DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18251257 filed on 05/01/2023 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Priority
As required by e M.P.E.P. 201.04, 210, 214.03, acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on application of National Stage entry of PCT/JP2021/035636, International Filing Date 09/28/2021 that claims priority from Provisional Application US #63109385, filed 11/04/2020.
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation for “a resonant portion” in line 9. However, this limitation is confusing, because it is unclear if it is the same limitation as in claim 1 for “a resonant portion” of if it represents a new and different limitation for resonant portion. Moreover, it is unclear if this limitation and further descriptions are for the same structures as in claim or if they are for some new and different structures? For the purposes of examination the above limitations and the following descriptive limitations will be treated broadly, such that they can represent the same limitation as in base claim 1, or a different limitation. It is suggested to amend the claim and provide explanations in order to remove the indefiniteness issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itagaki et al. (hereafter Itagaki, where English language equivalent US 20210173175 A1 is referenced) WO 2020036157 A1, in view of in view of Mizuno US 20040212794 A1.
In regard to independent claim 1, Itagaki teaches (see Figs. 1-11) an optical-element driving device (lens driving device 1 of camera module A and camera mounted device e.g. OC1,2,VC on device M,V , see abstract, e.g. paragraphs [01,07-33, 47-54, 56-64, 67-80, 82-94, 132-142]), comprising:
a fixing part (fixing part 20, with fixed cover 3, also AF fixing part 12, Figs. 2-5, 7-8, e.g. paragraphs [47-54,56-64, 67-80]);
a movable part disposed apart from the fixing part (OIS movable part 10, AF movable 11 part disposed away from 20, Figs. 2-9, e.g. paragraphs [47-54,56-64, 67-80]);
a supporting part (40, also 14,15) configured to support the movable part with respect to the fixing part (40 supports 10 with respect to 20, also as 14,15 supports 11 with respect to 12, e.g. paragraphs [56-67, 81-90], Figs. 4-5, 7-9); and
a driving unit (driving part 30, 13, paragraphs [ 56,62, 68-74, 77-84, 112-113], Figs. 4-10) including an ultrasonic motor configured to convert a vibrational motion into a linear motion (i.e. as USM1,2,3, so configured, 68-74, 77-84, 112-113}68-74, 77-84, 112-113], Figs. 4-10), and a power transmission part configured to transmit a driving force of the ultrasonic motor to the movable part (power transmission part 34, 134 transmits driving force from USM2,3 or USM1 to 10, or 11, paragraphs [70-79, 92, 112-117], Figs. 4-6, 10) the driving unit being configured to move the movable part with respect to the fixing part (OIS driving 30 and AF driving unit 13 move 10, 11 with respect to 20,and/or 12, paragraphs [ 56,62, 68-74, 77-84, 112-113], Figs. 4-10),
wherein: the power transmission part includes a plate making contact with a resonant portion of the ultrasonic motor (as motor contact portion plate 34b making contact with resonance part 33, (33d), also as 134b contacting 133(133d), paragraphs [77-78,119-120], Figs. 6, 10), and
a material is disposed on a second surface side of the plate that is opposite a first surface of the plate that makes contact with the resonant portion (i.e. as material of 34 between coupling portions 34c opposite from sides with contacting plate portions 34b,a as depicted in Figs. 6, paragraphs [70, 74-80], and see equivalents in Figs. 10, paragraphs [116-122]).
But Itagaki is silent that a damper material is disposed on the second surface side of the plate that is opposite a first surface of the plate that makes contact with the resonant portion (i.e. between portions 34c opposite from sides with contacting late portions 34b,a as depicted in Figs. 6, paragraphs [70, 74-82], and see equivalents in Figs. 10).
However, Mizuno teaches in the similar field of invention of driving units/device for finely adjusting the positions and tilts of optical elements (see Figs. 1, 4, 6-7,10-12, tile, abstract, paragraphs [02, 10-11, 14-15, 19-21, 71-73, 80-82, 135-140] where the optical (1) element driver has adjusting mechanism 8 with a piezoelectric actuator 4 contacting at contacting portions and connected with elastic hinge/pilar 5, between active side of 4 and passive side of block 2 housing with optic 1, using vibration control material e.g. as gel, grease), and further teaches that a damper material is disposed on the surface side of the plate that is opposite surface of the plate that makes contact with the resonant portion (i.e. as vibration control material as e.g. as gel, grease disposed on surface(s) parts of 5 with and opposite parts of 5 from the surface contacting pzt actuator 4, as the elastic connection includes such vibration control material, which then allows for vibration control of the device, and while the vibration control material is shielded paragraphs [10-11, 14-15, 19-21, 71-73, 80-82, 135-140], e.g. Figs. Figs. 1, 4, 6-7,10-12).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust and modify the power transmission part including between coupling portions and portions opposite from sides with contacting plate portions of lens driving device of Itagaki to include vibration control material as e.g. as gel, grease so that the elastic connection includes such vibration control material according to teachings of Mizuno, in order to provide vibration control of the device, and shielding of the vibration control material (see Mizuno, paragraphs [10-11, 14-15, 19-21, 71-73, 80, 135-140]).
Regarding claim 2, the Itagaki-Mizuno combination teaches the invention as set forth above and Itagaki teaches (see Figs. 1-11) that the fixing part includes a first fixing part (20,3), the movable part includes a first movable part disposed apart from the first fixing part in an optical-axis direction (OIS movable part 10, apart and away from 20 in optical z-axis, Figs. 2-5, e.g. paragraphs [47-54,56-64, 67-80]),
the driving unit includes a first driving unit configured to move the first movable part with respect to the first fixing part in an optical-axis-orthogonal plane orthogonal to the optical-axis direction (i.e. as OIS driving part 30, to move 10 for OIS in X,y-directions with respect to 20, e.g. paragraphs [ 56,62, 68-74, 77-84], Figs. 4-7),
the resonant portion includes two arms formed such that contact surfaces making contact with the plate face each other(i.e. as resonance part 33 has two arms 33b, with contact surfaces for plates 33b, which are on end portions 33d, face each other, paragraphs [77-78], as best depicted in Figs. 6),
the plate comprises two plates that are disposed to make contact respectively with the two arms (i.e. as plate parts of 34b make contact with 33 with two arms 33b and surfaces on end portions 33d, as depicted in Figs. 6, paragraphs [77-78]), and the damper material is disposed between the two plates (due to combination with Mizuno as vibration control material as e.g. as gel, grease disposed on surface(s) parts of 5 with and opposite parts of 5 from the surface contacting pzt actuator 4, e.g. paragraphs [71-73, 80-82, 135-140], e.g. Figs. Figs. 1, 4, 6-7,10-12, applied to power transmission part 34 including between coupling portions 34b and opposite from sides with contacting plate portions 33d of lens driving device of Itagaki, e.g. see Figs. 4-6).
Regarding claim 3, the Itagaki-Mizuno combination teaches the invention as set forth above and Itagaki teaches (see Figs. 1-11) that the fixing part (20, 12) includes a second fixing part (e.g. AF fixing part 12, Figs. 2-5, 7-8, e.g. paragraphs [47-54,56-64, 67-80]), the movable part includes a second movable part disposed to be spaced apart inwardly from the second fixing part (i.e. as AF movable part 11, inwardly disposed from 12, as depicted in Figs. 4-5,7-9, paragraphs [47-54,56-64, 67-80]), the driving unit includes a second driving unit (13, with USM1) configured to move the second movable part (11) with respect to the second fixing part in an optical-axis direction (i.e. move 11 with respect to 12 in optical z-axis direction by USM 1, paragraphs [112-113], Figs. 7-10),
the resonant portion includes two arms formed such that contact surfaces making contact with the plate face each other(i.e. as resonance part 33 has two arms 33b, with contact surfaces for plates 33b, which are on end portions 33d, face each other, paragraphs [77-78], as best depicted in Figs. 6),
the plate comprises two plates that are disposed to make contact respectively with the two arms (i.e. as plate parts of 34b make contact with 33 with two arms 33b and surfaces on end portions 33d, as depicted in Figs. 6, paragraphs [77-78]), and the damper material is disposed between the two plates and a plate housing in which the plate is disposed (due to combination with Mizuno as vibration control material as e.g. as gel, grease disposed on coupling portions i.e. surface(s) parts of 5 including plates and opposite parts of 5 from the surface contacting pzt actuator 4, e.g. paragraphs [71-73, 80-82, 135-140], e.g. Figs. Figs. 1, 4, 6-7,10-12, applied to power transmission part 34 including between coupling portions 34c, contact portions 34b,a and opposite from sides with contacting plate portions 33d, and fixing portions to e.g. 12k for 34a,d of lens driving device of Itagaki, e.g. see Figs. 4-9, paragraphs [77-82, 135-140 ).
Regarding claim 4, the Itagaki-Mizuno combination teaches the invention as set forth above and Itagaki teaches (see Figs. 1-11) that the plate includes a motor contact portion making contact with the resonant portion (i.e. as contact portion of 30, 34b making contact with resonance part 33, 33d, as depicted in Figs. 6, e.g. paragraphs [77-78]), and an extension portion extending from the motor contact portion (i.e. as coupling portions 34c, as depicted in Figs. 6, paragraphs [77-78]), and the damper material is disposed on the extension portion (i.e. as per combination vibration control material is between coupling portions 34c, Figs. 6, e.g. paragraphs [77-78], see claim 1 above, and Mizuno as vibration control material as e.g. as gel, grease disposed on surface(s) parts of 5 with and opposite parts of 5 from the surface contacting pzt actuator 4, e.g. paragraphs [71-73, 80-82, 135-140], e.g. Figs. Figs. 1, 4, 6-7,10-12, applied to power transmission part 34 including between coupling portions 34c, contact portions 34b and opposite from sides with contacting plate portions 33d of lens driving device of Itagaki, e.g. see Figs. 4-6).
Regarding claim 5, the Itagaki-Mizuno combination teaches the invention as set forth above and Itagaki teaches (see Figs. 1-11) a camera module (as camera module A, with the lens driving device 1, and being part of camera mounted device e.g. OC1,2,VC on device M,V , see abstract, e.g. paragraphs [01,07-33, 47-54, 56-64, 67-80, 82-94, 132-142]), comprising: an optical-element driving device according to claim 1 (i.e. as 1 part of A, paragraphs [01,07-33, 47-54, 56-64, 67-80, 82-94, 132-142], Figs. 1-4);
an optical element to be attached to the movable part (lens part 2 with lens attached to movable part 10, 11, paragraphs [01,07-33, 47-54, 56-64]); and an image capturing part configured to capture a subject image imaged by the optical element (i.e. as camera module with 1 and 2 has imaging device, e.g. CCD, CMOS, paragraphs [47-54]) .
Regarding claim 6, the Itagaki-Mizuno combination teaches the invention as set forth above and Itagaki teaches (see Figs. 1-11) a camera-mounted device that is an information apparatus or a transporting apparatus (as the camera module A, with the lens driving device 1, is part of camera mounted device e.g. OC1,2,VC mounted on smartphone device M, or vehicle V , see abstract, e.g. paragraphs [01,07-33, 47-54, 56-64, 67-80, 82-94, 132-142], as Depicted in Figs. 1-2, 13), the camera-mounted device (OC1,1, VC) comprising: an camera module according to claim 5 (i.e. as OC1,2, VC includes camera module M, paragraphs [47-54, 56-64, 132-142], as depicted in Figs. 1-2, 13; and an image processing part configured to process image information obtained by the camera module (i.e. as image processing part, of smartphone, or VC, paragraphs [32, 141], claim 13).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hu et al. US 20210191065 A1 also discloses features of instant invention (see e.g. Figs. 1-5 and their descriptions).
/MARIN PICHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872