DETAILED ACTION
The applicant had amended the claims - previous rejections under section 112 remain as to claim 14. Applicant has added a new claim not previously considered. No new matter is presented.
The remarks in conjunction with the amended and new claims are not persuasive to overcome all of the previous rejections under section 103 for the reasons below set forth.
The amendments to the claims in conjunction with the remarks filed 12/1/2025 overcome rejection of claims 4, 17-19 and 21. These claims are objected to as depending from rejected claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/10/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites a method of “using” “for treating” but does not affirmatively recite any process steps. It is unclear how this claim differs from claim 1 from which it ultimately depends as that already recites a method for treatment. Clarification is required. The method is a method of using comprising using…. This language renders the method indefinite. The claim needs to recite an action other then mere use and said action must find support in the original filing to avoid a new matter rejection. The examiner notes that claim 1 recites contacting. As such the method of contacting would result in a double patenting warning/objection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8, 10-16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dornbusch et al (US 2010/0040798)
Regarding Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, 10-16, and 20
POLYMER:
Dornsbusch discloses a polymer P with a gradient in the concentration of covalently bonded hydrophilic groups along the main polymer chain (a backbone from which there are side chains) with covalently bonded ligands A (i.e. side chains) and crosslinking functional groups B (i.e. side chains) (Abstract)
Dornbusch et al (US 2010/0040798) discloses an aqueous coating material for metal substrates (Abstract) composition comprising a copolymer having olefinically unsaturated monomers a1 and a1 and monomers having at least one hydrophilic group HG from olefinically unsaturated monomers a 12 and having at least a ligand group A and a crosslinking group b and at least one olefinically unsaturated monomer different from monomers a1 and a2 [0064-0068]
(meeting the limitation for a polymer of a copolymer from at least two different ethylenically unsaturated monomers and two side chains different from each other)
The polymer backbone includes polyesters, polyacrylates, (See claim 7 of reference)
The polymer backbones have an average molecular weight of 500-50000 daltons including backbone polymers of polymethacrylates [0019]
The backbones of the polymers include poly methacrylates. The polymers may have branches, and/or be dendritic [0019] (further establishing side chains)
Ligands include organo sulfur compounds such as thiols, thioethanol thiocarboxylic acid, etc. [0027] and groups of carboxylic acids [0031](meeting the limitation for a side chain S2 of thiocarboxylic and thiol and claim 3 for OH groups and COOH groups and claim 15-16 for OH and COOH groups))
The hydrophilic monomers have groups such as carboxylate groups hydroxyl groups, primary, and secondary amine groups [0068](meeting the limitation for S1 of hydroxyl and carboxylic groups) Examples of monomers include acrylic acid, methacrylic acid and compounds which carry at least one hydroxyl group [0069] (meeting side chain 1 of claim 1)
Suitable monomers include thiols such as thio carboxylic acid [0071] (meeting side chain 2 of claim 1 with thio groups and thio carboxylic groups and claims 3 and 16 for a COOH group – i.e. carboxylic acid)
(a11): monomers including carboxylic acid or hydroxyl groups which will contribute side chain (S1)
(a12): monomers including organosulfur substituents such as thiocarboxylic acids which will contribute side chain (S2)(a13): monomers containing ligands B such as mercapto (i.e. thiol) groups which will contribute side chain (S2)
Further Regarding Claims 1, 10 and 13
pH – Acidic aqueous composition, Batch:
The composition has a pH of between 1 and 5 [0109] (overlapping the range of claim 10)The composition is in an aqueous solution having a pH of 2.5 [0126] (meeting the limitation of claim 10 for a pH of from 0.1 5 to 6)
The solution pH is adjusted using nitric acid [0126] (meeting the limitation of claim 13 for optionally adjusting the pH value) The composition comprises water and at least one acid so the pH is between 2 and 4 [0098] In order to set the pH it is possible to employ a buffer medium and weak acids [0117]
Batch processing and continuous processing are known by those of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention and are obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention (MPEP 2144) esp. where the prior art suggests adjusting pH and amounts of various compositional components to achieve same, etc.
Further Regarding ions of claims 1 and claim 11 METAL IONS and Claim 8:
Salts are used to maintain the pH such as in a buffer medium [0098]The composition comprises cations of titanium zirconium and molybdenum [0100] (meeting claim 1 1(a) and 11) As such the amount of the metal ion can be used sufficient to maintain/adjust a pH and is within the ken of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention.
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Further Regarding Claims 1 and 14-15 limitation for contacting with a metal substrate:
The composition is contacted with a metal substrate (see claims 10-14 of reference) (meeting claim 1 for contacting a substrate of metal and claims 14-15) the substrate includes aluminum and alloys thereof [106]
Regarding Claim 2:
Chromium is not required (see generally [0110] meeting claim 2)
Further Regarding Claim 5 and 20:
The polymers have molecular weight of less than 100 000 Daltons [0013] The polymer backbones have an average molecular weight of 500-50000 daltons including backbone polymers of polymethacrylates [0019] (overlapping the range of claims 5 and 20)
Further Regarding Claim 10:
The composition has a pH of between 1 and 5 [0109] (overlapping the range of claim 10)The composition is in an aqueous solution having a pH of 2.5 [0126] The solution pH is adjusted using nitric acid [0126]
The composition comprises water and at least one acid so the pH is between 2 and 4 [0098]
Further Regarding Claim 13:
The composition comprises water and pH is adjusted [0130] and a counter buffering aqueous solution to set pH [0130] In order to set the pH it is possible where necessary to employ a buffer medium, such as, for example, salts of strong bases and weak acids, such as ammonium acetate in particular.[0117](meeting claim 13)
Further Regarding claim 6
The coating material forms a film of 5 to 900 nm thick [0103] and are clearly used in a minor amount to achieve a thin film.
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Regarding limitations regarding mol % of monomers/side chains:
While Dornsbusch discloses a polymer P with a gradient in the concentration of covalently bonded hydrophilic groups along the main polymer chain (a backbone from which there are side chains) with covalently bonded ligands A (i.e. side chains) and crosslinking functional groups B (i.e. side chains) (Abstract) as such the amount decline (i.e. gradient) and will overlap the various claimed ranges and ratios of each monomer/Side branch; Dornbusch does not expressly disclose the mol % of the monomers.
Hydrophilic monomers include functional groups employed as ligand that will interact with the metal so it will need to be present in an effective amount and in a gradient distribution as required by the prior art. The monomers of the prior art are those of the instant claims and will therefor necessarily possess a weight which will result in overlapping molar ranges for each monomer.
Regarding Claims 7 and 9: The reference teaches away from fluoride of claims 7 and 9
Regarding claims 4, 17-19 and 21: the reference does not teach the mol % of the monomers
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Birckenheuer et l (US 2019/0249030)
Regarding Claims 1-3, 5-16 and 20
Birckenheuer et l (US 2019/0249030) discloses a method and composition for treating a metal surface including one of aluminum and aluminum alloy with a compound of titanium zirconium in an aqueous composition having a methacrylic resin (Abstract) The pH of the composition is 3 to 6 [0040] (meeting the limitation for an acidic aqueous composition and overlapping the range of claim 10)
The metal surface is brought into contact with the composition [0022][0024] (meeting the limitations of claim 1 and claim 14-15 for contacting a metal substrate and a metal substrate with a surface treated with composition)
POLYMER:
A copolymer of methacrylate resin having monomer units of at least on acrylic ester and /or methacrylic ester [0017] The methacrylate resin is a copolymer of methacrylic ester of acrylic acid preferably methyl methacrylate and acrylic acid [0029] and has groups of one or more of hydroxyl, thio, amino, halo, etc. [0031] (side chains 1 and 2 where S1 is OH and S2 is thio and OH group) having a mass average molecular weight from 1000 to 500000 g/mol [0033] (meeting the limitations of claim 1 for a copolymer with at least two different ethylenically unsaturated monomers and at least two kinds of side chains and meeting the range of claim 5)
The composition also comprises a phenol resin [0034]
The methacrylate to phenol resins are at a rate ratio of 1:1 or 10:1 [0038] with a total concentration of 20 to 400 mg/l [0039] the polymer is added in an amount of 50 mg/l 200 mg/l and 200 mg/l [0115] within the range of claim 6.
The methacrylate resin comprises hydroxyl, thio amino amide halo and other groups [0031] located the alcohol residues on the methacrylate monomer unit [0032] and has a mass average molecular weight int the range of 1000 to 500 000 g/mol [0033] (overlapping the range of claims 5 and 20)
The methacrylate resin is 80-98 wt.% and the acrylic is 2 to 20 wt.% (See claim 5 reference) and the methacrylate comprises hydroxyl, thio amino halo groups (See claim 6 reference) and has a mass average molecular weight of 1000 to 500000 (See claim 7 reference) (overlapping the range of claim 5 and 20)
METAL IONS
The composition comprises at least one cation of transition metals [0070] (ions) and may comprise a molybdenum cation [0072] (meeting claim 11)
The composition comprises Complex fluorides in deprotonated forms and protonated forms [0016]
The composition comprises at least one complex fluoride of fluoride titanium zirconium and hafnium [0058] in an amount of 0.05 to 4 g/l [0058-0062] (complex fluoride meeting claim 7) (overlapping the range of claims 8-9)
The composition comprises free fluoride in a range of 0.015 to 0.15 g/l [0086] (overlapping the range of claim 9)
(1000ppm approx. = 1 g/l)
In an example zirconium concentration is 1000-130 mg/l and free fluoride content set to pH 4.8 such as 30-40 mg/L (with the range of claim 8)[0116]
The composition comprises at least one cation of transition metals [0070] (ions) and may comprise a molybdenum cation [0072] (meeting claim 11)
The composition A comprises a complex fluoride of titanium zirconium hafnium and fluoride is in the range of 0.1 to 1.5 g/l [0058-0062] (meeting the limitation for titanium zirconium hafnium and fluoride and fluoride complex of the claims and overlapping the claimed range of free fluoride)
The composition comprises a cations including molybdenum [0071] such as 10 to 100 mg/l [0078]
Further Regarding Claims 1 and 14-15:
The process treats a metal surface including one of aluminum and aluminum alloy with the acidic aqueous composition A which comprises compounds of titanium, zirconium and hafnium and aqueous composition B which comprises the methacrylate resin and the phenolic resin simultaneously (i.e. they are in one solution) (See claim 1 of reference).
The methacrylate resin is 80-98 wt.% and the acrylic is 2 to 20 wt.% (See claim 5 reference) and the methacrylate comprises hydroxyl, thio amino halo groups (See claim 6 reference) and has a mass average molecular weight of 1000 to 500000 (See claim 7 reference)
Further Regarding claims 12-14
The composition may be a concentrate which may be diluted with water and optionally setting of the pH [0099] See reference at claim 22 The dilution may be by a factor of 1:50000 to 1:10 [0100] and may be a batch process [0116] a stabilizer may be added to maintain pH of 4.8 [0043]
The pH is corrected continuously by addition of dilute nitric acid [0117]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 17-19 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art previously cited does not teach or render obvious the monomer mol % of the instant claims as to the species recited therein. After further search and consideration, it would not be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to alter the teachings of the prior art to encompass the limitations of instant claims 4, 17-19 and 21 without undue hindsight.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/1/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant traverses the rejections asserting the prior art does not teach side chains and recites many possible monomers and does not provide an example with the claimed embodiment thereby asserting the claimed invention is therefore not obvious. This is not persuasive.
It is not necessary for an embodiment in the prior art to recite the claimed invention to establish a prima facie showing of obviousness – had one exited an anticipation rejection would have been presented. The prior art clearly recites the claimed polymer with branches/side chains which may differ and also expressly recites the claimed species of monomers of the instant claims. The prior art teaches a finite number of potential monomers. The instant claims recite a wide variety of monomers in very generic form (i.e. a hydroxyl group which could be part of many other chemical moieties, etc.) the prior art teaches the recited species as more fully above set forth. A prima facie showing of obviousness by a preponderance of the evidence has been established. “The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968))
Applicant argues the instant claims are directed to a singular composition thereby distinguishing said claims from Brickenheuer. The composition does not recite a “singular composition”. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a singular compositon) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Further the claimed composition is recited as “comprises” rendering a mixture within the scope thereof. MPEP 2111. Applicant also recognizes that the composition of Brickenheur may be blended into a single composition which would meet the asserted “singular composition”
Applicant argues the use of “optionally” acidic distinguishes the prior art from the instant claims. This is not persuasive as the teachings encompass acidic as more fully above set forth.
For the above reasons the rejections are maintained and made final.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892 accompanying the previous office action. For example:
Berner et al (US 2023/0183517) published 6/15/2023 with an effective fling date of June 10, 2020 (thereby preceding the effective filing date of the instant application of November 10, 2020) having no common inventors and no common assignees of record with the instant application: Berner teaches a copolymer pretreatment composition to be applied to metals such as aluminum alloys by coating the copolymer and applying same to the aluminum alloy (Abstract) The copolymer has a polymer backbone, at least one surface binding or bonding moiety attached the backbone configured to bond the polymer to the first surface of metal products, has at least one functional moiety attached the polymer back bone for functionalization to the first surface of the metal product and at least one second functional moiety to functionally the surface [0005]
The polymer back bone includes acrylic structure such as methacrylic structure vinyl chains diene chains, etc. for example poly methyl methacrylate, etc. [0006] (meeting the limitations for at least to different ethylenically unsaturated monomers)
See par [0056-0059] discloses various vinylidene class chain polymer and methacrylate meeting the limitations for at least two different ethylenically unsaturated monomers of claim 1. The at least one surface binding moiety comprises an adhesion promoter such as a hydroxyl group a thiol group a vinyl group a diol group, an adhesive composition, a covalent bonding group or an ionic bonding group and functional moiety of weld promoters [0007] Surface bonding thioethers include sulfur containing moieties and carboxylic acids, etc. [0060] The functional moiety includes transition metals such as titanium, zirconium, molybdenum, and salts thereof. [0008]The copolymer is cross linked with zirconium alt or complexes [0009] The functional moieties can be a hydroxyl group, an amine group a carboxylic acid group an amide group a thiol group a vinyl group a diol group and combinations thereof [0061] (meeting the limitation for a first side chain with functional group of hydroxyl or carboxylic acid and second side chain of thiol with hydroxyl/carboxyl and/or amino groups of claim 3) The composition includes molybdenum ions, zirconium ions, titanium ions to enhance corrosion resistance and can be coated with the graft copolymer pretreatment composition to form a layer the metal ions can be deposited onto the graft copolymer pretreatment layer ,etc. [0066]
An example of the polymer:
(the composition comprising the polymer with side chains of hydroxyl carboxylic acid, having at least one sulfur moiety, etc. of the claims and ions of zirconium of the claims and molybdenum of claim 11)
(no chromium ions are required meeting claim 2)
The composition is in a slightly acidic aqueous solution with a pH of 4.56[0167]
Sebralla et al WO 2020049132A1 discloses a composition and method for treatment of a surface of a substrate made at least partially of aluminum or aluminum allow with an acidic aqueous compost ion A which comprises one or more metal compounds such as titanium zirconium and hafnium and one or more linear polymer containing N, N-dimeth meth acryl amide, vinyl phosphoric acid and methacrylic acid in polymerized monomeric unit in an amount of 50-5000 ppm based on the weight of the acidic aqueous composition (P1 L 1-20)
The acidic solution has a pH from 0.5 to 6.9 or 0.5 to 6.5 or 2 to 6 or 3 to 5 or 3.1 to 4.5 and can be adjusted with nitric acid and aqueous ammonium etc. (P7 L20-25)
The composition comprises free fluorides from complex fluorides of Ti Zr and Hf free fluorides are 1- 500 ppm or 2 to 250 ppm or 5 to 150 ppm (P8 L5-12)
The total amount of the composition adds up to 100 % (P8 L14-17)
The metals are titanium zirconium and hafnium to achieve a metal concentration of 50-5000 ppm or 50-4500 ppm or 75- 4000 ppm or 100-3500 ppm or 150-3000 ppm or 200-2500 ppm or 250-2000 ppm (P8 L20-31)
The complex fluoride with titanium zirconium and/or hafnium are with fluoride ions in water (P9 L5-12)
The polymer backbone may be a meth acryl, arcyl methacrylate monomers of 50 mole % or more of the polymer (P9 L28-35)
The monomers are bound to adjacent monomeric units to the polymeric back bone (i.e. side chains) (P10 L1-8)
The polymer is in the composition from 100 to 5000 ppm or 300 to 150 ppm (P10 L8-12)
The polymer monomers may be arranged along the backbone (P10 L12-25)
The monomers may comprise different monomeric units for m1, m2, m3 (P10 L25-39)
The number average molecular wight of the polymer is 100 to 4200 g/mol (11 L25-30)
WO 2018112555 discloses an aqueous polymer composition and a substrate coated with same. (P1 L1-4)
The polymer or a copolymer with ethylenically unsaturated monomers with basic functional groups in an amount of less than 25 mol%, ethylenically unsaturated monomers with functional groups promoting crosslinking and hydrophobic ethylenically unsaturated monomers. The compost provides a film with improved properties such as adhesion, hardness or water resistance (P 7 L10-14) The basic functional group includes tertiary amines (P11 L29-P12 L1)The ethylenically unsaturated monomers with the basic functional groups include amino acrylates and amino methacrylate (P12 L3-8)
The copolymer comprises polymerized residues of ethylenically unsaturated monomers comprising functional groups for promoting crosslinking of the polymer such as hydroxy, carboxylic acid, halide, etc. such as butyl methacrylate, amyl methacrylate, etc. (P12 L12-24)
The copolymer comprises polymerized residues of hydrophilic ethylenically unsaturated monomers such as methacrylic acid, hydroxyethyl methacrylate, ethyl methacrylate (P 12 L24-P13 L2) The hydrophilic monomer are in an amount of 10 mol% or less and the acid functionalized ethylenically unsaturated monomers are in an amount of 10 mol % or less. (P13 L3-2) The aqueous liquid is 50 % or more water in the composition (P15 L4-10)
The copolymer is prepared by free radical polymerization and azo initiators (P34 L27-P28 L24) The molecular weight can be controlled with the use of conventional chain transfer agents such as thiols (P37 L20-25) The polymer may comprise groups of thio alkyl thio (P72 L11-P73L10)
US 2018/0179635 discloses a composition and method for surface treating aluminum plates with a composition comprising ions of fluorine and zirconium and a polyester resin [0027] It is a chromium free treatment [0004]
The resin is in an amount of 100 to 10000 ppm and the zirconium or titanium ion sin an amount of 5 to 5000 ppm [0028]
The composition is an aqueous solution comprising the polyester resin, fluorine ions, zirconium ions or titanium ions and as my be required a polycarboxylic acid and particulate component [0060]
The surface treating solution has a pH in the range of 1 to 4 [0090]
The polyester resin is a copolymer [0068] –[0073] and has hydrophilic groups such as hydroxyl, amino, carboxyl sulfonic group and derivatives thereof [0069] and has a number average molecular weight of 1000 to 100000 or 3000 to 80000 [0074]
Fluorine ions may be from fluoride salts/complexes [0075-0076]
The composition comprises fluorine ions at 5 to 500 ppm [0088]
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAMELA H WEISS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1732