Specification
The specification and drawings have been reviewed and no clear informalities or objections have been noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baxter (US 2020/0316547).
Regarding claim 1, Baxter discloses a device for controlled production of a gas from first and second fluid reagents that, when mixed, produce the gas and a byproduct (this italicized phrase states an intended use for the claimed device and does not further define the structure of the device, see MPEP §2111.02), the device comprising:
a reactor cylinder (see annotated Fig. 1A below);
inlets configured to supply the reactor cylinder with the first and second fluid reagents (Baxter is configured to inject multiple reagents into the cylinder, see paragraph 19 which discloses multiple components 42, 44 injected into the cylinder);
a gas discharge circuit (14) connected to the reactor cylinder;
a piston (16) inside the reactor cylinder, actuated from a first end of the reactor cylinder (see annotated Fig. 1A which illustrates an actuating end of the piston at the first end of the cylinder) to move axially inside the reactor cylinder to compress any byproduct against the second end of the reactor cylinder and to expel any gas through the gas discharge circuit (see Fig. 1A where the piston 16 is capable of compressing any byproduct against a second end of the reactor), wherein the gas discharge circuit is connected to the reactor cylinder near a second end of the reactor cylinder (see Fig. 1A which discloses a gas exit 14 located at the second end of the cylinder); and
a closure device (18) at the second end of the reactor cylinder, having a closed position sealing the second end of the cylinder (the closed position is when solid material is packed into closure device, see paragraph 22 which discloses how the closure end/outlets 18 become closed), and an open position fully freeing the second end of the reactor cylinder so that any byproduct in the reactor cylinder can be shifted out by the piston (an open position can be when there is no solid material packed into the opening).
Annotated Fig. 1A
Regarding claim 3, Baxter discloses the piston includes a peripheral seal ring offset from a piston end, such that, when the piston is in a position compressing the byproduct against the second end of the reactor cylinder, a piston wall portion between the peripheral seal ring and the piston end of the piston faces an access port of the gas discharge circuit (as illustrated in annotated Fig. 1C below).
Annotated Fig. 1C
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baxter (US 2020/0316547) in view of Roessler (US 2013/0309347).
Regarding claim 4, Baxter discloses a method for controlling the production of a gas, the method comprising the following steps:
producing the gas and a byproduct by mixing first and second fluid reagents in a reactor cylinder (see paragraph 4 which discloses a process in which two components enter the cylinder and a gas/vapor is produced along with a solid/byproduct via freezing of the solid and vaporization of the gas);
gathering the produced gas through a gas discharge circuit connected to the reactor cylinder (product gas exits via outlet 22, see paragraphs 18-19 which teaches exhausting the produced gas/vapor through outlet 22);
compressing the byproduct against an end of the reactor cylinder by a movable piston, while expelling gas remaining in the reactor cylinder through the gas discharge circuit (see paragraph 20-22 which teaches piston 16 compresses the produced solid/byproduct 48 against an end of the cylinder), wherein the gas discharge circuit is connected radially to the reactor cylinder near the end of the cylinder (see Fig. 1 C which illustrates gases exiting via a radially configured outlet 22 that is near the end of the cylinder); and
ejecting the byproduct through the end of the reactor cylinder with the piston (see paragraph 22 which teaches that the produced solids 48 exit through outlets 18 as a result of pressure from the piston 16).
Baxter, however, does not explicitly disclose fully opening the end of the cylinder. Instead, Baxter teaches expelling the byproduct/solid by extruding it through openings 18 via pressure from the piston.
Roessler also discloses a process in which a solid is compressed via a piston (see abstract).
Roessler teaches forming a compacted solid material in a piston (in this case, it’s a briquet) and then expelling it from the piston cylinder. Roessler teaches that this is accomplished by first compacting the solid, similar to Baxter, and then, unlike Baxter, Roessler expels the compacted solid by opening the end/bottom (24) of the cylinder that was utilized for pressing the piston against to compact the solid. See paragraph 68 which teaches that the compacted solid/briquet is ejected after compaction by opening/swiveling the cylinder bottom 24 out of the way and pressing the solid out of the cylinder.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize an opening/pressing configuration to expel a compacted solid/byproduct, as taught by Roessler, in the process of Baxter in order to eject the produced byproduct solid of Baxter. Such a modification is nothing more than a simple substitution of one known solid ejection method of a piston for another to yield entirely predictable results.
Regarding claim 5, Baxter further discloses gathering the produced gas through a check-valve (gas is exhausted through check valve 22) ; and after compressing the byproduct and before opening the end of the reactor cylinder, venting gas remaining in the reactor cylinder through a low-pressure gas circuit connected to the reactor cylinder near the end of the reactor cylinder (gas continues to exit through the discharge valve 22). It is noted that Applicant has not claimed separate destinations or compositions for the claimed “produced gas” and “gas remaining in the reactor cylinder”, but rather states that they both exit the cylinder, which Baxter teaches.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 5-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art, Baxter, teaches an apparatus and method which separates material into a gaseous state and a solid state by manipulating the pressure inside the cylinder. However, one of ordinary skill would not be inclined to modify a separation device into a reactor and supplying the claimed compositions. Furthermore, Baxter does not teach, nor would it have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Baxter to arrive at a configuration where the discharge circuits include a circuit with a check valve and a separate circuit with an operated valve. Likewise, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Baxter such that there are two steps in the operation of the piston such that after compression, a gas venting process takes place though a low pressure gas circuit which is different the step of gathering the produced gas.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On page 7-8, Applicant argues that Baxter does not teach the claimed “closure device”. In Applicant’s “First” argument, it is stated that Baxter contains no structure at the second end of the vessel that has a closed position and an open position. The Office respectfully disagrees with this argument. As best understood, it appears as though Applicant is arguing that the closure device is not the same as the one illustrated as that in Fig. 1F of the instant application. The Office notes, however, that Applicant has not defined the closure device beyond claiming that it has an open position and a closed position. As such, it seems Applicant is arguing features that are not claimed. Furthermore, Baxter does indeed teach a closure device that can have an open position and a closed position. The closure device is the tubes that are at the second end of the piston when they are filled with solid and the open position is the same tubes when they are not filled with solid (such as during initial startup). This is an explicit disclosure by Baxter of a device (such as the tubes at the end of the cylinder) that can be opened or closed. More clarification regarding what this closure device is would assist in removing this ground of rejection.
Next, Applicant, in the “second” argument, argues that Baxter expressly teaches the absence of a closure device. Again, Applicant appears to be arguing elements that are not present in the claim. Baxter does indeed teach the lack of need for the closure device of Fig. 1F of the instant invention, it does teach a different type of closure device, as described above. Applicant appears to be arguing a more limited definition of “closure device” that what is allowed by a broadest reasonable interpretation.
Next, Applicant, in the “third” argument, that the “open” position of Baxter is never “fully freeing the second end of the reactor cylinder so that any byproduct in the reactor cylinder can be shifted out of the piston”. The Office respectfully disagrees with this argument. As best understood, it appears as though Applicant is arguing what “fully freeing” means. From the claims, Applicant as provided a qualifying metric that determines “fully freeing” by also claiming “so that any byproduct in the reactor cylinder can be shifted out by the piston”. This is precisely what Baxter teaches. When the tubes of Baxter are empty or not completely packed, such as during startup, Baxter does indeed teach a “fully freeing” opening that meets the claim qualifier and allows any byproduct in the reactor cylinder to be shifted out of the piston.
Next, Applicant in the “fourth” argument, Applicant arguing that the Office acknowledged the absence of fully opening the end of the cylinder in the rejection of claim 4. The Office respectfully disagrees with this argument. As best understood, it appears as though Applicant is arguing the interpretation of independent claim 4 when arguing against anticipation of claim 1. It is noted that claim 4 is a method claim whereas claim 1 is an apparatus claim. These claims are not identical and are different in scope. The limitations of claim 4 are bound by the method steps, such as “opening” which is not present in claim 1.
On page 8, Applicant argues that Baxter does not teach the claimed inlets, but rather a single inlet. The Office notes that “inlet” is a very generic term that can be interpreted in a number of ways. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, an “inlet” is not limited to a particular discrete aperture or port formed in the wall of a reactor, but includes a fluid-entry or feed path by which a fluid reagent is supplied to the reactor. As such, the claimed “inlets” may reasonably encompass respective reagent inlet flows or feed paths that share a common physical passage. In claim 1, there is nothing that requires the fluid reagent flows to enter the cylinder through separate openings.
On pages 9-10, Applicant argues that amending Baxter with Roessler would destroy the principle operation of Baxter. The Office respectfully disagrees with this argument. The valve of Roessler does not impede the function of Baxter. The valve of Roessler is even loosely suggested by Baxter by Baxter’s statement that a valve or other closing device is not needed “to prevent process liquid from passing through the solids outlet”. This statement by Baxter is far from a teaching away. Merely because it states that a certain particular feature is not needed as its function is being accomplished by another structure does not qualify as rendering Baxter inoperable, nor does it teach away. The valve operation of Roessler still allows Baxter to generate pressure for the reaction and release solids formed therein.
Finally, on page 10, Applicant’s argument regarding claim 5 is persuasive. The rejection of claim 5 is hereby withdrawn.
Relevant Prior Art
US 4,797,296 – Teaches the well known structure of removing solids from a cylinder by placing a valve at the compression end of the cylinder. It is also noted that Baxter envisions such a feature by expressly stating that a valve of this nature is not present.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW J MERKLING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725