DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (WO 2018/039248), copy provided by applications with their IDS filed 5/3/2023, in view of Kitai (U.S. Patent No. 6,462,306)
Regarding claim 1.
Kim Discloses:
A laser processing apparatus, comprising:
a laser source operative to generate beam of laser energy(500), wherein the beam of laser energy is propagatable along a beam path(500 propagable along path shown in fig. 2c);
Kim does not disclose:
a scan lens; and
a debris removal system, wherein the debris removal system includes a beam dump system operative to absorb a portion of the beam of laser energy, wherein the scan lens is positioned along the beam path between the laser source and the debris removal system.
In related art, Kitai discloses Fig. 1a:
a scan lens(Scan Lens); and
a debris removal system(22c), wherein the debris removal system includes a beam dump system operative to absorb a portion of the beam of laser energy(See col. 4, lines 37-36 and fig. 1A, 43), wherein the scan lens is positioned along the beam path between the laser source and the debris removal system(scan lens along beam path from 20 to 43)
Kitai discloses that the recited features provide the benefit of allowing debris to be removed during a machining operation. As such, the recited features would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application. .
Regarding claim 2.
Kim Discloses all of the features of claim 1.
Kim does not disclose:
The laser processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the beam dump system includes an absorber configured to be selectively positioned within the beam path.
In related art, Kitai discloses:
The laser processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the beam dump system includes an absorber configured to be selectively positioned within the beam path.(See Col. 4, lines 27-36 and col. 7, lines 41-49 and Fig. 1A), Laser dump 43 includes an absorber, and Kitai discloses placing it selectively at Fig. 6, and col. 7, lines 40-57.
Kitai discloses that the recited features provide the benefit of allowing debris to be removed during a machining operation. As such, the recited features would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application. .
Regarding claim 3.
Kim Discloses all of the features of claim 1.
Kim does not disclose:
The laser processing apparatus of claim 2, wherein the beam dump system includes an actuator assembly operative to selectively position the absorber within the beam path.
In related art, Kitai discloses:
The laser processing apparatus of claim 2, wherein the beam dump system includes an actuator assembly operative to selectively position the absorber within the beam path.
(See Col. 4, lines 27-36 and col. 7, lines 41-49 and Fig. 1A), Laser dump 43 includes an absorber, and Kitai discloses placing it selectively at Fig. 6, and col. 7, lines 40-57.
Kitai discloses that the recited features provide the benefit of allowing debris to be removed during a machining operation. As such, the recited features would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application. .
Regarding claim 4.
Kim Discloses
The laser processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the debris removal system further comprises: a vacuum nozzle(1104) in communication with a vacuum source via an exhaust passage(1204), the vacuum source configured to remove at least a portion of debris generated by the beam of laser energy impinging a workpiece from the vacuum nozzle(1106);
an exhaust assist system (1204)operative to direct a fluid from an inlet port across the vacuum nozzle(1104) into the exhaust passage(1104), thereby forcing at least a portion of the debris into the exhaust passage(1106); and
Kim does not disclose:
an absorber having an absorber surface operative to absorb a portion of the beam of laser energy, the absorber configured to be selectively positioned within the beam path.
Kitai discloses:
an absorber having an absorber surface operative to absorb a portion of the beam of laser energy, the absorber configured to be selectively positioned within the beam path.
.(See Col. 4, lines 27-36 and col. 7, lines 41-49 and Fig. 1A), Laser dump 43 includes an absorber, and Kitai discloses placing it selectively at Fig. 6, and col. 7, lines 40-57.
Kitai discloses that the recited features provide the benefit of allowing debris to be removed during a machining operation. As such, the recited features would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 5.
Kim Discloses all of the features of claim 1.
Kim does not disclose:
The laser processing apparatus of claim 2, wherein the beam dump system includes a heat transfer system operative to transfer heat away from the absorber.
Kitai discloses:
The laser processing apparatus of claim 2, wherein the beam dump system includes a heat transfer system operative to transfer heat away from the absorber.(Col. 4, lines 27-36, col. 7, lines 41-49 fig. 1A and laser dump 43 includes an absorber)
Kitai discloses that the recited features provide the benefit of allowing debris to be removed during a machining operation. As such, the recited features would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 7.
A laser processing apparatus, comprising:
Kim Discloses
a laser source (500)operative to generate beam of laser energy, wherein the beam of laser energy is propagatable along a beam path(500 propagatable along a beam path see [0002]);
Kim does not disclose:
a scan lens; and
a beam dump system including an absorber operative to be selectively positioned within the beam path by an actuator assembly, the absorber operative to absorb a portion of the beam of laser energy;
wherein the scan lens is positioned along the beam path between the laser source and the beam dump system.
In related art, Kitai disclose Fig. 1A:
a scan lens(Scan Lens); and
a beam dump system including an absorber operative(43) to be selectively positioned within the beam path by an actuator assembly, the absorber operative to absorb a portion of the beam of laser energy(col. 4, lines 27-36);
wherein the scan lens(Scan lens) is positioned along the beam path between the laser source(20) and the beam dump system.(43)
Kitai discloses that the recited features provide the benefit of allowing debris to be removed during a machining operation. As such, the recited features would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application. .
Regarding claim 8.
A system, comprising:
Kim Discloses:
a debris removal system having a vacuum nozzle(1104);
a vacuum source(1104) in communication with the vacuum nozzle via an exhaust passage(1104), the vacuum source configured to remove at least a portion of debris generated by the beam of laser energy impinging a workpiece from the vacuum nozzle;(See abstract)
an exhaust assist system operative to direct a fluid from an inlet port across the vacuum nozzle into the exhaust passage, thereby forcing at least a portion of the debris into the exhaust passage(1204, and 1104);
Kim does not disclose:
a debris removal system having a vacuum nozzle(1104) configured to allow a beam of laser energy propagating along a beam path to pass therethrough;
a beam dump system coupled to the debris removal system and including an absorber having an absorber surface formed thereon, the absorber surface configured to absorb at least a portion of a beam of laser energy propagating along a beam path; and
an actuator assembly operative to move the absorber relative to the debris removal system.
In related art, Kitai discloses:
a debris removal system having a vacuum nozzle(1104) configured to allow a beam of laser energy propagating along a beam path to pass therethrough; (col. 4, lines 27-36, Fig. 1A)
a beam dump system (43)coupled to the debris removal system(Col. 4, lines 27-36) and including an absorber(63) having an absorber surface formed thereon, the absorber surface configured to absorb at least a portion of a beam of laser energy propagating along a beam path(Col. 4, lines 27-37); and
an actuator assembly operative to move the absorber relative to the debris removal system.(Kitai discloses that the device controls the beam via 28 and 32) However, the mere substitution of one known element for another known element to obtain a predictable rejection has been held to be obvious. See MPEP 2141(I). Here the moving the absorber with an actuator would have obtained the predictable result of placing the absorber in the laser beam. As such, it would have been obvious to use an actuator on the absorber of Kitai instead of mirrors to move the beam.
Kitai discloses that the recited features provide the benefit of allowing debris to be removed during a machining operation. As such, the recited features would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 9.
A laser processing apparatus, comprising:
Kim Discloses:
a laser source(500) operative to generate beam of laser energy, wherein the beam of laser energy is propagatable along a beam path(500 propagatable along a path see abstract);
a debris removal system having a vacuum nozzle configured to allow a beam of laser energy propagating along a beam path to pass therethrough(1106);
a vacuum source(1204) in communication with the vacuum nozzle via an exhaust passage, the vacuum source configured to remove at least a portion of debris generated by the beam of laser energy impinging a workpiece from the vacuum nozzle(1204 for removing debris);
Kim does not disclose:
a beam dump system coupled to the debris removal system and including an absorber having an absorber surface formed thereon, the absorber surface configured to absorb at least a portion of a beam of laser energy propagating along a beam path; and
wherein the absorber is configured to be selectively positioned within the vacuum nozzle.
In related art, Kitai disclose:
a beam dump (43)system coupled to the debris removal system and including an absorber (22c-22d)having an absorber surface formed thereon, the absorber surface configured to absorb at least a portion of a beam of laser energy propagating along a beam path(fig. 1a, 43 absorbing beam); and
wherein the absorber is configured to be selectively positioned within the vacuum nozzle. Kitai disclose that the recited features allow the device to facilitate debris removal during laser machining. Kitai discloses that the absorber may be used to shutter the beam as desired for enhanced laser machining. IT would have been obvious to place the absorber of Kitai in the vacuum nozzle of Kim for the obvious benefit of allowing the device to selectively machine. As such, the features of claim 9 would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 10.
Kim discloses all of the features of claim 9.
Kim does not disclose:
The laser processing apparatus of claim 9, wherein the beam dump system includes an actuator assembly operative to selectively position the absorber within the vacuum nozzle.
In related art, Kitai discloses:
The laser processing apparatus of claim 9, wherein the beam dump system includes an actuator assembly operative to selectively position the absorber within the vacuum nozzle. (Kitai discloses that the device controls the beam via 28 and 32) However, the mere substitution of one known element for another known element to obtain a predictable rejection has been held to be obvious. See MPEP 2141(I). Here the moving the absorber with an actuator would have obtained the predictable result of placing the absorber in the laser beam. As such, it would have been obvious to use an actuator on the absorber of Kitai instead of mirrors to move the beam.
Claims 6, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (WO 2018/039248), copy provided by applications with their IDS filed 5/3/2023, in view of Kitai (U.S. Patent No. 6,462,306) further in view of Abhari (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0134318)
Regarding claim 6.
Kim discloses all of the features of claim 5. Kim does not disclose:
The laser processing apparatus of claim 5, wherein the heat transfer system includes: an inlet configured to accept a heat transfer fluid, the heat transfer fluid operative to absorb heat within the absorber; an outlet; a passage arranged within the absorber and configured to conduct the fluid from the inlet to the outlet; and a thermal sensor in thermal communication with the absorber, the thermal sensor configured sense the temperature of the fluid and transmit a temperature signal to a controller.
In related art, Abhari discloses:
The laser processing apparatus of claim 5, wherein the heat transfer system includes: an inlet configured to accept a heat transfer fluid([0014]), the heat transfer fluid operative to absorb heat within the absorber;([0014]) an outlet;([0056]) a passage arranged within the absorber and configured to conduct the fluid from the inlet to the outlet; and([0056]) a thermal sensor in thermal communication with the absorber, the thermal sensor configured sense the temperature of the fluid and transmit a temperature signal to a controller.(25).
In related art, Abhari disclose that the device may include a fluid cooling system which helps dissipate the heat generated by the lasering. As such, it would have been obvious include the cooling system of Abhari in the device of Kim for the obvious benefit of allowing the device to be cooled for more effective machining.
Regarding claim 11.
Kim discloses all of the features of claim 5. Kim does not disclose:
The laser processing apparatus of claim 10, wherein the beam dump system includes a heat transfer system operative to transfer heat away from the absorber.
In related art Abhari discloses:
The laser processing apparatus of claim 10, wherein the beam dump system includes a heat transfer system operative to transfer heat away from the absorber. ([0056])
In related art, Abhari discloses that the device may include a fluid cooling system which helps dissipate the heat generated by the lasering. As such, it would have been obvious include the cooling system of Abhari in the device of Kim for the obvious benefit of allowing the device to be cooled for more effective machining.
Regarding claim 12.
Kim discloses all of the features of claim 11 Kim does not disclose:
The laser processing apparatus of claim 11, wherein the heat transfer system includes: an inlet configured to accept a heat transfer fluid, the heat transfer fluid operative to absorb heat within the absorber; an outlet; a passage arranged within the absorber and configured to conduct the fluid from the inlet to the outlet; and a thermal sensor in thermal communication with the absorber, the thermal sensor configured sense the temperature of the fluid and transmit a temperature signal to a controller.
In related art, Abhari discloses:
The laser processing apparatus of claim 11, wherein the heat transfer system includes: an inlet configured to accept a heat transfer fluid([0014]), the heat transfer fluid operative to absorb heat within the absorber;([0014]) an outlet;([0056]) a passage arranged within the absorber and configured to conduct the fluid from the inlet to the outlet; and([0056]) a thermal sensor in thermal communication with the absorber, the thermal sensor configured sense the temperature of the fluid and transmit a temperature signal to a controller.(25).
In related art, Abhari disclose that the device may include a fluid cooling system which helps dissipate the heat generated by the lasering. As such, it would have been obvious include the cooling system of Abhari in the device of Kim for the obvious benefit of allowing the device to be cooled for more effective machining.
Conclusion
/ROBERT G BACHNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898