DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-4, 6-9, and 12, in the reply filed on 09/15/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Nakashima reference does not address a first channel comprising at least a first position for receiving a culture device and a movable assembly in communication with the channel. This is not found persuasive because the Restriction Requirement noted that Nakashima discloses moving a culture device to an area of a culture operation unit (reads on an area of a channel) with a movable effector assembly. The Examiner maintains that the technical feature common to Groups I and II does not make a contribution over the prior art.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 30-38, 40, and 45-46 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention9, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 09/15/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/05/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2: the claim should end with a period.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the second effector arm" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the first axis of rotation" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the first axis of rotation" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 8, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Christiaens (BE 1024593 B1) (English machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Christiaens discloses a culture device processing system (Abstract, p. 2 para. 5), comprising:
a first input location (called storage cabinet) for retaining at least one culture device (p. 6 para. 9),
a first channel (called turntable; the turntable comprises a surface for receiving a culture device and thus reads on being a channel, consistent with Applicant’s specification) comprising at least a first position for receiving a culture device and retaining a received culture device (p. 6 para. 2, p. 6 para. 10-p. 7 para. 5) (Figs. 1, 5),
a movable effector assembly (comprising displacement arm) in communication with the channel (p. 4 lines 3-5, p. 7 para. 4) (Fig. 4), the movable effector assembly comprising one or more effector arms (p. 4 lines 3-5, p. 7 para. 4) (Fig. 1),
the one or more effector arms comprising a first effector arm having a first attachment member (called engaging element) for removably coupling the first effector arm to the at least one culture device (p. 4 para. 6-7, p. 6 para. 9, p. 8 para. 5) (Figs. 3-5), and
wherein the first effector arm is for:
moving the at least one culture device from the first input location to the first position of the first channel (p. 4 para. 5-7, p. 6 para. 9, p. 7 para. 6-7), and
uncovering a growth area of the at least one culture device (Christiaens discloses wherein the first effector arm is for removing a lid of the at least one culture device, see p. 4 para. 5-7, p. 6 para. 9, p. 7 para. 4-7, which would necessarily uncover a growth area within the at least one culture device).
Regarding claim 2, Christiaens discloses wherein the first effector arm is also for:
covering the growth area with a cover (p. 7 para. 6); and
moving the at least one culture device to an output location (p. 4 para. 5, p. 6 para. 9, p. 7 para. 6).
Regarding claim 4, Christiaens discloses wherein the one or more effector arms further comprise a second effector arm (see multiple arms 8 in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Christiaens discloses a second effector arm (see multiple arms 8 in Fig. 1), wherein the second effector arm comprises a first segment that is rotatable around a first axis of rotation (p. 7 para. 3) (Fig. 3).
As to the claim limitation “optionally by at least 180 degrees and further optionally by 360 degrees”, this limitation is optional and therefore does not introduce a patentable distinction over the prior art.
Regarding claim 12, Christiaens discloses wherein the first effector arm is configurable between a first position wherein the first attachment member is not coupled to the culture device (p. 4 para. 6-7, p. 6 para. 9, p. 8 para. 5) (Fig. 1), and a second position wherein the first attachment member is removably coupled to the culture device (p. 4 para. 6-7, p. 6 para. 9, p. 8 para. 5) (Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christiaens (BE 1024593 B1) (English machine translation) in view of Knesel et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2009/0275076).
Regarding claim 3, Christiaens discloses the first effector arm having an attachment member, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1, above. Christiaens further discloses wherein the attachment member uses suction to couple to the at least one culture device (p. 4 para. 6-7, p. 6 para. 9).
Christiaens is silent as to wherein the first effector arm comprises an attachment member for placing a label on the culture device.
Knesel et al. discloses a culture device processing system (Abstract) comprising a robotic arm including an end effector having a vacuum foot for placing a label on a culture device (para. 59); thus, the system permits labeling and tracking of samples handled by the system (para. 59).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first effector arm disclosed by Christiaens to comprise an attachment member for placing a label on the culture device, e.g., by providing an attachment member that can use negative pressure, as is already disclosed by Christiaens, to place a label on the culture device, as is taught by Knesel et al., in order to permit labeling and tracking of cell culture devices handled by the system.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christiaens (BE 1024593 B1) (English machine translation).
Regarding claim 6, Christiaens discloses the first channel, first input location wherein the at least one culture device can be moved from the first input location to the first channel (reads on the first input location being associated with the first channel), and the movable effector assembly in communication with the first channel, the movable effector assembly comprising one or more effector arms, as discussed in the rejection of claim 1, above. Christiaens further discloses that it is desirable for the system to be capable of processing a large number of cell culture devices (p. 2 para. 1, p. 4 para. 11).
Christiaens is silent as to the system further comprising a second channel, a second input location associated with the second channel, and a second movable effector assembly in communication with the second channel, the second movable effector assembly comprising one or more effector arms.
Nonetheless, it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (MPEP §2144.04). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Christiaens to further comprise a second channel, a second input location associated with the second channel, and a second movable effector assembly in communication with the second channel, the second movable effector assembly comprising one or more effector arms, as such a modification represents mere duplication of the elements already disclosed by Christiaens. Such a modification would yield the predictable and desirable result of allowing a larger number of cell culture devices to be handled by the system.
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christiaens (BE 1024593 B1) (English machine translation) in view of Nakashima et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2006/0115889) (already of record).
Regarding claim 7, Christiaens discloses wherein at least one of the one or more effector arms comprises a first segment that is rotatable about a first axis of rotation so as to hold and rotate a culture device (p. 7 para. 3) (Fig. 3).
Christiaens is silent as to wherein the first segment is rotatable by at least 180 degrees, and optionally by 360 degrees, around the first axis of rotation.
Nakashima et al. discloses a culture device processing system (Abstract) comprising an effector arm for holding and transporting a culture device (para. 33-37), the effector arm comprising a first segment that is rotatable by 180 degrees while holding a culture device (para. 39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first segment disclosed by Christiaens to be rotatable by 180 degrees around the first axis of rotation, as Nakashima et al. discloses that such a configuration was known in the art, and the skilled artisan would have been motivated to permit 180 degree rotation to enhance the functionality of the arm to move within three dimensional space.
As to the claim limitation “optionally by 360 degrees”, this limitation is optional and therefore does not introduce a patentable distinction over the prior art.
Regarding claim 9, Christiaens discloses wherein the first effector arm comprises multiple segments (Fig. 1) and is configured to move within three dimensional space to transport cell culture devices (p. 4 para. 5-7, p. 6 para. 9, p. 7 para. 6-7).
Christiaens is silent as to wherein the first effector arm comprises a second segment that is rotatable, optionally by at least 180 degrees and further optionally by 360 degrees, around a second axis of rotation that is parallel with a first axis of rotation and that is not colinear with the first axis of rotation.
Nakashima et al. discloses a culture device processing system (Abstract) comprising an effector arm for holding and transporting a culture device (para. 33-37), the effector arm comprising a first segment that is rotatable around a second axis of rotation that is parallel and not colinear with a first axis of rotation (para. 33-34) (Fig. 1), thereby providing the arm with a high degree of freedom to move in three dimensional space (para. 18, 33-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first effector arm disclosed by Christiaens to comprise a second segment that is rotatable around a second axis of rotation that is parallel with a first axis of rotation and that is not colinear with the first axis of rotation, based on the teachings of Nakashima et al., in order to provide the arm with a high degree of freedom to move in three dimensional space.
As to the limitation “optionally by at least 180 degrees and further optionally by 360 degrees”, this limitation is optional and therefore does not introduce a patentable distinction over the prior art.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ambartsoumian (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0339644) is directed to labeling cell culture devices such as Petri dishes by magnetic or suction means using a robotic arm.
McCarty et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2016/0376604) is directed to a culture device processing system comprising first and second robotic arms.
Vent et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2004/0101951) is directed to an automated apparatus for handling thin film culture devices such as PETRIFILMTM plates.
Conclusion
/HOLLY KIPOUROS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799