the negative gas pressure inside the cabinet” lacks proper antecedent basis. For examination purposes, the phrase is being interpreted as one of 1) a negative gas pressure inside the cabinet, and 2) said desired negative gas pressure inside the cabinet.
Claims not explicitly rejected above are rejected due to their dependence on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25-27, 29, 34, 36, 37, and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganshorn’871 (USPN 5,680,871) in view of Margalit’646 (US Pub No. 2015/0007646 – previously cited).
Regarding claim 25, Ganshorn’871 discloses a whole-body-plethysmograph for examination of lung function of subjects (see TITLE, and ABSTRACT), the whole-body-plethysmograph comprising: an air-tight, lockable cabinet having a cabinet opening (Figure 1, cabinet 1: the cabinet inherently comprises an opening by which the subject enters the cabinet); and a cabinet closure for gas-tight sealing of the cabinet opening (col. 1, lines 5-21: in order to make the cabinet “air tight”, the cabinet must include a cabinet closure for sealing the cabinet opening; and see claim 1).
Ganshorn’871 discloses all of the elements of the current invention, as discussed above, except for the plethysmograph comprising a pressure control device comprising at least one of a pump, a blower, or a vacuum system, configured to provide a desired negative gas pressure inside said cabinet to seal said cabinet opening by said cabinet closure, while a pressure variation caused by the examination of the lung function is measured, and wherein the desired negative gas pressure inside the cabinet is between 0.3 and 2.0 kPa below ambient pressure. Margalit’646 teaches a pressure control device comprising at least one of a pump, a blower, or a vacuum system (Figure 1, pressure control device 6,12a,16; section [0056]), wherein the pressure control device is configured to provide a desired negative gas pressure inside a cabinet to seal a cabinet opening by a cabinet closure, wherein the desired negative gas pressure inside the cabinet is between 0.3 and 2.0 kPa below ambient pressure (section [0056]). Margalit’646 discloses that creating such a negative gas pressure inside the cabinet ensures that the cabinet closure (a door) stays tightly closed, and does not put a subject inside the cabinet in any danger of oxygen deprivation (section [0056]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the plethysmograph of Ganshorn’871 to include a pressure control device comprising at least one of a pump, a blower, or a vacuum system, configured to provide a desired negative gas pressure inside said cabinet to seal said cabinet opening by a cabinet door, as taught by Margalit’646, as it would provide a means by which to create the air tight cabinet required by Ganshorn’871. It is noted that the limitation of “0.3 and 2.0 kPa below ambient pressure” is completely dependent on the ambient pressure of the room in which the plethysmograph is being used. At a particular elevation above sea level, “0.93-0.97 atm, 94-98kPa, or 720-740 ton” (as taught by section [0056] of Margalit’646) is between 0.3 and 2.0 kPa below ambient pressure.
Regarding claim 26, while Margalit’646 teaches that its pump creates the desired negative pressure by moving air from one chamber to another, it is noted that the plethysmograph of Ganshorn’871 only comprises one chamber. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to configure the pressure control device of Ganshorn’871 in view of Margalit’646 to provide a gas outlet flow from said cabinet to the ambient atmosphere outside the cabinet to create the desired negative pressure as the only outlet for the gas flow would be to the ambient atmosphere outside of the cabinet.
Regarding claim 27, Margalit’646 teaches that the pressure control device is controlled by a control system (see ABSTRACT, and sections [0016], [0033], [0039]). The control system inherently includes a processor and a memory that stores a desired negative gas-pressure point used to create the desired negative gas pressure inside the cabinet. It would have been obvious for the plethysmograph of Ganshorn’871 in view of Margalit’646 to include a control system including a processor and a memory that stores a desired negative gas-pressure point, as it would provide a means by which to control the pressure control device and create the desired negative gas pressure within the cabinet. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have included the control system as part of evaluation unit 7 of Figure 1 of Ganshorn’871. According to MPEP section 2144.04 V. B., the use of a one piece construction instead of multiple parts would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice.
Regarding claim 29, Ganshorn’871 discloses that the plethysmograph comprises a pressure sensor arranged in the cabinet (Figure 1, pressure sensor 8) for detecting a negative gas pressure inside said cabinet (see ABSTRACT, and description of Figure 1). The pressure sensor of Ganshorn’871 is connected to a control system (Figure 1, control system 7) for sending measured pressure data to said control system.
Regarding claim 34, said cabinet comprises a cabinet wall and said cabinet wall comprises a pressure dependent material, said pressure dependent material changing stiffness depending on the negative gas pressure inside said cabinet (one of ordinary skill in the art would realize that with a large enough negative gas pressure inside the cabinet, the cabinet walls would noticeably bend/change stiffness).
Regarding claim 36, it would have been obvious to try arranging the pressure control device in said cabinet wall as it would merely be choosing from a finite number of identified predictable solutions (pressure control device in the cabinet wall, or not in the cabinet wall), with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 37 and 42, the sections of Ganshorn’871 cited above, as modified by Margalit’646, disclose a method to control the gas tightness inside the cabinet, the method comprising the steps set forth in the claims.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganshorn’871 in view of Margalit’646, as applied to claim 25, further in view of Hoffman’218 (US Pub No. 2006/0278218 – previously cited).
Ganshorn’871 in view of Margalit’646 discloses all of the elements of the current invention, as discussed in paragraph 9 above, except for at least one flow sensor detecting a gas outlet flow in said cabinet. Hoffman’218 teaches use of a flow sensor that detects a gas outlet flow in a whole-body plethysmograph cabinet, and a control system connected to the flow sensor, the control system configured to stabilize a pressure condition between a gas outlet flow and a gas inlet flow by means of leakages, wherein the stabilization of the pressure condition by means of leakages allows for both flow displacement plethysmography and pressure displacement plethysmography (section [0055]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the control system of Ganshorn’871 in view of Margalit’646 to be configured to stabilize a pressure condition between a gas outlet flow and a gas inlet flow by means of leakages, wherein a flow sensor detects the gas outlet flow in said cabinet, as this would allow for both flow displacement plethysmography and pressure displacement plethysmography to be performed.
Examiner’s Note
The following is a reason for the lack of prior art rejections against claims 28, 30, 31, 35, 39, and 40:
Regarding claim 28, none of the prior art discloses or suggests, either alone or in combination, a whole-body plethysmograph comprising a control system configured to adjust a relationship between gas-outlet flow and gas-inlet flow based on feedback from measured pressure and/or flow, in combination with the other claimed elements.
Regarding claims 30 and 31, none of the prior art discloses or suggests, either alone or in combination, a whole-body plethysmograph comprising a control system configured to perform a comparison of a desired negative gas pressure stored in a memory and a detected negative gas pressure inside a cabinet, in combination with the other claimed elements.
Regarding claim 35, none of the prior art discloses or suggests, either alone or in combination, a whole-body plethysmograph comprising a pressure dependent material arranged with a skeleton, the pressure dependent material being plastic foil, in combination with the other claimed elements.
Regarding claim 39, none of the prior art discloses or suggests, either alone or in combination, a method comprising comparing a desired negative gas pressure stored in a memory to a measured actual gas pressure, in combination with the other claimed elements.
Regarding claim 40, none of the prior art discloses or suggests, either alone or in combination, a method comprising adjusting a relationship between a gas-outlet flow and a gas-inlet flow based on feedback from measured pressure and/or flow, in combination with the other claimed steps.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 02 March 2026 have been fully considered.
Regarding the claim interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), it is noted that claim 37 was not amended to recite a “pressure control device comprising at least one of a pump, a blower, or a vacuum system”.
Regarding the rejections of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), while amendments to the claims have overcome some of the previous indefiniteness issues, as discussed in paragraph 7 above, indefiniteness issues remain.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections of the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. With specific regard to claim 34, the Examiner maintains that with a large enough negative gas pressure inside the cabinet, the stiffness of the cabinet wall would change. Claim 34, unlike claim 35, does not recite any specific “designed pressure-dependent stiffness characteristic”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Aliverti et al.’396 (US Pub No. 2009/0326396 – previously cited) teaches a whole-body plethysmograph comprising a cabinet and a cabinet closure. Hernandez et al.’740 (US Pub No. 2015/0119740 – previously cited) teaches providing slow leaks within a cabinet of a whole-body plethysmograph in order to allow for equilibration with atmospheric pressure. Altmejd et al.’752 (US Pub No. 20200107752 – previously cited) teaches a whole-body plethysmograph comprising a cabinet and a cabinet closure. CareFusion (DE 10 2015 107 811 – previously cited) teaches a whole-body plethysmograph comprising a cabinet and a cabinet closure, wherein the cabinet comprises a switchable equalization valve that releases air from the cabin when a measuring range limit of a pressure sensor is reached due to increasing temperatures within the cabin caused by patient breathing.
/ETSUB D BERHANU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791