DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II, claims 25-29 in the reply filed on 02/24/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the claimed invention employs a cluster array, the microwell has a chemical modification on the inner walls or filled with a solid phase and that the clusters correspond to the wells of a microwell plate. This is not found persuasive because Applicant’s point 1 on page 7 is not found persuasive since Banyai teaches an array of micropore/microwell clusters (Fig. 4; [0207]; [0208]). Moreover, these clusters are placed adjacent to a microwell ([0609]) and form an array of microwells. Regarding Applicant’s point 2, Banyai discloses functionalizing the surface of the microstructure/micropore ([0207; Fig. 4) where this functionalized surface is on the inner walls of the pore. For point 3, each cluster of Banyai corresponds to a microwell ([0208]).
Applicant argues on the bottom of page 7 to the end of the first full paragraph on page 8 that Banyai does not teach or suggest using the clusters with a standard SBS-format plate. First, this requirement is not a common technical feature of the claimed invention and is a feature relied upon, but not currently claimed in claims 15 or 25. Second, even if the plates of Banyai are not a SBS-format plate, this would be an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art as standard microtiter plate formats are conventional and well-known within the biological arts and would be obvious to the skilled artisan. Applicant’s statement in the second full paragraph on page 8 regarding the allegedly innovative nature of the claimed plate is not found persuasive as the applied reference of Banyai discloses the special technical feature of the claimed inventions and the format of the plate is not currently claimed. Therefore, the inventions of Groups I and II lack unity and a restriction between the two inventions is proper.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 15-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 02/24/2026.
Sequence Listing
This application complies with the sequence rules and the sequences have been entered by the Scientific and Technical Information Center.
Claim Interpretation
It should be noted whenever the term “or” is used between claim limitations that this will be interpreted as the prior art only needs to meet one or the other limitation in order to meet the claim. Also, any other limitation within the claim drawn to one of the “or” limitations will be interpreted as optional and not required for the prior art to either anticipate or ender the claim obvious. Finally, if the term “and/or” appears in the claim, this will be treated as “or” for purposes of claim interpretation and the application of the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25, 27 and 30-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "the micropore" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "the solid phase carriers" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "the gene synthesis device" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is recommended to amend this to the high-throughput gene synthesis device.
Claims 27 and 30-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112b since the claims depend upon and incorporate all the limitations of claim 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 25, 27, 30-33, 35 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Banyai et al. (US 2015/0038373 A1 – hereafter ‘373).
‘373 (Banyai) discloses a system for the synthesizing of large gene libraries ([0004]) that includes the following limitations for claim 25:
“A method for oligonucleotide synthesis”: ‘373 discloses a method for synthesizing oligonucleotides ([0011]).
“the method for oligonucleotide synthesis comprises the steps of”: The method of ‘373 includes the following steps.
“adding phosphonamidite monomers or auxiliary reagents to the micropores of a high-throughput gene synthesis device utilizing a liquid dispensing device”: ‘373 discloses the step of applying reagents to the micropores as a drop ([0029]) by a liquid dispensing device such as an inkjet pump.
“conducting a reaction on the solid phase carriers within the micropores to synthesize the oligonucleotides”: ‘373 discloses synthesizing the oligonucleotides, i.e. conducting a reaction, on the functionalized surface of the pores ([0140]; [0027]; [0029]) where this functionalized surface is being interpreted as the solid phase carrier of the instant application.
“matching the gene synthesis device with the microwell plate”: The microwells of ‘373 are adjacent to the micropores and therefore the gene synthesis device is matched with the plate ([0609]).
“recovering the oligonucleotides synthesized in each cluster of the micropores into a single well within the microwell plate”: ‘373 discloses the step of recovering the oligonucleotides from the micropores within each well ([0423]; [0642]).
“the gene synthesis device includes a substrate and a microwell plate”: ‘373 discloses that the device includes a lower substrate layer and a layer of microwells (Fig. 4; [0207]) where this combination is being interpreted as the device of the instant application.
“the substrate is provided with a plurality of clusters of micropores”: ‘373 discloses that the micropores are in clusters ([0208]) that are used for the reaction.
“an inner wall surface of each of the micropores is chemically modified as a solid phase carrier for nucleic acid synthesis, or each of the micropore is filled with a solid phase carrier for nucleic acid synthesis”: ‘373 discloses the step of coating the inner surface with a functionalized surface ([0028]; [0029]; [0030]) where this surface is being interpreted as the chemically modified surface that is being used as a solid phase carrier.
“the plurality of clusters of the micropores are arranged in a cluster array wherein each cluster of the micropores having the same size and position as a corresponding well on the microplate.”: The clusters are arranged as an array (Fig. 25C; [0018]; [0020]) where the clusters have a size and position that correspond to a well (Fig. 4).
For claim 27, the volume of the inkjet pump is a micro-nano liter dispensing head ([0202]; [0063]).
For claim 30, the micropore of ‘373 is being interpreted as a cylindrical micropore.
For claim 31, ‘373 discloses that the substrate can be made of silicon ([0017]) and is therefore being interpreted as a silicon wafer.
For claim 32, ‘373 discloses using processes that are being interpreted as a MEMS micro-nano processing method such as nanoelectromechanical techniques ([0215]).
For claim 33, ‘373 discloses using plastics for the substrate ([0326]) where this is being interpreted as a plastic plate.
For claim 35, ‘373 discloses using beads, i.e. microspheres ([0477]) as the solid support and discloses that the solid support can be glass ([0028]).
For claim 37, ‘373 discloses that there can be anywhere from 1 to 50 loci or micropores in the cluster ([0208]).
Therefore, ‘373 meets the limitations of claims 25, 27, 30-33, 35 and 37.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banyai et al. (US 2015/0038373 A1 – hereafter ‘373) in view of Van Beuningen et al. (US 2006/0286555 A1 – hereafter ‘555).
For claim 38, ‘373 (Banyai) does not explicitly disclose that the microwell is a standard SBS plate, however, standard SBS plates are well-known and conventional in the prior art and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the earliest effective filing date barring evidence to the contrary.
‘555 (Van Beuningen) discloses an apparatus that uses a microtiter plate biochemical reactions(Abstract) that for claim 38 uses a standard SBS microplate for the assays ([0039]). This makes the plate compatible with standard liquid handling equipment ([0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the earliest effective filing date to employ the standard plate of ‘555 within ‘373 in order to perform the assay or oligonucleotide synthesis. The suggestion for doing so at the time would have been in order to allow a parallel synthesis of a large number of polymers, resulting in a very cost-efficient price per polymer ([0044]).
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banyai et al. (US 2015/0038373 A1 – hereafter ‘373) in view of Duffy et al. (US 2003/0032046 A1 – hereafter ‘046).
‘373 differs from the instant claim regarding either 3D printing or injection molding the pores. It should be noted that these processes are conventional and well-known within the biological arts and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ in the manufacturing of the gene synthesis device.
‘046 (Duffy) discloses a method for performing biochemical assays (Abstract) that for claim 34 includes forming wells with injection molding ([0098]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the earliest filing date to employ the conventional step of forming the device with injection molding as taught by ‘046 within ‘373 in order to have a cost effective means of manufacturing the gene synthesis device. The suggestion for doing so at the time would have been in order to use suitable techniques to manufacture the wells ([0098]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 36 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: For claim 36, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest where the solid phase carriers are immobilized by mixing the solid phase carriers with high-density polyethylene spheres and sintering the spheres.
The closest prior art is Banyai et al. (2015/0038373 A1) which discloses a multiwell plate with clusters of micropores in order to synthesize oligonucleotides, but Banyai does not teach or fairly suggest the step where the solid phase carriers are immobilized by mixing the solid phase carriers with high-density polyethylene spheres and sintering the spheres.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. MacBeath et al. (US 2003/0026739 A1) discloses an interface between microarrays and microtiter plates.
/MICHAEL L HOBBS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799