DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This action is in response to the papers filed October 15, 2025. Currently, claims 1-4, 7-12, 15-23, 30 are pending. Claims 22-23, 30 have been withdrawn as drawn to non-elected subject matter.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-4, 7-12, 15-21 in the paper filed October 15, 2025 is acknowledged.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/CN2021/128667, filed November 4, 2021 and claims priority to PCT/CN2020/126728, filed November 5, 2020.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112- Second Paragraph
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-4, 7-12, 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
A) The claims are directed to cRTA gene of Neisseria meningitidis. A search of the art does not provide any cRTA gene. The specification refers to cRTA and cTRA. The art teaches the cTRA gene is a capsule transport protein widely used in PCR assays to detect N. meningitidis and SEQ ID NO: 45-54 are found to be embedded within the ctrA sequences. Applicant should review and clarify what gene is being detected. The specification uses both cTRA and cRTA. It is unclear whether the specification is referring to two different genes or whether there is a typo in the specification and claims. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112-
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 3 requires the sample is contacted with a plurality of pairs of primers and a control primer. This limitation does not appear to limit Claim 2 in any way since Claim 1 requires a plurality of primers and Claim 2 requires an IAC. The claims are identical in scope. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7, 10, 12, 15-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kukla et al. (New Mircrobiol, Vol. 43, No. 2, pages 70-77, April 19, 2020) in view of Albuquerque et al. (Brazilian J. of Microbiology, Vol. 50, pages 435-443, 2019) in view of Vuong (PLOS one. Development of Real-Time PCR methods for the detection of bacterial meningitis pathogens without DNA extraction, February 1, 2016) and Genbank MK163634; Genbank AF030369; Genbank AJ001313 and Genbank AY281033 in view of Buck et al.
The prior art is replete in teachings of cpsA, lytA, sodC and crtA PCR multiplex reactions for detecting S. pneumoniae and N. meningitidis. The prior art also teaches the full length sequences for each of the regions.
Particularly, Kukla teaches improved laboratory diagnostics for detecting Streptococcus pneumoniae using qPCR (limitations of Claim 12). Kukla teaches analysis in respiratory tract samples (limitations of Claims 4, 7). The method relies upon the detection of cpsA and lytA genes thru qPCR. Table 2 provides the primers and probes used in the method. The primers and probes were previously used by Lang 2015 and Morais 2007. Kukla further teaches the qPCR assays included an internal positive control (page 72, col. 1). The probes of Kukla have a fluorescence emitter moiety and a quencher moiety (see Table 2).
Albuquerque teaches multiple-PCR for amplifying crtA and lytA for detecting Streptococcus pneumoniae and Neisseria meningitidis in the same sample. Albuquerque teaches these bacterial pathogens are among the four most prevalent bacterial pathogens. Albuquerque uses the 16S rRNA as a universal control.
Vuong teaches analysis of sodC and ctrA in real-time PCR methods. The probes of Vuong also have emitter and quencher moieties.
The full length sequences for each of these genes is found in Genbank as provided below. The primers and probes of the instant claims are embedded within the full length sequences.
LOCUS MK163634 348 bp DNA linear BCT 26-FEB-2019
DEFINITION Streptococcus pneumoniae strain REO8567_CLIN autolysin gene,
partial cds.
1 cgcctttata tcgaactctt acgcaatcta gcagatgaag caggtttgcc gaaaacgctt
61 gatacaggga gtttagctgg aattaaaacg cacgagtatt gcacgaataa ccaaccaaac
121 aaccactcag accacgttga cccttatcca tatcttgcta aatggggcat tagccgtgag
181 cagtttaagc atgatattga gaacggcttg acgattgaaa caggctggca gaagaatgac
241 actggctact ggtacgtaca ttcagacggc tcttatccaa aagacaagtt tgagaaaatc
301 aatggcactt ggtactactt tgacagttca ggctatatgc ttgcagac
SEQ ID NO: 1 is located at positions 175-199 and SEQ ID NO: 2 is located at positions 320-297. SEQ ID NO: 3 is located 294-265.
LOCUS AF030369 4133 bp DNA linear BCT 16-JUL-1998
DEFINITION Streptococcus pneumoniae strain SP-VA92 alpha, 1-6-glucosidase
(dexB) gene, partial cds; putative regulatory protein (cpsA) and
CpsB (cpsB) genes, complete cds; and putative chain length
terminator (cpsC) gene, partial cds.
SEQ ID NO: 16 is located at positions 1741-1762 and Seq ID NO: 17 is located at positions 1822-1801. SEQ ID NO: 26 is located at nucleotides 1764-1790.
LOCUS AJ001313 3572 bp DNA linear BCT 15-APR-2005
DEFINITION Neisseria meningitidis sodC, mutY genes and IS1106 region.
SEQ ID NO: 31 is located at position 1726-1748 and SEQ ID NO: 32 is located at positions 1821-1798. SEQ ID NO: 40 is located at positions 1750-1778.
LOCUS AY281033 491 bp DNA linear BCT 25-JUL-2016
DEFINITION Neisseria meningitidis strain M9592 capsular transport protein
(ctrA) gene, partial cds.
SEQ ID NO: 45 is located at positions 325-343 and SEQ ID NO: 46 is located at positions 407-390. SEQ ID NO: 55 is located at 384-361.
Buck analyzed the effect of primer design strategy on the performance of DNA sequencing primers. Specifically, Buck invited primer submissions from a number of labs (39) (page 532, column 3), with 69 different primers being submitted (see page 530, column 1). Buck also tested 95 primers spaced at 3 nucleotide intervals along the entire sequence at issue, thereby testing more than 1/3 of all possible 18 mer primers on the 300 base pair sequence (see page 530, Page 11 column 1). When Buck tested each of the primers selected by the methods of the different labs, Buck found that every single primer worked (see page 533, column 1). Only one primer ever failed, No. 8, and that primer functioned when repeated. Further, every single control primer functioned as well (see page 533, column 1). Buck expressly states “The results of the empirical sequencing analysis were surprising in that nearly all of the primers yielded data of extremely high quality (page 535, column 2).” Therefore, Buck provides direct evidence that all primers would be expected to function, and in particular, all primers selected according to the ordinary criteria, however different, used by 39 different laboratories. It is particularly striking that all 95 control primers functioned, which represent 1/3 of all possible primers in the target region. This clearly shows that the selection and use of primers in primer extension methods yields predictable results.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to design primers for multiplex analysis of cpsA, lytA, sodC and ctrA by designing any set of primer pairs and oligonucleotide probes designed from the known sequences to detect the presence of Neisseria meningitidis and S. pneumoniae in a biological sample using the multiplex real-time PCR methods resulting from the combined teachings of Kukla, Albuquerque and Vuong. An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success, since: (i) Kukla, Albuquerque and Vuong each taught designing useful oligonucleotide primers and probes from the known GenBank sequences for cpsA, lytA, sodC and ctrA , (ii) the complete cpsA, lytA, sodC and ctrA sequences were known in the art at the time of the invention, and (iii) Buck establishes that essentially all primers designed from a known sequence are reasonably capable of functioning in nucleic acid amplification methods. Thus, absent any unexpected results with respect to the particular primers and probes recited in the claims, they are prima facie obvious in view of the combined teachings of the cited references.
Attention is also directed to KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (550 U.S.____ , 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007)) where the Supreme Court determined that “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103 (KSR, 550 U.S. at____ , 82 USPQ2d at 1397).”
In the instant case, as discussed above, an ordinary artisan would have been motivated to design oligonucleotide primers and probes from the known cpsA, lytA, sodC and ctrA sequence for the detection of Neisseria meningitidis and S. pneumoniae in a biological sample based on the teachings of Kukla, Albuquerque and Vuong. The complete nucleotide sequence of the cpsA, lytA, sodC and ctrA genes, which is disclosed in Genbank MK163634; Genbank AF030369; Genbank AJ001313 and Genbank AY281033, presented the ordinary artisan with a finite number of possible primers and probes for amplification and hybridization, respectively. Then, since Buck taught that a large number of primers designed to detect the same target functioned reasonably well, an ordinary artisan would have expected predictable results, and thus would have had a reasonable expectation of success, when testing the finite number of possible amplification primers and probes suggested by GenBank Accession Number Genbank MK163634; Genbank AF030369; Genbank AJ001313 and Genbank AY281033, Kukla, Albuquerque and Vuong. Thus, the methods are prima facie obvious in view of the combined teachings of the cited references.
Claims 2-3, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kukla et al. (New Mircrobiol, Vol. 43, No. 2, pages 70-77, April 19, 2020) in view of Albuquerque et al. (Brazilian J. of Microbiology, Vol. 50, pages 435-443, 2019) in view of Vuong (PLOS one. Development of Real-Time PCR methods for the detection of bacterial meningitis pathogens without DNA extraction, February 1, 2016) and Genbank MK163634; Genbank AF030369; Genbank AJ001313 and Genbank AY281033 in view of Buck et al. as applied to Claims 1, 4, 7, 10, 12, 15-21 above and further in view of Vickery et al. (WO2004/104229, December 2, 2004).
Kukla, Albuquerque, Vuong and Genbank do not teach internal control nucleic acids of SEQ ID NO: 60-61 or a probe of SEQ ID NO: 133.
However, Vickery teaches internal control nucleic acids for nucleic acid amplification systems. Vickery teaches exogenous internal control nucleic acids were used. SEQ ID NO: 60 of the instant application is 94.4% identical to SE ID NO: 1 of Vickery. SEQ ID NO:61 is 100% identical to SEQ ID NO: 5 of Vickery. SEQ ID NO: 133 is 100% identical to SEQ ID NO: 10 of Vickery.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious at the time the invention was made to have included internal control primers and probes of Vickery in the multiplex analysis of Kukla, Albuquerque, Vuong and Genbank. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to have include the known IAC of Vickery to prevent the reporting of false negatives and to potentially allow accurate adjustments to quantitative data.
Conclusion
No claims allowable over the art.
/JEANINE A GOLDBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682
January 27, 2026