DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
Claim 1 is amended.
Claim 1 is pending.
Applicant’s amendments are entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks are also entered into the record. A new search was made necessitated by the applicant’s amendments and remarks. Applicant’s arguments are now moot in view of the new rejection of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US20190025818A1 to Mattingly (herein after “Mattingly”) in view of US20140249693A1 to Stark et al. (herein after “Stark”) and CN 108351649 A to Wang et al. (herein after “Wang”).
Regarding claim 1, Mattingly discloses An apparatus for an unmanned aerial vehicle (See Mattingly at least figure 1, Abstract” Systems, apparatuses, and methods are provided herein for autonomous vehicles hierarchy management.”, para[0017]), the apparatus comprising; at least one processor(see Mattingly para[0024] The control circuit 221 may comprise a processor, a microprocessor);
and at least one memory (a memory device 228) comprising computer code that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform at least the following (see Mattingly at least para[0024] The control circuit 221 may comprise a processor, a microprocessor, and the like and may be configured to execute computer readable instructions stored on a computer readable storage memory 228 ): coordinating flights of unmanned aerial vehicles in a flight group comprising the unmanned aerial vehicle(see Mattingly at least para[0094] autonomous vehicle fleet comprises a master autonomous vehicle configured to coordinate tasks assigned to vehicles in the autonomous vehicle fleet );
transmitting at least one request to at least one of the unmanned aerial vehicles for a new controller of the flight group(see Mattingly at least para[0047] the master vehicle may determine that its power level is too low to continue to function as the master vehicle and proceed to step 450 to transfer the master role to another vehicle );
wherein if a response is not sent by the at least one unmanned aerial vehicle within a first predetermined time, at least one request is transmitted to at least another of the unmanned aerial vehicles, (see Mattingly para[0024] the control circuit 221 may be configured to determine task transfer conditions and update a hash chain database to transfer tasks to a different autonomous vehicle.)
wherein the new controller is to take over coordinating [[said]]the flights from the unmanned aerial vehicle which sends a response within the first predetermined time; (see Mattingly at least para[0047] the master vehicle may determine that its power level is too low to continue to function as the master vehicle and proceed to step 450 to transfer the master role to another vehicle ; para[0047] For example, if the master vehicle loses communication with the fleet, the remaining vehicles may proceed to step 450 to select a new master vehicle.);
receiving at least one response to the at least one request, (see Mattingly at least para [0048] In some embodiments, a vehicle in the fleet may only acknowledge a new master and accept tasks and instructions from a new master if the vehicle has independently detected the master reassignment condition and/or selected the new master according to rules and vehicle information stored in the hash chain database );
wherein each of the at least one responses comprises a respective identifier of the unmanned aerial vehicle that sent the at least one response (see Mattingly at least para[0048] In some embodiments, the new master autonomous vehicle is selected based on one or more of processing capabilities, communication capabilities, flight capabilities, cargos, power levels, destinations, authentication levels, and current task assignments of a plurality of autonomous vehicles in the autonomous vehicle fleet.) , wherein at least one of the at least one responses comprises information on at least one state (see Mattingly at least para[0048] the new master autonomous vehicle is selected based on one or more of processing capabilities, communication capabilities, flight capabilities, cargos, power levels, destinations, authentication levels, and current task assignments of a plurality of autonomous vehicles in the autonomous vehicle fleet) of the unmanned aerial vehicle associated with the at least one response (see Mattingly at least para[0048] In some embodiments, a vehicle in the fleet may only acknowledge a new master and accept tasks and instructions from a new master if the vehicle has independently detected the master reassignment condition and/or selected the new master according to rules and vehicle information stored in the hash chain database), wherein the at least one state comprises: a battery level of the associated unmanned aerial vehicle, a processing capability of the associated unmanned aerial vehicle, artificial intelligence capabilities of the associated unmanned aerial vehicle, (see Mattingly at least para[0048] the new master autonomous vehicle is selected based on one or more of processing capabilities, communication capabilities, flight capabilities, cargos, power levels, destinations, authentication levels, and current task assignments of a plurality of autonomous vehicles in the autonomous vehicle fleet).
selecting one of the at least one [[of]] unmanned aerial vehicles to be the new controller of the flight group using the at least one response(see Mattingly at least para[0048] In some embodiments, the new master autonomous vehicle is selected based on one or more of processing capabilities, communication capabilities, flight capabilities, cargos, power levels, destinations, authentication levels, and current task assignments of a plurality of autonomous vehicles in the autonomous vehicle fleet) , wherein the selecting comprises selecting one of the at least one unmanned aerial vehicles using the information on the at least one state;
[[and]] sending an identifier of the new controller to the unmanned aerial vehicles (see Mattingly at least para [0056] In step 515 , the first AV updates the hash chain database with the new master's information). (see Mattingly at least para [0048] In some embodiments, a vehicle in the fleet may only acknowledge a new master and accept tasks and instructions from a new master if the vehicle has independently detected the master reassignment condition and/or selected the new master according to rules and vehicle information stored in the hash chain database );
instructing the new controller to start coordinating the flights of the unmanned aerial vehicles in the flight group; (see Mattingly at least para[0056] In step 515 , the first AV updates the hash chain database with the new master's information. In some embodiments, the update may comprise transferring a master block to the selected new master, similar to the transfer of a cryptocurrency (e.g. Bitcoin). In some embodiments, the block may comprise master information record configured to allow the new master to issue tasks and instructions to the other vehicles in the fleet. In some embodiments, the master information record may comprise public keys of one or more vehicles in the fleet and/or other authentication information); figure 5).
However, Mattingly does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach “receiving an indication that a first unmanned aerial vehicle in the flight group has not received flight control information from the apparatus for a second predetermined time, wherein the indication is received from the first unmanned aerial vehicle and a ground-based controller” and
“sending flight control information to the first unmanned aerial vehicle using a transmission that increases a likelihood of reception by the first unmanned aerial vehicle relative to a previous transmission to the first unmanned aerial vehicle.”
Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Stark discloses receiving an indication that a first unmanned aerial vehicle in the flight group has not received flight control information from the apparatus for a second predetermined time, wherein the indication is received from the first unmanned aerial vehicle and a ground-based controller (see Stark ground station system similar to ground-based controller, para[0009] each UAV is controlled from a central controller that is typically placed on the ground; para[0068] when either communication channel is detected to be lost (e.g., an expected receipt confirmation from the GCS is not received to a transmission of a telemetry data by a UAV), the local control module may react to this loss of communication by entering a safe operating mode (e.g., land, return to home, bold position, or the like); does not expressly teach indication of not receiving flight information, rather mentioned detect when it not received information).;
and sending flight control information to the first unmanned aerial vehicle using a transmission that increases a likelihood of reception by the first unmanned aerial vehicle relative to a previous transmission to the first unmanned aerial vehicle. (see Shark para[0008] The UAVs are independent and are often locally controlled, which may include communicating with a nearby UAV to determine which one moves or whether both should move to avoid an impending collision; para [0053] During preflight an operator uses the GCS to load a flight plan onto each UAV (e.g., transmitted wirelessly via the front end channel for storage in memory accessible by the local control module of the UAV). During a show, the GCS and its fleet manager module acts to run the flight plan previously loaded on the UAV); para0030] For example, the front channel 117 may be thought of as a robust, low-band width “primary” channel for synchronized motion control and manual override control by the ground station. The back channel 119 may be thought of as a “secondary” high-bandwidth channel.
; Shark does not expressly mentioned the higher transmission requirement to move closer(increases likelihood of reception), but rather it mentioned the secondary high bandwidth channel transmitting to wide frequency range than primary-bandwith channel), predetermined criterion is met, wherein the at least one predetermined criterion comprises: a time elapsed since the flight started (see Shark para[0019] The flight plans may further include an elapsed time period for each of the way points, and then, the adjusting of the flight speed or course may be performed when the elapsed time is exceeded by the one of the multicopters.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Mattingly’s systems, apparatuses, and methods for fleet management with Shark’s global positioning system capabilities of the associated unmanned aerial vehicle and receiving an indication that a first unmanned aerial vehicle in the flight group has not received flight control information from the apparatus for a second predetermined time in order to perform a wide variety of tasks (see Shark para[0004]) and control of unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs) for use with flocks of UAVs that are useful for safely moving (see Shark para[0002]).
Mattingly discloses simple flock rules for local reactive behavior may comprise tend to the center of the flock (See para[0059] and predetermined condition such as predetermined time and distance (see para[0067]), when elapsed time has passed, cycle may be performed. However, Mattingly does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach determining that at least one predetermined criterion is met, wherein the at least one predetermined criterion comprises: a distance traveled since the flight started, and an energy threshold of the unmanned aerial vehicle, based on the predetermined criterion;
Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Wang discloses determining that at least one predetermined criterion is met, wherein the at least one predetermined criterion comprises: a time elapsed since the flight started, a distance traveled since the flight started, and an energy threshold of the unmanned aerial vehicle (See Wang para[0224] The path may be optimized based on one or more parameters including flight distance, flight time, energy consumption, altitude, weather effects including wind direction and speed, and/or target tracking (eg, target speed and direction).)
based on the predetermined criterion;
controlling a flight of the new controller and a flight of the unmanned aerial vehicle to swap positions in the flight group such that the new controller takes a central position within the flight group, wherein the central position minimizes energy requirements for the new controller to communicate with the unmanned aerial vehicles in the flight group; (See Wang [0225]For example, the path can be configured to minimize energy consumption of the UAV as the UAV moves from the first location to the second location.
The path can be configured to minimize the impact of weather on UAV movement. The path may be configured based on wind speed and direction; para[0142]The target area may be the central portion of the image as well as any other portion of the image.).
(See Wang para[0174] Switching the travel in a curved manner may provide certain benefits, such as reducing the power consumption of the UAV and/or improving the flight stability of the UAV;para[0142] The target area may be the central portion of the image as well as any other portion of the image)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Mattingly’s systems, apparatuses, and methods for fleet management considering central position of the flock with Wang’s controlling the flight position in the central position to minimize the energy consumption in order to allow to track an object or to control the vehicle to move in a certain direction.( see Wang para[0004]).
Conclusion
/NAZIA AFRIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666