DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 through 10 originally filed 1 May 2023. By preliminary amendment received 1 May 2023; claims 1 through 10 are amended and claims 11 through 17 are added. Claims 1 through 17 are addressed by this action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2, 11, and 13 through 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Kakizuka et al. (Kakizuka, JP Pub. 2016-171173 A).
Kakizuka was initially cited in the IDS received 1 May 2025.
Regarding claim 2, Kakizuka discloses, "A first cladding layer formed on a substrate" (p. [0028] and Fig. 1A, pts. 100 and 101). "A semiconductor layer that is formed on the first cladding layer" (p. [0028] and Fig. 1A, pts. 101, 103, 105, and 106). "[The semiconductor layer] is formed with a group III-V compound semiconductor" (p. [0032], [0033], and Fig. 1A, pts. 103, 105, and 106). "An active layer that is formed in the semiconductor layer" (p. [0028] and Fig. 1A, pt. 103). "[The active layer] has a core shape extending in a predetermined direction" (p. [0028] and Fig. 1A, pt. 103). "[The active layer] is formed with a group III-V compound semiconductor" (p. [0032] and Fig. 1A, pt. 103). "A p-type layer and an n-type layer that are formed in the semiconductor layer" (p. [0028] and Fig. 1A, pts. 105 and 106). "[The p-type layer and the n-type layer] sandwich the active layer in a planar view" (p. [0028] and Fig. 1A, pts. 103, 105, and 106). "[The p-type layer and the n-type layer] are in contact with the active layer" (p. [0028] and Fig. 1A, pts. 103, 105, and 106). "[The p-type layer and the n-type layer] are formed with a group III-V compound semiconductor" (p. [0033] and Fig. 1A, pts. 105 and 106). "A second cladding layer formed on the semiconductor layer including a region in which the active layer is formed" (p. [0028] and Fig. 1A, pts. 103 and 104, where second cladding layer 104 is formed atop active layer 103 which is part of the semiconductor layer). "An optical coupling layer that is buried in the first cladding layer so as to be optically coupled to the active layer" (p. [0028] and Fig. 1A, pts. 101, 102, and 103). "[The optical coupling layer] is formed in a core shape extending along the active layer" (p. [0028] and Fig. 1A, pts. 101, 102, and 103). "A p-type electrode connected to the p-type layer" (p. [0030] and Fig. 1A, pts. 106 and 110). "An n-type electrode connected to the n-type layer" (p. [0030] and Fig. 1A, pts. 105 and 109). "Wherein the optical coupling layer is formed with a material that absorbs less light being guided in the active layer than the p-type layer" (p. [0036] and Fig. 1A, pts. 102 and 106).
Regarding claim 11, Kakizuka discloses, "Wherein the active layer is formed and buried in the semiconductor layer" (p. [0028] and Fig. 1A, pts. 103, 105, and 106).
Regarding claim 13, Kakizuka discloses, "Wherein the active layer has a multiple quantum well structure" (p. [0032] and Fig. 1A, pt. 103).
Regarding claim 14, Kakizuka discloses, "A resonator that resonates in a waveguide direction of the active layer" (p. [0028], [0031], and Fig. 1B, pts. 103 and 131).
Regarding claim 15, Kakizuka discloses, "Wherein the resonator includes a diffraction grating" (p. [0031] and Fig. 1B, pt. 132).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 5 through 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakizuka in view of Okamoto et al. (Okamoto, US Patent 5,787,105).
Regarding claim 1, Kakizuka discloses, "A first cladding layer formed on a substrate" (p. [0028] and Fig. 1A, pts. 100 and 101). "A semiconductor layer that is formed on the first cladding layer" (p. [0028] and Fig. 1A, pts. 101, 103, 105, and 106). "[The semiconductor layer] is formed with a group III-V compound semiconductor" (p. [0032], [0033], and Fig. 1A, pts. 103, 105, and 106). "An active layer that is formed in the semiconductor layer" (p. [0028] and Fig. 1A, pt. 103). "[The active layer] has a core shape extending in a predetermined direction" (p. [0028] and Fig. 1A, pt. 103). "[The active layer] is formed with a group III-V compound semiconductor" (p. [0032] and Fig. 1A, pt. 103). "A p-type layer and an n-type layer that are formed in the semiconductor layer" (p. [0028] and Fig. 1A, pts. 105 and 106). "[The p-type layer and the n-type layer] sandwich the active layer in a planar view" (p. [0028] and Fig. 1A, pts. 103, 105, and 106). "[The p-type layer and the n-type layer] are in contact with the active layer" (p. [0028] and Fig. 1A, pts. 103, 105, and 106). "[The p-type layer and the n-type layer] are formed with a group III-V compound semiconductor" (p. [0033] and Fig. 1A, pts. 105 and 106). "A second cladding layer formed on the semiconductor layer including a region in which the active layer is formed" (p. [0028] and Fig. 1A, pts. 103 and 104, where second cladding layer 104 is formed atop active layer 103 which is part of the semiconductor layer). "An optical coupling layer that is buried in the first cladding layer so as to be optically coupled to the active layer" (p. [0028] and Fig. 1A, pts. 101, 102, and 103). "[The optical coupling layer] is formed in a core shape extending along the active layer" (p. [0028] and Fig. 1A, pts. 101, 102, and 103). "A p-type electrode connected to the p-type layer" (p. [0030] and Fig. 1A, pts. 106 and 110). "An n-type electrode connected to the n-type layer" (p. [0030] and Fig. 1A, pts. 105 and 109). Kakizuka does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the optical coupling layer is formed with a material that absorbs less light being guided in the active layer than the p-type layer and the n-type layer." Okamoto discloses, "Wherein the optical coupling layer is formed with a material that absorbs less light being guided in the active layer than the p-type layer and the n-type layer" (col. 3, lines 49-62, where shifting the propagating mode away from doped layers in the manner of Kakizuka can be arranged to avoid all free carrier absorption as desired by Okamoto). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kakizuka with the teachings of Okamoto. In view of the teachings of Kakizuka regarding a laser with an offset waveguide and employing lateral current injection, the additional configuration of the optical mode to avoid all doped layers as taught by Okamoto would enhance the teachings of Kakizuka by allowing for a reduction in free carrier absorption.
Regarding claim 3, Kakizuka discloses, "Wherein the active layer is formed and buried in the semiconductor layer" (p. [0028] and Fig. 1A, pts. 103, 105, and 106).
Regarding claim 5, Kakizuka discloses, "Wherein the active layer has a multiple quantum well structure" (p. [0032] and Fig. 1A, pt. 103).
Regarding claim 6, Kakizuka discloses, "The p-type layer and the n-type layer are formed with InP" (p. [0033] and Fig. 1A, pts. 105 and 106).
The combination of Kakizuka and Okamoto does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the active layer has a multiple quantum well structure including a barrier layer formed with InAlAs." It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the composition of the barrier layers to employ the noted composition so as to adjust the electrical, optical, and structural features thereof and thereby adjust the operation of the adjacent quantum wells, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 7, Kakizuka discloses, "A resonator that resonates in a waveguide direction of the active layer" (p. [0028], [0031], and Fig. 1B, pts. 103 and 131).
Regarding claim 8, Kakizuka discloses, "Wherein the resonator includes a diffraction grating" (p. [0031] and Fig. 1B, pt. 132).
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakizuka, in view of Okamoto, and further in view of Xu et al. (Xu, US Patent 5,563,902).
Regarding claim 4, The combination of Kakizuka and Okamoto does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the active layer is formed with a protruding portion formed in the semiconductor layer." "The protruding portion being located between the p-type layer and the n-type layer." Xu discloses, "Wherein the active layer is formed with a protruding portion formed in the semiconductor layer" (col. 4-5, lines 66-5 and Fig. 1F, pt. 35'). "The protruding portion being located between the p-type layer and the n-type layer" (col. 4-5, lines 66-5 and Fig. 1F, pts. 35', 40, and 45). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Kakizuka and Okamoto with the teachings of Xu. In view of the teachings of Kakizuka regarding a laser with an offset waveguide and employing lateral current injection, the additional inclusion of a ridge associated with the active region and the alternate configuration of the cladding layers adjacent to the active region to be deliberately insulating as taught by Xu would enhance the teachings of Kakizuka and Okamoto by allowing light to be confined away from doped layers and by allowing for a reduction in leakage current.
Regarding claim 10, The combination of Kakizuka and Okamoto does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the first cladding layer and the second cladding layer are formed with an insulating material." Xu discloses, "Wherein the first cladding layer and the second cladding layer are formed with an insulating material" (col. 3, lines 23-35 and Fig. 1F, pts. 15, 30, and 35', where these layers are all specifically identified as semi-insulating which indicates that they are insulating in this context). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Kakizuka and Okamoto with the teachings of Xu for the reasons provided above regarding claim 4.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakizuka, in view of Okamoto, and further in view of Baets et al. (Baets, US Pub. 2012/0320939).
Regarding claim 9, The combination of Kakizuka and Okamoto does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the optical coupling layer is formed with Si." Baets discloses, "Wherein the optical coupling layer is formed with Si" (p. [0065], [0071], and Fig. 2B, pt. 112). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Kakizuka and Okamoto with the teachings of Baets. In view of the teachings of Kakizuka regarding a laser with an offset waveguide and employing lateral current injection, the alternate construction of the underlying layers from a SOI substrate as taught by Baets would enhance the teachings of Kakizuka and Okamoto by allowing the laser to be integrated with silicon-based devices.
Claims 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakizuka in view of Xu.
Regarding claim 12, Kakizuka does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the active layer is formed with a protruding portion formed in the semiconductor layer." "The protruding portion being located between the p-type layer and the n-type layer." Xu discloses, "Wherein the active layer is formed with a protruding portion formed in the semiconductor layer" (col. 4-5, lines 66-5 and Fig. 1F, pt. 35'). "The protruding portion being located between the p-type layer and the n-type layer" (col. 4-5, lines 66-5 and Fig. 1F, pts. 35', 40, and 45). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kakizuka with the teachings of Xu. In view of the teachings of Kakizuka regarding a laser with an offset waveguide and employing lateral current injection, the additional inclusion of a ridge associated with the active region and the alternate configuration of the cladding layers adjacent to the active region to be deliberately insulating as taught by Xu would enhance the teachings of Kakizuka by allowing light to be confined away from doped layers and by allowing for a reduction in leakage current.
Regarding claim 17, Kakizuka does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the first cladding layer and the second cladding layer are formed with an insulating material." Xu discloses, "Wherein the first cladding layer and the second cladding layer are formed with an insulating material" (col. 3, lines 23-35 and Fig. 1F, pts. 15, 30, and 35', where these layers are all specifically identified as semi-insulating which indicates that they are insulating in this context). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kakizuka with the teachings of Xu for the reasons provided above regarding claim 12.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakizuka in view of Baets.
Regarding claim 16, Kakizuka does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the optical coupling layer is formed with Si." Baets discloses, "Wherein the optical coupling layer is formed with Si" (p. [0065], [0071], and Fig. 2B, pt. 112). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kakizuka with the teachings of Baets. In view of the teachings of Kakizuka regarding a laser with an offset waveguide and employing lateral current injection, the alternate construction of the underlying layers from a SOI substrate as taught by Baets would enhance the teachings of Kakizuka by allowing the laser to be integrated with silicon-based devices.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Caër et al. (Caër, US Pub. 2018/0323575) is cited for teaching a hybrid laser formed of InP based materials that is driven by lateral current injection.
/SEAN P HAGAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2828