CTFR 18/251,258 CTFR 83830 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Amendment This Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 02/18/2026. Claims 1-35 are still pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL. Response to Arguments 07-38 Applicant's arguments with respect to claim s 1-35 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation 07-30-03 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. 07-34-21 Claim limitation “means for ” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder that is merely a substitute for the term "means" coupled with functional language “for” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim(s) (23-33) has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: Limitation Corresponding structure Means for sending, to a network entity Fig. 6: 620 & ¶s [ 0132] Means for sending, a first UE to second UE … Fig. 6: 650 & ¶ [ 0132] Means for measuring a second PRS received from the second UE Fig. 6: 610 & ¶ [ 0132] Means for sending a positioning measurement Fig. 2: 242 and 246 & ¶ [ 0132] third sending means for sending to the second UE Fig. 6: 620 ¶ [ 110]-[0111] & [0132] If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action. If applicant does not intend to have the claim limitation(s) treated under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112 , sixth paragraph, applicant may amend the claim(s) so that it/they will clearly not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, or present a sufficient showing that the claim recites/recite sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function to preclude application of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications , 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 4-5, 8-9, 12, 15-16, 19-20, 23, 26-28, 30-31 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Gunnarsson et al Patent Application No. :( US 2020/0344713 A1 ) herein after referred as Gunnarsson, in view of Baek et al Patent Application No. :( US 2022/0365163 A1 ) herein after referred as Baek . PNG media_image1.png 684 752 media_image1.png Greyscale For claim 1, Gunnarsson teaches a first UE (user equipment) (110 fig. 2a) comprising: a wireless interface (220 fig. 2a) ; a memory (230 fig. 2a) ; and a processor (210 fig. 2a) communicatively coupled to the wireless interface and the memory (paragraph [0045], lines 3-10) ; wherein the processor is configured to send, via the wireless interface to a network entity (paragraph [0047], lines 1-4) , a positioning capability message indicating that the first UE is capable of transferring a PRS (positioning reference signal) between the first UE and a second UE (120 fig. 2a)(paragraphs [0072] and [0109]-[0110], lines 1-15 discloses the first device 110 is capable of sending a support message to the device 120) ; and wherein: the processor is configured to send, via the wireless interface to the second UE, a first PRS (340 fig. 11)(paragraphs [0111]-[0112], lines 1-3 discloses the first device 110 transmitting a PRS to a second UE 120) . However, Gunnarsson disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the processor is configured to measure a second PRS received via the wireless interface from the second UE as recited in claim 1 . Baek from the same or analogous art teaches the processor is configured to measure a second PRS received via the wireless interface from the second UE (Paragraph [0017], lines 1-12) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the processor is configured to measure a second PRS received via the wireless interface from the second UE as taught by Baek into the location information in communication network of Gunnarsson. The processor is configured to measure a second PRS received via the wireless interface from the second UE can be modify/implemented by combining the processor is configured to measure a second PRS received via the wireless interface from the second UE with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Baek into the location information in communication network of Gunnarsson. As disclosed in Baek , the motivation for the combination would be to use the measurement of a second PRS received via the wireless interface from the second UE helping the position accuracy and the estimation sidelink positioning for a better communication with a better communication quality. For claim 4, Gunnarsson teaches the first UE, 4 . The first UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to send the positioning capability message to the network entity in response to a request received from the network entity for whether the first UE is capable of serving as an anchor point for positioning of the second UE (S450 fig. 11)(paragraphs [0120]-[0121], lines 1-7) . For claim 5, Gunnarsson teaches the first UE, wherein the processor is further configured to send, to the second UE: a real time difference, or a location of the first UE, or a location uncertainty of the location of the first UE, or a beam angle provided by the first UE, or a beam shape provided by the first UE, or a mobility status of the first UE, or any combination thereof (S104b and S106 fig. 6)(paragraph [0059]-[0060], lines 1-4) . For claim 8, Gunnarsson teaches the first UE, wherein the processor is further configured to send a positioning measurement report to the network entity via the wireless interface using a protocol used by transmission/reception points for sending positioning measurement reports to the network entity (S210 fig.8) (paragraph [0047], lines 7-13) . For claim 9, Gunnarsson teaches the first UE, wherein the processor is further configured to send a TRP ID (transmission/reception point identity) or a cell ID, or a combination thereof, to the second UE in the positioning measurement report (paragraph [0041], lines 1-7) and (paragraph [0126], lines 1-8) . PNG media_image1.png 684 752 media_image1.png Greyscale For claim 12, Gunnarsson teaches a method for using a first UE (user equipment) as an anchor point, the method comprising: sending, from the first UE to a network entity (paragraph [0047], lines 1-4), a positioning capability message indicating that the first UE is capable of transferring a PRS (positioning reference signal) between the first UE and a second UE (120 fig. 2a)(paragraphs [0072] and [0109]-[0110], lines 1-15 discloses the first device 110 is capable of sending a support message to the device 120) ; wherein the method further comprises: sending, from the first UE to the second UE, a first PRS (340 fig. 11)(paragraphs [0111]-[0112], lines 1-3 discloses the first device 110 transmitting a PRS to a second UE 120) . However, Gunnarsson disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the measuring, at the first UE, a second PRS received from the second UE as recited in claim 12. Baek from the same or analogous art teaches the measuring, at the first UE, a second PRS received from the second UE (Paragraph [0017], lines 1-12) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the measuring, at the first UE, a second PRS received from the second UE as taught by Baek into the location information in communication network of Gunnarsson. The measuring, at the first UE, a second PRS received from the second UE can be modify/implemented by combining the measuring, at the first UE, a second PRS received from the second UE with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Baek into the location information in communication network of Gunnarsson. As disclosed in Baek , the motivation for the combination would be to use the measurement of a second PRS received via the wireless interface from the second UE helping the position accuracy and the estimation sidelink positioning for a better communication with a better communication quality. For claim 15, Gunnarsson teaches the method, wherein the positioning capability message is sent to the network entity in response to a request received from the network entity for whether the first UE is capable of serving as the anchor point for positioning of the second UE (S450 fig. 11)(paragraphs [0120]-[0121], lines 1-7) . For claim 16, Gunnarsson teaches the method, further comprising sending, from the first UE to the second UE: a real time difference, or a location of the first UE, or a location uncertainty of the location of the first UE, or a beam angle provided by the first UE, or a beam shape provided by the first UE, or a mobility status of the first UE, or any combination thereof (S104b and S106 fig. 6)(paragraph [0059]-[0060], lines 1-4) . For claim 19, Gunnarsson teaches the method, further comprising sending, from the first UE, a positioning measurement report to the network entity using a protocol used by transmission/reception points for sending positioning measurement reports to the network entity (S210 fig.8) (paragraph [0047], lines 7-13) . For claim 20, Gunnarsson teaches the method, wherein the positioning measurement report includes a TRP ID (transmission/reception point identity) or a cell ID or a combination thereof (paragraph [0041], lines 1-7) and (paragraph [0126], lines 1-8) . PNG media_image1.png 684 752 media_image1.png Greyscale For claim 23, Gunnarsson teaches a first UE (user equipment) comprising: second sending means (figure 2a - communication interface 220) for sending, to a network entity (paragraph [0047], lines 1-4) , a positioning capability message indicating that the first UE is capable of transferring a PRS (positioning reference signal) between the first UE and a second UE (120 fig. 2a)(paragraphs [0072] and [0109]-[0110], lines 1-15 discloses the first device 110 is capable of sending a support message to the device 120) ; and wherein the first UE further comprises: first sending means (figure 2a - communication interface 220) for sending, to the second UE, a first PRS (340 fig. 11)(paragraphs [0111]-[0112], lines 1-3 discloses the first device 110 transmitting a PRS to a second UE 120) . However, Gunnarsson disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the means for measuring a second PRS received from the second UE as recited in claim 23. Baek from the same or analogous art teaches the means for measuring a second PRS received from the second UE (Paragraph [0017], lines 1-12) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the means for measuring a second PRS received from the second UE as taught by Baek into the location information in communication network of Gunnarsson. The means for measuring a second PRS received from the second UE can be modify/implemented by combining the means for measuring a second PRS received from the second UE with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Baek into the location information in communication network of Gunnarsson. As disclosed in Baek , the motivation for the combination would be to use the measurement of a second PRS received via the wireless interface from the second UE helping the position accuracy and the estimation sidelink positioning for a better communication with a better communication quality. For claim 26, Gunnarsson teaches the first UE, wherein the second sending means comprises means for sending the positioning capability message to the network entity in response to a request received from the network entity for whether the first UE is capable of serving as an anchor point for positioning of the second UE (S450 fig. 11)(paragraphs [0120]-[0121], lines 1-7) . For claim 27, Gunnarsson teaches the first UE, further comprising third sending means for sending, to the second UE: a real time difference, or a location of the first UE, or a location uncertainty of the location of the first UE, or a beam angle provided by the first UE, or a beam shape provided by the first UE, or a mobility status of the first UE, or any combination thereof (S104b and S106 fig. 6)(paragraph [0059]-[0060], lines 1-4) . For claim 28, Gunnarsson teaches the first UE, wherein: the first UE comprises the first sending means, wherein the first PRS comprises a first sidelink PRS; and the first UE comprises the means for measuring the second PRS, wherein the second PRS comprises a second sidelink PRS; or a combination thereof (paragraph [0083], lines 1-7) . For claim 30, Gunnarsson teaches the first UE, further comprising means for sending a positioning measurement report to the network entity using a protocol used by transmission/reception points for sending positioning measurement reports to the network entity (S210 fig.8) (paragraph [0047], lines 7-13) . For claim 31, Gunnarsson teaches the first UE, wherein the positioning measurement report includes a TRP ID (transmission/reception point identity) or a cell ID or a combination thereof (paragraph [0041], lines 1-7) and (paragraph [0126], lines 1-8) . PNG media_image1.png 684 752 media_image1.png Greyscale For claim 34, Gunnarsson teaches a non-transitory, processor-readable storage medium (figure 2a – storage medium 230) comprising processor-readable instructions to cause a processor (figure 2a – processing circuitry 210) , of a first UE (user equipment), to: send, to a network entity (paragraph [0047], lines 1-4) , a positioning capability message indicating that the first UE is capable of transferring a PRS (positioning reference signal) between the first UE and a second UE (120 fig. 2a)(paragraphs [0072] and [0109]-[0110], lines 1-15 discloses the first device 110 is capable of sending a support message to the device 120) ; wherein the non-transitory, processor-readable storage medium further comprises: processor-readable instructions to cause the processor to send, to the second UE, a first PRS (340 fig. 11)(paragraphs [0111]-[0112], lines 1-3 discloses the first device 110 transmitting a PRS to a second UE 120) . However, Gunnarsson disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the processor-readable instructions to cause the processor to measure a second PRS received from the second UE as recited in claim 34. Baek from the same or analogous art teaches the processor-readable instructions to cause the processor to measure a second PRS received from the second UE (Paragraph [0017], lines 1-12) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the processor-readable instructions to cause the processor to measure a second PRS received from the second UE as taught by Baek into the location information in communication network of Gunnarsson. The processor-readable instructions to cause the processor to measure a second PRS received from the second UE can be modify/implemented by combining the processor-readable instructions to cause the processor to measure a second PRS received from the second UE with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Baek into the location information in communication network of Gunnarsson. As disclosed in Baek , the motivation for the combination would be to use the measurement of a second PRS received via the wireless interface from the second UE helping the position accuracy and the estimation sidelink positioning for a better communication with a better communication quality . Allowable Subject Matter 07-43 Claims 2-3, 6-7, 10-11, 13-14, 17-18, 21-22, 24-25, 29, 32-33 and 35 are objected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOSEPH AREVALO whose telephone number is (571)270-3121 . The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8:30-5:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Rafael Perez-Gutierrez can be reached on (571)272-7915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JOSEPH AREVALO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/251,258 Page 2 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/251,258 Page 3 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/251,258 Page 4 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/251,258 Page 5 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/251,258 Page 6 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/251,258 Page 7 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/251,258 Page 8 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/251,258 Page 9 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/251,258 Page 10 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/251,258 Page 11 Art Unit: 2642