DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As by examiner below, Kim discloses the amended claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 13 recite “the metal barrier parts” lack antecedent basis. It is unclear and indefinite as to what exactly is the metal barrier parts and claim 1 only recite a singular metal barrier part.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-9, 11 and 13-19 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. 20230374646.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, figs. 1-3 and 5-7 of Kim discloses an electronic device, comprising a functional component 70 (fig. 2) and a display panel (fig. 1), the display panel comprising a functional area OA, a display area DA and a transition area MA located between the functional area and the display area, and the functional component corresponding to the functional area of the display area, wherein the display panel further comprises:
a substrate 100;
an inorganic insulation layer (par [0133] - first barrier layer 101, the second barrier layer 103, the buffer layer 201, the gate insulating layer 203) disposed on a side of the substrate;
a first metal layer (metal layer of 212 and 113 on 209 form a first metal layer) disposed on a side of the inorganic insulation layer away from the substrate, the first metal layer comprising a metal barrier part (stack of 212 and 213 part) disposed in the transition area MA, at least one side of the metal barrier part (top side of 212) being provided with a disconnection structure (as labeled by examiner above);
an organic insulation layer (209, 210 and portion of 320 in the 1G/2G/3/G/4G) disposed on a side of the first metal layer away from the substrate, the organic insulation layer comprising an insulation part (part in fig. 7) disposed in the transition area (MA region – fig. 7) and covering corresponding one side of the metal barrier part (see fig. 7);
a light emitting layer (222b/a/c) disposed on a side of the organic insulation layer away from the substrate, covering the display area DA and extending to the transition area MA (figs. 6-7), and disconnected at the disconnection structure of the metal barrier part (see fig. 7 showing disconnected at the PT and 1G, 2G, 3G and 4G); and
a first electrode layer 223 disposed on a side of the light emitting layer away from the substrate, covering the display area DA and extending to the transition area MA, and disconnected at the disconnection structure of the metal barrier part (see fig. 7 showing disconnected at the PT and 1G, 2G, 3G and 4G);
wherein the first electrode layer 23 located at one side of the metal barrier part is electrically connected to the metal barrier part (see fig. 7 showing 223 directly connected which means electrically connected to 222c/a which is electrically connected to 212), and the first electrode layer 223 located at another one side (bottom side at the bottom of the groove) of the metal barrier part is insulated with the metal barrier part through the insulation part; and
the metal barrier part comprises a first metal sublayer, a second metal sublayer and a third metal sublayer stacked sequentially, wherein an outer boundary of the second metal sublayer is recessed inward relative to an outer boundary of the third metal sublayer and an outer boundary of the first metal sublayer to define the disconnected structure.
Regarding claims 3 and 13 (insofar as to be incompliance with 112 2nd), fig. 7 of Kim discloses wherein one side of at least one of the metal barrier parts (part under PW1) close to the display area is provided with the disconnection structure, one side of the one of the metal barrier parts close to the functional area is covered by the corresponding insulation part, the one of the metal barrier parts is electrically connected with the first electrode layer close to the display area at the disconnection structure, and the one of the metal barrier parts is insulated with the first electrode layer close to the functional area through the insulation part.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, figs. 7 of Kim discloses wherein the first metal layer comprises a first metal barrier part and a second metal barrier part adjacent to each other disposed in the transition area, and the first metal barrier part is disposed between the second metal barrier part and the display area; one side of the first metal barrier part close to the display area is provided with the disconnection structure (one disconnected end), and one side of the second metal barrier part close to the functional area is provided with the disconnection structure (other disconnected end);
one side of the first metal barrier part close to the functional area and one side of the second metal barrier part close to the display area are covered simultaneously by the insulation part;
the light emitting layer is disconnected at the disconnection structure which is disposed at the side of the first metal barrier part close to the display area, and is disconnected at the disconnection structure which is disposed at the side of the second metal barrier part close to the functional area, and the light emitting layer is continuously disposed between the side of the first metal barrier part close to the display area and the side of the second metal barrier part close to the functional area; and
the first electrode layer is disconnected at the disconnection structure which is disposed at the side of the first metal barrier part close to the display area, and is disconnected at the disconnection structure which is disposed at the side of the second metal barrier part close to the functional area, a first electrode layer located at the side of the first metal barrier part close to the display area is electrically connected to the first metal barrier part, and a first electrode layer located at the side of the second metal barrier part close to the functional area is electrically connected to the second metal barrier part.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, fig. 7 of Kim discloses wherein the display panel further comprises a barrier wall PW2 disposed in the transition area and disposed on a side of the inorganic insulation layer away from the substrate; the transition area comprises a first subarea located between the barrier wall and the display area and a second subarea located between the barrier wall and the functional area; and the insulation part is disposed in the first subarea and/or the second subarea.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, fig. 7 of Kim discloses wherein the first metal barrier part and the second metal barrier part are disposed in the first subarea; and a same voltage is applied to the first metal barrier part and the first electrode layer, and no voltage is applied to the second metal barrier part (as the second metal barrier is disconnected from that in fig. 6 where 223 has voltage applied).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, fig. 7 of Kim discloses wherein the number of insulation part is less than or equal to the number of the metal barrier part.
Regarding claims 8 and 18, fig. 7 of Kim discloses wherein a second metal sublayer (vertical part of 212) and a third metal sublayer (top flat part on 209) stacked sequentially, a material of the second metal sublayer is different (to a degree) from a material of the third metal sublayer, and a width of the second metal sublayer is smaller than a width of the third metal sublayer.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, fig. 7 of Kim discloses wherein the display panel further comprises a first planarization layer 210, a pixel definition layer and a support layer (spacer above 211 in fig. 6) stacked sequentially on the first metal layer, and the organic insulation layer is formed by at least one of the first planarization layer 210, the pixel definition layer and the support layer.
Regarding claim s 21-22, fig. 7 of Kim discloses further comprising a convex part (part of 207 above DL-C2 and VXL0 arranged between the inorganic insulation layer and the metal barrier part, wherein an orthographic projection of the metal barrier part on the substrate is located in an orthographic projection of the convex part on the substrate.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VONGSAVANH SENGDARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893