DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6-18-2026 have been fully considered.
With respect to applicant’s argument that Yamaji uses a single data point and not “measurement value” and “sensor information”, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Yamaji, ¶74 speaks to providing sensor details. Yamaji, ¶76 speaks to providing measurement value D.
With respect to the amended claims, please see below.
Examiner’s Note: For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaji, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2014/0120843, published May 1, 2014 in view of Balka, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2017/0115354, published April 27, 2017.
As per claim 1, Yamaji discloses an electronic function interface (1, 21, 22), which cooperates with at least one electronic sensor (2, 11) for detecting a measured quantity, for providing at least one predetermined function depending on sensor information and/or measurement values of the measured quantity detected by the sensor (2, 11), wherein the function interface (1, 21, 22) is configured as a unit that is constructionally independent of and segregable from the sensor (2, 11), and is coupled to the sensor (2, 11) in a wirelessly data-transmitting manner (Yamaji, ¶50, 61 and Fig. 6A and ¶74 and 76 providing both sensor info and measurement info).
Yamaji fails to expressly discloses predetermined switching states and an output terminal of the switch.
Balka teaches a device with predetermined switching states which switch in response to provided measurement data (¶36) and it is understood that a switch, in order to function, would require a terminal to allow the signals to proceed.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make a decision based on sensor information and measurement data in order to gain the obvious benefit of having the system react the information you are gathering as shown by Balka. The examiner submits it is well within the skill of a person in the art to determine what to do with the measured information.
As per claim 2, Yamaji as modified by Balka discloses the function interface according to the preceding claim, further comprising at least one, current output terminal, voltage output terminal and/or a communications module providing the predetermined function (Yamaji, ¶60, controller).
As per claim 3, Yamaji as modified by Balka further discloses the function interface according to claim 1,characterized by further comprising at least one electric energy storage unit (24) and/or an electric energy supply device and/or an electric energy generator providing a current supply f to the function interface (Yamaji, ¶64).
As per claim 4, Yamaji as modified by Balka further discloses the function interface according to claim 3 wherein the energy supply device has a wired coupling, which transmits electric energy, for from a current feed from outside the function interface, and/or has a wireless coupling, which transmits electric energy, for from a current feed from outside the function interface, and/or has an energy generating device for a current generation and current feed into the energy storage unit (24) internal to the function interface (Yamaji, Fig. 1, item 25).
As per claim 5, Yamaji as modified by Balka further discloses the interface according to claim 3 but fails to expressly disclose the electric energy storage being rechargeable. As Yamaji provides a power supply, it would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to make it rechargeable in order to gain the benefit of not downing the system each time a battery runs out.
As per claim 6, Yamaji as modified by Balka further discloses the function interface according to claim 1, wherein the function interface (1, 21, 22) can be is selectively activated in a permanent or cyclic or event-based manner (Yamaji, ¶61).
As per claims 7-9, Yamaji as modified by Balka further discloses the interface of claim 1 wherein the data transmission is either unidirectional, bidirectional and direct (Yamaji, Fig. 6A, ¶59 and 104).
As per claim 10, Yamaji as modified by Balka further discloses an electronic sensor (2, 11) for detecting a measured quantity, which cooperates with at least one electronic function interface (1, 21, 22) for providing at least one predetermined function depending on sensor information and/or measurement values of the measured quantity detected by the sensor (2, 11), wherein the sensor (2, 11) is configured as a unit that is constructionally independent of and segregable from the function interface (1, 21, 22), and is coupled to the function interface (1, 21, 22) in a wirelessly data-transmitting manner (Yamaji, Fig. 6A and ¶51 and Balka, ¶36).
As per claim 11, Yamaji as modified by Balka further discloses the sensor according to the preceding claim 10,characterized by further comprising a holding device (8) to which the function interface (1, 21, 22) can be attached (Yamaji, Fig. 2A and ¶72 providing for attachment).
As per claims 12 and 13, Yamaji as modified by Balka further discloses the sensor of claim 10 providing a coupling means for energy transfer wither wired or wirelessly (Yamaji, Fig. 10, item 17).
As per claims 14-16, please see the rejection and rationale of claims 7-9 above.
As per claim 17, Yamaji as modified by Balka further discloses the sensor of claim 10 wherein the sensor is a fill level (Balka, abstract).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to change the measurement function to pressure or fill level, as Applicant has not disclosed that it solves any stated problem of the prior art or is for any particular purpose. It appears that the invention would perform equally well as the invention disclosed by Yamaji in providing the necessary communication and data. The examiner submits it is well within the skill of a person in the art to determine what should be measured.
As per claim 18, Yamaji as modified by Balka further discloses an assembly comprising an electronic sensor, and a segregable function interface which communications wirelessly (Yamaji, Fig. 6 and ¶16).
As per claims 19 and 20, Yamaji discloses the assembly of claim 18 but fails to explicitly disclose a second sensor and second interface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to duplicate the set, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skilled the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided on form PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARCUS E WINDRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646