DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In page 11, line 31, the word “foot” is misspelled. The term “foot” is written as “food”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “ribs forming a grid”, as required in claim 13; and “a raised peripheral rim” as required in claim 25, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The limitation “raised peripheral rim” raises a new matter issue because it is not described in the specification, therefore it is unclear from the specification to what feature applicant is referring and/or claiming.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-10, 13, 15, 19-21 and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmitt (US 2011/0179978) in view of Vinke (EP 3,564,145).
Claims 1, 19, 20 and 21
Schmitt discloses a pallet base comprising a deck structure (12) with a top surface (20) and a bottom surface (22), the top surface defining a load area (16) capable to support an IBC container; at least one foot structure (18) extending from the bottom surface; at least one runner structure (14) configured to engage with the at least one-foot structure, preferably using a snap-fit mechanism (see figures 8a-9b). Schmitt discloses the runner structure comprising snap features (54 including hooks 58) engaging with the foot when inserted through aperture (40) (see [0076] and [0096]). Schmitt further discloses the at least one runner structure defines at least one engagement region (defined by area where foot 18 is inserted into the runner structure) on a runner top surface, wherein the at least one engagement region is adapted to at least partially contact the at least one-foot structure (see figures 8a-9b), wherein the at least one runner structure comprises at least one hook (58) extending out of the runner top surface, the hook being adapted to engage with a protrusion (defined by end of wall pointed by 40 in figure 9a) on the inside of the at least one-foot structure (see figures 9a and 9b). Schmidt appears to have draining holes in the at least one runner (see figure above). However, from the argument that Schmidt does not explicitly discloses the at least one runner comprising a de-watering hole arranged in the engagement region, Vinke discloses a pallet (10) comprising runner structures (16) comprising drain holes (26) (see figures 1, 6 and page 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the runners of the pallet from Schmitt having drain holes as taught by Vinke for draining purposes of water flowing through the pallet.
Claim 2
Schmitt further discloses the at least one-foot structure is configured as an at least substantially hollow structure such that a second foot structure of a second pallet base stacked on top of the pallet base may engage into the at least one-foot structure, wherein the at least one-foot structure is in particular shaped tapered away from the bottom surface (see figure 4 and [0077]).
Claim 3
Schmitt further discloses the at least one-foot structure defines an opening (56) in the deck structure, such that a second foot structure of a second pallet base may be inserted into the at least one-foot structure (see figures 4, 8a, 9a and [0077]).
Claim 4
Schmitt further discloses the at least one-foot structure and the deck structure are manufactured in an integral construction (see figures 1d, 8a and 9a).
Claim 7
Schmitt further discloses the at least one engagement region comprises at least one restraining wall adapted to prevent a lateral movement of the at least one runner structure relative to the at least one-foot structure (see figures 9a and 9b above).
Claim 8
Schmidt as modified by Vinke discloses the de-watering hole is adapted as a through hole through the runner structure.
Claim 9
Schmitt further discloses the at least one runner structure has a tapered shape with a top runner surface and a bottom runner surface, wherein the top runner surface is narrower than the bottom runner surface. Schmitt discloses protuberance (50) inserted into aperture (40) in figure 8a and 8b having a top portion narrower than a bottom portion.
Claim 10
Schmitt further discloses the engagement region (as defined by area where foot is inserted into the runner) is arranged on the top runner surface, the engagement region extending beyond an edge of the top runner surface and being configured narrower than a width of the bottom runner surface. Figures 8a and 9a shows area 48, defined as W1, where the foot is inserted being narrower than a bottom extension (defined by W2) of the runner (see figure above).
Claim 13
Schmitt further discloses the deck structure comprises a plurality of ribs forming a grid along the top surface and bottom surface, wherein the grid comprises a plurality of through holes (defined by 24 and/or 26) from the top surface to the bottom surface (see figures above and [0075]).
Claim 15
Schmitt further discloses the at least one runner structure runs substantially straight in parallel to the bottom surface of the deck structure when engaged with the at least one-foot structure (see figures 1 and 1b).
Claim 23
Schmitt further discloses the at least one hook is configured to elastically deform during engagement with the protrusion and return to a locked position to retain the runner structure in engagement with the at least one foot structure (see figures 9a and 9b).
Claim 24
Schmidt discloses the foot structure is hollow in the interior (see figures 6 and 8a-9b), while the runner is also a hollow structure (see figure 14a), therefore together define a fluid path. In addition, Vinke discloses the runner structure comprising a hollow structure including the draining holes (see figure 8). After Schmidt is modified by Vinke, the at least one foot structure and the runner structure together will define a drainage path fluidly connected to the de-watering hole.
Claim 25
Schmidt further discloses the deck structure comprises a raised peripheral rim (74) adapted to confine the IBC (see figures 17, 18 and [0113]).
Claims 11 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmitt (US 2011/0179978) and Vinke (EP 3,564,145) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Thompson (WO 2018144861).
Claims 11 and 22
Schmitt does not disclose at least one reinforcement structure and a recess adapted to receive the reinforcement structure, as required. However, Thompson discloses a pallet comprising openings receiving reinforcement structures (38) to provide strength against deck deflections (see figure 10 and [0045] - [0047]). Thompson further discloses the reinforcement structure extending along an entire width, at least 60%, of the pallet (see figures 10 and 11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pallet of Schmitt including openings with the reinforcement structure to provide strength to the pallet against deck deflections.
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmitt (US 2011/0179978) and Vinke (EP 3,564,145) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schütz (US 2012/0279885).
Claim 14
Schmitt further discloses the pallet is used for transport and handling of goods (see abstract and [0001]). Schitt does not disclose the deck structure has a plurality of cage connection regions adapted to be attached to a cage, as required. However, Schütz discloses a storage container (20) comprising a pallet (defined by combination of 33 and 34) and an outer jacket (38) used to protect the load/inner container (21) disposed over the pallet (see figure 1 and [0040]), wherein the outer jacket is attached to the pallet by the uses of fasteners/screws (66) inserted into openings (62, 63, 64) (see [0040] and [0044]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pallet of Schmitt including an outer jacket attached with fasteners inserted into openings in the pallet as taught by Schütz for protecting the items/goods stored and transported over by the pallets.
Claim 16
Schmitt further discloses the plurality of foot structure together with the runner structure form at least three runner rows on the bottom surface of the deck structure, wherein the rows are distanced such that a fork, for example of a forklift or a low lift pallet truck, is insertable between the rows and lift the pallet base (see [0106], figures 1a, 1d and 5). Schmitt does not disclose the runner structure comprising plurality of runner structures. However, Schütz discloses a pallet (defined by combination of 33 and 34) comprising plurality of runner structures/skids (35, 36, and 37) connected together along a skid bridge (43) for joining the runner structures/skids and provide support to the floor of the pallet (see figure 3 and [0042]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pallet of Schmitt having separated runner structures as taught by Schütz for easy and cheaper replacement of a runner structure in case of breakage of a portion of the runner structure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/03/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding applicant’s argument of the drawing objection, the examiner disagrees. No figure shows the required structure of claim 13. Regarding applicant’s argument that Schmidt does not disclose draining holes in the at least one runner, the examiner disagrees. As shown in the figure provided in the rejection of claim 1, it appears that Schmidt discloses the at least one runner including draining holes. However, from the argument that Schmidt does not discloses the draining holes, the examiner provided as an alternative a new ground of rejection. The new ground of rejection is provided by the fact that the examiner in the previous rejection never considered the combined limitations of claims 5, 6, and 8 together in combination with claim 1, especially the combination of limitations from claims 1, 6, and 8 together in a single claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RAFAEL A. ORTIZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3736
/RAFAEL A ORTIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736