DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 32-33 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected election, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 2/12/2026.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 7/27/2026 has been entered. Claim(s) 22-25 and 27-30 is/are currently amended. Claim(s) 22-33 is/are pending with claim(s) 32-33 withdrawn from consideration. Claim(s) 22-31 is/are under examination in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument filed on 7/27/2026, with respect to 103 rejection has been fully considered but is not persuasive.
Applicant argued that Bewsher is directed to the solution of a problem very different from that which is solved by the present invention.
In response, the solution of a problem is a statement of intended use that imparts no additional structure beyond the claimed product and need not be taught by the prior art to read on the claimed invention. See MPEP 2111.02(III).
Applicant argued that Bewsher broadly lists carnauba wax, beeswax, paraffin wax, candelilla wax, montan wax, polyethylene wax, microcrystalline waxes and various others as being alternative waxes for use in his process. See paragraphs [0038] and [0039] of Bewsher. There is no indication that carnauba wax may be significantly better than any of the other waxes for any given purpose. Bewsher has no teaching that carnauba wax is unique, that carnauba wax is superior for PLA-heat seal films, or that other waxes fail.
In response, Bewsher lists 15 preferred waxes with carnauba wax being the first in the list [0039]. A genus encompassing 20 species is sufficient to anticipate a single claimed species. See In re Petering, 301 F.2d 676, 133 USPQ 275 (CCPA 1962); MPEP 2131.02(III). If 1 out of 20 is sufficient to establish anticipation, it seems reasonable to conclude that 1 out of 15 is sufficient to support a prima facie finding of obviousness. In addition, carnauba wax is the wax used in all Examples of Bewsher. This further supports the obviousness of selecting carnauba wax.
Applicant argued that the data in Table 2 shows that carnauba wax gives better performance than other waxes in terms of heat sealability and blocking resistance.
In response, the observation result in Table 2 only shows “o” and “x”. The examiner submits that these rating systems are arbitrary and do not allow the examiner to check the details of the differences or significance of the difference. Concrete data (e.g., test values, photos, etc.) are more convincing.
In addition, whether unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the “objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support." In re Clemens, 622 F.2d 1029, 1036, 206 USPQ 289, 296 (CCPA 1980); MPEP 716.02(d). In the instant case, the examples are not commensurate in scope with the claims. For instance, claim 1 recites “1 to 14% by mass of the carnauba wax is blended relative to a mass of the polylactic acid”; but the example only uses 2.8% by mass of the carnauba wax blended relative to a mass of the polylactic acid (8 parts of 30% carnauba wax relative to 85.2 parts of PLA); it is not known if 1% or 14% of carnauba wax will result in similar effect. Since the examples are not reasonably commensurate with the full scope of claimed materials, and the Applicant has not provided any additional information that would allow one skilled in the art to extend the results associated with the data to the full scope of the claim, the examples cannot be relied upon to establish non-obviousness of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bewsher et al (US 20230235166 A1).
Regarding claims 22-25, Bewsher teaches an aqueous biopolymer dispersion composition comprising: a biopolymer including polylactic acid and a wax including carnauba wax [abstract and 0038].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select polylactic acid as the biopolymer, and to select carnauba wax as the wax in Bewsher’s composition, as these are expressly disclosed as being useful in this capacity. It has been established that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). See MPEP 2144.07.
Bewsher teaches that the dispersion comprises 10-80 wt% of the biopolymer (polylactic acid) [claim 2] and 1-12 wt% of the wax (carnauba wax) [claim 11]. Therefore, the amount of carnauba wax is 1.25 wt% or more relative to polylactic acid, as calculated by the examiner. This amount overlaps the claimed 1-14 wt%, 2-14 wt%, 6-14 wt%, and 6-8 wt% as recited in claims 22, 23, 24, and 25 respectively. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (MPEP 2144.05.I).
The recited “when used to form a heat sealant layer on a paper substrate, produces a heat sealant layer that has heat sealability at 120°C and blocking resistance at 45°C”, “wherein the heat sealant layer formed from the aqueous dispersion on a paper substrate has heat sealability at 120°C and blocking resistance at 50°C”, “wherein the heat sealant layer formed from the aqueous dispersion on a paper substrate has heat sealability at 110°C and blocking resistance at 50C” are statement of intended use that imparts no additional structure beyond the claimed product and need not be taught by the prior art to read on the claimed invention. See MPEP 2111.02(III). Nevertheless, Bewsher teaches that heat seal at 120 °C is imparted as a sealant [0071, 0075, Tables 15, 17, 20, 23]; and the composition imparts good grease resistance [0071, 0075].
Regarding claim 26, Bewsher teaches that the dispersion composition comprises a stabilizing agent including polyvinyl alcohol; the polyvinyl alcohol has a degree of hydrolysis (HD) of 70% to 98% [0021], meeting the claimed “partially hydrolyzed polyvinyl alcohol” recited in claim 26.
Bewsher teaches that the amount of the polyvinyl alcohol is 1-6 wt% in the dispersion [0022]. Since the dispersion contains 10-80 wt% of polylactic acid and 1-12 wt% of wax as stated above, the amount of polyvinyl alcohol relative to polylactic acid and wax (corresponding to the claimed dispersoid) is 1.1-54.5 wt%, as calculated by the examiner, overlapping the claimed 2.0-10.0 wt% in claim 26. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Claim(s) 27-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bewsher et al (US 20230235166 A1) as applied to claim 22 above, further in view of Koichi et al (JP 2004168927 A, machine translation is referenced herein).
Regarding claims 27-31, the limitations are the same as claims 22-26 except the added 1-15 wt% of plasticizer.
Bewsher teaches that the aqueous dispersion in claim 22 as stated above. Bewsher is silent about the claimed plasticizer.
In the same field of endeavor, Koichi teaches an aqueous dispersion of biodegradable resin and heat-sealable material made from the aqueous dispersion comprising a polyester-based biodegradable resin including polylactic acid-based resin [claim 3] and natural wax such as carnauba wax [P12 last para.]. The dispersion further comprises a plasticizer [abstract], in order to solve the problem for polylactic acid resin that film formation and thermal bonding are difficult unless treatment is performed at high temperatures [bottom of P5]. The content of the plasticizer is 5 to 50 parts by weight per 100 parts by weight of the biodegradable resin [bridging para. of P8-9].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to 5-50 wt% of plasticizer relative to polylactic acid in Bewsher’s composition, in order to solve the problem of difficult film formation and thermal bonding; and this is expressly disclosed as being suitable for this application. It has been established that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). See MPEP 2144.07. This amount of plasticizer overlaps the claimed amount of 1 to 15% by mass relative to a mass of the polylactic acid. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (MPEP 2144.05.I).
As stated above, Bewsher’s amount of carnauba wax is 1.25 wt% or more relative to polylactic acid. This amount overlaps the claimed 1-14 wt%, 2-14 wt%, 6-14 wt%, and 6-10 wt% as recited in claims 27, 28, 29, and 30 respectively. Bewsher’s amount of polyvinyl alcohol relative to polylactic acid and wax (corresponding to the claimed dispersoid) is 1.1-54.5 wt%, as stated above, overlapping the claimed 2.0-10.0 wt% in claim 31. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIANGTIAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762