DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
No new grounds of rejection are set forth below. Thus, the following action is made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (WO 2007/004764) in view of Watanabe et al (Biobased Coatings Based on Eugenol Derivatives, ACS Appl. Bio Mater. 2018, 1, 808-813).
The rejection is adequately set forth in paragraph 5 of the Office Action mailed on February 13, 2026 and is incorporated here by reference.
Response to Arguments
The objection to claims 16-17 in paragraph 3 of the office action mailed on February 13, 2026 has been withdrawn in light of applicants’ clarification on the meaning of “d-valent”.
Applicant's arguments filed February 13, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the reasons set forth below:
Applicant’s argument: Kim does not teach incorporation of a eugenol derivative into an organic material. Kim relates to a method of coating a synthetic resin with a urushi lacquer mixture. The mixture is applied as a coating and not into the bulk of the synthetic resin material.
Examiner’s response: The examiner notes that the urushi lacquer mixture is indeed used to coat a substrate. However, it is noted that the urushi lacquer itself is a combination (or mixture) of urushi and organic material (PMMA and MMA), please refer to pages 3 and 4 of Kim for support. The rejection set forth in paragraph 5 of the office action mailed on February 13, 2026 for more extensive mapping. It is noted that this combination is impervious to oxygen and moisture (Kim, [4]), and therefore, reads on the recited claim.
Applicant’s argument: In Watanabe, the eugenol derivative is coated onto substrates and subjected to various tests as thin films. The substrate itself remains unchanged – only its surface is modified by the coating layer.
Examiner’s response: It is noted that Watanabe is used to only to teach the equivalency of urushi and a compound with the structure of Formula I (eugenol derivative).
Applicant’s argument: Watanabe teaches away from the claimed invention. As the curing process of Watanabe is counterproductive to the claimed stabilization effect of the presently claimed invention. During the necessary curing step in Watanabe, a crosslinking reaction takes place which leads to the consumption of the phenol groups that are active as antioxidants.
Examiner’s response: It is noted that Watanabe is used to only to teach the equivalency of urushi and a compound with the structure of Formula I (eugenol derivative). It seems that even with the curing step, films with the urushiol analogues still retain antioxidant properties (Watanabe, section 3.5). Therefore, applicant’s argument of teaching away is not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument: Neither Kim nor Watanabe teaches the enhancement of the stability of organic materials by incorporation within.
Examiner’s response: Both Kim and Watanabe teach antioxidative properties. Kim in paragraph [4] and Watanabe in section 3.5. And this would include the film itself and the components within the lacquer.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DORIS L. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1764
/DORIS L LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764