DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 04/21/2026. Claims 85-93, 95, 96, 98-100, and 102-107 are pending. Claims 85 and 106 are independent. Claims 93, 95, 96, and 98-100 are withdrawn. Claims 1-84, 94, 97, and 101 are canceled. Claim 107 is newly added.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Italian Republic on 11/02/2020. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the IT102020000026056 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
Currently, none of the claim limitations are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 106 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McNamara (US Pub. No.: 2011/0257723).
Regarding claim 106, McNamara discloses an occluder device (500, Figs. 24 and 25 and Paras. [0029]-[0032] and [0241]) comprising: a supporting structure (501, Figs. 24 and 25) configured to anchor the occluder device to a septum of a heart of a patient when crossing a septum defect (see Figs. 13-19), the supporting structure comprising a supporting structure periphery (periphery defined by the support structure 501, Figs. 24 and 25) delimiting a structure central opening (central opening defined by 501/506, Fig. 25); and an elastic membrane (504, Fig. 24 and Para. [0197], the flow control element can be formed nitinol which is elastic) coupled to the supporting structure to cover the structure central opening, the membrane including a shunt lumen (See figure below; alternatively, the one shunt lumen is defined by the entire central opening shown in Fig. 24) extending through the membrane, wherein the membrane is fully capable to deform to create a passage lumen when actively engaged by an external device after implantation of the occluder device during a subsequent operation (Paras. [0029]-[0032] and [0199] and Fig. 24, the membrane is fully capable to deform to create a passage lumen when actively engaged by an external device after implantation of the occluder device during a subsequent operation because the member is deformable), wherein the elastic membrane has a closed position when not engaged by the external device in which the elastic membrane provides maximum occlusion to the structure central opening (Fig. 24), and wherein the shunt lumen remains open when the elastic membrane is in the closed position (Fig. 24 and Para. [0083]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 85-92, 102-105, and 107 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McNamara’723 (US Pub. No.: 2011/0257723) in view of McNamar et al.’784 (US Pub. No.: 2013/0178784).
Regarding claim 85, McNamara’723 discloses [claim 85] an occluder device (500, Figs. 24 and 25 and Paras. [0029]-[0032] and [0241]) comprising: a supporting structure (501, Figs. 24 and 25) adapted to anchor a septum of a heart of a patient when crossing a septum defect (see Figs. 13-19); said supporting structure comprising a supporting structure periphery (periphery defined by the support structure 501, Figs. 24 and 25) delimiting a structure central opening (central opening defined by 501/506, Fig. 25); said occluder device further comprising a membrane (504, Fig. 24); said membrane comprises a membrane body having a membrane periphery (Fig. 24); said membrane has a closed position in which the membrane is in a configuration which provides maximum occlusion to the structure central opening (Fig. 24); the membrane periphery is fastened to said supporting structure periphery to cover the structure central opening (Fig. 24 and Para. [0029]); when actively engaged by an external device the membrane deforms, creating a passage lumen (Paras. [0029]-[0032] and [0199] and Fig. 24, a large passage lumen is created when the slits between the membrane parts/valves open up); said membrane comprises at least one shunt lumen (See figure below; alternatively, the one shunt lumen is defined by the entire central opening shown in Fig. 24) which remains open when the membrane is in the closed position (Paras. [0029] and [0083]); and said at least one shunt lumen is smaller with respect to said passage lumen (said at least one shunt lumen is smaller with respect to said passage lumen, Fig. 24). McNamara’723 discloses that the shunt lumen can be different shapes (Figs. 26 and 29A-29C) However, McNamara’723 does not disclose that the at least one shunt lumen having a circular shape.
McNamar’784 teaches, in the same field of endeavor (occluder device); a shunt lumen having a circular shape (shunt lumen 93 shown in Fig. 18 or shunt lumen 93a should in Fig. 20 is circular).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the at least one shunt lumen of McNamara’723 to be circular shape as taught by McNamar’784 was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular shape of the claimed the shunt lumen was significant. See MPEP 2144 IV
[claim 86] McNamara’723 discloses that wherein said supporting structure comprises a central supporting structure portion (506, Fig. 24 and Para. [0241]) delimiting a lumen (Fig. 24), wherein said supporting structure comprises a first anchoring portion (502 formed of 502a-502l, Fig. 24 and Para. [0241]) and a second anchoring portion (503 formed of 503a-503l, Figs. 24 and 25 and Para. [0241]) opposite the first anchoring portion, wherein said supporting structure is configured to expand and contract between a compressed tubular configuration for insertion through the patient's vasculature and an expanded configuration in which the first anchoring portion and the second anchoring portion extend radially outwards from said central supporting structure portion to compress the septum therebetween by arranging said supporting structure astride said septum through a defect or hole or opening present in the septum (Paras. [0077], [0078], and [0089]-[0091] and also see Figs. 14-19 for example);
[claim 87] McNamara’723 discloses that wherein said supporting structure is made of a less elastic material with respect to a material of said membrane (Para. [0190], [0196], and [0197], e.g. supporting structure is made of stainless steel which is less elastic than valve tissue material / nitinol forming the membrane / flow control element);
[claim 88] McNamara’723 discloses that wherein said first anchoring portion and said second anchoring portion comprise a plurality of supporting structure arms made of elastic material adapted to allow expanding and contracting between the compressed tubular configuration and the expanded configuration for anchoring the plurality of supporting structure arms to opposite surfaces of the septum (Paras. [0190] and [0077], e.g. stainless steel / nitinol);
[claim 89] McNamara’723 discloses that wherein said supporting structure is in a separate piece or pieces with respect to said membrane (Paras. [0028], [0029], [0190], [0196], and [0197] and Figs. 24 and 25);
[claim 90] McNamara’723 discloses that wherein said at least one slit extends from a first membrane periphery portion placed near the supporting structure to a second membrane periphery portion placed near the supporting structure (see Figure above, the slit can be defined as a slit extending from one periphery of the membrane to another periphery of the membrane with one periphery edge extending from one periphery of the membrane to another periphery of the membrane);
[claim 91] McNamara’723 discloses that wherein said at least one slit extends from the membrane periphery placed near the supporting structure to near a center of the membrane (see Figure above, when the slit is defined as a slit extending from near a periphery of the membrane to the shunt lumen, it extends from the membrane periphery placed near the supporting structure to near a center of the membrane);
[claim 92] McNamara’723 discloses that wherein said at least one slit is a notch (Fig. 24. Also see Fig. 2 for example);
[claim 102] McNamara’723 discloses that wherein said at least one shunt lumen substantially maintains a dimension thereof during normal operation of the heart to maintain a defined blood flow when the occluder device is implanted across the septum defect (Paras. [0083] and [0010]);
[claim 103] McNamara’723 discloses that wherein a cross-sectional area of said at least one shunt lumen is an unobstructed lumen (Fig. 24 and Para. [0083]);
[claim 104] McNamara’723 discloses that wherein said membrane defines an obstructed area of the structure central opening, said obstructed area is defined as the structure central opening minus a cross-sectional area of said at least one shunt lumen (Fig. 24);
[claim 105] McNamara’723 discloses that wherein the membrane further comprises at least one slit (see Figure above, the slit can be defined as a slit extending from near a periphery of the membrane to the shunt lumen; alternatively, the slit can be defined as a slit extending from one periphery of the membrane to another periphery of the membrane with one periphery edge extending from one periphery of the membrane to another periphery of the membrane), the at least one slit defining the passage lumen (see Figure below, the at least one sit defines the passage lumen when it opens up).
Regarding claim 107, McNamara’723 discloses substantially all the limitations of the claim but fails to disclose that the shunt lumen is defined in the elastic membrane by a shunt lumen edge having a circular shape.
McNamar’784 teaches, in the same field of endeavor (occluder device); a shunt lumen is defined in a membrane by a shunt lumen edge having a circular shape (shunt lumen 93 shown in Fig. 18 or shunt lumen 93a should in Fig. 20 is circular).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the at least one shunt lumen of McNamara’723 to be defined in the membrane by a shunt lumen edge having a circular shape as taught by McNamar’784 was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular shape of the claimed the shunt lumen was significant. See MPEP 2144 IV
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments on pages 5-6 of the remarks with respect to claim(s) 85-92, 102-105, and 107 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicant's arguments regarding claim 106 filed 04/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. McNamara discloses an occluder device (500, Figs. 24 and 25 and Paras. [0029]-[0032] and [0241]) comprising: a supporting structure (501, Figs. 24 and 25) configured to anchor the occluder device to a septum of a heart of a patient when crossing a septum defect (see Figs. 13-19), the supporting structure comprising a supporting structure periphery (periphery defined by the support structure 501, Figs. 24 and 25) delimiting a structure central opening (central opening defined by 501/506, Fig. 25); and an elastic membrane (504, Fig. 24 and Para. [0197], the flow control element can be formed nitinol which is elastic) coupled to the supporting structure to cover the structure central opening, the membrane including a shunt lumen (See figure below; alternatively, the one shunt lumen is defined by the entire central opening shown in Fig. 24) extending through the membrane, wherein the membrane is fully capable to deform to create a passage lumen when actively engaged by an external device after implantation of the occluder device during a subsequent operation (Paras. [0029]-[0032] and [0199] and Fig. 24, the membrane is fully capable to deform to create a passage lumen when actively engaged by an external device after implantation of the occluder device during a subsequent operation because the member is deformable).
The limitation “configured to deform to create a passage lumen when actively engaged by an external device after implantation of the occluder device during a subsequent operation” is a functional limitation or recitation of intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JING RUI OU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771