The claims filed 7/27/2026 are not all properly marked up to show changes, see at least claims 8, 25 where subject matter was cancelled out of the claim but is not lined through on the marked-up copy. Future correspondence should contain properly marked up claims.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 63/106980, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The provisional application does not provide support for:
wherein the virus is human adenovirus (HAdV) or herpes simplex virus (HSV) or
wherein the isothermal amplification is warm-start LAMP or RT-LAMP.
Claims which recite any of these elements are entitled the prior art date of the international application, 10/28/2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 5-8, 13-17, and 21-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 6 and 22, it is unclear how the recited amplification choices are related to the recited Cas effector since there is no conjunction between the elements within (b).
In claim 26, the phrase “the virus” lacks proper antecedent basis because neither claim 16 nor claim 25 recite a virus.
Response to Remarks
Any amendment not specifically addressed was overcome by amendment.
Applicant argues that the amendment overcame the rejection of claims 6 and 22, but it is still not clear how the elements recited in the claims are joined since there is no conjunction joining the recitation of the isothermal amplification and the Cas effector. It is unclear if both or required or if they are alternative requirements.
Applicant’s remarks with regard to warm-start were persuasive, see discussion pages 11 and 12. The examiner adopt applicant’s position that “warm-start” is that the amplification reaction is suppressed or substantially inactive at room temperature or during assay set up, and is initiated only after the reaction is heated to the intended incubation/amplification temperature.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8, 14, 26, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ding et al. (Biosensors and Bioelectronics 184 (2021) 113218; 27 pages).
Ding teaches forming a mixture comprising sample nucleic acids, isothermal amplification reagents for amplifying one or more target nucleic acid sequences, Cas12a, a guide polynucleotide designed to form a complex with Cas12a, and a nucleic acids-based masking construct comprising a non-target sequence (see at least figure 1(a) where the masking agent is called ssDNA-FQ, the guide polynucleotide is crRNA).
Claim 1, from which claim 8 depends encompasses “a derivative” of any of the recited endonucleases, without any limitation or explanation as to how close the two enzymes must be to be “derivatives.” Insofar as cas12a has collateral cleavage it is considered a “derivative” of the recited enzymes that also have collateral cleavage activated by the CRISPR RNA-target duplex. Similar interpretation is applied to the claims which depend form claim 16 which recites “a variant” thereof with no limitation on whether the variant is a structural or functional variant and no requirement of any level of similarity. The phrases are given their broadest reasonable interpretation here, which is to encompass enzymes that are functionally similar within the recited assay.
Ding teaches partitioning the mixture into a plurality of compartments (see Figure 1A).
Ding teaches incubating the partitioned mixture at a temperature for isothermal amplification and Cas effector cleavage of an amplified DNA strand, wherein the Cas effector exhibits collateral nuclease activity and cleaves the non-target sequence of the nucleic acid based masking construct once activated by the target sequences (See Figure 1B).
Ding teaches detecting signal from cleavage of the non-target sequence, thereby detecting the one or more target sequences in the sample (See Figure 1A and B), and
Ding teaches determining the copy number of the target nucleic acid based on a Poisson distribution of the proportion of positive to negative compartments (See p. 5, 1st column and Fig. S10).
Ding teaches that the positive compartments indicate the presence of SARS-CoV-2 (i.e. disease) in a subject. Ding teaches comparing the quantity of virus to a control, see. 3, 2nd column and Figure 2.
With regard to claim 8, the masking construct comprises a quenched fluorescent nucleic acid probe (Figure 1).
With regard to claims 14 and 29, the assay employs warm-start LAMP and an RT-LAMP, see section 3.2 noting that DAMP is a species of LAMP.
With regard to claim 26, the target nucleic acids are SARS-CoV-2, see title and throughout.
This reference is available as prior art because the rejected claims are not entitled to benefit of priority to the provisional application.
Response to Remarks
The rejection has been updated to address the amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-6, 8, 13-14, 16, 17, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 27, 28, 29, and 30 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (ACS Synth. Biol. 2019, 8, 2228−2237) in view of Ronaldo et al. (Anal. Chem. 2019, 91, 1034−1042).
Li teaches forming a mixture comprising sample nucleic acids, isothermal amplification reagents for amplifying one or more target nucleic acid sequences, Cas12b, a guide polynucleotide designed to form a complex with Cas12b, and a nucleic acids-based masking construct comprising a non-target sequence (p. 2236, first column where the masking agent is called “fluorescent probe”, the guide polynucleotide is sgRNA).
Regarding claims 2 the Cas effector is 12b.
Li teaches incubating the mixture at a temperature for isothermal amplification and Cas effector cleavage of an amplified DNA strand, wherein the Cas effector exhibits collateral nuclease activity and cleaves the non-target sequence of the nucleic acid-based masking construct once activated by the target sequences (See p. 2236, first column and also p. 2232 and Figure 2).
Regarding claims 5, 6, 21, 22 the amplification is loop-mediated isothermal amplification and the Cas effector is Cas12b (p. 2231).
Regarding claims 23 and 24, the masking construct suppresses generation of a detectable positive signal until cleaved (see p. 2235, 2nd column).
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches guide RNA with mismatches relative to target and still provided detection, depending on the length of the sgRNA (p. 2231).
Regarding claims 14 and 29, Li teaches warm-start reverse-transcription LAMP for detection of RNA virus by HOLMESv2 (p. 2235; Figure 2E, 2F).
With regard to claim 25, Li teaches both DNA and RNA targets.
Li teaches detecting signal from cleavage of the non-target sequence, thereby detecting the one or more target sequences in the sample (See Figure 2).
Regarding claim 16 and dependents, Li teaches generating curves for different control, known amounts of target and then generating a standard curve for quantifying target, thus, teaches comparing to a control. Li teaches that the one-step system is convenient for target detection, including point of care testing, demonstrating the LAMP plus cas12b system for the detection of viral disease targets. Regarding claim 17, viral disease detection is a pathogen infection and also using the method to detect a pathogen.
Li does not teach partitioning the mixture into a plurality of compartments, and determining the copy number of the target nucleic acid based on a Poisson distribution of the proportion of positive to negative compartments.
Rolando teaches real-time digital LAMP and teaches that the approach can be adapted to quickly study and optimize assays using precise, real-time digital quantification, accelerating development of critically needed diagnostics. In the method taught by Rolando, reaction mixtures containing reagents for LAMP are loaded into individual wells of a chip and incubated for amplification (See Figure 1; p. 1036, 2nd column). The reference teaches determining the concentration of the target nucleic acid based on a Poisson distribution of the proportion of positive to negative compartments, and which is determining the copies per uL (p. 1038, 1st and 2nd column). Rolando teaches that using “digital” approaches provide absolute quantification with high resolution, and that digital isothermal approaches have been used to quantify viral load for HCV, HIV, influenza (p. 1035, 1st column). Rolando also teaches comparing the sample signal to a negative control (see figure 2f, for example).
Regarding claims 8 and 28, Rolando teaches that the mixture is partitioned into about 18,000 partitions (p. 1036, 2nd column).
With regard to claim 27, the chip taught by Rolando is considered a “microfluidic” chip (p. 1036, 2nd column).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date to have modified the method taught by Li et al so as to have partitioned the mixture into a plurality of compartments and to have quantified the target using a Poisson distribution, as taught by Rolando. One would have been motivated to do so to take advantage of the digital nature of the method taught by Rolando, including the ability to quantify a desired target. Regarding claims 16 and7, it would have been obvious to use the digital method to detect the presence of a viral disease in the subject as suggested by both Li and Rolando in order to provide diagnostic information for a virus such as the encephalitis virus taught by Li or the HCV, HIV, or influenza mentioned by Rolando. Furthermore, upon determining that a patient has a virus such as one causing encephalitis or HCV or HIV or influenza, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to administer an appropriate treatment to the subject based on the severity of the disease of the subject, as was well established in the medical arts at the time of the invention. The examiner takes Official notice that treatment of disease appropriate to severity was routine in the medical field before the effective filing date.
Claim(s) 15 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Rolando as applied to claims 1, 2, 5-6, 8, 13-14, 16, 17, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 27, 28, 29, and 30 above, and further in view of Augustine et al. (Biology 2020, 9(8), 182; https://doi.org/10.3390/biology9080182; 17 pages).
The teachings of Li in view of Rolando as they apply to claims 1 and 16 and 26, from which claims 15 and 26 depend are given previously in this Office action and are fully incorporated here.
Neither Li nor Rolando teach a method wherein the target for amplification is SARS-CoV-2.
Augustine teaches that due to the global pandemic the development of tests for the detection of SARS-CoV-2 is essential, and teaches that LAMP is one technique that is being used for the detection of the virus. (Abstract and throughout).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have modified the method taught by Li in view of Rolando by using it to detect SARS-CoV-2. As both references teach methods for detection of targets, and both suggest the appropriateness of the methods for viral targets in particular, one would have been motivated to use one-step test taught by Li in view of Rolando for the detection of SARS-CoV-2 in order to provide a test for detecting and quantifying infection of the global pandemic causing agent.
Response to Remarks
Applicant traverses the obviousness rejections.
First, Applicant provides some summary of the teachings of Li, and the teachings of Rolando.
Following this, applicant argues that the cited references do not provide a sufficient rational for modifying Li’s integrated HOLMESv2 system in the manner proposed by the Examiner, since in some embodiments Li teaches quantifying target DNA. However, this is not persuasive. Li states in the abstract that the method is disclosed for “simply detecting virus RNA, human cell mRNA and circular RNA.” It does not teach quantifying RNA or DNA in every embodiment. See also p. 2228, Col. 2. Li further teaches that HOLMESv2 can be integrated into microfluidic platforms or PCR machines for relative or absolute quantification (p. 2234, 1st column). Thus, contrary to the argument, Li specifically suggests combining HOLMESv2 with other techniques to achieve quantification. The argument is not persuasive.
Applicant further argues that there would not have been a reasonable expectation of success that the resulting system would function as claimed.
To support this position the remarks first point out that neither reference teaches all elements of the claim. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Next, applicant argues that Li indicates that the signal of HOLMESv2 requires balancing the enzymatic activity and signal decreases with higher temperatures, whole Rolando teaches that optimal temperatures for the LAMP system they used were above 66C. Both references demonstrate optimizing reactions to achieve the best outcome, and that optimizing was well within the prevue of the skilled artisan. The “higher optimal temperature” of Rolando does not suggest that lower temperatures would not function, especially if different enzymes were employed, such as a different polymerase. Likewise, Li demonstrates successful HOLMESv2 at higher temperatures when Bst3.0 was used. Therefore, there was a reasonable expectation of success. A reasonable expectation of success does not require an absolute expectation of success.
The rejection is modified to address the amended claims and maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ding 2020 teaches a one-pot isothermal detection assay that employs recombinase polymerase amplification followed by detection via collateral cleavage of a probe by Cas12a.
Juliet Switzer
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1682
/JULIET C SWITZER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682