DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-9) in the reply filed on 1/9/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that it would not be burdensome to examine both groups. This is not found persuasive because inventions I and II would require separate fields of search including different search queries. Where it is necessary to search for one of the inventions in a manner that is not likely to result in finding art pertinent to the other inventions (e.g., employing different search queries), a different field of search is shown. See MPEP 808.02. This is sufficient to establish a serious search and/or examination burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 10-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 1/9/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bohling et al (US 20110166257 A1).
Regarding claims 1-5, 8, Bohling teaches an aqueous coating composition comprising acrylic copolymer comprising emulsion polymerized units of ethylenically unsaturated monomers [0029], including acetoacetoxyethyl (meth)acrylate [0045].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select acetoacetoxyethyl methacrylate as the ethylenically unsaturated monomer in Bohling’s composition, as it is expressly disclosed as being useful in this capacity. It has been established that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). See MPEP 2144.07.
Acetoacetoxyethyl methacrylate reads on the claimed (a), as specified in claim 8.
Bohling teaches that the emulsion polymer comprises 0.25% to 12.5% of acetoacetoxyethyl (meth)acrylate as polymerized units [0081]. This range overlaps the claimed from 1% to 10%. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (MPEP 2144.05.I).
The aqueous composition further comprises a nitrogen-containing nucleophilic molecule [0018] including 2-amino-2-ethyl-1,3-propanediol [0062].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select 2-amino-2-ethyl-1,3-propanediol as the nitrogen-containing nucleophilic molecule in Bohling’s composition, as it is expressly disclosed as being useful in this capacity. It has been established that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). See MPEP 2144.07.
2-Amino-2-ethyl-1,3-propanediol reads on the claimed (b), as specified in claims 2-4.
Bohling is silent about the amount of 2-Amino-2-ethyl-1,3-propanediol.
However, Bohling teaches that 2-Amino-2-ethyl-1,3-propanediol is used to reduce aldehyde level [0062]. Therefore, the amount of 2-Amino-2-ethyl-1,3-propanediol affects the aldehyde level with a target. A recognition in the prior art that a property is affected by the variable is sufficient to find the variable result-effective. In re Applied Materials, Inc., 692 F.3d 1289, 1297 (Fed. Cir. 2012). Thus, Bohling recognizes the claimed amount of a multihydroxy-functional amine as a result-effective variable affecting aldehyde level with a target. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to optimize the amount of 2-Amino-2-ethyl-1,3-propanediol by routine experimentation to arrive at the claimed from 0.11% to 0.9% and from 0.15% to 0.7%, by weight based on the weight of the acrylic copolymer, recited in claim 1 and claim 5, respectively, with a reasonable expectation of successfully obtaining the desired aldehyde level with a target in the final product. See MPEP 2144.05. "[D]iscovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art." In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272,276 (CCPA 1980). "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claims 6-7, Bohling teaches that the composition may further comprise a polyamine such as decamethylene diamine or a dihydrazide to effect an ambient cure [0045]. Decamethylene diamine reads on the claimed primary amine with less than two hydroxyl groups.
Bohling discloses in Example 8 an emulsion polymer of 45% solids comprising 2% adipic dihydrazide. It is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents for the same purpose where the equivalence is recognized by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.06. Since adipic dihydrazide and decamethylene diamine are recognized as equivalent for effecting ambient cure as stated above, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of filing to substitute adipic dihydrazide with decamethylene diamine in Bohling’s composition. When 2% of decamethylene diamine is used, 0.034 mole of primary amine groups is contained in 100 g of the composition, as calculated by the examiner. Since the composition comprises about 45% of the copolymer which contains 0.25% to 12.5% of acetoacetoxyethyl methacrylate as stated above, about 0.0005-0.026 mole of acetoacetyl groups is contained in 100 g of the composition, as calculated by the examiner. Thus, the mole ratio of primary amine groups to acetoacetyl groups is about 1.3 to 66. This range overlaps the claimed range of from 0.3 to 1.5. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (MPEP 2144.05.I).
It is understood that when primary amines other than decamethylene diamine is used, or when the solids content or primary amine content varies, the resulting ratio varies. However, the amount of the primary amine is a result-effective variable that affects ambient curing as stated above. "[D]iscovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art." In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272,276 (CCPA 1980). "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 9, Bohling teaches that the composition further comprises a pigment, an extender, a defoamer, a thickener, a wetting agent, a coalescent, a biocide, etc. [0053].
Conclusion
/JIANGTIAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762