DETAILED ACTION
Applicant has amended the claims to add limitations not previously considered. Support for the amended limitations is found in the original filing. The examiner has considered the remarks filed 8/20/2026 and does not find them persuasive for the reasons more fully below set forth.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 9, and 2-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eyde, Tietz (US 2016/0258113)
Regarding Claims 7, 9, and 2-6
Eyde, Tietz (US 2016/0258113) teaches a composition method of making and method of using a coating composition.
Eyde discloses the composition comprises:
Lignin includes lignin from lignocellulosic and lignin containing biomass from any plant origin. [0016] [0065] In one embodiment the lignin is a natural, unmodified or non-derivatized lignin (meeting the limitations of claims 7 et seq. a lignin that has not been chemically modified)
Lignin solution is at least partially dissolved in a solvent (Abstract)[0011] lignin is substantially completely dissolved in solvent [0020-0021] The solvent is an ammonia solution which is particularly effective in dissolving lignin and an alkaline solution [0063][0071][0074] the lignin solution has undissolved solids less than 5% to less than 0.1 % by weight of the solution [0075]
Eyde teaches the lignin in the solution comprises lignin in ranges of:
[0075] In one embodiment, the lignin solution, prior to coating, has an undissolved solids content of less than 5% 4%, 3%, 2%, 1.0%, 0.5%. 0.25% or 0.1% by weight of the solution.
[0076] In an embodiment, the lignin solution may comprise, in a % by weight of the solution amount, lignin in between 10 to 40%, 10 to 35%, 10 to 30%, 10 to 25%, 15 to 40%, 15 to 35%, 15 to 30% or 15 to 25%, inclusive of about 16, 17 18, 19, 20 21, 22, 23 or 24%.
(overlapping the range of claim 2 and/or meeting said range when it is 2 %)
The solution may be an alkaline solution (i.e. basic) comprising ammonia, an alkali metal hydroxide etc. [0062] preferably an aqueous ammonia solution [0063] (meeting claims 7 et seq. for an aqueous solution comprising ammonia and lignin)
[0082] In one embodiment, the lignin solution substantially comprises lignin glycerol and a plasticizer as the only non-solvent components.
[0083] The plasticizer may be selected from the group consisting of a natural or synthetic latex, a polyether, a glycol, a dicarboxylic or tricarboxylic ester, a phthalate, an alkyl citrate and an acetylated monoglyceride. [0084] The plasticizer may be a non-glycerol plasticizer. (meeting claim 7 et seq. for plasticizer)
[0085] The plasticizer may be present in a % by weight amount of the lignin solution of between 0.1 to 10%, including 01, to 8%, 0.1 to 7%, 0.1 to 6%, 01. to 5%, 0.1 to 4%, 0.1 to 3%, preferably 1.0 to 5%, more preferably 2 to 4% and even more preferably about 2.5, 3.0 and 3.5%. The plasticizer assists in improving the physical properties of the coating and is not essential to achieve a water resistant and/or strengthening coating and is not an active waterproofing or strengthening component itself
The weight ratio of the plasticizer : lignin overlaps and encompasses the instantly claimed weight ratios of claims 3 and 7 – for example when both are 4% : 4% the ratio is 1:1
(sugar alcohol meeting plasticizer) the ammonia is an aqueous ammonia solution [0121]
See Claim 23 of reference:. The composition of claim 22 wherein the composition comprises the following in % by weight amounts of the total composition: (a) between about 10% to about 40% lignin; (b) between about 35% to about 80% aqueous alkaline solution; and (c) between about 5% to about 30% of a sugar and/or sugar alcohol.
5-30 % plasticizer: 10- 40 % lignin overlapping the claimed ratio of 0.1:10 to 10:1 and 0.1:10 to 5:1
The composition is formed by adding the components and stirring/mixing [0153-0154] (meeting claim 7)
The composition is used in forming products with wood, wood veneer, paperboard, molded wood and layered products and boards (wood veneer being layers of wood glued/adhered together and layered products being substrates affixed to other substrates) such as by coating substrates[0058-0061](rendering obvious applying to a first surface of a substrate and applying pressure to a second substrate to press the second against the first heating and curing where the composition is used to form layered products, veneers and boards and a wood product thereby meeting claims 7 and 9)
The composition may be cured without high pressure and also may be conducted under standard conditions and heating[0095-0096](while a high pressure is not required some pressure is used)(meeting claim 7 and 9 for pressure, curing and heating)
No formaldehyde is required (meeting claim 4)
No epoxy based cross linker is required. (meeting claim 5-6)
The reference teaches ranges which overlap and encompass the instantly claimed ranges and ratios which overlap and encompass the instantly claimed ratio. There does not appear to be an example with the exact point, as such this rejection is recited as being obvious due to overlapping ranges. See MPEP 2144.05(I): "In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)"
The composition is used on substrates including wood, wood veneer, paper and paper products and molded materials as well as paperboard and other substrates well known to those in the art [0058] The coating is applied to the substrate which may then become internalized as part of a larger complex product. [0060] For example, a cardboard substrate may be coated on one side and the carboard then used as an outer wall of a corrugated cardboard product having at least two outer walls and an inner fluted layer. The coated side of the substrate may be positioned to face internally into the fluted layer. Thus, while the substrate itself has a coated layer facing internally into a larger product the coating of the present invention does not to any substantial extent become internalized within the substrate per se.[0061] (further meeting claims 7 and 9)
The composition is used in forming products with wood, wood veneer, paperboard, molded wood and layered products and boards such as by coating substrates[0058-0061](meeting claims 7 and 9)(where the coating is on layers)
The composition may be cured without high pressure (i.e. there may be lower pressure) and also may be conducted under standard conditions and heating[0095-0096](while a high pressure is not required some pressure is used)(meeting claim 7 and 9)
Regarding the new limitation for:
Mixing an aqueous solution of lignin with ammonia or an organic base or both to provide a second solution;
Mixing the second solution with a plasticizer…
Lignin is added to ammonia solution to form a homogenous formulation [0158][0154] ammonia solution results in complete dissolution of lignin with a mixed solvent to completely dissolve the lignin [0074]
The lignin solution may further comprise a polyol preferably glycerol as it reduces annealing temperature to achieve a water barrier and strength efficacy [0078-0079]
Glycerol may be used as a plasticizer [0079]
Plasticizers may include non-glycerol plasticizers such as natural or synthetic latex, polyether, glycol, di or tricarboxylic ester, phthalate, alkyl citrate and acetylated monoglyceride [0083-0095]
The plasticizer assists in improving the physical properties of the coating and is not essential to achieve a water resistant and/or strengthening coating and is not an active waterproofing or strengthening component itself. [0085]
Where the lignin solution comprises deodorizing agent is desirable to add plasticizer to the solution prior to coating [0114] [0120](i.e. after the lignin is in the ammonia solution with deodorizing a plasticizer is added)
An alkaline lignin coating solution is prepared by 6 steps including adding water, aqueous ammonia, blending in lignin etc. [0187] After step six (i.e. the lignin is in the ammonia solution) a plasticizer is added [0194]
MPEP 2144.04 C. Changes in Sequence of Adding Ingredients
Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959) (Prior art reference disclosing a process of making a laminated sheet wherein a base sheet is first coated with a metallic film and thereafter impregnated with a thermosetting material was held to render prima facie obvious claims directed to a process of making a laminated sheet by reversing the order of the prior art process steps.). See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930) (Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious.).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of co pending Application No. 18717644(reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim a composition, a process of making by mixing, and product of a composition comprising lignin (no chemical modification required in co pending) an aqueous solution with ammonia, or organic base in overlapping ranges and one or more additives which include plasticizer (see claim 9 co pending) manufacturing a product with the recited bonding resin of a wood product insulation etc. as in the instant application (see co-pending claims 16 et seq)
The co-pending application claims the aqueous solution of ammonia and lignin and optionally glycerol thereby indicating the optional glycerol (i.e. plasticizer) is added to the solution last. (claims 1-2 of co-pending for example) The co-pending also claims additives are mixed with the aqueous solution of lignin of claim 1 thereby claiming the plasticizer is mixed after the lignin solution is formed (see claim 1 and 9 of co-pending) Further, the claim does not require the plasticizer to be added contemporaneously or prior to the lignin. The examiner also notes MPEP 2144.04 teaching mixing order is obvious:
MPEP 2144.04 C. Changes in Sequence of Adding Ingredients
Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959) (Prior art reference disclosing a process of making a laminated sheet wherein a base sheet is first coated with a metallic film and thereafter impregnated with a thermosetting material was held to render prima facie obvious claims directed to a process of making a laminated sheet by reversing the order of the prior art process steps.). See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930) (Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious.).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The copending application claims addition of additives to the aqueous solution of lignin where the additive is a plasticizer as above set forth. MPEP 2144.04 C. Changes in Sequence of Adding Ingredients
Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959) (Prior art reference disclosing a process of making a laminated sheet wherein a base sheet is first coated with a metallic film and thereafter impregnated with a thermosetting material was held to render prima facie obvious claims directed to a process of making a laminated sheet by reversing the order of the prior art process steps.). See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930) (Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious.).
The remarks are not persuasive and the amendments to not overcome the rejections for obviousness double patenting.
While Applicant recognized the reference teaches dissolving the lignin with solvent of ammonia applicant asserts the reference while teaching the same compositional components does not teach the method of the claims with the mixing order therein. As above set forth the prior art teaches the claimed mixing order. The prior art teaches dissolving the lignin in the aqueous ammonia solution to thoroughly dissolve the lignin and form a homogeneous solution prior to addition of plasticizer. Further: MPEP 2144.04 C. Changes in Sequence of Adding Ingredients Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959) (Prior art reference disclosing a process of making a laminated sheet wherein a base sheet is first coated with a metallic film and thereafter impregnated with a thermosetting material was held to render prima facie obvious claims directed to a process of making a laminated sheet by reversing the order of the prior art process steps.). See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930) (Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious.).
The above rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art previously made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892 accompanying the previous office actions as well as that accompanying this office action.
/PAMELA H WEISS/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1732