DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/3/2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim1 be found allowable, claim 8 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 8 is a product by process claim. It is directed to the same product as that of instant claim 1. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eyde, Tietz (US 2016/0258113)
Regarding Claims 1-11:
Eyde, Tietz (US 2016/0258113) teaches a composition method of making and method of using a coating composition.
Eyde discloses the composition comprises:
Lignin includes lignin from lignocellulosic and lignin containing biomass from any plant origin. [0016] [0065] In one embodiment the lignin is a natural, unmodified or non-derivatized lignin (meeting the limitations of claims 1, 8 and 7 for a lignin that has not been chemically modified)
Eyde teaches the lignin in the solution comprises lignin in ranges of:
[0075] In one embodiment, the lignin solution, prior to coating, has an undissolved solids content of less than 5% 4%, 3%, 2%, 1.0%, 0.5%. 0.25% or 0.1% by weight of the solution.
[0076] In an embodiment, the lignin solution may comprise, in a % by weight of the solution amount, lignin in between 10 to 40%, 10 to 35%, 10 to 30%, 10 to 25%, 15 to 40%, 15 to 35%, 15 to 30% or 15 to 25%, inclusive of about 16, 17 18, 19, 20 21, 22, 23 or 24%.
(overlapping the range of claim 2 and/or meeting said range when it is 2 %)
The solution may be an alkaline solution (i.e. basic) comprising ammonia, an alkali metal hydroxide etc. [0062] preferably an aqueous ammonia solution [0063] (meeting claims 1, 8 and 7 for an aqueous solution comprising ammonia and lignin)
[0082] In one embodiment, the lignin solution substantially comprises lignin glycerol and a plasticizer as the only non-solvent components.
[0083] The plasticizer may be selected from the group consisting of a natural or synthetic latex, a polyether, a glycol, a dicarboxylic or tricarboxylic ester, a phthalate, an alkyl citrate and an acetylated monoglyceride. [0084] The plasticizer may be a non-glycerol plasticizer. (meeting claim 1, 8 and 7 for plasticizer)
[0085] The plasticizer may be present in a % by weight amount of the lignin solution of between 0.1 to 10%, including 01, to 8%, 0.1 to 7%, 0.1 to 6%, 01. to 5%, 0.1 to 4%, 0.1 to 3%, preferably 1.0 to 5%, more preferably 2 to 4% and even more preferably about 2.5, 3.0 and 3.5%. The plasticizer assists in improving the physical properties of the coating and is not essential to achieve a water resistant and/or strengthening coating and is not an active waterproofing or strengthening component itself
The weight ratio of the plasticizer : lignin overlaps and encompasses the instantly claimed weight ratios of claims 1, 8, 3, and 7 – for example when both are 4% : 4% the ratio is 1:1
(sugar alcohol meeting plasticizer) the ammonia is an aqueous ammonia solution [0121]
See Claim 23 of reference:. The composition of claim 22 wherein the composition comprises the following in % by weight amounts of the total composition: (a) between about 10% to about 40% lignin; (b) between about 35% to about 80% aqueous alkaline solution; and (c) between about 5% to about 30% of a sugar and/or sugar alcohol.
5-30 % plasticizer: 10- 40 % lignin overlapping the claimed ratio of 0.1:10 to 10:1 and 0.1:10 to 5:1
The composition is formed by adding the components and stirring/mixing [0153-0154] (meeting claim 7)
The composition is used in forming products with wood, wood veneer, paperboard, molded wood and layered products and boards such as by coating substrates[0058-0061](meeting claims 9-11)
The composition may be cured without high pressure and also may be conducted under standard conditions and heating[0095-0096](while a high pressure is not required some pressure is used)(meeting claim 10)
No formaldehyde is required (meeting claim 4)
No epoxy based cross linker is required. (meeting claim 5-6)
The reference teaches ranges which overlap and encompass the instantly claimed ranges and ratios which overlap and encompass the instantly claimed ratio. There does not appear to be an example with the exact point, as such this rejection is recited as being obvious due to overlapping ranges. See MPEP 2144.05(I): "In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)"
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of co pending Application No. 18717644(reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim a composition, a process of making by mixing, and product of a composition comprising lignin (no chemical modification required in co pending) an aqueous solution with ammonia, or organic base in overlapping ranges and one or more additives which include plasticizer (see claim 9 co pending) manufacturing a product with the recited bonding resin of a wood product insulation etc. as in the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 12163064 which requires an alkali (non-organic base)
Co pending 17757258 requires lignin from Kraft process which causes it to be alkaline (i.e. chemically modified)
Co pending 17995400 requires oxidized lignin (i.e. chemically modified)
JP 3936214 discloses a resin composition comprising lignin from wood (Abstract) a crosslinker component and a rosin derivative and terpene phenol resin [0006] The resin is a lignin material a water resistant component selected from rosin derivative a terpene phenol resin and is reacted with a crosslinking product [0007]
[0011]Examples of the (A) lignin-based material used in the present invention include lignin-based materials such as lignin derivatives, lignophenol derivatives, and lignocellulose degradation products, but are not particularly limited thereto.
[0012]Examples of lignin derivatives include “craft lignin” and “lignin sulfonic acid” by-produced in normal pulp production, “acetic acid digestion lignin”, “steamed pulverized lignin”, “organosolv lignin” and the like.
[0015] Examples of the lignocellulosic material containing lignin include woody materials such as wood flour, wood chips, sawdust, waste materials, mill ends, bark, and various plant materials such as straw, bagasse, rice husk and beet pulp
A catalyst is used including ammonia as well as decomposition reagents such as polyethylene glycol, polyhydric alcohols etc. [0017]
US 2012/0071049 discloses an adhesive comprising non functionalized lignin and a latex in an aqueous medium comprising an alkali such as ammonium. (Abstract) Solid lignin powder is added with rubber latex in aqueous medium with a pH of 9 or greater (i.e. basic) and stirred [032] The comprising is used as a glue in plywood and includes ply vinyl poly acetate and used to form wood artifacts, laminates, paper board (Example1 [0064]
/PAMELA H WEISS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1732