DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-10 and 16-18, in the reply filed on February 26, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no serious burden on the Examiner to search the entire application. This is not found persuasive given the technical feature linking the inventions of Groups I and II does not provide a contribution over the prior art (see below discussion), and no single general inventive concept exits. As such, there is a lack of unity among Groups I and II. Note that if the examiner finds that a national stage application lacks unity of invention under § 1.475, the examiner may in an Office action require the applicant in the response to that action to elect the invention to which the claims shall be restricted, see MPEP 1893.03(d).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 11-15, 19 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on February 26, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is unclear if the percentage of the substrate surface coated with the fibrous structure refers to the percentage of the lower face coated or the percentage of the entire substrate surface coated. Given Applicant’s specification discloses the coating is on the lower face, it appears Applicant intends to claim the percentage of the lower face that is coated, see Applicant’s specification page 2 line 30 – page 3 line 2. Note, however, that the claims are rejected using both interpretations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-8, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bockmeyer et al. (US 2015/0037563).
Regarding claim 1, Bockmeyer discloses a coating material that includes a sol-gel coating system, pigments, and chain-line or fibrous nanoparticles, see abstract. The coating system is stable at high temperatures and is suitable for glass or glass-ceramic substrates having a low thermal expansion coefficient, see abstract. The reference further discloses the sol-gel material as a hybrid polymer sol-gel and as including bis-epoxides, which corresponds to a resin matrix [0031 & 0089]. Note that the location of the coating “on its lower face” is considered subjective relative to the orientation of the article. Given the reference discloses the coating is provided on the surface of a substrate, the reference is considered to disclose a face of the article as coated, see Fig. 1 and [0146-0148].
Regarding claim 2, the reference discloses the fibrous nanoparticles as SiO2, which corresponds to quartz [0051].
Regarding claims 4 and 5, the reference discloses the hybrid polymer sol-gel as comprising bis-epoxides, which corresponds to a thermosetting resin and an epoxy [0031 & 0089].
Regarding claim 6, it is expected that the fibrous structure comprises a multi-axial structure given the fibers are particles are dispersed in a solvent during the method of making the coating, see Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 7, the reference discloses the coating as on the entire surface of the substrate, see Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 8, the reference discloses the coating material has a thermal coefficient of linear expansion of less than 5*10-6/K whereas examples of the glass-ceramic substrate have a coefficient of thermal expansion of 0±0.3*10-6/K [0119 & 0136]. As such, it is expected that the coating has an expansion coefficient greater than the expansion coefficient of the glass-ceramic substrate.
Regarding claim 16, the reference discloses the substrate as a glass-ceramic plate, see abstract and Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 18, the reference discloses the coating as on the entire surface of the substrate, see Fig. 3.
Claims 3, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Bockmeyer et al. (US 2015/0037563) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Florent et al. (US 2005/0214545).
Bockmeyer discloses a glass-ceramic substrate coated with a fiber-containing resin, see above discussion.
Regarding claims 3 and 7, he reference, however, fails to disclose the claimed fiber density.
Florent discloses a glass-ceramic plate coated with a reinforcement layer comprising a polymer and inorganic fillers with the effective amount of mineral fillers advantageously occurring within the reinforcing layer of the invention generally corresponds to a volume content of 10 to 60%, see abstract and [0026 & 0051]. The fillers ensure the layers cohesion and/or its coloration [0049]. They also act to at least mechanically reinforce the reinforcing layer [0049].
While the references do not specifically disclose the claimed fiber density, wherein the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, absent a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the volume, and therefore density, of the fibrous nanoparticles of Bockmeyer in order to improve cohesion as well as to mechanically reinforce the layer.
Regarding claim 18, the reference fails to disclose the coating on at least 60% of the surface of the substrate.
Florent discloses the reinforcement coating can be applied to both parallel sides of the substrate to provide reinforcement to its two main sides [0016-0021].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to apply the coating to both surface of the substrate in Bockmeyer in order to reinforce both sides. Note that applying coating to both sides of the substrate is considered to disclose the coating on at least 60% of the substrate.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Bockmeyer et al. (US 2015/0037563) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Di Giovanni et al. (US 2013/0098903).
Bockmeyer discloses a glass-ceramic substrate coated with a fiber-containing resin, see above discussion.
The reference, however, fails to disclose an enamel coating on certain parts of the substrate surface and arranged on the upper face of the substrate.
Di Giovanni discloses a cooking device comprising a plate with a decoration on the upper face, generally made of enamel, that makes it possible to identify heating zones, control zones, and zones for information or a logo, see abstract and [0055].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary for the substrate of Bockmeyer to have an enamel decorative coating on its upper surface in order to make it possible to identify heating and control zones as well as zones for information or a logo.
Conclusion
/LAURA A AUER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783