DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02 May 2023, 16 February 2024 and 18 June 2025 were filed prior to the mailing date of this office correspondence. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 4, the limitation “feeding the multiple feeders while collecting the feeders set as the collecting targets at the periodic feeding time.” should read:
-- feeding the multiple feeders while collecting feeders set as the collecting targets in the periodic feeding time. --
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the number of empty portions" in line 8 and claim 6 recites the limitation “the number of empty portions” in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In claim 2, the limitation “acquiring a use time at which each component is used in the component mounting machine” renders claim indefinite because a person of ordinary skill in the art could not interpret the metes and bounds of the recited limitation “a use time at which each component is used”. What does “used time…component is used” mean in a component mounting machine? Would it be a component mounting time or component pick up time or a feeder exchange time or a feeder use time something else? Both the claim and specification fail to define “a use time at which each component is used”.
As best understood, it appears that the limitation actually intends that “acquiring a use time at which each target feeder is used in the component mounting machine”, or the like.
Claims 2-5 depend on claim 1. Therefore, claims 1-6 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ao (WO 2018008148, see US 20190313554 for English Translation).
[AltContent: textbox (transfer device)]
Annotated Fig. 1, Ao.
Regarding claim 1, Ao teaches, a component feeding method for use in a component mounting system (component-mounting system 10, see Fig. 1) including a component mounting machine (component mounting machine 20, Fig. 1) configured to pick up a component (component-mounting system 10…multiple component mounting machines 20, each of which mounts components, para. [0031]) from a feeder (feeder 30) and mount the component, a storage section (feeder storage container 60, Fig. 1) configured to temporarily store a feeder accommodating a component for use in the component mounting machine (feeder storage container 60 that can store multiple feeders 30, para. [0031]), and a transfer device (feeder moving robot 50, 70, see annotated Fig. 1) configured to transfer the feeder between the storage section and the component mounting machine (first feeder moving robot 50 for moving feeder 30 between multiple component mounting machines 20 and the lowest stage of feeder storage container 60, and second feeder moving robot 70 for moving feeder 30 within feeder storage container 60, para. [0032]), the method being for feeding the feeder to the storage section (the storage area information update process in Figs. 8 and supply area information update process in Fig. 9, component mounting machine 20 has a component supply area in which feeder 30 can be attached, para. [0035]), the method comprising:
number of empty portions of the storage section capable of accommodating the feeder (in the storage area information,…and the remaining component quantity “Empty” …is attached to the storage area information, see Fig. 10, para. [0050]);
determining multiple feeders to be prepared for every predetermined periodic feeding time (feeder exchange process at the time of changeover, Fig. 11, para. [0053]) based on the number of empty portions of the storage section (when the feeder exchange process at the time of changeover is executed, CPU 80a of management device 80 first sets the time of the expected changeover based on a production program (i.e., a production schedule) (step S200) and determines whether the time is within a predetermined time (for example, within several minutes) before the expected changeover time is reached (step S205), para. [0053]); and
feeding the multiple feeders collectively to the storage section at every periodic feeding time (if it is determined that the changeover time has been reached, CPU 80a removes feeder 30 (i.e., the used feeder) accommodating components unnecessary for the next production from feeder table 40 of component mounting machine 20, attaches the feeder to empty feeder table 40 of feeder storage area 60A of feeder storage container 60, para. [0054], operator may convey the feeder 30 into and out of feeder storage container 60 one by one, or may convey multiple feeders 30 in and out collectively, para. [0066]).
Though, Ao does not explicitly teach “acquiring number of empty portions”, form the teachings of Ao in Fig. 10 and para. [0050-0052], “storage area information shown in FIG. 10, feeder 30 having the component type “A-001” and the remaining component quantity “Full” (i.e., unused after the operator replenishes) is attached to the position where the location is “01” and the slot is “001” or “002”, that is, the first slot at the left end of storage area 60A at the lowest stage of feeder storage container 60… that the storage area information and the supply area information are not limited to the information of the remaining component quantity being “Full” or “Empty”, rather it may also store information of the actual remaining component quantity”, and from para. [0045], “it is determined that feeder 30 is newly attached, CPU 80a obtains positional information of the attachment position based on the position of attached connector 45 (S105) and obtains feeder information, such as the ID information of feeder 30, the type of the accommodated”, one of ordinary skill in the art would have known that the storage section acquires the ID information of a feeder and determines number of empty portions of the storage section capable of accommodating a feeder. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Ao, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method for feeding the feeder to the storage section of Ao and to acquire the number of empty portions of the storage section so that it enables visually displaying the status information of the feeder storage section for an operator.
Regarding claim 2, Ao teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Ao further teaches, the component feeding method according to Claim 1, further comprising: acquiring a use time (change over time, para. [0053]) at which each component is used in the component mounting machine (management device 80 first sets the time of the expected changeover, para. [0053]); and determining the multiple feeders to be prepared so that a feeder accommodating a feeding target component is fed at a feeding time before the use time of the feeding target component in the periodic feeding time, based on the number of empty portions of the storage section and the use time for each component (management device 80 first sets the time of the expected changeover based on a production program (i.e., a production schedule) (step S200) and determines whether the time is within a predetermined time… if it is determined that the changeover time has been reached, CPU 80a removes feeder 30 (i.e., the used feeder) accommodating components unnecessary for the next production from feeder table 40 of component mounting machine 20, attaches the feeder to empty feeder table 40 of feeder storage area 60A of feeder storage container 60, para. [0053-0054]).
Regarding claim 3, Ao teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 2. Ao further teaches, the
component feeding method according to Claim 2, further comprising: determining the multiple feeders to be prepared so that the feeder accommodating the feeding target component is preferentially fed at a feeding time close to the use time of the feeding target component in the periodic feeding time (when the feeder exchange process at the time of changeover is executed, CPU 80a of management device 80 first sets the time of the expected changeover based on a production program (i.e., a production schedule) (step S200) and determines whether the time is within a predetermined time (for example, within several minutes) before the expected changeover time is reached (step S205), see Fig. 11, para. 0053).
Regarding claim 5, Ao teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Ao further teaches, the component feeding method according to Claim 1, further comprising: feeding the multiple feeders attached in multiple slots in a pallet along with the pallet (feeder table 40, Fig. 2); and determining the multiple feeders to be prepared within a range of the number of slots in the pallet (slots are sequentially defined with the first slot “001” as the reference slot, for example, the leftmost slot 42 among multiple slots 42 of feeder table 40, see Fig. 2, para. [0049]).
Regarding claim 6, Ao teaches, a management apparatus (management device 80, Fig. 1) for use in a component mounting system (component-mounting system 10) including a component mounting machine (multiple component mounting machines 20) configured to pick up a component from a feeder and mount the component, a storage section (feeder storage container 60, Fig. 1) configured to temporarily store a feeder (feeder 30) accommodating a component for use in the component mounting machine, and a transfer device (feeder moving robot 50, 70, Fig. 1) configured to transfer the feeder between the storage section and the component mounting machine,
wherein the management apparatus acquires the number of empty portions of the storage section capable of accommodating the feeder (in the storage area information,… at the lowest stage of feeder storage container 60, indicates that feeder 30 having the component type “A-001” and the remaining component quantity “Empty” …is attached to the storage area information, see Fig. 10, para. [0050]), determines multiple feeders to be prepared for every predetermined periodic feeding time based on the number of empty portions of the storage section (when the feeder exchange process at the time of changeover is executed, CPU 80a of management device 80 first sets the time of the expected changeover based on a production program (i.e., a production schedule) (step S200) and determines whether the time is within a predetermined time (for example, within several minutes) before the expected changeover time is reached (step S205), para. [0053]), and issues a feeding instruction to feed the multiple feeders collectively to the storage section at every periodic feeding time (if it is determined that the changeover time has been reached, CPU 80a removes feeder 30 (i.e., the used feeder) accommodating components unnecessary for the next production from feeder table 40 of component mounting machine 20, attaches the feeder to empty feeder table 40 of feeder storage area 60A of feeder storage container 60, para. [0054], operator may convey the feeder 30 into and out of feeder storage container 60 one by one, or may convey multiple feeders 30 in and out collectively, para. [0066]).
Though, Ao does not explicitly teach “acquiring number of empty portions”, form the teachings of Ao in Fig. 10 and para. [0050-0052], “storage area information shown in FIG. 10, feeder 30 having the component type “A-001” and the remaining component quantity “Full” (i.e., unused after the operator replenishes) is attached to the position where the location is “01” and the slot is “001” or “002”, that is, the first slot at the left end of storage area 60A at the lowest stage of feeder storage container 60… that the storage area information and the supply area information are not limited to the information of the remaining component quantity being “Full” or “Empty”, rather it may also store information of the actual remaining component quantity”, and from para. [0045], “it is determined that feeder 30 is newly attached, CPU 80a obtains positional information of the attachment position based on the position of attached connector 45 (S105) and obtains feeder information, such as the ID information of feeder 30, the type of the accommodated”, one of ordinary skill in the art would have known that the storage section acquires the ID information and determines number of empty portions of the storage section capable of accommodating a feeder. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Ao, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method for feeding the feeder to the storage section of Ao and to acquire the number of empty portions of the storage section so that it enables visually displaying the status information of the feeder storage section for an operator.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter:
Claim 4 would be allowable for disclosing a component feeding method for use in a component mounting system, further comprising: determining the multiple feeders to be prepared after setting used feeders among the feeders stored in the storage section as collecting targets in a case where the number of empty portions of the storage section is insufficient; and feeding the multiple feeders while collecting the feeders set as the collecting targets at the periodic feeding time.
Though, prior art of record Ao teaches a management device determines a feeder exchange process and determines expected time, Ao fails to teach determining the multiple feeders to be prepared after setting used feeders among the feeders stored in the storage section as collecting targets in a case where the number of empty portions of the storage section is insufficient; and feeding the multiple feeders while collecting the feeders set as the collecting targets at the periodic feeding time.
Therefore, claim 4 would be allowable.
Conclusion
Prior art Iisaka (US 20170208713) teaches component feeding method including a component mounting system, a feeder, a storage section configured to temporarily store a feeder accommodating a component for use in the component mounting machine, and a transfer device configured to transfer the feeder between the storage section and the component mounting machine.
/JOSE K ABRAHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3729